$228 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 3, 2015 Check-out: Mar 4, 2015

Talking Stick Resort

4 stars
9800 E Indian Bend Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85256
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
228 reviews
Wildly entertaining

Loved being able to go to he casino first thing in the morning. Views from room were lovely See full review

  • Christina W.
  • Jan 24, 2015
car auction trip

the hotel was just like the pictures , the room was very clean .great bathroom with big tub and shower See full review

  • jan b.
  • Jan 20, 2015
For those 21 and over, Talking Stick Resort hosts the popular and crowd-pleasing Release Pool Parties at our main pool on Saturdays and Sundays from 11 am to 6 pm from April through September. If you prefer a quieter and family-friendly atmosphere, you can relax and unwind at our West Pool with its serene setting, crystal clear waters and Sonoran Desert views. Cabana Rental: 480-850-4350. Talking Stick Resort offers the luxuries of a resort while providing guests with options for unmatched entertainment. In addition to relaxing in one of the 497 Deluxe Executive Signature Club or Luxury guestrooms guests will enjoy several upscale amenities including a rejuvenating open-air spa eight world-class restaurants 10 entertainment lounges a 240000 square foot casino full-service pool and more than 100 000 square feet of indoor-outdoor function space. The most unique amenity of Talking Stick Resort is the 240 000 square feet of gaming that will offer over 900 slot machines and a VIP lounge. One of the Southwest s largest non-smoking poker rooms and more than 50 table games will include Blackjack 3-Card Poker and Let It Ride. Fast-action Keno will complete the gaming floor all of which will be available to guests 24 hours a day 7 days a week. Featuring eight restaurants Talking Stick Resort introduces Wandering Horse Buffet a multi-stationed international buffet the 24 hour Blue Coyote Cafe the Black Fig Bistro Shadows Cigar and Martini Bar the 19 seat Ocean Trail seafood bar and the Coffee Garden serving Pete s Coffee. The resort s most prized dining experience Orange Sky will be located on the 15th floor a high-end open air restaurant serving steak and seafood. Entertainment venues include 10 lounges, of which includes Talking Stick Resort s 750-seat showroom and 14th floor nightclub Degree 270 for the 30-something crowd. After soaking up the Arizona sun poolside guests can relax in the 13 000 square foot rejuvenation center The Spa at Talking Stick.

The hotel is 100% Smoke Free.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Talking Stick Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Talking Stick Resort Rooms

Deluxe - Room
Deluxe Room offers one king bed or two queen beds. Comprised of distinct comfort and contemporary appointments, Talking Stick's commodious deluxe guestrooms exude the ambiance of the southwest with a modern flare.
Signature - Room
Signature guestrooms offer one king bed or two queen beds. Located primarily on the first and second floors, enjoy the euphoric desert air year round in one of talking sticks signature guestrooms featuring the solace of either a balcony or patio.
Club - Room
Club Room offers one king bed or two queen beds. Enticed by statuesque camelback and desert landscapes, Talking Stick Club guestrooms frame some of the east valleys most spectacular views on the 12th and 13th private floors. Include Breakfast (2) and Drink (4) vouchers.
Executive - King
Executive guestrooms offer one king bed. Strategically positioned on the north and south anchors of Talking Stick, Executive guestrooms have some of the most resplendent balcony views of either camelback or mcdowell mountains.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Whether it's an annual corporate gathering for hundreds or a board meeting for a few, Talking Stick Resort can accommodate your needs with over 100,000 square feet of indoor/outdoor meeting and banquet space equipped with complimentary high-speed internet access, including the 25,000 square foot Salt River Grand Ballroom and over 11,000 square feet of prefunction space. We are able to accommodate groups of 2000 or an intimate dinner for 12, our events staff is ready and able to elevate your event to an unmatched level of hospitality offered at Talking Stick Resort.

