$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 31, 2015 Check-out: Apr 3, 2015

Talking Stick Resort

4 stars
View map of 9800 E Indian Bend Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85256

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
228 reviews
Wildly entertaining

Loved being able to go to he casino first thing in the morning. Views from room were lovely See full review

  • Christina W.
  • Jan 24, 2015
car auction trip

the hotel was just like the pictures , the room was very clean .great bathroom with big tub and shower See full review

  • jan b.
  • Jan 20, 2015
For those 21 and over, Talking Stick Resort hosts the popular and crowd-pleasing Release Pool Parties at our main pool on Saturdays and Sundays from 11 am to 6 pm from April through September. If you prefer a quieter and family-friendly atmosphere, you can relax and unwind at our West Pool with its serene setting, crystal clear waters and Sonoran Desert views. Cabana Rental: 480-850-4350. Talking Stick Resort offers the luxuries of a resort while providing guests with options for unmatched entertainment. In addition to relaxing in one of the 497 Deluxe Executive Signature Club or Luxury guestrooms guests will enjoy several upscale amenities including a rejuvenating open-air spa eight world-class restaurants 10 entertainment lounges a 240000 square foot casino full-service pool and more than 100 000 square feet of indoor-outdoor function space. The most unique amenity of Talking Stick Resort is the 240 000 square feet of gaming that will offer over 900 slot machines and a VIP lounge. One of the Southwest s largest non-smoking poker rooms and more than 50 table games will include Blackjack 3-Card Poker and Let It Ride. Fast-action Keno will complete the gaming floor all of which will be available to guests 24 hours a day 7 days a week. Featuring eight restaurants Talking Stick Resort introduces Wandering Horse Buffet a multi-stationed international buffet the 24 hour Blue Coyote Cafe the Black Fig Bistro Shadows Cigar and Martini Bar the 19 seat Ocean Trail seafood bar and the Coffee Garden serving Pete s Coffee. The resort s most prized dining experience Orange Sky will be located on the 15th floor a high-end open air restaurant serving steak and seafood. Entertainment venues include 10 lounges, of which includes Talking Stick Resort s 750-seat showroom and 14th floor nightclub Degree 270 for the 30-something crowd. After soaking up the Arizona sun poolside guests can relax in the 13 000 square foot rejuvenation center The Spa at Talking Stick.

The hotel is 100% Smoke Free.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Talking Stick Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Talking Stick Resort Rooms

