$96 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 9, 2015 Check-out: Jun 12, 2015

Los Abrigados Resort and Spa

3 stars
View map of 160 Portal Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
100 reviews
Overnight stay in Sedona

This is a beautiful resort. You can not get a better location in my opion. See full review

  • BeckyL.
  • Nov 24, 2014
Weekend Getaway

This is the second time I have stayed at Los Abrigados. It is in a convenient location, and the... See full review

  • vacationteacher
  • Oct 15, 2014
Family activities galore at bona fide three-star Sedona hotel
Los Abrigados Resort and Spa is a full-service 22-acre hotel resort surrounded by famous Sedona red rocks. Enjoy an exclusive location next to Tlaquepaque Arts and Crafts Village on the banks of sycamore-lined Oak Creek. Kids summer camp is on offer. Stay here to enjoy the warmth of personalized desert hospitality where dramatic red rock formations loom over dense green treetops and terra cotta tiled roofs.
Highlights
  • On-site spa
  • Outdoor pools, bocce ball, tennis, barbecues and more
  • 2 restaurants
  • Miniature golf course (fees apply)
Location

Los Abrigados Resort and Spa is located near the Y intersection in central Sedona, Arizona. Phoenix is about 100 miles away.

Rooms

Several two-story Spanish hacienda style buildings house 186 one-bedroom suites -- all spacious enough for four or six people. Open French doors to a private balcony to take in the red rock view. Hair-dryers, microwaves, refrigerators, in-room safes and two large TVs are included. Sitting areas have queen sofa sleepers. Some rooms have kitchenettes and gas fireplaces.

Features
Los Abrigados Resort and Spa is filled with on-site recreation at every turn. There's an 18-hole mini golf course (fees apply), fountains, outdoor pools, tennis courts, horseshoe pits, a spa and more. Venturesome types can get introduced to vortex mysteries and astronomy of the desert with local experts (fees may apply).
Dining

A popular horse-racing sports bar has oversize steaks and lobster on the menu, plus free betting lessons, pool tables and 20 flat-screen TVs.

Recreation

The Sedona Spa operates a full menu plus Reiki and acupuncture treatments (fees apply). Spa facilities include an adult pool with bar, family swimming pool with an umbrella fountain, outdoor hot tub, eucalyptus steam room, sauna, and locker rooms. Yoga, water exercise and a state-of-art-fitness center are available.

Transportation
  • Flagstaff Pulliam Airport (25.8 mi/41.5 km)
  • Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (119 mi/191 km)
Attractions
  • Uptown Sedona (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Village of Oak Creek, AZ (6.8 mi/10.9 km)
  • Red Rock State Park (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • Jerome, AZ (28 mi/45.1 km)
  • Grand Canyon south rim (108 mi/174 km)
Policies and fees
  • A Resort Fee of $15.00 USD per night (plus applicable taxes) will be applied per reservation. This fee includes  Wi-Fi; Fitness Center, Fitness Classes, Recreational facilities(18 hole mini-golf, tennis, sport court), Garden Gas Grills; Pools and spa tub; Fire pit; Creekside park; 24 hour Business Center computer/Internet; Boarding pass printing
  • Guests must be 21 years of age or older to check in.
  • The property charges an incidental deposit of $100.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Los Abrigados Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Los Abrigados Resort and Spa Rooms

One Bedroom
One Bedroom offers one king bed in the master bedroom and queen size sofa sleeper with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, color TV, hairdryer, heating, iron / ironing board, kitchenette, microwave oven, non-smoking rooms, refrigerator, safe in room, telephone, toaster, voice mail, tea and coffee making facilities. Maximum 4 Occupancy
Two Bedroom
Two Bedroom offers one king bed in the master and the guest bedroom has a queen or 2 double beds and queen size sofa sleeper in living room. 2 Full Bathrooms. Air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, 3 Cable televisions, hairdryer, heating, iron / ironing board, kitchenette, microwave oven, non-smoking rooms, refrigerator, safe in room, telephone, toaster, voice mail, tea and coffee making facilities. Maximum 6 Occupancy
Standard
King bed, Full Bathroom, Cable Television, Mini Fridge, Microwave, Balcony/Patio with furniture, telephone, non smoking, air conditioning, alarm clock. Maximum 2 Occupancy

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Restaurant
Steak and Sticks Restaurant and Bar is open daily from 11am - 9pm. Lunch is available from 11am - 5pm and Dinner is available from 5pm to 9pm. Pizza is served in the bar until 10pm and Bar Services are available until 11pm. Experience Sedona's best sports bar and grill, which features a creative menu and serves premium cocktails, while the guests enjoy sports action from one of the 20 flat screen TV's in the restaurant and bar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
10:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Los Abrigados Resort and Spa

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
100 out of 100
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Los Abrigados Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
hendersonII
Business
midwest
Apr 30, 2013

Not a hotel, a second-rate resort

Over-rated and over-priced in every way except for its "central" location in Sedona. Some of the staff are friendly and helpful, as are most of the people in Sedona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Secret Garden Café, right at entrance to hotel from highway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Los Abrigados Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
a dream deffered
Business
Tucson,Az
Jul 23, 2013

Very Dissapointed for the price!

