$115 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 1, 2014 Check-out: Oct 2, 2014

Talking Stick Resort

4 stars
9800 E Indian Bend Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85256
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
202 reviews
Great spot for couples

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed this hotel. We got here on a Sunday and checked out the pool... See full review

  • Weekend Getaway Lady
  • Aug 27, 2014
Girls night getaway!

Wonderful trip with the girls. I would love to stay here again. See full review

  • L. We
  • Aug 25, 2014
For those 21 and over, Talking Stick Resort hosts the popular and crowd-pleasing Release Pool Parties at our main pool on Saturdays and Sundays from 11 am to 6 pm from April through September. If you prefer a quieter and family-friendly atmosphere, you can relax and unwind at our West Pool with its serene setting, crystal clear waters and Sonoran Desert views. Cabana Rental: 480-850-4350. Talking Stick Resort offers the luxuries of a resort while providing guests with options for unmatched entertainment. In addition to relaxing in one of the 497 Deluxe Executive Signature Club or Luxury guestrooms guests will enjoy several upscale amenities including a rejuvenating open-air spa eight world-class restaurants 10 entertainment lounges a 240000 square foot casino full-service pool and more than 100 000 square feet of indoor-outdoor function space. The most unique amenity of Talking Stick Resort is the 240 000 square feet of gaming that will offer over 900 slot machines and a VIP lounge. One of the Southwest s largest non-smoking poker rooms and more than 50 table games will include Blackjack 3-Card Poker and Let It Ride. Fast-action Keno will complete the gaming floor all of which will be available to guests 24 hours a day 7 days a week. Featuring eight restaurants Talking Stick Resort introduces Wandering Horse Buffet a multi-stationed international buffet the 24 hour Blue Coyote Cafe the Black Fig Bistro Shadows Cigar and Martini Bar the 19 seat Ocean Trail seafood bar and the Coffee Garden serving Pete s Coffee. The resort s most prized dining experience Orange Sky will be located on the 15th floor a high-end open air restaurant serving steak and seafood. Entertainment venues include 10 lounges, of which includes Talking Stick Resort s 750-seat showroom and 14th floor nightclub Degree 270 for the 30-something crowd. After soaking up the Arizona sun poolside guests can relax in the 13 000 square foot rejuvenation center The Spa at Talking Stick.

The hotel is 100% Smoke Free.

Hotel Map

33.5386 -111.8657
Area served
Scottsdale, AZ.
Nearby airports
Phoenix International - PHX.
Area description
Old Town Scottsdale, AZ.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Talking Stick Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Talking Stick Resort Rooms

Deluxe - Room
Deluxe Room offers one king bed or two queen beds. Comprised of distinct comfort and contemporary appointments, Talking Stick's commodious deluxe guestrooms exude the ambiance of the southwest with a modern flare.
Signature - Room
Signature guestrooms offer one king bed or two queen beds. Located primarily on the first and second floors, enjoy the euphoric desert air year round in one of talking sticks signature guestrooms featuring the solace of either a balcony or patio.
Club - Room
Club Room offers one king bed or two queen beds. Enticed by statuesque camelback and desert landscapes, Talking Stick Club guestrooms frame some of the east valleys most spectacular views on the 12th and 13th private floors. Include Breakfast (2) and Drink (4) vouchers.
Executive - King
Executive guestrooms offer one king bed. Strategically positioned on the north and south anchors of Talking Stick, Executive guestrooms have some of the most resplendent balcony views of either camelback or mcdowell mountains.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Whether it's an annual corporate gathering for hundreds or a board meeting for a few, Talking Stick Resort can accommodate your needs with over 100,000 square feet of indoor/outdoor meeting and banquet space equipped with complimentary high-speed internet access, including the 25,000 square foot Salt River Grand Ballroom and over 11,000 square feet of prefunction space. We are able to accommodate groups of 2000 or an intimate dinner for 12, our events staff is ready and able to elevate your event to an unmatched level of hospitality offered at Talking Stick Resort.