Dining

Wandering Horse Buffet - Restaurant
Open 7am-10:30 am & 11am-3pm Mon-Sat; 4:30pm-9pm Sun-Thurs; 4:30pm-10pm Fri & Sat; 9am-3pm Sunday Brunch Enjoy our expansive international buffet offering indoor and outdoor seating featuring Italian, Asian, Mexican, Mediterranean and American cuisines. The Wandering Horse buffet features live cooking stations, a fresh salad bar, a carving station, delectable desserts and a brick oven pizza kitchen. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM Wandering Horse Buffet Pricing: Breakfast - $9.95 Lunch - $13.95 Dinner Sunday thru Thursday - $20.95 Dinner Friday & Saturday $26.95 Sunday Brunch - $27.95
Orange Sky - Restaurant
Open late from 5pm daily. This culinary jewel is located on the 15th floor and boasts panoramic views of the McDowell Mountains. Diners can choose from a wide selection of wines by the glass, or a world class list of regional and reserve wines to complement your fine dining experience.
Blue Coyote Cafe - Restaurant
Open 24 hours An upscale, full-service restaurant offering American and Asian cuisine in a casual dining atmosphere. The diverse menu ranges from classic sandwiches to freshly prepared salads to dinner entrees. The Blue Coyote Cafe at Talking Stick Resort now offers a full sushi menu from 11:00am-10:00pm. Happy Hour Monday through Friday from 4:00pm to 7:00pm. Select sushi rolls half off. Happy Hour: Mon - Fri 4:00PM - 7:00PM
Black Fig Bistro - Restaurant
Open 24 hours An express service upscale bistro for guests on the go serving homemade soups, fresh salads, specialty pizzas, and handcrafted sandwiches.
Ocean Trail - Restaurant
Open 11am-9pm Sunday-Thursday; 11am-11pm Friday & Saturday With its azure lighting and its exclusive 19-seat bar, Ocean Trail is the ultimate in sophisticated dining. Specialties include traditional Creole cuisine, such as steamers, raw oysters, Cajun style boils and spicy gumbo. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Shadows - Lounge
Open 2 pm to 2 am An 'old school' venue with a contemporary southwestern feel, highlighting the classic sounds of Frank Sinatra and Big Band with ambient indoor and patio seating. The Shadows Lounge features a variety of specialty martinis and cocktails along with a selection of fine cigars. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Palo Verde - Lounge
Open 8 am to 2 am Located on the casino level, this lounge offers a striking view of the pool area. Its serene atmosphere and central location make it a great place to relax, enjoy a few cocktails and meet up with friends. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Players Sports Bar
Open 6 am to 2 am Come watch the multitude of games and sports playing on our plasma screens, and play a little Keno or slots as you enjoy your favorite selections of cocktails and ice cold beers. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Degree 270 - Lounge
Open 8 pm to 2 am Thursday - Saturday Located on the 14th floor, this chic lounge offers live entertainment coupled with fantastic views of the Arizona desert and Camelback Mountain.
Coffee Garden
Open 6am to 9pm As you enter the garden level of Talking Stick Resort, your senses will be overwhelmed by the aroma of fresh brewed coffee and just baked pastries. The Coffee Garden features gourmet roasted coffees and hand selected teas by Peet's Coffee & Tea, and also offers specialty espresso drinks, gelato, and decadent desserts. NEW! - Dueling Pianos performing in the Coffee Garden every Friday and Saturday from 8:00 pm - 11:00 pm. Performances are free to guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (228)

Ratings and reviews for Talking Stick Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
228 out of 228
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BobnBrenda
Business
Crystal Lake, IL
Mar 17, 2013

Too smoky for me

The smoking in and around this hotel and casino really put a damper on the experience for us. I couldn't take sitting in the bars for the sickening smell. The outside seating areas similarly were impacted. If I had known that smoking was so prevalent here I never would have made this reservation. You should let people know what they are in for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sissycal
Business
Sonoma Calif
Mar 30, 2013

Not up to standard

We upgraded to a signature King room (first or second floor) next to the pool. The room was just ok.It seemed to be a high turn over room. The over stuffed chair had worn fabric??? The room had one small bar of soap, one robe, and one pair of slippers,we joked that each of us could wear one.We were disappointed. The casino reeked of smoke & the coffee shop was also not good. One the up side the staff were very polite & professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

It is located near the Salt River Stadium which is bonus and the hotel provides free shuttles to all games.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pharmboy314
Business
Phoenix
Apr 2, 2013

Mixed experience

Lots to do and convenient. The batteries in our remote for the TV were weak and they left decaffinated coffee vs caffeinated coffee packets in a ratio of 4/2. I left a note to housekeeping to leave more caffeinated coffee and replace remote control batteries every day for 3 days and nothing was done. The TV would also shut off unexpectadely and not turn back on. Otherwise, a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jade and Luong
Business
Avondale, Arizona
Apr 29, 2013

Needs better security!!!!