After looking at the wonderful pictures on O- and reading all their amenities(including WIRELESS INTERNET), I decided to pamper myself with this expensive "dream" resort. To my disappointment the view in front of my room 272-Q, was a construction zone! We had to walk far away to get to the only pool available. But to our greatest disappointment- there was NO Internet Access in our room, as I perceived there was from O-listing under amenities. The resort claimed that O- knew they had "limited" internet access. The listing photos are so beautiful, but the real place is old, under construction, and has limited internet access. You check in at 4pm(raining by that time, during monsoon season), leaving no option to do outdoor activities, and you ck out early 10am. I paid close to $130 to get disappointed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Los Abrigados Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
a dream deffered
Business
Tucson,Az
Jul 23, 2013

NO ROOM INTERNET ACCESS

This resort has LIMITED INTERNET ACCESS-- I was under the impression that they had internet access in the rooms. But it was not so! So if you need internet access in your room- don't stay here. It was only available in the lobby when I stayed there. My room view was a construction area! I was very disappointed, as the description of their amenities and photos were very deceptive. You ck in at 4pm and ck out by 10am. Doesn't give you a whole lot of time to enjoy their outdoor activities, especially during monsoon season!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Los Abrigados Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PHOENIX
Jan 1, 2011

DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY

THIS IS A TIME SHARE AND IS VERY OUT DATED, AND NEEDS TO BE REMODELED THINK IT IS THE SAME FURNITURE AS WHEN I STAYED THERE 10 YEARS AGO

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Los Abrigados Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
avda
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Sep 27, 2011

terrible front office

would not call me back to try to change the date of my stay. I knew it was non refundable but wanted to see if I could at least get another date. the least I expected was a call back to say no but the front office head (the person answering the phone couldn't help) never even had the respect to call me back. I will never stay here, I will always recommend that friends find another location in Sedona

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Los Abrigados Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atwood Lake, Ohio
Jun 29, 2011

@$200/nt & no hot water

We booked this room because of the hotel's location convenient to central Sedona. When we arrived, the person at the registration desk directed us to the concierge desk following check-in. All the concierge wanted to do was sign us up for a seminar for their time-share plan with an enticement of a $100 Visa card. We declined after a hard-sell sales pitch and went to our room. The room was OK, but rather small. When I got up the next morning, I attempted to take a shower. After about ten minutes of steady flow, the water would not heat up. I ended up taking a cold shower. We walked uptown for breakfast, where we passed a storefront with a guy offering us a free map of Sedona. Since we already had about twenty free maps of Sedona, we declined. We went back to the hotel and checked out. We returned to uptown Sedona where the same guy saw my Ohio State shirt and asked me if we were from Ohio. Unfortunately that line worked for him, and we were stuck there listening to a hard sell sales pitch for the same time-share seminar. I told him about the cold shower. He said the company he works for had recently bought the hotel, and they were in the process of improving things. I told him that hot water should have been higher on the list and didn't bite. He offered to improve the Visa amount to $125. I told him he should have offered me the $125 without the seminar commitment. While the location of the hotel is nice, since it is beside Oak Creek and surrounded by large sycamore trees, you can't even see the red rocks. Stay away from this place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Los Abrigados Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chandler, AZ
Jul 13, 2011

Awful 1980's Decor Resort

I had no idea this was a timeshare hotel until after we arrived at the resort. The "Inn" at Los Abrigados which we stayed at was awful. The outside lights had cobwebs all over them and look as if they hadn't been touched in over 6 months. The rooms were hideous in shades of nasty yellow and orange. Nothing has been updated and I was informed that they just barely updated the tv's to flat screens. To me, this is far from a resort feel. For $20 more I could have stayed at the Hilton. The only remotely nice thing about this resort is the grounds. They have outdoor chess and horseshoes, but they charge for the mini-golf. We never made it over to the pool, and our hot-tub in our "Inn" was something you'd see at someone's residence and it fit probably 3 people comfortably. I asked to see a 1BDRM (we were in a studio) hoping it was nicer, and they were just as bad. I would not recommend this hotel unless it's been updated. The rooms look like they are straight out of the early 1980s. Not impressed and despite the gorgeous pictures, I could not see a redrock from anywhere in the complex.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Los Abrigados Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Steveah
Business
Tucson, AZ
Mar 7, 2014

I'm being charged the wrong amount. NOT cool.

The resort is charging me $100.00 for food and drink I purchased while staying there. My actual bill should be $65.60. The resort is over charging me,… which is NOT cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Los Abrigados Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Speedbird
Business
Ventura, CA, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Good property - needs attention

The room was just OK. Poor lighting, no facial tissues, shower head sprayed in all directions. Needs maintenance! Bed was comfortable. Staff was less than friendly at check-in. Hotel was not full, yet they made us wait several hours for rooms. Directions to room was inadequate. Spent too much time trying to find directions on a map - and I know how to read maps! This property certainly has gone downhill in recent years.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Los Abrigados Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TLKT
Business
MA
Dec 11, 2011

Difficult and lacking in customer service

I expected a higher degree of customer service and assistance. l arrived late at night after traveling the roads for several hours and was given the wrong room: one king size bed, after confirming two double beds on two separate occasions. The staff operating the front desk was unhelpful. I was told there was nothing they could do and that notes would put in the file to be addressed the following morning. The following morning, new staff, no notes and no assistance offered again: simply told nothing they can do, come back later that afternoon. I was told notes would be put in the file again. Simultaneously a daughter was trying to resolve a handicap accessible room that was booked and confirmed for her mother. They were told the same thing, nothing they could do the hotel is often over booked. Later that afternoon I went to the front desk, new staff again and no notes in the file. This time the issue was resolved. The electrical outlets did not work in many rooms. The shower was not strong. There were no menus in the room for any of the restaurants that provided room service. The hotel did offer great security and was decorated beautifully for Christmas. Room service was fast. The hotel was centrally located and it was very easy to access popular spots.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use Brewer Drive to avoid traffic lights, quicker and easier way to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top