$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 16, 2014 Check-out: Nov 19, 2014

Talking Stick Resort

4 stars
9800 E Indian Bend Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85256
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
206 reviews
great

Stafg very friendly. Room very clean. Buffet is awesome. See full review

  • awesome rich
  • Oct 18, 2014
Talking Stick

The hotel room was amazing with such a breathtaking view of the McDowell's from the room. Room... See full review

  • Seasoned Staycation Local
  • Oct 13, 2014
For those 21 and over, Talking Stick Resort hosts the popular and crowd-pleasing Release Pool Parties at our main pool on Saturdays and Sundays from 11 am to 6 pm from April through September. If you prefer a quieter and family-friendly atmosphere, you can relax and unwind at our West Pool with its serene setting, crystal clear waters and Sonoran Desert views. Cabana Rental: 480-850-4350. Talking Stick Resort offers the luxuries of a resort while providing guests with options for unmatched entertainment. In addition to relaxing in one of the 497 Deluxe Executive Signature Club or Luxury guestrooms guests will enjoy several upscale amenities including a rejuvenating open-air spa eight world-class restaurants 10 entertainment lounges a 240000 square foot casino full-service pool and more than 100 000 square feet of indoor-outdoor function space. The most unique amenity of Talking Stick Resort is the 240 000 square feet of gaming that will offer over 900 slot machines and a VIP lounge. One of the Southwest s largest non-smoking poker rooms and more than 50 table games will include Blackjack 3-Card Poker and Let It Ride. Fast-action Keno will complete the gaming floor all of which will be available to guests 24 hours a day 7 days a week. Featuring eight restaurants Talking Stick Resort introduces Wandering Horse Buffet a multi-stationed international buffet the 24 hour Blue Coyote Cafe the Black Fig Bistro Shadows Cigar and Martini Bar the 19 seat Ocean Trail seafood bar and the Coffee Garden serving Pete s Coffee. The resort s most prized dining experience Orange Sky will be located on the 15th floor a high-end open air restaurant serving steak and seafood. Entertainment venues include 10 lounges, of which includes Talking Stick Resort s 750-seat showroom and 14th floor nightclub Degree 270 for the 30-something crowd. After soaking up the Arizona sun poolside guests can relax in the 13 000 square foot rejuvenation center The Spa at Talking Stick.

The hotel is 100% Smoke Free.

Hotel Map

33.5386 -111.8657
Area served
Scottsdale, AZ.
Nearby airports
Phoenix International - PHX.
Area description
Old Town Scottsdale, AZ.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Talking Stick Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Talking Stick Resort Rooms