Deluxe - Room
Deluxe Room offers one king bed or two queen beds. Comprised of distinct comfort and contemporary appointments, Talking Stick's commodious deluxe guestrooms exude the ambiance of the southwest with a modern flare.
Signature - Room
Signature guestrooms offer one king bed or two queen beds. Located primarily on the first and second floors, enjoy the euphoric desert air year round in one of talking sticks signature guestrooms featuring the solace of either a balcony or patio.
Club - Room
Club Room offers one king bed or two queen beds. Enticed by statuesque camelback and desert landscapes, Talking Stick Club guestrooms frame some of the east valleys most spectacular views on the 12th and 13th private floors. Include Breakfast (2) and Drink (4) vouchers.
Executive - King
Executive guestrooms offer one king bed. Strategically positioned on the north and south anchors of Talking Stick, Executive guestrooms have some of the most resplendent balcony views of either camelback or mcdowell mountains.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Wandering Horse Buffet - Restaurant
Open 7am-10:30 am & 11am-3pm Mon-Sat; 4:30pm-9pm Sun-Thurs; 4:30pm-10pm Fri & Sat; 9am-3pm Sunday Brunch Enjoy our expansive international buffet offering indoor and outdoor seating featuring Italian, Asian, Mexican, Mediterranean and American cuisines. The Wandering Horse buffet features live cooking stations, a fresh salad bar, a carving station, delectable desserts and a brick oven pizza kitchen. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM Wandering Horse Buffet Pricing: Breakfast - $9.95 Lunch - $13.95 Dinner Sunday thru Thursday - $20.95 Dinner Friday & Saturday $26.95 Sunday Brunch - $27.95
Orange Sky - Restaurant
Open late from 5pm daily. This culinary jewel is located on the 15th floor and boasts panoramic views of the McDowell Mountains. Diners can choose from a wide selection of wines by the glass, or a world class list of regional and reserve wines to complement your fine dining experience.
Blue Coyote Cafe - Restaurant
Open 24 hours An upscale, full-service restaurant offering American and Asian cuisine in a casual dining atmosphere. The diverse menu ranges from classic sandwiches to freshly prepared salads to dinner entrees. The Blue Coyote Cafe at Talking Stick Resort now offers a full sushi menu from 11:00am-10:00pm. Happy Hour Monday through Friday from 4:00pm to 7:00pm. Select sushi rolls half off. Happy Hour: Mon - Fri 4:00PM - 7:00PM
Black Fig Bistro - Restaurant
Open 24 hours An express service upscale bistro for guests on the go serving homemade soups, fresh salads, specialty pizzas, and handcrafted sandwiches.
Ocean Trail - Restaurant
Open 11am-9pm Sunday-Thursday; 11am-11pm Friday & Saturday With its azure lighting and its exclusive 19-seat bar, Ocean Trail is the ultimate in sophisticated dining. Specialties include traditional Creole cuisine, such as steamers, raw oysters, Cajun style boils and spicy gumbo. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Shadows - Lounge
Open 2 pm to 2 am An 'old school' venue with a contemporary southwestern feel, highlighting the classic sounds of Frank Sinatra and Big Band with ambient indoor and patio seating. The Shadows Lounge features a variety of specialty martinis and cocktails along with a selection of fine cigars. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Palo Verde - Lounge
Open 8 am to 2 am Located on the casino level, this lounge offers a striking view of the pool area. Its serene atmosphere and central location make it a great place to relax, enjoy a few cocktails and meet up with friends. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Players Sports Bar
Open 6 am to 2 am Come watch the multitude of games and sports playing on our plasma screens, and play a little Keno or slots as you enjoy your favorite selections of cocktails and ice cold beers. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Degree 270 - Lounge
Open 8 pm to 2 am Thursday - Saturday Located on the 14th floor, this chic lounge offers live entertainment coupled with fantastic views of the Arizona desert and Camelback Mountain.
Coffee Garden
Open 6am to 9pm As you enter the garden level of Talking Stick Resort, your senses will be overwhelmed by the aroma of fresh brewed coffee and just baked pastries. The Coffee Garden features gourmet roasted coffees and hand selected teas by Peet's Coffee & Tea, and also offers specialty espresso drinks, gelato, and decadent desserts. NEW! - Dueling Pianos performing in the Coffee Garden every Friday and Saturday from 8:00 pm - 11:00 pm. Performances are free to guests.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Whether it's an annual corporate gathering for hundreds or a board meeting for a few, Talking Stick Resort can accommodate your needs with over 100,000 square feet of indoor/outdoor meeting and banquet space equipped with complimentary high-speed internet access, including the 25,000 square foot Salt River Grand Ballroom and over 11,000 square feet of prefunction space. We are able to accommodate groups of 2000 or an intimate dinner for 12, our events staff is ready and able to elevate your event to an unmatched level of hospitality offered at Talking Stick Resort.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (228)

Ratings and reviews for Talking Stick Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
228 out of 228
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
go rockies
Business
colorado springs colorado
Mar 9, 2011

both good and bad

Nice hotel but they lost electricity and had to relocate us to a different hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
meteoritehunter
Business
tucson, arizona
Jul 15, 2014

Nice, but smoky in casino, bad view of roofttop

I stayed here just for a night, very nice, but my room while nice, overlooked a blinding white rooftop (5th floor). I also nearly broke my leg on a stupid large wooden chest/bench at end of bed, right at knee hight and dark black, so impossible to see and very very sharp edges. In my opinion not really smart to put at end of bed in center of the room, perfect to injure guests in the darkness of a hotel room. Cpffee maker very nice Kuerig , but no stir stick! had to stir my coffee with a toothbrush. small details are important people!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jason2014
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 23, 2014

Talking Stick

Pros: Staff was polite, room was clean Cons: About every 20 -30 mins a high pitched sustained beep would go off for about 10 -15 seconds. Walls are too thin and you can hear the loud drunk folks in the surrounding rooms. Buffet - well all I can say is never eat seafood in a land locked state. Hallways leading to rooms are not very clean and most of the guests behaved as if the hotel was a dorm room on spring break in the wing of the hotel I was in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

cannot add a comment other than you have a horrible profanity filter where absolutely no profanity was called profanity, poor website

