$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Talking Stick Resort

4 stars
View map of 9800 E Indian Bend Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85256

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
241 reviews
Great staycation!

Been there before and was just as pleased the 2nd time around! See full review

  • Jesslynd L.
  • Aug 26, 2015
Great deal

We stayed during off-peak season and what a bargain! Our suite was enormous with high ceilings and... See full review

  • GentleToast
  • Aug 25, 2015
For those 21 and over, Talking Stick Resort hosts the popular and crowd-pleasing Release Pool Parties at our main pool on Saturdays and Sundays from 11 am to 6 pm from April through September. If you prefer a quieter and family-friendly atmosphere, you can relax and unwind at our West Pool with its serene setting, crystal clear waters and Sonoran Desert views. Cabana Rental: 480-850-4350. Talking Stick Resort offers the luxuries of a resort while providing guests with options for unmatched entertainment. In addition to relaxing in one of the 497 Deluxe Executive Signature Club or Luxury guestrooms guests will enjoy several upscale amenities including a rejuvenating open-air spa eight world-class restaurants 10 entertainment lounges a 240000 square foot casino full-service pool and more than 100 000 square feet of indoor-outdoor function space. The most unique amenity of Talking Stick Resort is the 240 000 square feet of gaming that will offer over 900 slot machines and a VIP lounge. One of the Southwest s largest non-smoking poker rooms and more than 50 table games will include Blackjack 3-Card Poker and Let It Ride. Fast-action Keno will complete the gaming floor all of which will be available to guests 24 hours a day 7 days a week. Featuring eight restaurants Talking Stick Resort introduces Wandering Horse Buffet a multi-stationed international buffet the 24 hour Blue Coyote Cafe the Black Fig Bistro Shadows Cigar and Martini Bar the 19 seat Ocean Trail seafood bar and the Coffee Garden serving Pete s Coffee. The resort s most prized dining experience Orange Sky will be located on the 15th floor a high-end open air restaurant serving steak and seafood. Entertainment venues include 10 lounges, of which includes Talking Stick Resort s 750-seat showroom and 14th floor nightclub Degree 270 for the 30-something crowd. After soaking up the Arizona sun poolside guests can relax in the 13 000 square foot rejuvenation center The Spa at Talking Stick.

The hotel is 100% Smoke Free.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Talking Stick Resort also booked these hotels.

★★★
$37
3.5 / 5 258 reviews
★★★
$82
4.2 / 5 136 reviews
★★★★
$159
4.1 / 5 148 reviews
★★★★
$75
4.1 / 5 169 reviews
★★★★
$78
3.8 / 5 63 reviews
★★★★
$77
4.3 / 5 136 reviews
★★★★
$80
3.9 / 5 61 reviews
★★★
$68
3.9 / 5 86 reviews

Talking Stick Resort Rooms

Deluxe - Room
Deluxe Room offers one king bed or two queen beds. Comprised of distinct comfort and contemporary appointments, Talking Stick's commodious deluxe guestrooms exude the ambiance of the southwest with a modern flare.
Signature - Room
Signature guestrooms offer one king bed or two queen beds. Located primarily on the first and second floors, enjoy the euphoric desert air year round in one of talking sticks signature guestrooms featuring the solace of either a balcony or patio.
Club - Room
Club Room offers one king bed or two queen beds. Enticed by statuesque camelback and desert landscapes, Talking Stick Club guestrooms frame some of the east valleys most spectacular views on the 12th and 13th private floors. Include Breakfast (2) and Drink (4) vouchers.
Executive - King
Executive guestrooms offer one king bed. Strategically positioned on the north and south anchors of Talking Stick, Executive guestrooms have some of the most resplendent balcony views of either camelback or mcdowell mountains.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Whether it's an annual corporate gathering for hundreds or a board meeting for a few, Talking Stick Resort can accommodate your needs with over 100,000 square feet of indoor/outdoor meeting and banquet space equipped with complimentary high-speed internet access, including the 25,000 square foot Salt River Grand Ballroom and over 11,000 square feet of prefunction space. We are able to accommodate groups of 2000 or an intimate dinner for 12, our events staff is ready and able to elevate your event to an unmatched level of hospitality offered at Talking Stick Resort.