Everything was perfect for my fiances birthday but you can't walk the casino with your swimwear which made it not fun. AND security has major attitude for alcohol tolerance, it was my birthday! We were followed by security all the way to check out and would not release our vehicle because i wasn't wearing my shirt at check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Weekend Woman
Business
Phoenix, AZ
May 13, 2013

Did not feel like a "resort"

I did not feel like I was at a resort at any point in time. The hotel was very nice, that is true, with nice clean rooms and bathrooms. The hotel and restaurant staff were courteous at all times. My dislikes: - Drunk people in the hallway at all times of the day and night. - An alcohol-fueled party at the pool every Saturday and sunday, which sounds fun if you are going there for drinking and more drinking. But if your goal is to stay at the resort for other reasons, this sucks, as you can't have a relaxing afternoon at the pool. - Needs mor restaurant options, the ones there get packed, and you'd have to get in the car to get to the nearest restaurants. - The temporary nigtclub on the bottom floor is a lawsuit waiting to happen with cables running everywhere, non-permanent structures you lean on and the fall on you. And it's bright! No ambiance at all. - The room bathrooms need more hooks to hang your towels. If there ais more than one person in the room, where do they hang their towels if we want to be "ecological"?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Unless you are going there for gambling or a show, don't expect any exciting night life. I do hear they have a shuttle to get to Scottsdale though. Not sure.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
khloeS
Business
Hermiston, Oregon
May 21, 2013

think twice next time

we let them know we would have a late arrival, our flights were messed up and we got in pretty late. We ended up with a room with TWO beds instead of a king bed, it was next to the elevator and super noisy. We went back to ask for a different room and they said they had nothing else to give us, said to check the next day. We checked with them several times through out the day and still no help!! Needless to say we did not get very much sleep!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Disapointed Pete
Business
Hamilton
Jun 3, 2013

Really?

Tried to check in at 5 pm, no rooms ready even though I paid for my room months ago. I was put on a waiting list. Came back at 7 pm when a room was ready. No excuse for my room not to be ready. You have to walk through the casino with your luggage to get to your room. The room is very nice but dusty. The layout to the parking is a joke. Poor design. Restaurants have good food at reasonable rates. They charge you to use the computer and for printed pages. Bring your own printer and paper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dining at the resort will not cost you an arm and a leg. The Wandering Horse has great buffets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JPJP4040
Business
Portland, OR
Mar 10, 2014

Very difficult to work with...

I booked 4 rooms for 2 nights... Also had 16 girls at the spa, booked a private space at the club & 22 people at the casino 2 separate nights. For all of the money spent, they were the least organized & most difficult hotel I have ever worked with. Every single thing was a different person, almost always unavailable... I stopped by & called twice just to get us on the same floor, then when people checked in it was another hassle. The club director rarely calls back within a day & is never available to meet with you. The spa is nice & the manager there is lovely and worked with us to get so many people in at once... Sadly however, as a hotel, highly difficult & inefficient. No option for dealing with just one person & if you book thru An internet travel site, expect to be treated as if you stole the room from them. Eventually after at least 5 different conversations arrangements were adjusted... Just frustrating to spend soooo much money there & have it be such a hassle. The actual hotel rooms are very nice & clean. The drinks are $$, and even if you're gambling, you must buy your beverages... Valet guys are great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Couple Spring Trip
Business
Wisconsin
Apr 5, 2014

Couple spring trip

Did not like the long walk through parking lot. Also, every time we left the hotel we had to walk through the smoke filled casino's -- there was no other way out. We had our room made up and they did not wash the sheets. We enjoy dining in downtown Scottsdale so the location was not ideal for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Commerce City, CO
Mar 13, 2011

Talking Stick Resort - spring training

We planned our trip to Scottsdale specifically for spring training the first year at the new fields, Salt River Fields. Talking Stick Resort was built at the same time, supposedly to encourage baseball fans to stay there. However, many important amenities were not available (no airport shuttle, did not provide early transport to the sport complex, etc.). After paying $45 for an airport transfer, the hotel did not have our preferred room available[...]. They did not offer to change our room assignment, claiming that no other rooms were available. This property does not live up to the advertisements. It is not a top-tier resort, only a glorified casino. The rooms are nice, but not exceptional. The linen on the bed was worn. There was an HDTV big screen, but the response time for the satellite was so slow that it was unclear whether it was really on (took over five minutes every time to boot up and begin TV or movies). The bathroom door was a sliding door, without any hook or way to keep it closed - and it wasn't balanced to stay closed - so it kept silently sliding back open! My son and I were sharing the room, so both of us were embarassed at times. The telephone system was good, with a personal greeting by name when we got to the room. The restaurant (Blue Coyote) was decent, and the buffet at the Wandering Horse was excellent. Next year we will be staying at a different property for spring training, as this one was not anything we want to repeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The ExecCar service only charged $11 to take us to the ball fields early - and you HAVE to have most of a day to enjoy everything at Salt River Fields.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top