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Amy.937
Business
N/A
Jan 15, 2015

nice variety but hard to sleep

The hotel itself was fun, but room was not good to sleep in at all. I stayed here with my husband as a staycation to get a little break and hopefully catch up on some sleep since we have two small kids. We tried to have dinner at orange sky which is the fine dining but didn't make a reservation so we couldn't. The restaurant looked really nice and I've heard great things. We ended up walking downstairs to blue coyote which was still good. Husband got sushi and I got steak. Both were pretty good. There were lots of choices of things to do. We gambled a little, sat at patio bar and listen to live music, went to cigar lounge and watched more live music, then got tickets to the concert that was there. It was nice to have everything in one place. Then we went to the room to get some sleep, which didn't happen. First of all, they don't have curtains so the room doesn't get pitch black. They have wooden shutters that definitely let light in. Second of all, our room was on the west side of the hotel where there are tons of led lights along the buidling so we saw colorful lights peeping in our room all night. Then there was a whistle/squeal that kept happening in the air return ALL night long whenever the air kicked on. Everytime it happened I jumped and caught me off guard. Lastly, there was a random leaking sound happening on the bathroom at random times in the night. It literally sounded like someone was turning on the shower but when you walked in there nothing was happening. It was so odd. As far as cleanliness, room was pretty clean but there were opened toiletries in the bathroom from previous guest that weren't replaced with new ones. When I checked out I told the girl about the noisey, bright room and her response was, "I'm sorry, you're bill will be ...." she didn't seem too concerned. My husband and I went home and rotated taking naps to recover from our not so restful staycation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations for orange sky ahead of time if you want to eat there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Specialist
Business
New York, NY
Dec 3, 2011

Golf trip

Nice hotel, great poker room, pristine, forgiving golf course, great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eddie K
Business
North Carolina, USA
Dec 3, 2011

Nice Hotel

Talking Stick is a nice hotel. We had a Signature room with a balcony. Scottsdale mornings and evenings are nice in November. The breakfast buffet is great. So was the magnificent Thanksgiving Buffet. The food is restaurant quality and the service is very good. Also got the chance to get my fill of Blackjack at the attached casino. .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Old Town Scottsdale is nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Flewie
Business
Boca Raton, FL, USA
Jan 13, 2012

Great 4 night stay

Have to say, was very pleasantly surprised at how nice the hotel room was. Well-sized, very comfortably and nicely furnished and a super bathroom on a par with Ritz Carlton and 4 Season Rooms I have stayed in. Was in Scottsdale for a quick trip to visit extended family and while not exactly central within Scottsdale, it's a very easy and short drive to the thick of things. Well Placed to go to Phoenix, Chandler, Tempe and even Carefree. The Staff were all extraordinarily nice and helpful from the chambermaids to the valet. If there is any downside to this resort, it is that you must go through a very smoky casino to enter the hotel ( which is itself entirely smoke-free, thankfully), but otherwise this was a great stay in a lovely hotel property. One little tip...neither the resort or hotel seems to register for GPS directions, but the Talking Stick Golf Club does....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of really great moderate to fine dining choices in Scottsdale itself, a short drive from the resort, as well as wonderful shopping all along Scottsdale Rd. And into old town. Parking for both seemed very easy, and I was there in January, high season.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sister3
Business
Freedom, Wisconsin
Jan 31, 2012

Fabulous trip!

The resort was great! Everything was clean, staff friendly, location was also great...and quiet. The only thing about the resort that was not the best was that we were not there to gamble and the resort has a casino in which one had to walk through everytime you entered or exited the resort...smokey and gross. The only other thing about our stay that I would have a "complaint" about is that our thermostat didn't work and we had to call maintenance 3 times on 3 separate days before the faulty part was replaced. We had no issues with the thermostat after that. Other than those two inconveniences, our stay was great!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
poguemahone
Business
Scottsdale, AZ, USA
Feb 13, 2012

very nice rooms

the rooms are small, but modern with comfy beds and a great bathroom. orange sky is fantastic, and the casino is decent. no complaints. i also didn't see any children, which was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tantzi
Business
Baltimore, MD, USA
Feb 21, 2012

Great girls weekend getaway

Great location! Easy to get to Scottsdale and surrounding areas. Plenty to do at resort - gambling, pool, places to eat. Staff very friendly. Great value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

El Chorro restaurant at base of Camelback. Outstanding food, ambience and staff. A must do on any trip to Scottsdale.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top