Dining

Wandering Horse Buffet - Restaurant
Open 7am-10:30 am & 11am-3pm Mon-Sat; 4:30pm-9pm Sun-Thurs; 4:30pm-10pm Fri & Sat; 9am-3pm Sunday Brunch Enjoy our expansive international buffet offering indoor and outdoor seating featuring Italian, Asian, Mexican, Mediterranean and American cuisines. The Wandering Horse buffet features live cooking stations, a fresh salad bar, a carving station, delectable desserts and a brick oven pizza kitchen. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM Wandering Horse Buffet Pricing: Breakfast - $9.95 Lunch - $13.95 Dinner Sunday thru Thursday - $20.95 Dinner Friday & Saturday $26.95 Sunday Brunch - $27.95
Orange Sky - Restaurant
Open late from 5pm daily. This culinary jewel is located on the 15th floor and boasts panoramic views of the McDowell Mountains. Diners can choose from a wide selection of wines by the glass, or a world class list of regional and reserve wines to complement your fine dining experience.
Blue Coyote Cafe - Restaurant
Open 24 hours An upscale, full-service restaurant offering American and Asian cuisine in a casual dining atmosphere. The diverse menu ranges from classic sandwiches to freshly prepared salads to dinner entrees. The Blue Coyote Cafe at Talking Stick Resort now offers a full sushi menu from 11:00am-10:00pm. Happy Hour Monday through Friday from 4:00pm to 7:00pm. Select sushi rolls half off. Happy Hour: Mon - Fri 4:00PM - 7:00PM
Black Fig Bistro - Restaurant
Open 24 hours An express service upscale bistro for guests on the go serving homemade soups, fresh salads, specialty pizzas, and handcrafted sandwiches.
Ocean Trail - Restaurant
Open 11am-9pm Sunday-Thursday; 11am-11pm Friday & Saturday With its azure lighting and its exclusive 19-seat bar, Ocean Trail is the ultimate in sophisticated dining. Specialties include traditional Creole cuisine, such as steamers, raw oysters, Cajun style boils and spicy gumbo. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Shadows - Lounge
Open 2 pm to 2 am An 'old school' venue with a contemporary southwestern feel, highlighting the classic sounds of Frank Sinatra and Big Band with ambient indoor and patio seating. The Shadows Lounge features a variety of specialty martinis and cocktails along with a selection of fine cigars. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Palo Verde - Lounge
Open 8 am to 2 am Located on the casino level, this lounge offers a striking view of the pool area. Its serene atmosphere and central location make it a great place to relax, enjoy a few cocktails and meet up with friends. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Players Sports Bar
Open 6 am to 2 am Come watch the multitude of games and sports playing on our plasma screens, and play a little Keno or slots as you enjoy your favorite selections of cocktails and ice cold beers. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Degree 270 - Lounge
Open 8 pm to 2 am Thursday - Saturday Located on the 14th floor, this chic lounge offers live entertainment coupled with fantastic views of the Arizona desert and Camelback Mountain.
Coffee Garden
Open 6am to 9pm As you enter the garden level of Talking Stick Resort, your senses will be overwhelmed by the aroma of fresh brewed coffee and just baked pastries. The Coffee Garden features gourmet roasted coffees and hand selected teas by Peet's Coffee & Tea, and also offers specialty espresso drinks, gelato, and decadent desserts. NEW! - Dueling Pianos performing in the Coffee Garden every Friday and Saturday from 8:00 pm - 11:00 pm. Performances are free to guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Talking Stick Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
111 out of 241
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Carla from Chandler
Couples
Chandler, AZ
Apr 8, 2013

Great hotel if you are just out of College

If you are an adult with a familly looking for a nice evening away without the kids ~ this is NOT the hotel for you. I was turning 44 and thought it would be a great place to spend this day. The only positive thing that came out of it is that we were close to the Scottsdale Quarter and had an amazing dinner there. The staff at Talking Stick weren't professional and not friendly. The entire first floor of our hotel sounded like everyone was on Spring Break. The hotel's pool is very basic. If you are one that enjoys the likes of JW Marriott or Westin Kierland ~ stick with those!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ESSM
Couples
ESSM
Apr 11, 2013

