Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

3 stars
View map of 601, South Ash Avenue, Tempe, AZ 85281

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, MO
Nov 15, 2010

Construction seven days a week

The Courtyard by Marriot in Tempe, AZ had the first and third floor under construction during a two night stay on 11-12-10 thru 11-14-10. Our stay included cigarette smoking construction workers, construction noises starting at 7 am on Saturday and Sunday, filthy elevators, boom boxes, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Okla city
Oct 19, 2010

Hotel review for Phoenix 10/14/10

Construction directly adjacent to property created limited parking access. Train tracks within 50 yard makes for an early wakeup call.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairfax, VA
Oct 3, 2010

Marriott Courtyard Downtown Temp

I arrived from the east coast early morning and went to the hotel to drop my bag. They offered to put me in a room immediately, which was wonderful. Next, I was traveling over my birthday and had flowers and a bottle of wine delivered to my room. The staff made sure the flowers were fresh by storing them in the refrigerator until I could pick them up and put a small refrigerator in my room to make sure the wine stayed cool. So thoughtful. The staff in the breakfast area was also great, so overall two very enthusiastic thumbs up for the wonderful women at the Marriott Courtyard Tempe!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The bar at the Tempe Mission Palms was wonderful -- good wine selection and very nice food.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Staycation-er
Business
Casa Grande, AZ
Aug 23, 2010

Not exactly what I expected

I only stayed one night and wasn't in the room much. We chose the hotel because of its location to Mill Ave. We went shopping, to dinner and out on the town and did not need to worry about transportation. Customer service was very polite and personable. I appreciate not being treated like I'm the millionth person to check in, the staff went out of their way to have a conversation with me and make eye contact. For the price I expected a more updated room, but it was not unpleasant. I didn't get a chance to use the pool, but the grounds looked very inviting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Tempe Town Lake is a great place to take a walk to. The sunset is beautiful from the Mill Ave Bridge.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rural Arizona
Jul 5, 2010

Normal hotel

Spent weekend to attend Diamondbacks game and to watch fireworks. Good location for that but by railroad tracks. I am used to train whistles. I was surprised to find unadvertised fridge in room and walk-in shower (no tub). Pool is only 5 feet deep. Hot breakfast was only available for one of the two days. Bed was too soft for me. Continental breakfast of fruit, cereal and grocery bagels = $9.99. Hot breakfast was good but $11.99. If you have a car, just drive to Denny's or Bill Johnson's Big Apple. Not many breakfast options in downtown Tempe. Rooms clean. Staff decent. Boring place except for when Police showed up to evict party of about 8 students that someone else felt was too noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sanibel
Jun 9, 2010

As advertised

This hotel is consistent with other Courtyard Marriots. Clean, good service, nice breakfast, decent rooms, all for a reasonable price. Good location near ASU.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
lakeside, az
Mar 20, 2010

weekender

great location by ASU within walking distance to restaurants and stores

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryville, TN
Mar 4, 2010

Campus Hotel

The hotel was in a great, central location for the Phoenix/Tempe/Mesa/Scottsdale/Chandler area with easy access to a freeway. Unfortunately, it is also on a college campus. It was very loud outside ALL night long....made me glad that I am no longer young enough to be drunk and fighting with my boyfriend over something inconsequential after a college formal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
College Softball Dad
Business
Illinois
Feb 17, 2010

Great Tempe & ASU location

Hotel has a great location - adjacent to Tempe shops, restaurants and ASU. Clean, comfortable, friendly staff and nice pool. Close to PHX airport and rail line - so can get a little noisy at times during the night. A good value - we would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ASUAndy
Business
Tucson, AZ
Nov 9, 2009

Nice weekend get away

Check-in was seemless and the room had a great Jacuzzi, just right for relaxing after a day on the go! It's in the heart of downtown Tempe right next to Mill Ave and all that a great college town has to offer. It's definately a do over and over again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top