$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2014 Check-out: Jul 15, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall

3 stars
5300 S Priest Drive, Tempe, AZ 85283-1049
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
164 reviews
Just right

The hotel was fine for our needs and close to our destination. The breakfast was well done and... See full review

  • tomarzz
  • Jan 14, 2014
Excellent Stay

It was great. The room was very clean at all times, the staff was extremely helpful, and the... See full review

  • AG YI in AZ
  • Oct 15, 2013
Free breakfast, pool and Wi-Fi across from shopping and IMAX movies
Across from Arizona Mills mall, Best Western Tempe by the Mall is surrounded by restaurants and shopping. Its central location for business or pleasure in the Phoenix metro area makes it a terrific value when combined with warm Southwest decor and award-winning service. Mornings start with eggs, sausage and waffles on the free breakfast buffet. Then head out to shop, swim in the courtyard pool, or hop on the nearby I-10 to explore the area. Just eight miles from the Phoenix airport, Best Western Tempe by the Mall offers a free 24-hour shuttle.
Highlights
  • Free hot deluxe breakfast buffet
  • Free 24-hour airport shuttle
  • Outdoor heated pool and hot tub
  • Fitness center
  • Pet-friendly rooms and an outdoor dog walking area
Rooms
The warm, sandy colors of the Sonoran desert soften the rooms at Best Western Tempe by the Mall, prepping guests for a night of quiet relaxation. Stay connected with wireless Internet access, or channel surf through cable television with premium channels. All rooms include Best Western-style conveniences such as a microwave, refrigerator, hair-dryer and an iron and ironing board. If a pet is coming along, request pet-friendly accommodations in advance.
Features
After a shopping spree at Arizona Mills, guests are ready to visit the pool, hot tub and fitness center at Best Western Tempe by the Mall. The hotel is proud to be both pet-friendly and biker-friendly, with a dog walking area and designated motorcycle parking spaces. Recent awards include Best of the Best in 2009, Best Western Hotel Director's Award for Outstanding Service and Excellence and multiple accolades for both customer care and housekeeping. The hotel combines friendly smiles with a prime location close to major sporting events (including the Fiesta Bowl and the Insight Bowl), biking and boating at Tempe Town Lake and the Arizona State University campus.
Transportation
  • Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (8.2 mi/13.2 km)
  • Scottsdale Municipal Airport (24.3 mi/39.1 km)
  • Free 24-hour airport shuttle
Attractions
  • Arizona Mills Mall (Across the street)
  • Sea Life Aquarium (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Tempe Town Lake Recreation Area (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • Arizona State University Sun Devil Stadium (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • Phoenix Zoo (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
  • Desert Botanical Garden (6.2 mi/10 km)
  • Arizona Science Center (9.9 mi/15.9 km)
  • Fashion Square mall (12 mi/19.3 km)
  • Scottsdale Stadium (14 mi/22.5 km)
Business

  • Lobby business center with computers
  • Free Wi-Fi in all guest rooms

Hotel Map

33.3769 -111.9632
Area served
Glendale, Phoenix, Apache Junction, Mesa, Chandler, Sun Lakes, Scottsdale, Guadalupe, Fountain Hills, Gilbert
Nearby airports
(PHX), 4.00, MI, E;
Area description
Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,BUSNSS PLUS,HI SPEED NET,MICR REFRG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,HI SPEED,MICFRG,COFMKR,HAIR,IRN/BRD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NOSMK,POOLSIDE,MICRO FRIDGE,HI SPEED NET,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,PETFRD,HISPD,MICRFG,COFMKR,IRN,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,PETFRD,HISPD,MICRFG,COFMKR,IRN,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Bathroom telephone
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Sun Devil Stadium: 3.8 mi
  • Wells Fargo Arena: 1,152.6 mi