MOLESTED AT TALKING STICK -- NO ACTION TAKEN BY MANAGEMENT

My wife & I are frequent visitors to Talking Stick since it is only 2 miles from our home and has enough diverse restaurants and amenities to have an entertaining evening. Most of the staff is very nice and we have become friends with many of them. The problem is with management, namely the CEO of Casino Arizona / Talking Stick, Dennis Leong and the Talking Stick Manager, Clay Brownlee. Dennis Leong will NEVER return calls or emails under any circumstances, and always delegates to Clay Brownlee, who does not have the experience or authority to do anything. Here is the latest example is when my wife and I went to Blue Coyote Restaurant on 3/29/13. The Bartender, "Rob" who we have spoken to on occasion, walked around the bar and grabbed my wife's hips and slid his hands around her waist and groped her. We had just paid our tab and were leaving with friends; we were all shocked at Rob's behavior and left immediately to avoid escalation of the situation. I had asked for the manager before we left the facility and had to leave a message instead since they were "unavailable". For the next 5 days I attempted to reach Dennis Leong, to no avail. Finally, after sending a threatening email, Mr. Leong had Clay Brownlee call me back. He stated he would look into this and get back to me. I had heard literally nothing and had to follow up repeatedly until I finally got a reply on 4/10/13. Obviously there was no urgency in a male employee groping a long term casino customer and basically Mr. Brownlee stated he "viewed the incident on their cameras and couldn't see what Rob actually did.", which is a lie. Don;t go here if you want to be disappointed. They have great employees who really care, but if there is ever an issue, the management will do nothing for you. We are seriously considering filing criminal charges at this point. Had Mr. Leong had dealt with this matter with a sense of urgency and care, we may have felt differently; however, they have been so brazen in their avoidance of this very serious situation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Marie D.
Couples
Phoenix
May 26, 2015

2 night Suite stay- no maid service!

I booked this suite for 2 nights for my wedding. The first problem I had with my stay was minor. The 1 bay suite smelled of cigarette smoke because it was on the casion level floor. I stayed in the room with my mother and maid of honor the first night. We had 8 other girls show up to the room the next morning to get ready, so the room was quite messy after we headed off to the wedding. When I returned to the suite with my new husband later that evening, the room was still COMPLETLY TRASHED :( no maid service had come to make the beds, change towels, or even clean up the room in any way. We spendt over $300 in room service for breakfast for me and my birdesmaids that morning and I had asked for many of the items (water, coffee, danishes) that were not eaten to be left for my husband and I the next morning, however the room service staff came and took out ALL the food and coffee and wanted to charge me again to bring it back. In sum, the room was never cleaned and the room service food I requested to be left, was all taken away and they wanted to charge me to bring it back. It was a terrible experience and I will never return. As a travel agent for a large travel subsidary in Scottsdale, I will also no longer be booking my clients there either. I requested to speak to a manager upon check out and the staff told me there was nothing they were willing to do but would contact the head of the room service and maid departments to call me within the week. I never heard from them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CMueller
Couples
Gilbert, AZ
Mar 17, 2012

Not worth the hassle.

My husband and I have been to gamble here more than once, but have never stayed at the hotel. I was told 2 hours before check in that they did not have our reservation. Once I did the leg work for the staff they "found" our reservation. I did an early check in because we were staying there with friends for a surprise party. I was told someone would call me at 4pm, to let me know my room number. She called but refused to tell me the room number. To top it off they put us in the wrong room, two doubles instead of a king. Thank you for down grading our experience Talking Stick. We won't be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PK the Pip
Couples
New Jersey
Jun 10, 2012

Need Some Improvement

We arrived early and were given a Signature Room with a view of the parking lot. We said we would rather wait for a better room and they said they would call us as soon as they had it ready. They never called and we finally got a room at 3:30. We were never offered to use the pool or suggest a restaurant or any facility while we waited. Very poor first impression. Some of the staff members were very nice but some were awful. The pool was open 24 hours yet there were no towels before 10:00 a.m. The grounds have no flowers or charm like the other hotels we have stayed in Scottsdale. A lot of concrete with views of the parking lot. Breakfast buffet was great but when you ate outside you again had that view of the parking lot, They could have done something to make it less visible. The concierges were very helpful. Valet service was good. Rooms were very clean and comfortable with nice amenities. Walking thru the casinos with the smoke was AWFUL. We would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Irishwife
Couples
Utah
Feb 10, 2013

