$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 20, 2014 Check-out: Nov 21, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall

3 stars
5300 S Priest Drive, Tempe, AZ 85283-1049
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
106 reviews
Just right

The hotel was fine for our needs and close to our destination. The breakfast was well done and... See full review

  • tomarzz
  • Jan 14, 2014
Excellent Stay

It was great. The room was very clean at all times, the staff was extremely helpful, and the... See full review

  • AG YI in AZ
  • Oct 15, 2013
Free breakfast, pool and Wi-Fi across from shopping and IMAX movies
Across from Arizona Mills mall, Best Western Tempe by the Mall is surrounded by restaurants and shopping. Its central location for business or pleasure in the Phoenix metro area makes it a terrific value when combined with warm Southwest decor and award-winning service. Mornings start with eggs, sausage and waffles on the free breakfast buffet. Then head out to shop, swim in the courtyard pool, or hop on the nearby I-10 to explore the area. Just eight miles from the Phoenix airport, Best Western Tempe by the Mall offers a free 24-hour shuttle.
Highlights
  • Free hot deluxe breakfast buffet
  • Free 24-hour airport shuttle
  • Outdoor heated pool and hot tub
  • Fitness center
  • Pet-friendly rooms and an outdoor dog walking area
Rooms
The warm, sandy colors of the Sonoran desert soften the rooms at Best Western Tempe by the Mall, prepping guests for a night of quiet relaxation. Stay connected with wireless Internet access, or channel surf through cable television with premium channels. All rooms include Best Western-style conveniences such as a microwave, refrigerator, hair-dryer and an iron and ironing board. If a pet is coming along, request pet-friendly accommodations in advance.
Features
After a shopping spree at Arizona Mills, guests are ready to visit the pool, hot tub and fitness center at Best Western Tempe by the Mall. The hotel is proud to be both pet-friendly and biker-friendly, with a dog walking area and designated motorcycle parking spaces. Recent awards include Best of the Best in 2009, Best Western Hotel Director's Award for Outstanding Service and Excellence and multiple accolades for both customer care and housekeeping. The hotel combines friendly smiles with a prime location close to major sporting events (including the Fiesta Bowl and the Insight Bowl), biking and boating at Tempe Town Lake and the Arizona State University campus.
Transportation
  • Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (8.2 mi/13.2 km)
  • Scottsdale Municipal Airport (24.3 mi/39.1 km)
  • Free 24-hour airport shuttle
Attractions
  • Arizona Mills Mall (Across the street)
  • Sea Life Aquarium (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Tempe Town Lake Recreation Area (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • Arizona State University Sun Devil Stadium (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • Phoenix Zoo (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
  • Desert Botanical Garden (6.2 mi/10 km)
  • Arizona Science Center (9.9 mi/15.9 km)
  • Fashion Square mall (12 mi/19.3 km)
  • Scottsdale Stadium (14 mi/22.5 km)
Business

  • Lobby business center with computers
  • Free Wi-Fi in all guest rooms

Hotel Map

33.3769 -111.9632
Area served
Mesa, Guadalupe, Apache Junction, Sun Lakes, Scottsdale, Glendale, Chandler, Gilbert, Fountain Hills, Phoenix
Nearby airports
(PHX), 4.00, MI, E;
Area description
Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,BUSNSS PLUS,HI SPEED NET,MICR REFRG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,HI SPEED,MICFRG,COFMKR,HAIR,IRN/BRD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NOSMK,POOLSIDE,MICRO FRIDGE,HI SPEED NET,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,PETFRD,HISPD,MICRFG,COFMKR,IRN,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,PETFRD,HISPD,MICRFG,COFMKR,IRN,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Bathroom telephone
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Wells Fargo Arena: 3.8 mi
  • Sun Devil Stadium: 3.8 mi

Dining

Rustlers Rooste
1.25 mile(s) from Rustlers Rooste, bar/lounge, steak house, open for: dinner, set on a mountaintop overlooking the valley, this authentic western steakhouse offers a fun, Old West atmosphere complete with Horny the Bull a live steer who resides outside
Joe's Crabshack
0.12 mile(s) from Joe's Crabshack, bar/lounge, seafood, open for: lunch, dinner
Rain Forest Cafe
0.12 mile(s) from Rain Forest Cafe, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Olive Garden
1.92 mile(s) from Olive Garden, bar/lounge, Italian, open for: lunch, dinner
Aunt Chilades
1.25 mile(s) from Aunt Chilades, bar/lounge, Mexican, open for: lunch, dinner, voted number two Mexican restaurant in Phoenix by New Times. Known for their famous margaritas and much more.
Red Robin
1.92 mile(s) from Red Robin, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Claim Jumper
0.12 mile(s) from Claim Jumper, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner, set in the Theme of the Old West, offers hamburgers, steaks, seafood, salads, soups and much more. Full service bar with happy hour

