$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 21, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

3 stars
601, South Ash Avenue, Tempe, AZ 85281
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
29 reviews
Great Service!

The staff went above and beyond to take care of us on this trip. My daughter was celebrating her... See full review

  • noonan97333
  • Feb 18, 2014
great location

this was a great hotel. Staff was friendly and hotel was in good order. The bistro downstairs was... See full review

  • friendly weekend
  • Jul 28, 2014
The refreshing, state-of-the-art lobby at the Courtyard Tempe Downtown Hotel provides great flexibility and choices for our guests. Enjoy free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news and weather conditions via our GoBoard®. The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.®, which provides guests with healthy food and Starbucks® beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. The Courtyard Downtown Tempe Hotel is ideally situated in the heart of Tempe, AZ and is just blocks from Arizona State University, Sun Devil Stadium, the Phoenix Zoo and a free ten minute shuttle ride from Sky Harbor Airport. Guests can enjoy fishing and boating on Tempe Town Lake, hiking at Papago Park or visit Mill Avenue District-home to restaurants, shopping and microbreweries. Book your stay with us today at the Courtyard Tempe Downtown Hotel, one of the top hotels in Tempe, AZ. Your stay is sure to be more enjoyable than ever before.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Tennis
Picnic area/tables
Horseback riding
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Sun Devil Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Arena: 0.7 mi

Dining

The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.®
Your Tempe hotel restaurant destination for refreshing breakfast choices in the morning and a variety of dinner and cocktail options in the evening. The Bistro also offers specialty beverages made with Starbucks® coffee to help you get a jump on the day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (29)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 29
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairfax, VA
Oct 3, 2010

Marriott Courtyard Downtown Temp

I arrived from the east coast early morning and went to the hotel to drop my bag. They offered to put me in a room immediately, which was wonderful. Next, I was traveling over my birthday and had flowers and a bottle of wine delivered to my room. The staff made sure the flowers were fresh by storing them in the refrigerator until I could pick them up and put a small refrigerator in my room to make sure the wine stayed cool. So thoughtful. The staff in the breakfast area was also great, so overall two very enthusiastic thumbs up for the wonderful women at the Marriott Courtyard Tempe!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The bar at the Tempe Mission Palms was wonderful -- good wine selection and very nice food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Staycation-er
Business
Casa Grande, AZ
Aug 23, 2010

Not exactly what I expected

I only stayed one night and wasn't in the room much. We chose the hotel because of its location to Mill Ave. We went shopping, to dinner and out on the town and did not need to worry about transportation. Customer service was very polite and personable. I appreciate not being treated like I'm the millionth person to check in, the staff went out of their way to have a conversation with me and make eye contact. For the price I expected a more updated room, but it was not unpleasant. I didn't get a chance to use the pool, but the grounds looked very inviting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Tempe Town Lake is a great place to take a walk to. The sunset is beautiful from the Mill Ave Bridge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rural Arizona
Jul 5, 2010

Normal hotel

Spent weekend to attend Diamondbacks game and to watch fireworks. Good location for that but by railroad tracks. I am used to train whistles. I was surprised to find unadvertised fridge in room and walk-in shower (no tub). Pool is only 5 feet deep. Hot breakfast was only available for one of the two days. Bed was too soft for me. Continental breakfast of fruit, cereal and grocery bagels = $9.99. Hot breakfast was good but $11.99. If you have a car, just drive to Denny's or Bill Johnson's Big Apple. Not many breakfast options in downtown Tempe. Rooms clean. Staff decent. Boring place except for when Police showed up to evict party of about 8 students that someone else felt was too noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sanibel
Jun 9, 2010

As advertised

This hotel is consistent with other Courtyard Marriots. Clean, good service, nice breakfast, decent rooms, all for a reasonable price. Good location near ASU.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
lakeside, az
Mar 20, 2010

weekender

great location by ASU within walking distance to restaurants and stores

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryville, TN
Mar 4, 2010

Campus Hotel

The hotel was in a great, central location for the Phoenix/Tempe/Mesa/Scottsdale/Chandler area with easy access to a freeway. Unfortunately, it is also on a college campus. It was very loud outside ALL night long....made me glad that I am no longer young enough to be drunk and fighting with my boyfriend over something inconsequential after a college formal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
College Softball Dad
Business
Illinois
Feb 17, 2010

Great Tempe & ASU location

Hotel has a great location - adjacent to Tempe shops, restaurants and ASU. Clean, comfortable, friendly staff and nice pool. Close to PHX airport and rail line - so can get a little noisy at times during the night. A good value - we would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Costa Mesa, CA
Nov 9, 2009

Great Hotel! Great Location!

Such a great location!! Great service!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ASUAndy
Business
Tucson, AZ
Nov 9, 2009

Nice weekend get away

Check-in was seemless and the room had a great Jacuzzi, just right for relaxing after a day on the go! It's in the heart of downtown Tempe right next to Mill Ave and all that a great college town has to offer. It's definately a do over and over again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Casa Grande, AZ
Nov 2, 2009

Homecoming ASU

Went to ASU homecoming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top