Deluxe - Room
Deluxe Room offers one king bed or two queen beds. Comprised of distinct comfort and contemporary appointments, Talking Stick's commodious deluxe guestrooms exude the ambiance of the southwest with a modern flare.
Signature - Room
Signature guestrooms offer one king bed or two queen beds. Located primarily on the first and second floors, enjoy the euphoric desert air year round in one of talking sticks signature guestrooms featuring the solace of either a balcony or patio.
Club - Room
Club Room offers one king bed or two queen beds. Enticed by statuesque camelback and desert landscapes, Talking Stick Club guestrooms frame some of the east valleys most spectacular views on the 12th and 13th private floors. Include Breakfast (2) and Drink (4) vouchers.
Executive - King
Executive guestrooms offer one king bed. Strategically positioned on the north and south anchors of Talking Stick, Executive guestrooms have some of the most resplendent balcony views of either camelback or mcdowell mountains.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Ocean Trail - Restaurant
Open 11am-9pm Sunday-Thursday; 11am-11pm Friday & Saturday With its azure lighting and its exclusive 19-seat bar, Ocean Trail is the ultimate in sophisticated dining. Specialties include traditional Creole cuisine, such as steamers, raw oysters, Cajun style boils and spicy gumbo. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Shadows - Lounge
Open 2 pm to 2 am An 'old school' venue with a contemporary southwestern feel, highlighting the classic sounds of Frank Sinatra and Big Band with ambient indoor and patio seating. The Shadows Lounge features a variety of specialty martinis and cocktails along with a selection of fine cigars. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Palo Verde - Lounge
Open 8 am to 2 am Located on the casino level, this lounge offers a striking view of the pool area. Its serene atmosphere and central location make it a great place to relax, enjoy a few cocktails and meet up with friends. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Players Sports Bar
Open 6 am to 2 am Come watch the multitude of games and sports playing on our plasma screens, and play a little Keno or slots as you enjoy your favorite selections of cocktails and ice cold beers. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Degree 270 - Lounge
Open 8 pm to 2 am Thursday - Saturday Located on the 14th floor, this chic lounge offers live entertainment coupled with fantastic views of the Arizona desert and Camelback Mountain.
Coffee Garden
Open 6am to 9pm As you enter the garden level of Talking Stick Resort, your senses will be overwhelmed by the aroma of fresh brewed coffee and just baked pastries. The Coffee Garden features gourmet roasted coffees and hand selected teas by Peet's Coffee & Tea, and also offers specialty espresso drinks, gelato, and decadent desserts. NEW! - Dueling Pianos performing in the Coffee Garden every Friday and Saturday from 8:00 pm - 11:00 pm. Performances are free to guests.
Poker Room Grill
Open 24 hours Seeking to satisfy your appetite while partaking in a lively game of poker? No problem. The Poker Room boasts table-side dining with an assortment of American and Asian dishes. Fill up and go all in! Join us in the Poker Room every Monday for your favorite card game and our $10 Prime Rib dinner special. 5:00pm to 11:00pm, for seated poker players only.
Wandering Horse Buffet - Restaurant
Open 7am-10:30 am & 11am-3pm Mon-Sat; 4:30pm-9pm Sun-Thurs; 4:30pm-10pm Fri & Sat; 9am-3pm Sunday Brunch Enjoy our expansive international buffet offering indoor and outdoor seating featuring Italian, Asian, Mexican, Mediterranean and American cuisines. The Wandering Horse buffet features live cooking stations, a fresh salad bar, a carving station, delectable desserts and a brick oven pizza kitchen. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM Wandering Horse Buffet Pricing: Breakfast - $9.95 Lunch - $13.95 Dinner Sunday thru Thursday - $20.95 Dinner Friday & Saturday $26.95 Sunday Brunch - $27.95
Orange Sky - Restaurant
Open late from 5pm daily. This culinary jewel is located on the 15th floor and boasts panoramic views of the McDowell Mountains. Diners can choose from a wide selection of wines by the glass, or a world class list of regional and reserve wines to complement your fine dining experience.
Blue Coyote Cafe - Restaurant
Open 24 hours An upscale, full-service restaurant offering American and Asian cuisine in a casual dining atmosphere. The diverse menu ranges from classic sandwiches to freshly prepared salads to dinner entrees. The Blue Coyote Cafe at Talking Stick Resort now offers a full sushi menu from 11:00am-10:00pm. Happy Hour Monday through Friday from 4:00pm to 7:00pm. Select sushi rolls half off. Happy Hour: Mon - Fri 4:00PM - 7:00PM

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Whether it's an annual corporate gathering for hundreds or a board meeting for a few, Talking Stick Resort can accommodate your needs with over 100,000 square feet of indoor/outdoor meeting and banquet space equipped with complimentary high-speed internet access, including the 25,000 square foot Salt River Grand Ballroom and over 11,000 square feet of prefunction space. We are able to accommodate groups of 2000 or an intimate dinner for 12, our events staff is ready and able to elevate your event to an unmatched level of hospitality offered at Talking Stick Resort.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (206)

Ratings and reviews for Talking Stick Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
206 out of 206
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
go rockies
Business
colorado springs colorado
Mar 9, 2011

both good and bad

Nice hotel but they lost electricity and had to relocate us to a different hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
meteoritehunter
Business
tucson, arizona
Jul 15, 2014

