$132 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 1, 2014 Check-out: Oct 2, 2014

Talking Stick Resort

4 stars
9800 E Indian Bend Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85256
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
203 reviews
A Staycation at The Stick

Our third one this summer at Talking Stick. AMAZING!. room is great. Pool Party is so relaxing.... See full review

  • Guinness0052
  • Sep 12, 2014
Great spot for couples

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed this hotel. We got here on a Sunday and checked out the pool... See full review

  • Weekend Getaway Lady
  • Aug 27, 2014
For those 21 and over, Talking Stick Resort hosts the popular and crowd-pleasing Release Pool Parties at our main pool on Saturdays and Sundays from 11 am to 6 pm from April through September. If you prefer a quieter and family-friendly atmosphere, you can relax and unwind at our West Pool with its serene setting, crystal clear waters and Sonoran Desert views. Cabana Rental: 480-850-4350. Talking Stick Resort offers the luxuries of a resort while providing guests with options for unmatched entertainment. In addition to relaxing in one of the 497 Deluxe Executive Signature Club or Luxury guestrooms guests will enjoy several upscale amenities including a rejuvenating open-air spa eight world-class restaurants 10 entertainment lounges a 240000 square foot casino full-service pool and more than 100 000 square feet of indoor-outdoor function space. The most unique amenity of Talking Stick Resort is the 240 000 square feet of gaming that will offer over 900 slot machines and a VIP lounge. One of the Southwest s largest non-smoking poker rooms and more than 50 table games will include Blackjack 3-Card Poker and Let It Ride. Fast-action Keno will complete the gaming floor all of which will be available to guests 24 hours a day 7 days a week. Featuring eight restaurants Talking Stick Resort introduces Wandering Horse Buffet a multi-stationed international buffet the 24 hour Blue Coyote Cafe the Black Fig Bistro Shadows Cigar and Martini Bar the 19 seat Ocean Trail seafood bar and the Coffee Garden serving Pete s Coffee. The resort s most prized dining experience Orange Sky will be located on the 15th floor a high-end open air restaurant serving steak and seafood. Entertainment venues include 10 lounges, of which includes Talking Stick Resort s 750-seat showroom and 14th floor nightclub Degree 270 for the 30-something crowd. After soaking up the Arizona sun poolside guests can relax in the 13 000 square foot rejuvenation center The Spa at Talking Stick.

The hotel is 100% Smoke Free.

Hotel Map

33.5386 -111.8657
Area served
Scottsdale, AZ.
Nearby airports
Phoenix International - PHX.
Area description
Old Town Scottsdale, AZ.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Talking Stick Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Talking Stick Resort Rooms

Deluxe - Room
Deluxe Room offers one king bed or two queen beds. Comprised of distinct comfort and contemporary appointments, Talking Stick's commodious deluxe guestrooms exude the ambiance of the southwest with a modern flare.
Signature - Room
Signature guestrooms offer one king bed or two queen beds. Located primarily on the first and second floors, enjoy the euphoric desert air year round in one of talking sticks signature guestrooms featuring the solace of either a balcony or patio.
Club - Room
Club Room offers one king bed or two queen beds. Enticed by statuesque camelback and desert landscapes, Talking Stick Club guestrooms frame some of the east valleys most spectacular views on the 12th and 13th private floors. Include Breakfast (2) and Drink (4) vouchers.
Executive - King
Executive guestrooms offer one king bed. Strategically positioned on the north and south anchors of Talking Stick, Executive guestrooms have some of the most resplendent balcony views of either camelback or mcdowell mountains.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Whether it's an annual corporate gathering for hundreds or a board meeting for a few, Talking Stick Resort can accommodate your needs with over 100,000 square feet of indoor/outdoor meeting and banquet space equipped with complimentary high-speed internet access, including the 25,000 square foot Salt River Grand Ballroom and over 11,000 square feet of prefunction space. We are able to accommodate groups of 2000 or an intimate dinner for 12, our events staff is ready and able to elevate your event to an unmatched level of hospitality offered at Talking Stick Resort.

