$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 11, 2014 Check-out: Jul 13, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

3 stars
601, South Ash Avenue, Tempe, AZ 85281
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
51 reviews
Great Service!

The staff went above and beyond to take care of us on this trip. My daughter was celebrating her... See full review

  • noonan97333
  • Feb 18, 2014
Great location in Tempe

Very convenient to ASU campus and other sites in Tempe. Staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. See full review

  • Adcapfire
  • Aug 14, 2011
The refreshing, state-of-the-art lobby at the Courtyard Tempe Downtown Hotel provides great flexibility and choices for our guests. Enjoy free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news and weather conditions via our GoBoard®. The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.®, which provides guests with healthy food and Starbucks® beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. The Courtyard Downtown Tempe Hotel is ideally situated in the heart of Tempe, AZ and is just blocks from Arizona State University, Sun Devil Stadium, the Phoenix Zoo and a free ten minute shuttle ride from Sky Harbor Airport. Guests can enjoy fishing and boating on Tempe Town Lake, hiking at Papago Park or visit Mill Avenue District-home to restaurants, shopping and microbreweries. Book your stay with us today at the Courtyard Tempe Downtown Hotel, one of the top hotels in Tempe, AZ. Your stay is sure to be more enjoyable than ever before.

Hotel Map

33.4242 -111.9432
Area served
Mill and 5th St.
Nearby airports
Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport, (PHX), 6.30, MI, W; Phoenix-Mesa Gateway Airport, (AZA), 29.80, MI, SE;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Tennis
Picnic area/tables
Horseback riding
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Sun Devil Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Arena: 1,149.8 mi

Dining

The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.®
Your Tempe hotel restaurant destination for refreshing breakfast choices in the morning and a variety of dinner and cocktail options in the evening. The Bistro also offers specialty beverages made with Starbucks® coffee to help you get a jump on the day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (51)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbia, MO
Nov 15, 2010

Construction seven days a week

The Courtyard by Marriot in Tempe, AZ had the first and third floor under construction during a two night stay on 11-12-10 thru 11-14-10. Our stay included cigarette smoking construction workers, construction noises starting at 7 am on Saturday and Sunday, filthy elevators, boom boxes, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbia, MO
Nov 15, 2010

Construction seven days a week

The Courtyard by Marriot in Tempe, AZ had the first and third floor under construction during a two night stay on 11-12-10 thru 11-14-10. Our stay included cigarette smoking construction workers, construction noises starting at 7 am on Saturday and Sunday, filthy elevators, boom boxes, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco
Feb 28, 2011

Overpriced, lots of noice, keep looking.

Was reserved by a friend, the room was clean and the staff were nice but the place was way overpriced, lots of noise from the trains, loud car stereos, and partying students (some in the hotel, some outside). The Starbucks inside the hotel is nothing special, the employee didn't know how to make specialty drinks. Lots of university teams stay here so the lobby was full of loud cell phone types. House of Tricks nearby is a good place to eat but Mill Ave is a typical college dump.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

House of Tricks

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco
Feb 28, 2011

Overpriced, lots of noice, keep looking.

Was reserved by a friend, the room was clean and the staff were nice but the place was way overpriced, lots of noise from the trains, loud car stereos, and partying students (some in the hotel, some outside). The Starbucks inside the hotel is nothing special, the employee didn't know how to make specialty drinks. Lots of university teams stay here so the lobby was full of loud cell phone types. House of Tricks nearby is a good place to eat but Mill Ave is a typical college dump.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

House of Tricks

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rural Arizona
Jul 5, 2010

Normal hotel

Spent weekend to attend Diamondbacks game and to watch fireworks. Good location for that but by railroad tracks. I am used to train whistles. I was surprised to find unadvertised fridge in room and walk-in shower (no tub). Pool is only 5 feet deep. Hot breakfast was only available for one of the two days. Bed was too soft for me. Continental breakfast of fruit, cereal and grocery bagels = $9.99. Hot breakfast was good but $11.99. If you have a car, just drive to Denny's or Bill Johnson's Big Apple. Not many breakfast options in downtown Tempe. Rooms clean. Staff decent. Boring place except for when Police showed up to evict party of about 8 students that someone else felt was too noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rural Arizona
Jul 5, 2010

Normal hotel

Spent weekend to attend Diamondbacks game and to watch fireworks. Good location for that but by railroad tracks. I am used to train whistles. I was surprised to find unadvertised fridge in room and walk-in shower (no tub). Pool is only 5 feet deep. Hot breakfast was only available for one of the two days. Bed was too soft for me. Continental breakfast of fruit, cereal and grocery bagels = $9.99. Hot breakfast was good but $11.99. If you have a car, just drive to Denny's or Bill Johnson's Big Apple. Not many breakfast options in downtown Tempe. Rooms clean. Staff decent. Boring place except for when Police showed up to evict party of about 8 students that someone else felt was too noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
sanibel
Jun 9, 2010

As advertised

This hotel is consistent with other Courtyard Marriots. Clean, good service, nice breakfast, decent rooms, all for a reasonable price. Good location near ASU.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Albuquerque ,NM
Sep 14, 2009

Fun times in Tempe

The location and the help were very nice and the rooms were nice and clean ...but no mini fridge ... View was cool ... Beds are comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Staycation-er
Casa Grande, AZ
Aug 23, 2010

Not exactly what I expected

I only stayed one night and wasn't in the room much. We chose the hotel because of its location to Mill Ave. We went shopping, to dinner and out on the town and did not need to worry about transportation. Customer service was very polite and personable. I appreciate not being treated like I'm the millionth person to check in, the staff went out of their way to have a conversation with me and make eye contact. For the price I expected a more updated room, but it was not unpleasant. I didn't get a chance to use the pool, but the grounds looked very inviting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Tempe Town Lake is a great place to take a walk to. The sunset is beautiful from the Mill Ave Bridge.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
sanibel
Jun 9, 2010

As advertised

This hotel is consistent with other Courtyard Marriots. Clean, good service, nice breakfast, decent rooms, all for a reasonable price. Good location near ASU.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top