50th Anniversity bucket list visit to Phoenix

We were given a room with a balcony, which was an extra cost of $20.00 per night. The balcony overlooked the golf cart parking lot and golf course maintenance garage. The room was lovely and clean, but it did not have a comfortable chair, only an office chair at a long desk at the other window which was a "corner view" of the pool. We asked for a different room with a balcony with a view...they put us at garden level and the fan system ran 24/7 to bring the air/heat downward. I could not sleep. It NEVER shut off. When I asked to see the mgr. she told me her parents stayed in the first room we were given...and she would have to downgrade us...to give us a pool view, OR we could pay an additional $25.00 per night (a reduced rate, according to her) for the same corner room, but on the seventh floor which would bypass the golf equipment parking lot (because you were higher) and have a nice view of the golf course and trees. We did not want to pay an additional $25.00 so we returned to the original room. We had foam pillows and when I mentioned that, she told me I should have known to request them before hand. I told her that Hilton has two foam and two feather, she told me that was not true...as she had worked for Hilton. I told her I had just come from the Hilton next door and they did INDEED have two of each She again told me I was wrong. When I asked about a comfortable chair...she offered to bring a chair from the conference room...like a plastic chair...I declined However; I fell at the pool...there was a small step and I was heading to the trash barrel with an empty water bottle and fell hands first onto the cement. The hotel security came to my aid and summoned the hotel EMT...He was thorough and kind. The pool is absolutely beautiful and after some x-rays and cuts and bruises cleaned out...and a brace for a sprained wrist....we settled in to enjoy as best we could.... The conceirge found us several places to visit and was pleasant and helpful, as were all of the staff. The hotel itself was half-empty and the investment in making our stay enjoyable was simply a room with a balcony with a view...That was NOT given to us. We did receive our request for an extra luggage rack, and feather pillows. No comfy chair provided. Was it worth the time, money and requirement to go through the casino every time we went in and out of our room...NO...next time we'll stay at a Hilton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Musical Instrument Museum, worth every minute in it. Also the Frank Lloyd Wright center. Students will show you the living quarters they designed. Beleive it or not, The Cactus Botanical Garens are fascinating.

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Couple Spring Trip
Couples
Wisconsin
Apr 5, 2014

Couple spring trip

Did not like the long walk through parking lot. Also, every time we left the hotel we had to walk through the smoke filled casino's -- there was no other way out. We had our room made up and they did not wash the sheets. We enjoy dining in downtown Scottsdale so the location was not ideal for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Can't Breath
Couples
IL
Apr 24, 2012

Wonder

All in all it is a beautiful resort. I would recommend this resort to people but warn them about all the cigarette smoke. The food is very good in the restaurants and reasonable. Pool attendants are nice but do not visit the west pool. You need to call. The food is a little bit more expensive. If there are any functions going on in the hotel you need to check ahead of time. The concierge does not have tickets put aside for there own patrons. The rooms are beautiful. The do have a frig but no microwave, Which would have been nice to have to warm up left overs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Very reasonable.

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BobnBrenda
Couples
Crystal Lake, IL
Mar 17, 2013

Too smoky for me

The smoking in and around this hotel and casino really put a damper on the experience for us. I couldn't take sitting in the bars for the sickening smell. The outside seating areas similarly were impacted. If I had known that smoking was so prevalent here I never would have made this reservation. You should let people know what they are in for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pharmboy314
Couples
Phoenix
Apr 2, 2013

Mixed experience

Lots to do and convenient. The batteries in our remote for the TV were weak and they left decaffinated coffee vs caffeinated coffee packets in a ratio of 4/2. I left a note to housekeeping to leave more caffeinated coffee and replace remote control batteries every day for 3 days and nothing was done. The TV would also shut off unexpectadely and not turn back on. Otherwise, a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top