Dining

Ocean Trail - Restaurant
Open 11am-9pm Sunday-Thursday; 11am-11pm Friday & Saturday With its azure lighting and its exclusive 19-seat bar, Ocean Trail is the ultimate in sophisticated dining. Specialties include traditional Creole cuisine, such as steamers, raw oysters, Cajun style boils and spicy gumbo. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Shadows - Lounge
Open 2 pm to 2 am An 'old school' venue with a contemporary southwestern feel, highlighting the classic sounds of Frank Sinatra and Big Band with ambient indoor and patio seating. The Shadows Lounge features a variety of specialty martinis and cocktails along with a selection of fine cigars. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Palo Verde - Lounge
Open 8 am to 2 am Located on the casino level, this lounge offers a striking view of the pool area. Its serene atmosphere and central location make it a great place to relax, enjoy a few cocktails and meet up with friends. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Players Sports Bar
Open 6 am to 2 am Come watch the multitude of games and sports playing on our plasma screens, and play a little Keno or slots as you enjoy your favorite selections of cocktails and ice cold beers. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Degree 270 - Lounge
Open 8 pm to 2 am Thursday - Saturday Located on the 14th floor, this chic lounge offers live entertainment coupled with fantastic views of the Arizona desert and Camelback Mountain.
Coffee Garden
Open 6am to 9pm As you enter the garden level of Talking Stick Resort, your senses will be overwhelmed by the aroma of fresh brewed coffee and just baked pastries. The Coffee Garden features gourmet roasted coffees and hand selected teas by Peet's Coffee & Tea, and also offers specialty espresso drinks, gelato, and decadent desserts. NEW! - Dueling Pianos performing in the Coffee Garden every Friday and Saturday from 8:00 pm - 11:00 pm. Performances are free to guests.
Poker Room Grill
Open 24 hours Seeking to satisfy your appetite while partaking in a lively game of poker? No problem. The Poker Room boasts table-side dining with an assortment of American and Asian dishes. Fill up and go all in! Join us in the Poker Room every Monday for your favorite card game and our $10 Prime Rib dinner special. 5:00pm to 11:00pm, for seated poker players only.
Wandering Horse Buffet - Restaurant
Open 7am-10:30 am & 11am-3pm Mon-Sat; 4:30pm-9pm Sun-Thurs; 4:30pm-10pm Fri & Sat; 9am-3pm Sunday Brunch Enjoy our expansive international buffet offering indoor and outdoor seating featuring Italian, Asian, Mexican, Mediterranean and American cuisines. The Wandering Horse buffet features live cooking stations, a fresh salad bar, a carving station, delectable desserts and a brick oven pizza kitchen. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM Wandering Horse Buffet Pricing: Breakfast - $9.95 Lunch - $13.95 Dinner Sunday thru Thursday - $20.95 Dinner Friday & Saturday $26.95 Sunday Brunch - $27.95
Orange Sky - Restaurant
Open late from 5pm daily. This culinary jewel is located on the 15th floor and boasts panoramic views of the McDowell Mountains. Diners can choose from a wide selection of wines by the glass, or a world class list of regional and reserve wines to complement your fine dining experience.
Blue Coyote Cafe - Restaurant
Open 24 hours An upscale, full-service restaurant offering American and Asian cuisine in a casual dining atmosphere. The diverse menu ranges from classic sandwiches to freshly prepared salads to dinner entrees. The Blue Coyote Cafe at Talking Stick Resort now offers a full sushi menu from 11:00am-10:00pm. Happy Hour Monday through Friday from 4:00pm to 7:00pm. Select sushi rolls half off. Happy Hour: Mon - Fri 4:00PM - 7:00PM

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (203)

Ratings and reviews for Talking Stick Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 203
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Gilbert, AZ
Apr 24, 2011

Worst Experience. Do not waste your time

DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME. Talking stick resort is only nice because it is new. The employees could care less about you and your experience. Rooms were nice but not worth ever going back. I made reservations for my party of five and myself at Orange Sky for 8pm. We got there early for drinks and the waitress was rude and after we got our drinks she completely ignored us. They did not seat us until 8:45pm!!! They claimed they were running behind and could not free up tables!! What is the point of making reservations if I have to wait!? When we finally sat we walked by AT LEAST 4 open tables we could have been sat at. The employees weren't interested and clearly DID NOT care about our experience. Drinks took another 15 minutes and we had to ask for bread THREE times!!!! Dinner was not worth the wait!!! I've worked in the restaurant business so I always tip at least 20%.... But I couldn't bring myself to give them ANYMORE of my hard earned money because they just did not care. I gave the manager a piece of my mind on the way out and he was the worst of all. Almost calling me a liar when I explained how long we had to wait to be seated! I can assure you, I will NEVER return and I will NEVER recommend the resort to anyone I come into contact with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NeverTalkingStickResort
Chicago, IL
Nov 21, 2013

terrible management staff

I was attracted to the comtemporary style of the resort, while arrving there, realized that it is indeed a casino hotel, everything is ok, not that outstanding. The worst is the managers in the hotel, shockingly rude, arrogant and not helpful at all when I was asking for help regarding a broken item of my personal belongings. The resort charged to my credit card for additional $100 just in case I damaged or used anything in the room. However, when my item was broken by the hotel staff, they told me that they would do the investigation but nothing guarantee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RCLP
Illinois
Mar 31, 2014

Awful front desk managers!

