$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 26, 2014 Check-out: Sep 28, 2014

Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

4 stars
2000 Westcourt Way, 2000 Westcourt Way, Tempe, AZ 85282
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
95 reviews
AMAZING!

Staff was great, hotel was great, definitely will be back! See full review

  • Rae Rae07
  • May 12, 2014
our stay

everything was great except the pillows.... very soft bring your own See full review

  • FunTrip from AZ
  • Apr 29, 2014
Secluded resort setting with majestic views and central Tempe location
This mountainside oasis sits on 25 acres. Expect respite and recreation at this resort near Scottsdale and Phoenix. Rooms are well-appointed with amenities such as marble bathrooms and windows that open. There are five on-site restaurants and lounges including the Top of the Rock Restaurant with vistas of the city. There is also Narande Spa. Outside, find two heated swimming pools, waterfall, waterslide and whirlpool.
Highlights
  • Five on-site restaurants and lounges
  • Top of the Rock Restaurant
  • Five miles from downtown Tempe
Rooms

The large resort has 353 rooms and nine suites. Beds have Marriott's Revive Bedding, down comforters and designer duvets. Rooms are air conditioned, but guests can open windows to let in fresh desert evening air. Some suites have patio and resort views. All accommodations have marble bathrooms with a stand-up shower, terry bathrobes and Marriott's exclusive Nirvae bath products. Coffee maker and tea service, mini-bar, safe, working desk with ergonomic char, and wired and wireless high-speed Internet access (fees apply) round out room amenities.

Dining

There are five restaurants and lounges. The Market Cafe combines a touch of modern Californian cuisine with traditional Italian for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Thirsty Cactus Pool Bar and Grill serves up lunch fare poolside. Top of the Rock Restaurant offers world-class views, New American cuisine for dinner, and special Champagne brunch on Sundays. Tequila on the Rocks offers a full bar and a casual dinner menu with occasional live entertainment. Guests can settle into the Lobby Lounge for a cocktail or lunch and dinner.

Recreation

There's plenty to do inside and out at the Buttes. There are two heated mountainside pools (one for children), four whirlpools, table tennis, tennis and volleyball. Inside diversions include the full-service Narande Spa and fully equipped fitness center with classes and personal training.

Transportation
  • Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport (11 minutes)
  • Scottsdale Airport (30 minutes)
  • Phoenix-Mesa Airport (56 minutes)
Attractions
  • Downtown Tempe (5 mi/ 8 km)
  • Phoenix Zoo (5.9 mi/ 9.6 km)
  • Desert Botanical Garden (8.4mi/ 13.6 km)
  • Old Town Scottsdale (10 mi/16.1 km)
Business and events
  • 40,000 square feet of meeting space includes a 200-seat amphitheater, 11 meeting rooms, 10 breakout rooms and Kachina Ballroom for up to 900 people
  • Business center
  • Meeting planning
  • Messenger service
  • On-site exhibition space
Policies and fees

N/A

 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.4021 -111.968
Area served
Tempe
Nearby airports
Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport, (PHX), 3.00, MI, S;
Area description
Resort, Location Type: Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Jogging track
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Sun Devil Stadium: 2.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Arena: 2.6 mi

Dining

Top of the Rock Restaurant
Delight in world-class cuisine at one of the most famous restaurants in Tempe, AZ - Top of the Rock - featuring Contemporary American fare and breathtaking views of the city.
Market Cafe
Enjoy a savory combination of American Southwest flavors while relaxing in an open room with a beautiful cascading waterfall flowing into a Japanese Koi pond. Open for Breakfast Buffet & Lunch Daily.
Thirsty Cactus Pool Bar and Grill
Come for lunch at our Tempe restaurant's open-air pool bar and grill serving sandwiches, burgers and house specialties.
Lobby Lounge
Featuring lunch and dinner menus, the Lobby Lounge is the perfect place to catch up with colleagues and friends.
Starbucks
Enjoy your favorite cup of coffee at our on property Starbucks, located at the Market Cafe.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (95)

Ratings and reviews for Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 95
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AZAVFAN
Scottsdale, AZ
Aug 4, 2013

