$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: May 30, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall

3 stars
View map of 5300 S Priest Drive, Tempe, AZ 85283-1049

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
115 reviews
Spring Training Trip

Will definitely stay here again. The breakfast was awesome and had a great variety and they had a... See full review

  • Marian Lyn
  • Apr 7, 2015
GREAT PLACE

We were very impressed with the staff, the breakfast offered and the overall service provided. This... See full review

  • Sharon from WA
  • Aug 26, 2014
Free breakfast, pool and Wi-Fi across from shopping and IMAX movies
Across from Arizona Mills mall, Best Western Tempe by the Mall is surrounded by restaurants and shopping. Its central location for business or pleasure in the Phoenix metro area makes it a terrific value when combined with warm Southwest decor and award-winning service. Mornings start with eggs, sausage and waffles on the free breakfast buffet. Then head out to shop, swim in the courtyard pool, or hop on the nearby I-10 to explore the area. Just eight miles from the Phoenix airport, Best Western Tempe by the Mall offers a free 24-hour shuttle.
Highlights
  • Free hot deluxe breakfast buffet
  • Free 24-hour airport shuttle
  • Outdoor heated pool and hot tub
  • Fitness center
  • Pet-friendly rooms and an outdoor dog walking area
Rooms
The warm, sandy colors of the Sonoran desert soften the rooms at Best Western Tempe by the Mall, prepping guests for a night of quiet relaxation. Stay connected with wireless Internet access, or channel surf through cable television with premium channels. All rooms include Best Western-style conveniences such as a microwave, refrigerator, hair-dryer and an iron and ironing board. If a pet is coming along, request pet-friendly accommodations in advance.
Features
After a shopping spree at Arizona Mills, guests are ready to visit the pool, hot tub and fitness center at Best Western Tempe by the Mall. The hotel is proud to be both pet-friendly and biker-friendly, with a dog walking area and designated motorcycle parking spaces. Recent awards include Best of the Best in 2009, Best Western Hotel Director's Award for Outstanding Service and Excellence and multiple accolades for both customer care and housekeeping. The hotel combines friendly smiles with a prime location close to major sporting events (including the Fiesta Bowl and the Insight Bowl), biking and boating at Tempe Town Lake and the Arizona State University campus.
Transportation
  • Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (8.2 mi/13.2 km)
  • Scottsdale Municipal Airport (24.3 mi/39.1 km)
  • Free 24-hour airport shuttle
Attractions
  • Arizona Mills Mall (Across the street)
  • Sea Life Aquarium (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Tempe Town Lake Recreation Area (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • Arizona State University Sun Devil Stadium (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • Phoenix Zoo (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
  • Desert Botanical Garden (6.2 mi/10 km)
  • Arizona Science Center (9.9 mi/15.9 km)
  • Fashion Square mall (12 mi/19.3 km)
  • Scottsdale Stadium (14 mi/22.5 km)
Business

  • Lobby business center with computers
  • Free Wi-Fi in all guest rooms

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,BUSNSS PLUS,HI SPEED NET,MICR REFRG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,HI SPEED,MICFRG,COFMKR,HAIR,IRN/BRD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NOSMK,POOLSIDE,MICRO FRIDGE,HI SPEED NET,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,PETFRD,HISPD,MICRFG,COFMKR,IRN,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,PETFRD,HISPD,MICRFG,COFMKR,IRN,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Bathroom telephone
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Wells Fargo Arena: 3.8 mi
  • Sun Devil Stadium: 3.8 mi

Dining

Aunt Chilades
1.25 mile(s) from Aunt Chilades, bar/lounge, Mexican, open for: lunch, dinner, voted number two Mexican restaurant in Phoenix by New Times. Known for their famous margaritas and much more.
Rain Forest Cafe
0.12 mile(s) from Rain Forest Cafe, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Claim Jumper
0.12 mile(s) from Claim Jumper, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner, set in the Theme of the Old West, offers hamburgers, steaks, seafood, salads, soups and much more. Full service bar with happy hour
Olive Garden
1.92 mile(s) from Olive Garden, bar/lounge, Italian, open for: lunch, dinner
Rustlers Rooste
1.25 mile(s) from Rustlers Rooste, bar/lounge, steak house, open for: dinner, set on a mountaintop overlooking the valley, this authentic western steakhouse offers a fun, Old West atmosphere complete with Horny the Bull a live steer who resides outside
Red Robin
1.92 mile(s) from Red Robin, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Joe's Crabshack
0.12 mile(s) from Joe's Crabshack, bar/lounge, seafood, open for: lunch, dinner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 115
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gesa
Business
El Paso, TX, USA
Dec 1, 2014

Great Hotel

We enjoy our stay Nice breakfast Nice amenities!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sharon from WA
Business
Sedro-Woolley,WA
Aug 26, 2014

GREAT PLACE

We were very impressed with the staff, the breakfast offered and the overall service provided. This was our second stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tomarzz
Business
temecula ca
Jan 14, 2014

Just right

The hotel was fine for our needs and close to our destination. The breakfast was well done and plenty of items.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
beantownbabe
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 10, 2013

Great Location!

Within 5 miles of Sky Harbor airport and 5 miles from downtown Tempe and ASU. Rooms are on the smaller side with soft mattresses (too soft for me as I prefer firm) and firm pillows (i prefer soft). GREAT breakfast from 6 to 9:30am including eggs sausage, assorted breads, cereals and pastry, yogurt and waffle maker with strawberries and whipped cream etc.! Even biscuits and gravy too. Word to MGT, that They really should extend breakfast to 10am on the weekend though. Nice outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi and washer and dryer as well. A nice 2 night stay. I would def recommend this hotel to F &F going to the immediate area. Happy trails :-) P.S. the restaurant across the street Claim Jumpers is Awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Claim Jumpers and Joe's Crab Shack both a 3 minute drive! We ate at Claim Jumpers and LOVED it! Great HUGE chicken pot pie!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Michael ASU Dad
Business
Tempe, Arizona
Aug 28, 2013

Dropping son off at ASU

Better breakfast than other hotels that offer breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Claim Jumper was excellent for dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Momma of two great girls
Business
New Mexico
Jun 23, 2013

Nice Hotel

I enjoyed my stay there. The room was clean and the staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
clkr23
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 22, 2013

Great value conveniently located.

Very nice staff. Room had everything I needed and a lot of extra items I didn't need but it was nice to know they thought of those items in the event I may have needed any of them. Great breakfast for price of room. Clean room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Tempe Mall is huge and very close to this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KayKay3
Business
New Mexico
Jun 13, 2013

Great Pet Friendly Hotel

Awesome hotel - staff put me in a room right by the door to the parking lot which helped with potty breaks for the pup. Loved the in room fridge. Breakfast was GREAT. I was extremely impressed that they had sugar free syrup for the waffles. All in all would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Auntie D.
Business
Portland, Oregon
May 14, 2013

Very nice staff ~

The staff was very nice. We did end up with two lotto tickets missing from our room though.., & I did see one (1) bed bug on my bed, ew!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The closest shopping mall to this hotel is a short drive, & is loaded with discount designer stores! We had more fun shopping there. It's a good 10 minute drive to any place nice to eat though.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boo on this place
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 31, 2013

Stay here!!!

The staff was so friend and the rooms were very clean. It was worth every dollar I spent and I plan on returning to this hotel when I come back into town to visit family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top