Dining

Ocean Trail - Restaurant
Open 11am-9pm Sunday-Thursday; 11am-11pm Friday & Saturday With its azure lighting and its exclusive 19-seat bar, Ocean Trail is the ultimate in sophisticated dining. Specialties include traditional Creole cuisine, such as steamers, raw oysters, Cajun style boils and spicy gumbo. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Shadows - Lounge
Open 2 pm to 2 am An 'old school' venue with a contemporary southwestern feel, highlighting the classic sounds of Frank Sinatra and Big Band with ambient indoor and patio seating. The Shadows Lounge features a variety of specialty martinis and cocktails along with a selection of fine cigars. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Palo Verde - Lounge
Open 8 am to 2 am Located on the casino level, this lounge offers a striking view of the pool area. Its serene atmosphere and central location make it a great place to relax, enjoy a few cocktails and meet up with friends. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Players Sports Bar
Open 6 am to 2 am Come watch the multitude of games and sports playing on our plasma screens, and play a little Keno or slots as you enjoy your favorite selections of cocktails and ice cold beers. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Degree 270 - Lounge
Open 8 pm to 2 am Thursday - Saturday Located on the 14th floor, this chic lounge offers live entertainment coupled with fantastic views of the Arizona desert and Camelback Mountain.
Coffee Garden
Open 6am to 9pm As you enter the garden level of Talking Stick Resort, your senses will be overwhelmed by the aroma of fresh brewed coffee and just baked pastries. The Coffee Garden features gourmet roasted coffees and hand selected teas by Peet's Coffee & Tea, and also offers specialty espresso drinks, gelato, and decadent desserts. NEW! - Dueling Pianos performing in the Coffee Garden every Friday and Saturday from 8:00 pm - 11:00 pm. Performances are free to guests.
Poker Room Grill
Open 24 hours Seeking to satisfy your appetite while partaking in a lively game of poker? No problem. The Poker Room boasts table-side dining with an assortment of American and Asian dishes. Fill up and go all in! Join us in the Poker Room every Monday for your favorite card game and our $10 Prime Rib dinner special. 5:00pm to 11:00pm, for seated poker players only.
Wandering Horse Buffet - Restaurant
Open 7am-10:30 am & 11am-3pm Mon-Sat; 4:30pm-9pm Sun-Thurs; 4:30pm-10pm Fri & Sat; 9am-3pm Sunday Brunch Enjoy our expansive international buffet offering indoor and outdoor seating featuring Italian, Asian, Mexican, Mediterranean and American cuisines. The Wandering Horse buffet features live cooking stations, a fresh salad bar, a carving station, delectable desserts and a brick oven pizza kitchen. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM Wandering Horse Buffet Pricing: Breakfast - $9.95 Lunch - $13.95 Dinner Sunday thru Thursday - $20.95 Dinner Friday & Saturday $26.95 Sunday Brunch - $27.95
Orange Sky - Restaurant
Open late from 5pm daily. This culinary jewel is located on the 15th floor and boasts panoramic views of the McDowell Mountains. Diners can choose from a wide selection of wines by the glass, or a world class list of regional and reserve wines to complement your fine dining experience.
Blue Coyote Cafe - Restaurant
Open 24 hours An upscale, full-service restaurant offering American and Asian cuisine in a casual dining atmosphere. The diverse menu ranges from classic sandwiches to freshly prepared salads to dinner entrees. The Blue Coyote Cafe at Talking Stick Resort now offers a full sushi menu from 11:00am-10:00pm. Happy Hour Monday through Friday from 4:00pm to 7:00pm. Select sushi rolls half off. Happy Hour: Mon - Fri 4:00PM - 7:00PM

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (202)

Ratings and reviews for Talking Stick Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
202 out of 202
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sgg2411
Denver, CO, USA
Mar 12, 2012

Amazing

Cant find anything better for the price! We will be back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hull
Business
Santee, CA, USA
Jun 14, 2013

comfort

everything is great about the hotel and room I just wish they had a separate entrance to the hotel lobby with the casino being the main entrance is the only con on my part

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark R
Hawaii
Jul 9, 2013

very nice place to stay with nice amenities!

only bad thing I could say is that I called hotel services to bring up two bottles of water for me and my wife, but they never brought them. not a huge deal but thought it was kind of weird.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roxy12
New York
Jan 4, 2013

Great family getaway!

Fun hotel, great place to stay in the Phoenix, Scottsdale area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfast buffet is very reasonable and great food!

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix, AZ
Apr 24, 2011

Vegas in Scottsdale

Great room. Great service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Great shows. Good price

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BP Fun Stuff
Portland, OR
Apr 1, 2013

Clean Rooms

This was a perfect location for a family vacation with our 70+ parents. Everything was easily accessible, staff was friendly, nice to see a concert right in the building. Loved the dueling pianos on the weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pamky
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Talking Stick Resort - wonderful time!

We visited Phoenix during the Cactus League baseball spring training in March 2012. TSR (Talking Stick Resort) is in sight of the Salt River Fields where you can see the Rockies, Padres and their opponents play. It's an easy drive to other fields in the area also. The hotel is wonderful, right off Highway 101 North and within a mile of Old Scottsdale. Handy shopping (Target, Bath and Body, Sports Authority, Ulta, and more) is nearby, as well as restaurants, sports, golf and theatres. TSR has great food, two lovely pool areas, music, dancing, shows, a full casino and pleasant staff. We will defnintely go back. We loved the easy parking (free valet), 24-hour room service, reasonable prices, pool bar service, and relaxing ambiance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Heard Museum has a lovely cafe, mini-museum and gift shop within a short drive in Carefree, Arizona. Located right on Pima Boulevard (take 101 North), the gift shop features authentic native American items and jewelry at amazing prices. No sales tax is charged at very competitive pricing and you are helping to support a native American artist and the museum.

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lumpy966
Colorado
Mar 15, 2013

Nice casino near Spring Training

Had a great time. Decent pool and good location to get around easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Use the hotel shuttle to Spring Training

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lorton Mom
Lorton, VA
Mar 31, 2013

Fantastic for couples

A very beautiful and lovely hotel. I enjoy very much the room; although because I traveled with my son who is only 17, I could not enjoy all the amenities that the hotel offered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happily Married Traveler
Scottsdale, AZ
May 21, 2013

Great Weekend Getaway

Enjoyed the pool party on Saturday (just get there early enough for a good spot!) The room was great - It was very nice & clean which is super important to me and my husband! The bathroom had a nice rainshower head with a separate large bathtub. The bed was incredibly comfortable! We got several treats on our bed as a welcome gift and more with turndown service as well as complimentary access to the Club with our Club King room. The height of the resort made for an excellent view! My favorite part was enjoying the orange sky lounge with live music as well as other live music in different locations throughout the resort (dueling pianos, acoustic guitarist, vocalist, etc). The resort's location in Scottsdale makes for plenty of fun things to do in the vicinity as well. Didn't spend too much time in the casino, but the little that we did, had very bad luck - could just be my bad luck ;# Overall it was a great experience! How can you not love a nice getaway where the sun shines practically every day!? #especially when you're from MN!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fogo de Chaio (for meat lovers - YUM!)

Back to menu Return to top

Change search