$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

4 stars
2000 Westcourt Way, 2000 Westcourt Way, Tempe, AZ 85282
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
95 reviews
AMAZING!

Staff was great, hotel was great, definitely will be back! See full review

  • Rae Rae07
  • May 12, 2014
our stay

everything was great except the pillows.... very soft bring your own See full review

  • FunTrip from AZ
  • Apr 29, 2014
Secluded resort setting with majestic views and central Tempe location
This mountainside oasis sits on 25 acres. Expect respite and recreation at this resort near Scottsdale and Phoenix. Rooms are well-appointed with amenities such as marble bathrooms and windows that open. There are five on-site restaurants and lounges including the Top of the Rock Restaurant with vistas of the city. There is also Narande Spa. Outside, find two heated swimming pools, waterfall, waterslide and whirlpool.
Highlights
  • Five on-site restaurants and lounges
  • Top of the Rock Restaurant
  • Five miles from downtown Tempe
Rooms

The large resort has 353 rooms and nine suites. Beds have Marriott's Revive Bedding, down comforters and designer duvets. Rooms are air conditioned, but guests can open windows to let in fresh desert evening air. Some suites have patio and resort views. All accommodations have marble bathrooms with a stand-up shower, terry bathrobes and Marriott's exclusive Nirvae bath products. Coffee maker and tea service, mini-bar, safe, working desk with ergonomic char, and wired and wireless high-speed Internet access (fees apply) round out room amenities.

Dining

There are five restaurants and lounges. The Market Cafe combines a touch of modern Californian cuisine with traditional Italian for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Thirsty Cactus Pool Bar and Grill serves up lunch fare poolside. Top of the Rock Restaurant offers world-class views, New American cuisine for dinner, and special Champagne brunch on Sundays. Tequila on the Rocks offers a full bar and a casual dinner menu with occasional live entertainment. Guests can settle into the Lobby Lounge for a cocktail or lunch and dinner.

Recreation

There's plenty to do inside and out at the Buttes. There are two heated mountainside pools (one for children), four whirlpools, table tennis, tennis and volleyball. Inside diversions include the full-service Narande Spa and fully equipped fitness center with classes and personal training.

Transportation
  • Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport (11 minutes)
  • Scottsdale Airport (30 minutes)
  • Phoenix-Mesa Airport (56 minutes)
Attractions
  • Downtown Tempe (5 mi/ 8 km)
  • Phoenix Zoo (5.9 mi/ 9.6 km)
  • Desert Botanical Garden (8.4mi/ 13.6 km)
  • Old Town Scottsdale (10 mi/16.1 km)
Business and events
  • 40,000 square feet of meeting space includes a 200-seat amphitheater, 11 meeting rooms, 10 breakout rooms and Kachina Ballroom for up to 900 people
  • Business center
  • Meeting planning
  • Messenger service
  • On-site exhibition space
Policies and fees

N/A

 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Jogging track
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Sun Devil Stadium: 2.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Arena: 2.6 mi

Dining

Top of the Rock Restaurant
Delight in world-class cuisine at one of the most famous restaurants in Tempe, AZ - Top of the Rock - featuring Contemporary American fare and breathtaking views of the city.
Market Cafe
Enjoy a savory combination of American Southwest flavors while relaxing in an open room with a beautiful cascading waterfall flowing into a Japanese Koi pond. Open for Breakfast Buffet & Lunch Daily.
Thirsty Cactus Pool Bar and Grill
Come for lunch at our Tempe restaurant's open-air pool bar and grill serving sandwiches, burgers and house specialties.
Lobby Lounge
Featuring lunch and dinner menus, the Lobby Lounge is the perfect place to catch up with colleagues and friends.
Starbucks
Enjoy your favorite cup of coffee at our on property Starbucks, located at the Market Cafe.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (95)

Ratings and reviews for Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 95
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
eggo67
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Jul 25, 2011

definately the off season

Our breakfast buffett was horrible. I couldn't cut the pancakes and mentioned this to server and she knew the problem right away(obviously this wasn't the first time she heard this comment). The buffet line cooks only spoke greek so special requests couldn't be made. At the pool one night, it must've been employee night as many guests were friends of employees. Many young guests were drinking. The one pool attendant only spoke spanish and some guests couldn't find the hot tub so I had to interpret requests. One, possibly more bartenders were more than inebriated. Pool lights were either burnt out or weren't on (I think I remember one light on underwater but nothing else). Beautiful moon kept it visible outside. A lot of wild teens kept us from staying out longer. The property had a lot of upside but not what I expected. I could get that service and pay 1/2 the price. Obviously the hiring standards are less than stellar at this property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the "green" cabs. They are energy efficient, the cabbies won't take the long way and a portion of your fare gets donated.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
florida
Apr 11, 2011

