$124 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 12, 2014 Check-out: Dec 15, 2014

Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

4 stars
2000 Westcourt Way, 2000 Westcourt Way, Tempe, AZ 85282
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
95 reviews
AMAZING!

Staff was great, hotel was great, definitely will be back! See full review

  • Rae Rae07
  • May 12, 2014
our stay

everything was great except the pillows.... very soft bring your own See full review

  • FunTrip from AZ
  • Apr 29, 2014
Secluded resort setting with majestic views and central Tempe location
This mountainside oasis sits on 25 acres. Expect respite and recreation at this resort near Scottsdale and Phoenix. Rooms are well-appointed with amenities such as marble bathrooms and windows that open. There are five on-site restaurants and lounges including the Top of the Rock Restaurant with vistas of the city. There is also Narande Spa. Outside, find two heated swimming pools, waterfall, waterslide and whirlpool.
Highlights
  • Five on-site restaurants and lounges
  • Top of the Rock Restaurant
  • Five miles from downtown Tempe
Rooms

The large resort has 353 rooms and nine suites. Beds have Marriott's Revive Bedding, down comforters and designer duvets. Rooms are air conditioned, but guests can open windows to let in fresh desert evening air. Some suites have patio and resort views. All accommodations have marble bathrooms with a stand-up shower, terry bathrobes and Marriott's exclusive Nirvae bath products. Coffee maker and tea service, mini-bar, safe, working desk with ergonomic char, and wired and wireless high-speed Internet access (fees apply) round out room amenities.

Dining

There are five restaurants and lounges. The Market Cafe combines a touch of modern Californian cuisine with traditional Italian for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Thirsty Cactus Pool Bar and Grill serves up lunch fare poolside. Top of the Rock Restaurant offers world-class views, New American cuisine for dinner, and special Champagne brunch on Sundays. Tequila on the Rocks offers a full bar and a casual dinner menu with occasional live entertainment. Guests can settle into the Lobby Lounge for a cocktail or lunch and dinner.

Recreation

There's plenty to do inside and out at the Buttes. There are two heated mountainside pools (one for children), four whirlpools, table tennis, tennis and volleyball. Inside diversions include the full-service Narande Spa and fully equipped fitness center with classes and personal training.

Transportation
  • Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport (11 minutes)
  • Scottsdale Airport (30 minutes)
  • Phoenix-Mesa Airport (56 minutes)
Attractions
  • Downtown Tempe (5 mi/ 8 km)
  • Phoenix Zoo (5.9 mi/ 9.6 km)
  • Desert Botanical Garden (8.4mi/ 13.6 km)
  • Old Town Scottsdale (10 mi/16.1 km)
Business and events
  • 40,000 square feet of meeting space includes a 200-seat amphitheater, 11 meeting rooms, 10 breakout rooms and Kachina Ballroom for up to 900 people
  • Business center
  • Meeting planning
  • Messenger service
  • On-site exhibition space
Policies and fees

N/A

 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.4021 -111.968
Area served
Tempe
Nearby airports
Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport, (PHX), 3.00, MI, S;
Area description
Resort, Location Type: Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Jogging track
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Sun Devil Stadium: 2.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Arena: 2.6 mi

Dining

Top of the Rock Restaurant
Delight in world-class cuisine at one of the most famous restaurants in Tempe, AZ - Top of the Rock - featuring Contemporary American fare and breathtaking views of the city.
Market Cafe
Enjoy a savory combination of American Southwest flavors while relaxing in an open room with a beautiful cascading waterfall flowing into a Japanese Koi pond. Open for Breakfast Buffet & Lunch Daily.
Thirsty Cactus Pool Bar and Grill
Come for lunch at our Tempe restaurant's open-air pool bar and grill serving sandwiches, burgers and house specialties.
Lobby Lounge
Featuring lunch and dinner menus, the Lobby Lounge is the perfect place to catch up with colleagues and friends.
Starbucks
Enjoy your favorite cup of coffee at our on property Starbucks, located at the Market Cafe.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (95)

Ratings and reviews for Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 95
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ditza
Business
Seymour CT
Feb 21, 2010

Nice Butte.