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (106)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tomarzz
Business
temecula ca
Jan 14, 2014

Just right

The hotel was fine for our needs and close to our destination. The breakfast was well done and plenty of items.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tuna tutu
Business
Hawaii
Jul 20, 2010

A very pleasant surprise!

Very courteous and friendly staff - amenities offered at the price we paid was outstanding. It was much much more than what was being offered in other hotels that charged more. Best accommodations we have ever had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seeker
Business
Birmingham, U.K.
Oct 21, 2010

Quality at a good price

Stayed only a couple of nights to chill after long int'l flights. All Staff friendly,helpful&courteous.Rooms absolutely spotless and of pleasing quality.Nice atmosphere.Breakfast was v.good i thought for a buffet with egg,bacon & waffles as well as usual bagels etc. The free shuttle from airport very useful. Used to return to airport to hire a car and journey onward. Pity couldn't stay longer. Good location/base.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wisconsin Traveler
Business
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Nov 1, 2011

Family Getaway

Great hotel !! The room was very clean and spacious. Great breakfast and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AAAA123
Business
San Diego, CA
Nov 8, 2011

BW stay at Tempe

It was a pleasant experience. I had a little trouble with good WiFi connection. Overall WiFi connection was just okay. Staff was friendly and helpful. The place felt safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

BW is directly across a large shopping mall with several restaurants to choose from. Great location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sANTANA
Business
SIERRA VISTA AZ
Nov 27, 2011

Home Away From Home

WE NEVER HAVE HAD A BAD STAY AND WE STAY THERE PRETTY OFTEN!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anne king
Business
Tucson,az
Oct 21, 2012

I am impressed with this hotel, very satisfied!

It iis a great hotel for families. I am impressed with the cleanliness of our room. The breakfast is delicious. Staff are very accommodating. I would go back to this hotel anytime. We got our money's worth.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hoku55
Business
Kaneohe, oahu
Nov 15, 2012

A for Awesome!

Arrived at 2 am at Sky Harbor Airport, called them up, asked them to send the shuttle. When it got there, the driver, Davaid was very professional and did not even blink an eye when he saw I was sitting on my scooter. He helped me load it in the van, and on them way to the hotel, he even asked if I would like to get something to eat! Laci was at the front desk, and let me tell you, she is as sweet and very professional...she set me up with a room on the first floor. The room was large, immaculate and I liked that besides the usual shampoo and conditioner, there was lotion, make up remover, and shoe cleaner. There is also a coffee pot station there. Also, in the lobby there is hot coffee and tea available 24 hours! There is free wireless wifi, which was really great. No amenity or parking fees and free breakfast! The breakfast: first morning they had make your own waffles, with fruit topping and whipped cream available! They also had cheese omelets and crisp bacon. There was fresh fruit and a fresh fruit salad, as well as yogurt, cold cereals, oatmeal, milk, juices, assorted pastries and bagels, jelly's, peanut butter and real butter! What a spread...I also forgot the boiled eggs. There was an attendant that kept everything stocked and clean. Very impressive. I stayed at this hotel for its proximity to the mall and restaurants, and although a lot of them were in walking distance, I did not get to eat dinner till late and did not want to be out by myself...well, the shuttle dropped me off and picked me up when I was done! All in all, I highly recommend this hotel, friendly staff and immaculate grounds. I will be coming back! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Arizona mills mall very close! More food options, as well as shopping and the movies!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ecotraveller
Business
Ciales, Puerto Rico
Nov 15, 2012

Excellent hotel and location to visit the Tempe and Phoenix area.

The staff was very helpful. VEry spacious and clean rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Otterelf
Business
Quartzsite, AZ
Jan 6, 2013

Great stay in Tempe

We only stayed here 1 night but I thought this Best Western was great for the price. Everything was clean and the staff was very helpful. The breakfast was better than at most hotels. I just thought the pool and hot tub weren't very attractive. Since we weren't using them it didn't matter, but just for the record.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top