Buyer beware

When we checked in we were told we had a special air filtration system in our room. Apparently this system was pumping in mustiness, as our room smelled stale. This may have been due to the fact that when we first went to our room there was a workman in the hall outside trying to deal with what he said was a leaking A/C problem. He said he was nearly done. It continued to leak after her left, with the hotel's solution being to place a number of buckets under the seeping ceiling. Then there was a major rain storm. Not much the hotel can do about that, but the facility is built on a hill side and the rain washed silt from the hill side into the pools, making them unusable for our entire stay. Surely there is some sort of subsidence protection that can be installed around where the hillside meets the pool area to minimize this situation. When I voiced my concerns with the aforementioned issues at checkout I was essentially told that there was nothing could be done. I was hoping for more consideration, like perhaps a free night, or something. Not that I have any interest in returning. A huge, huge rip off at $120 a night. A disgrace for part of the Marriott family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jess the coach
Loveland, CO
Apr 28, 2013

Relaxing beautiful oasis

The Marriott is up on a butte and provides a wonderful oasis. The pool was amazing the staff friendly. And our massages at the spa were sublime. The breakfast buffet was delicious, complete with omlette bar. We had a wonderful stay and hope we can come back soon and stay longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We had a good dinner at Marcellino Ristorante. The sauce with the filet mignon was wonderful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
123Brian K
san francisco, ca
Apr 4, 2013

Tempe trip

Hotel getting dated. Lots of steps. Staff really nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Mill Ave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RC ATC
Victorville, CA
Mar 6, 2013

Spring Training Trip

Stayed with the family for Angels Spring Training.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Live Simply
Business
San Diego Ca
Dec 5, 2012

Awesome Experience

One of the best hotel experiences I've had in years.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Desert Travels
Tucson, AZ
Jul 6, 2012

Quick Phoenix Visit

The pool is wonderful for families. Lots of kids around. The breakast buffet had fantastic food. The front desk staff wasn't very customer service oriented. They debated the purchase I made of a buffet when I made the reservation rather than just accommodating me when I showed proof. I requested a crib, didn't receive it nor the newspaper they offered to bring. Little things, but annoying in a 4-star resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Very easy access to Sky Harbor Airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Awesomesauce2
Kingman, AZ
Jun 18, 2012

Mini vaca

The resort is beautiful. The swimming pools are awesome. They could use a few more waiters/waitresses to help in the pool area. Took a little bit of time to be served. It would be fantastic if they had curtains for window coverings. Not too excited to have the sun shining bright in the room before 6am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steve from TX
Houston, TX
Jun 4, 2012

Perfect location!

My only concern would be for anyone in a wheelchair might have some difficulty. Other than that, I was looking forward to a nice dinner in their Top of the Rock and it was closed for a private wedding. Very disappointing to only have the Market Cafe for dinner because clearly it is only intended as a "CAFE".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tri3md
Findlay, OH 45840, USA
Nov 22, 2011

desert beauty in the middle of the city

Beautiful place, high price, very nice restaurant at the top. The room was nice just not stand out at that price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat at top of tre rock

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TRUSTWORTHY
Rhode Island, USA
Nov 15, 2011

BAD EXPERIENCE

PLANNED A NICE NIGHT FOR MY MOTHER'S 70TH BIRTHDAY. INSTEAD NEARLY GOT BUMPED FROM THE HOTEL BECAUSE I BOOKED ON O. I NEVER KNEW SUCH A THING COULD HAPPEN. WE WERE GIVEN A ROOM WITH A MURPHY BED AND PULL-OUT COUCH. EXTREMELY UNCOMFORTABLE. THE RESTAURANT TOP OF THE ROCKS ACTED LIKE THEY COULDN'T TAKE US UNTIL 8:30 YET WAS EMPTY WHEN WE GOT IN THERE. OUR GUEST WAS EQUALLY UNIMPRESSED. THE WAITRESS WAITED WELL OVER A 1/2 HOUR BEFORE INFORMING US THAT THEY WERE ACTUALLY "OUT " OF WHAT WE ORDERED. THEIR FINAL EFFORT TO THROW IN FREE DESSERT DIDN'T SAVE A DISAPPOINTING MEAL. OVERALL, NONE OF US WOULD RETURN TO THE BUTTES BASED ON LOCATION AND SERVICE. NOR WILL I TRUST O!!!!!! A VACATION PLANNED 6 MONTHS IN ADVANCE GOT OFF TO A ROCKY START AND WAS VERY NEARLY RUINED!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search