Nice, but smoky in casino, bad view of roofttop

I stayed here just for a night, very nice, but my room while nice, overlooked a blinding white rooftop (5th floor). I also nearly broke my leg on a stupid large wooden chest/bench at end of bed, right at knee hight and dark black, so impossible to see and very very sharp edges. In my opinion not really smart to put at end of bed in center of the room, perfect to injure guests in the darkness of a hotel room. Cpffee maker very nice Kuerig , but no stir stick! had to stir my coffee with a toothbrush. small details are important people!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jason2014
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 23, 2014

Talking Stick

Pros: Staff was polite, room was clean Cons: About every 20 -30 mins a high pitched sustained beep would go off for about 10 -15 seconds. Walls are too thin and you can hear the loud drunk folks in the surrounding rooms. Buffet - well all I can say is never eat seafood in a land locked state. Hallways leading to rooms are not very clean and most of the guests behaved as if the hotel was a dorm room on spring break in the wing of the hotel I was in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

cannot add a comment other than you have a horrible profanity filter where absolutely no profanity was called profanity, poor website

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KLynn8979
Business
New Jersey
Dec 27, 2013

Everything was GREAT.. Except the heat in our room

Hotel, casino, valet, food, and drinks were GREAT. However the heat I our room didn't work, called front desk 4 times, we were moved to another room the following day. Staff was great and very helpful, the heat in the second room was better however it still wasn't working properly. Overall please was great and I will be back just during warmer months, when the heat isn't needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Food is great at the restaurants in the hotel. however the drinks aren't free when playing in the casino. (NOT COOL)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Richard3456789
Business
Minnesota
Jan 13, 2014

Relaxing stay

We really enjoyed the room layout and cleanliness. The staff is extremely helpful and accommodating. The location was perfect and close to area attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure you take advantage of the great breakfast buffet at the Wandering Horse restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mid Winter Break
Business
Seattle, WA
Feb 22, 2014

Week trip with kids

The hotel is located adjacent to the Casino. The location is a bit out of central scottsdale, but manageable with a car. The room amenities are outstanding. The buffet was also a good value. The only drawbacks were the fact that you had to go through the casino to get to the hotel room. Not ideal with young kids, as there was a lot of cigarette smoke. The housekeeping was also a bit inconsistent. Overall, though, this is a good choice when staying in the Phoenix area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The buffet is a good value especially for breakfast and lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kristel the busy Realtor
Business
Denver, CO
Feb 20, 2014

Tranquility

Very quiet room with peaceful ambiance. Comfortable bedding and a tasteful color scheme. The room lighting was too dim for my taste and the lack of power near the night stand did not work well for my needs. An average stay with no real flaws other than a late room cleaning which was disruptive to my schedule. I would consider returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Golfape
Business
West Des Moines, IA
Mar 5, 2014

Fun couples getaway

Room was spotless and had fantastic views. Every staff encounter throughout our whole trip was excellent. Friendly, helpful, energetic. Self parking was convenient and plentiful even on a busy weekend. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Plenty of dining just a short drive away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Laz1028
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Mar 10, 2014

Great Location and Staff

The staff at Talking Stick Resort was extremely friendly and helpful! The staff by the pool were efficient and checked if we needed any drinks or food on a consistent basis. The hotel is also in a great location, really close to the Cubs Spring Training facility and restaurants/stores. I am not a buffet person, but the buffet in the hotel had an awesome assortment of food to choose from. The only negatives (which are really small) is that I feel that room overall did not have bright enough lighting. There were times that I felt like it could have been a bit brighter. Another negative for me was that the sink was so high up and far that I had to go on my tip toes to brush my teeth and wash my face, but then again I am short. Lastly, I didn't like that when I had to go to the parking garage or go towards the rooms I had to walk through the casino and have people blowing smoke at me. All in all this hotel is great for anyone looking to getaway and just relax. It was a great vacation and very nice to escape the horrible Chicago winter for a week!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cub Joey
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Mar 22, 2014

Fun Hotel

Had a great trip watching Spring Training games. Pool area was nice and a lot of nice bars on site. Only complaints were no Roulette or Craps table and the casino was very reeked of smoke.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top