Dining

Aunt Chilades
1.25 mile(s) from Aunt Chilades, bar/lounge, Mexican, open for: lunch, dinner, voted number two Mexican restaurant in Phoenix by New Times. Known for their famous margaritas and much more.
Rustlers Rooste
1.25 mile(s) from Rustlers Rooste, bar/lounge, steak house, open for: dinner, set on a mountaintop overlooking the valley, this authentic western steakhouse offers a fun, Old West atmosphere complete with Horny the Bull a live steer who resides outside
Red Robin
1.92 mile(s) from Red Robin, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Olive Garden
1.92 mile(s) from Olive Garden, bar/lounge, Italian, open for: lunch, dinner
Rain Forest Cafe
0.12 mile(s) from Rain Forest Cafe, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Joe's Crabshack
0.12 mile(s) from Joe's Crabshack, bar/lounge, seafood, open for: lunch, dinner
Claim Jumper
0.12 mile(s) from Claim Jumper, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner, set in the Theme of the Old West, offers hamburgers, steaks, seafood, salads, soups and much more. Full service bar with happy hour

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (164)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 164
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DonnD1
Arizona
Feb 2, 2014

One night while attending the Sewing Expo

Clean, handy to the freeway, staff was great, including a shuttle to a restaurant as they felt it was safer that way for two women traveling by themselves. The shower was a bit tricky to manipulate until you played with it a bit. Never did see the Mall....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Joe90
Seattle, WA
Mar 31, 2012

Not the best Best Western

Staff were helpful and friendly, and the room was comfortable (bathroom was larger than in many comparable hotels I've stayed in). The location was a big disappointment (I thought it would be closer to downtown Tempe but this was my fault for not knowing the Tempe area very well). View from the room window was particularly unattractive: a parking lot and the big yellow star of a Carl's Jr. The pool and hot-tub were both really small and unappealing (completely packed with people every time I went down to try it -- I made several attempts over 3 days). I also didn't get a great price on the hotel for this trip (I have stayed at far superior hotels in Phoenix for substantially less), but the free parking, free internet, free breakfast, and refrigerator and microwave in the room made up for some of the detracting factors. There's nothing to rave about at this Best Western but overall I'd say the hotel is fine for an overnight stay, especially if you can find a great deal on the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Slo cat
Colorado
Feb 21, 2012

Wrong info on booking site on this hotel

I booked a single room for six nights for two friends and myself, asking for two beds and a roll away. Hotel absolutely refused to provide a rollaway, citing fire regulations. I SLEPT ON THE FLOOR the entire stay. Could not get a refund from the hotel, as my payment went to booking site. Booking site description of hotel stated I could request a rollaway, WRONG! Don't depend on online hotel description provided by this site. Call hotel directly to confirm essential features before booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Villa Park, CA
Jun 1, 2011

Very comfortable

I was not in my room long but it was very comfortable and clean. Remote control was one that is easily sanitized which I had not seen. Good idea. Room had microwave and small refrigerator which I did not need but nice perk. Check in was quick and easy. Free Breakfast was also nice. Staff is friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Villa Park, CA
Jun 1, 2011

Very comfortable

I was not in my room long but it was very comfortable and clean. Remote control was one that is easily sanitized which I had not seen. Good idea. Room had microwave and small refrigerator which I did not need but nice perk. Check in was quick and easy. Free Breakfast was also nice. Staff is friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Spring training travelers
milwaukee,Wisconsin
Mar 22, 2011

Great Place

Came down for spring training with some friends for the first time and the hotel was awesome. Close to everything, people were wonderful, comfortable beds and pillows, GREAT Breakfast, excellent service. Will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Spring training travelers
milwaukee,Wisconsin
Mar 22, 2011

Great Place

Came down for spring training with some friends for the first time and the hotel was awesome. Close to everything, people were wonderful, comfortable beds and pillows, GREAT Breakfast, excellent service. Will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Marshalltown, Iowa
Jan 4, 2011

Great time here

We went to Tempe for the Insight Bowl. The people that worked in the hotel were great! We asked alot for directions to places and they were great about giving them and different suggestions. The hotel was clean, the bathrooms bigger than some I've seen, and it was close to a mall and just an overall great location for everything we were doing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Marshalltown, Iowa
Jan 4, 2011

Great time here

We went to Tempe for the Insight Bowl. The people that worked in the hotel were great! We asked alot for directions to places and they were great about giving them and different suggestions. The hotel was clean, the bathrooms bigger than some I've seen, and it was close to a mall and just an overall great location for everything we were doing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Birmingham Alabama
Nov 15, 2010

Phoenix trip

Hotel was very clean and service was very good. All staff were very friendly. I enjoyed my stay and so did my friend. We would recommend this hotel to others looking for good value for their money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top