We saw the hotel from the airplane thinking "what the heck is that?!?" It turned out to be a very visually impressive hotel. The room was comfortable and quiet. It was also very close to the airport and highway but without the noise. Unfortunately every place we ate or drank (3 seperate times)had only the bartender hopping, doing both table service and making drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Anywhere but the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HappyTraveler_Chicago
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 13, 2010

Fantastic Customer Service!

This hotel has some of the best customer service I had ever experienced. I arrived late and the hotel was booked. For some reason my MR# was not in the system and the only king room left was on the first floor - which I don't care for. I ended up with two double beds, but I didn't mind. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the room was lovely. The staff also made a few small gestures to make up for the mix up, which was such a nice touch - though frankly, the professional and warm way I was treated was enough of a compensation for me. I really felt like everyone at this hotel went out of their way to make sure I was taken care of. Other plusses - very convenient location and loved the hidden hot tubs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lacey, WA
Feb 9, 2010

Great resort

Fantastic resort - wish we could have spent more time using the facilities. Everyone was helpful and very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Food within hotel a little spendy but lots of places to eat within a short distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Go West and Go Reds
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Feb 8, 2010

A great place to stay

Totally enjoyed the views, serenity, and calm that existed. I will try to stay there again someday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
wichita
Feb 1, 2010

excellent hotel

expensive meals

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Paul, MN
Jan 21, 2010

Fabulous Resort

We were not sure what to expect. (The pictures always look good online!) The pictures can't come close to how beautiful it was! The resort was easy to get to from the PHX airport. It is tucked into the side of a mountain so it feels like it's away from the city, but it's in a very convenient location. We experienced the best service we have ever had on a vacation. Most of the people staying at the resort at the same time we were, were running in the local marathon. The hotel catered to that crowd by putting together a special menu for the night before the race, and care packages after the race. We did not feel slighted. The servers in the restaurant remembered us from the night before...and even remembered the kids' names! When we woke up and decided to watch the sunrise from the hot tub at 7 am, the pool maintenance person brought us towels. The service during our entire stay was exceptional. While we were loading the rental van, we were even offered assistance with our luggage from a gardener. Thanks to the staff at the Buttes Marriott Resort for making this weekend getaway amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, HI
Jan 20, 2010

Business Trip

Every aspect of my stay was first class.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
El Frib
Business
East Brunswick, NJ
Jan 10, 2010

Lovely Resort

Other than only having one on-site trail[we expected trails], the Buttes is a lovely resort. The staff is very friendly and very helpful. Despite the location just minutes from Sky Harbor Airport, we never heard an airplane. What we did hear when we checked in was road noise from the interstate. We switched to an inside room facing the resort, and noticed the next morning that an employee was dispatched to that room to caulk the windows just to make sure they were soundproof. Their facility is first rate. Even sitting around the pool, they will ask if everything is ok and if we would like anything. The location made sightseeing in the area easy; the resort is right off I-10, with easy access to Phoenix, Scottsdale and more remote locations like Sedona and Tucson. Their restaurants were a little pricey, and with so many other choices in the region, we only had one meal in their Market Cafe and one in their Top of the Rock. Both were fine, but nothing spectacular. As for value, the room rate we paid through [...] was so low, we'd go back every January if the deal were available. In fact, the rates are so low that Marriott won't give me credit for nights stayed toward my Elite status. It's still worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are from the New York - New Jersey area, try Chompies restaurant. They have three outlets in the area, and serve deli as we know it in the northeast - huge portions and bagels & bialys baked on premises.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Southlake, Texas
Jan 6, 2010

Lovely, but loud

What a beautiful setting! Perched on a butte overlooking Tempe/Phoenix, this hotel is a nice oasis, affordably priced and very close to the airport. The staff was attentive and helpful, which is good because the layout is quite unusual. The only negative is the soundproofing, or lack thereof. Our neighbors came in at 3am and we heard every word of their conversation, and then again from another room for an early riser at 6.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
arizona
Sep 23, 2009

The Buttes

It was a horrible experience. Every 5 minutes the keyed entry door would be opened and shut with a heavy bang!! Our room was not even close to the door so I can not imagine what the people in the rooms close to the door did. Paper thin walls.. stay away... if you are looking for restful stay. Our reservation was not found for quite awhile, so they had us waiting for a long time in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top