$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 19, 2015

Talking Stick Resort

4 stars
View map of 9800 E Indian Bend Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85256

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Talking Stick Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
238 out of 238
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
meteoritehunter
Business
tucson, arizona
Jul 15, 2014

Nice, but smoky in casino, bad view of roofttop

I stayed here just for a night, very nice, but my room while nice, overlooked a blinding white rooftop (5th floor). I also nearly broke my leg on a stupid large wooden chest/bench at end of bed, right at knee hight and dark black, so impossible to see and very very sharp edges. In my opinion not really smart to put at end of bed in center of the room, perfect to injure guests in the darkness of a hotel room. Cpffee maker very nice Kuerig , but no stir stick! had to stir my coffee with a toothbrush. small details are important people!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jason2014
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 23, 2014

Talking Stick

Pros: Staff was polite, room was clean Cons: About every 20 -30 mins a high pitched sustained beep would go off for about 10 -15 seconds. Walls are too thin and you can hear the loud drunk folks in the surrounding rooms. Buffet - well all I can say is never eat seafood in a land locked state. Hallways leading to rooms are not very clean and most of the guests behaved as if the hotel was a dorm room on spring break in the wing of the hotel I was in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

cannot add a comment other than you have a horrible profanity filter where absolutely no profanity was called profanity, poor website

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cdw13
Business
Oceanside
Mar 26, 2015

Spring training Trip

Hotel room was great. Bed is feather bed which was great for me but not my partner. Large room with nice desk area and lounge chair. Bathroom was large with separate bath and shower. Shower head was a rain shower. All these things were fabulous. However, price (especially on weekend) for buffet was beyond comprehension- $34 for one person! Ended up eating out on 3 of 4 nights. For all the advertising and prices, the staff was basically, okay- not rude but not extremely friendly. Only 2 shuttles to and from hotel to Salt River Fields and many people waiting. Took over 30 minutes to wait in line for ride back to hotel from game. Better off driving or even walking over. Overpriced during spring training, thus I would never consider coming back another time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fernando T.
Business
MESA
Apr 6, 2015

wedding night

the hotel is very nice and clean, the room was big with a big shower. I would recommend this hotel if your spouse is shy because you have to walk through the casino with the wedding Outfit. However we had a really nice time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
travel102
Business
california
Dec 5, 2014

Average at best

Hotel experience was alright. It's a typical casino hotel. Rooms are nice, staff is friendly but it's confusing to find your way around which is most likely by design to get you to gamble. Stayed in many 5 star vegas hotels so this reminded me more like a step down level. Overall it was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KLynn8979
Business
New Jersey
Dec 27, 2013

Everything was GREAT.. Except the heat in our room

Hotel, casino, valet, food, and drinks were GREAT. However the heat I our room didn't work, called front desk 4 times, we were moved to another room the following day. Staff was great and very helpful, the heat in the second room was better however it still wasn't working properly. Overall please was great and I will be back just during warmer months, when the heat isn't needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Food is great at the restaurants in the hotel. however the drinks aren't free when playing in the casino. (NOT COOL)

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Richard3456789
Business
Minnesota
Jan 13, 2014

Relaxing stay

We really enjoyed the room layout and cleanliness. The staff is extremely helpful and accommodating. The location was perfect and close to area attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure you take advantage of the great breakfast buffet at the Wandering Horse restaurant.

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mid Winter Break
Business
Seattle, WA
Feb 22, 2014

Week trip with kids

The hotel is located adjacent to the Casino. The location is a bit out of central scottsdale, but manageable with a car. The room amenities are outstanding. The buffet was also a good value. The only drawbacks were the fact that you had to go through the casino to get to the hotel room. Not ideal with young kids, as there was a lot of cigarette smoke. The housekeeping was also a bit inconsistent. Overall, though, this is a good choice when staying in the Phoenix area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The buffet is a good value especially for breakfast and lunch.

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kristel the busy Realtor
Business
Denver, CO
Feb 20, 2014

Tranquility

Very quiet room with peaceful ambiance. Comfortable bedding and a tasteful color scheme. The room lighting was too dim for my taste and the lack of power near the night stand did not work well for my needs. An average stay with no real flaws other than a late room cleaning which was disruptive to my schedule. I would consider returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Golfape
Business
West Des Moines, IA
Mar 5, 2014

Fun couples getaway

Room was spotless and had fantastic views. Every staff encounter throughout our whole trip was excellent. Friendly, helpful, energetic. Self parking was convenient and plentiful even on a busy weekend. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Plenty of dining just a short drive away.

Back to menu Return to top