1). The management hired at the front desk should not be employed. I feel sorry for the staff under them. Very rude people. Their rudeness started our vacation on a sour note. Since it was Spring Training, we couldn't find another hotel. We were promised a Roll away. We confirmed with them the day before and was told no problem. B.H., the Asst. Mgr. looked us straight in the eye and told us too bad they don't have any and have the kid sleep on the floor. She told us she would try to get us one for the next night but wouldn't put it in writing. She could care less! And, there was another lady having the same problem. I can't tell you how rude B.H. was. I left a message with the manager who never called back. Thank God for Mike in the casino. WITHIN MINUTES WE HAD A COT IN OUR ROOM! Now, let me ask you....what is up with that? Mike can get us one but B.H. can't? Obviously, she was NOT going to give us a cot. Because of this experience we will never stay there again nor will I gamble there. Many other places to stay! Learned a valuable lesson. 2). Our room was never vacuumed during our stay. Just tidied up a bit and that was it. Dust everywhere. Thank God my kid with allergies was not there. Even a little piece of brown candy that someone must have dropped from their mouth was near the bed for days! 3) extremely smokey. Not good for the lungs. MY MONEY WILL GO TO SOMEWHERE ELSE IN SCOTTSDALE THAT APPRECIATES THEIR PATRONS AND WANT THEM TO HAVE A GREAT VACATION. BUT...THANK YOU Michael for helping us when no other person would!!! You were the best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don and Charlie's is very good.

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PHXSpringBreaker
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Mar 14, 2012

Look elsewhere if you care about service.

We booked this hotel through an online package deal and although we had a nice vacation, the staff ruined the experience. Let me start by saying that this hotel is really nice in appearance. Nice location in Scottsdale, nice pools, good spa, big casino, free parking, decent food and more. However from the moment we stepped in the front door, we found the staff to be unwilling (or unable) to help solve simple problems which led to many more issues throughout our stay. There is a definite lack of caring or concern about guests and there seems to be absolutely no willingness to problem-solve or think on behalf of guests. Although the rooms are nice, they are very small and we did not have a comfortable stay with three adults in one room. The bathroom has a sliding "barn door" that doesn't ever fully close and has a large gap on the bottom, allowing others in the room to hear everything. I guess that is fine if you are traveling alone or with someone you are very close to, but otherwise can lead to awkward situations. Overall, I think you can have a much nicer experience at another resort in the area for a very comparable price and yet have staff that actually care that you are in their hotel. If you don't plan to interact with anyone that stays at the hotel, and just want to lounge by the pool, this may be the place for you! However, if you feel that guests should be treated as guests, I suggest you find another hotel for your stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Too Smoky
Denver, CO
Apr 7, 2012

Booking Dificulty

I booked a room with two beds and was given a room with one. When I tried to ameliorate the situation the desk clerk lied to me and told me there were no other rooms available. I was very disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Commerce City, CO
Mar 13, 2011

Talking Stick Resort - spring training

We planned our trip to Scottsdale specifically for spring training the first year at the new fields, Salt River Fields. Talking Stick Resort was built at the same time, supposedly to encourage baseball fans to stay there. However, many important amenities were not available (no airport shuttle, did not provide early transport to the sport complex, etc.). After paying $45 for an airport transfer, the hotel did not have our preferred room available[...]. They did not offer to change our room assignment, claiming that no other rooms were available. This property does not live up to the advertisements. It is not a top-tier resort, only a glorified casino. The rooms are nice, but not exceptional. The linen on the bed was worn. There was an HDTV big screen, but the response time for the satellite was so slow that it was unclear whether it was really on (took over five minutes every time to boot up and begin TV or movies). The bathroom door was a sliding door, without any hook or way to keep it closed - and it wasn't balanced to stay closed - so it kept silently sliding back open! My son and I were sharing the room, so both of us were embarassed at times. The telephone system was good, with a personal greeting by name when we got to the room. The restaurant (Blue Coyote) was decent, and the buffet at the Wandering Horse was excellent. Next year we will be staying at a different property for spring training, as this one was not anything we want to repeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The ExecCar service only charged $11 to take us to the ball fields early - and you HAVE to have most of a day to enjoy everything at Salt River Fields.

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Loggers
Seattle, WA
Feb 24, 2013

Average visit

Strong smell of cigarette smoke in the lobby. Cover charge to access the club was required even if you stay there! Really?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
go rockies
colorado springs colorado
Mar 9, 2011

both good and bad

Nice hotel but they lost electricity and had to relocate us to a different hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mabel T.
Chicago,Illinois
Dec 14, 2012

scalding water in shower

I wa very impressed iwth the room but we had the most miserable stay because we could not even take a shower since the water was too hot actually scalding. We complained a total of three times. The maintenace guy said all we had to do is let the water in the tub flow for a while and it will be okay. It did not help. So we had to use the ice bucket to pour water on our hairs and bodies which was very awkward. We should not be expierencing this especially in a four star hotel. We should be credted some money. This was not worth what we paid for. Also, one day we came back to the room finding that our toilet bowl was not cleaned at all. That was disgusting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mid Winter Break
Seattle, WA
Feb 22, 2014

Week trip with kids

The hotel is located adjacent to the Casino. The location is a bit out of central scottsdale, but manageable with a car. The room amenities are outstanding. The buffet was also a good value. The only drawbacks were the fact that you had to go through the casino to get to the hotel room. Not ideal with young kids, as there was a lot of cigarette smoke. The housekeeping was also a bit inconsistent. Overall, though, this is a good choice when staying in the Phoenix area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The buffet is a good value especially for breakfast and lunch.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search