The Buttes

Excellent Service. I requested for early check in as my flight arrived in Phoenix at 10 AM. Within 10 minutes after checking in at the hotel, I received a call and my room was ready.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
angel fans
Business
southern california
Mar 23, 2011

Beautiful Hotel

The entire staff was very pleasant and courteous and went out of their way to accommodate us. The restaurants at the hotel were terrific and not overpriced. The grounds and pool were beautiful. The location wasn't the best, but not poor either. It was a short walk to the Angels spring training baseball stadium which is why I chose this hotel to begin with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Monda
Business
Spicewood, Tx
Oct 10, 2010

Beautiful location.

We are used to traveling to tropical resorts but had to travel to Phoenix for a wedding. The Buttes was truelly a desert resort with beautiful landscaping and the hotel built into the mountain. The rooms were clean and charmig if not outstanding but the overall atmosphere was far and above a hotel in the desert. It was an oasis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure and visit the Desert Botanical Gardens and Phoenix Zoo only 7 miles away. Upclose views of the giant Seguaro cactus!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Littleton, CO
Sep 28, 2010

Do not Stay

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights at the end of August and will never go back. First of all the rooms were not even as nice as the courtyard I stayed at 6 months earlies for half the price. Second, the restraunt was way overpriced. The first night we ate there and ordered appitizers and asked the waiter if that would be enough for 6 people and he said it was plenty. We got 2 spring rolls about 3 inches in length and 1/2 inch in diameter. Where is that enough for 6 people to sample and it cost $13.Lastly and most importantly, we had medication stolen out of 1 room and earrings stolen out of another and still have not heard anything from the hotel about that. They stated that they asked the employees who had access to the room and no one knew anything about medication or earrings. Really, we are dealing with a thief and they do not think someone can lie as well. We are in the process of contacting Marriott Corporate to let them know about the problems at this hotel.The only positive was the pool and [...], who worked the pool side bar a grill. If not for him I would not have anything nice to say about this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tucson, Az
Aug 31, 2010

Escape from the city without leaving the

Service and the room was great, I was dissapointed that the walls were so thin that I was kept awake by the group next door just speaking loudly. It was addressed when I called the front desk and the group moved elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Catch a D-Backs game if they are in town that week.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy-Unromanced Couple
Business
Gilbert, AZ
Jul 28, 2010

A Marriot Resort The Buttes

[...] hoping to plan a romantic getaway for my husband and I. When we arrived to the hotel we were informed that there were no smoking rooms available and no king size beds available. We asked for an upgrade and were given a one word answer no. I explained to him that this was a romantic trip for my husband and I are you sure there are no king size beds, and his repsonse was no all we have are twins. All we could get out of this guy was no no no. Not an I apologize, no let me get my manager, NOTHING. When we got to the room I had seen better rooms at a one or two star resort. The room looked like my grandma's guest bedroom. No romance what so ever. We then went to the pool which was vacant. This was the first time we were greeted by happy smiling hotel staff. They made sure that we had everything we needed. There were no people at the pool it was complete silence. When we went to our couples massage I was not very impressed by the spa itself but the staff was very friendly. However my husband and I are fitness people. You can imagine he did not feel very comfortable when he met his massage therapist, a lady 100+ lbs over weight. Overall the experience was just so unpleasant and I was not impressed by this resort what so ever. I will never stay here again. I also do not recommend anyone under the age of 60 stay here either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Loves to relax
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 3, 2010

"Relaxing getaway"

I was there because I had to take a test for my job-it was peaceful and quiet for my to study at all hours of the day. i was able to study by the pool or out on the patio or in my room without any complaints of noise! I also used the fitness room to take breaks and burn of stress--the view from the fitness room is UNBELIEVABLE! It made me want to stay on the fitness machines instead of getting out of there as soon as I could! Staff was friendly-and I loved the flavored water that was always available!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NP traveler
Business
South Carolina
Jun 30, 2010

Beautiful relaxing getaway

Great resort. Excellent service. Food was expensive so I didn't eat at the resort but everything else was wonderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jun 29, 2010

Great hotel

I had a great experience at this hotel. The grounds are great and the amenities are great. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5: I have a friend who stayed at another resort nearby, and she said she had a Tempurpedic mattress and a huge room of a bathroom with a jacuzzi tub. My room was nice, but not as extravagant as hers (and she paid the same price as I did).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top