$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 12, 2015

Talking Stick Resort

4 stars
View map of 9800 E Indian Bend Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85256

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Talking Stick Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
238 out of 238
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Loggers
Business
Seattle, WA
Feb 24, 2013

Average visit

Strong smell of cigarette smoke in the lobby. Cover charge to access the club was required even if you stay there! Really?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BobnBrenda
Business
Crystal Lake, IL
Mar 17, 2013

Too smoky for me

The smoking in and around this hotel and casino really put a damper on the experience for us. I couldn't take sitting in the bars for the sickening smell. The outside seating areas similarly were impacted. If I had known that smoking was so prevalent here I never would have made this reservation. You should let people know what they are in for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pharmboy314
Business
Phoenix
Apr 2, 2013

Mixed experience

Lots to do and convenient. The batteries in our remote for the TV were weak and they left decaffinated coffee vs caffeinated coffee packets in a ratio of 4/2. I left a note to housekeeping to leave more caffeinated coffee and replace remote control batteries every day for 3 days and nothing was done. The TV would also shut off unexpectadely and not turn back on. Otherwise, a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sissycal
Business
Sonoma Calif
Mar 30, 2013

Not up to standard

We upgraded to a signature King room (first or second floor) next to the pool. The room was just ok.It seemed to be a high turn over room. The over stuffed chair had worn fabric??? The room had one small bar of soap, one robe, and one pair of slippers,we joked that each of us could wear one.We were disappointed. The casino reeked of smoke & the coffee shop was also not good. One the up side the staff were very polite & professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

It is located near the Salt River Stadium which is bonus and the hotel provides free shuttles to all games.

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jade and Luong
Business
Avondale, Arizona
Apr 29, 2013

Needs better security!!!!

Everything was perfect for my fiances birthday but you can't walk the casino with your swimwear which made it not fun. AND security has major attitude for alcohol tolerance, it was my birthday! We were followed by security all the way to check out and would not release our vehicle because i wasn't wearing my shirt at check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Weekend Woman
Business
Phoenix, AZ
May 13, 2013

Did not feel like a "resort"

I did not feel like I was at a resort at any point in time. The hotel was very nice, that is true, with nice clean rooms and bathrooms. The hotel and restaurant staff were courteous at all times. My dislikes: - Drunk people in the hallway at all times of the day and night. - An alcohol-fueled party at the pool every Saturday and sunday, which sounds fun if you are going there for drinking and more drinking. But if your goal is to stay at the resort for other reasons, this sucks, as you can't have a relaxing afternoon at the pool. - Needs mor restaurant options, the ones there get packed, and you'd have to get in the car to get to the nearest restaurants. - The temporary nigtclub on the bottom floor is a lawsuit waiting to happen with cables running everywhere, non-permanent structures you lean on and the fall on you. And it's bright! No ambiance at all. - The room bathrooms need more hooks to hang your towels. If there ais more than one person in the room, where do they hang their towels if we want to be "ecological"?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Unless you are going there for gambling or a show, don't expect any exciting night life. I do hear they have a shuttle to get to Scottsdale though. Not sure.

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
khloeS
Business
Hermiston, Oregon
May 21, 2013

think twice next time

we let them know we would have a late arrival, our flights were messed up and we got in pretty late. We ended up with a room with TWO beds instead of a king bed, it was next to the elevator and super noisy. We went back to ask for a different room and they said they had nothing else to give us, said to check the next day. We checked with them several times through out the day and still no help!! Needless to say we did not get very much sleep!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Disapointed Pete
Business
Hamilton
Jun 3, 2013

Really?

Tried to check in at 5 pm, no rooms ready even though I paid for my room months ago. I was put on a waiting list. Came back at 7 pm when a room was ready. No excuse for my room not to be ready. You have to walk through the casino with your luggage to get to your room. The room is very nice but dusty. The layout to the parking is a joke. Poor design. Restaurants have good food at reasonable rates. They charge you to use the computer and for printed pages. Bring your own printer and paper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dining at the resort will not cost you an arm and a leg. The Wandering Horse has great buffets.

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Commerce City, CO
Mar 13, 2011

Talking Stick Resort - spring training

We planned our trip to Scottsdale specifically for spring training the first year at the new fields, Salt River Fields. Talking Stick Resort was built at the same time, supposedly to encourage baseball fans to stay there. However, many important amenities were not available (no airport shuttle, did not provide early transport to the sport complex, etc.). After paying $45 for an airport transfer, the hotel did not have our preferred room available[...]. They did not offer to change our room assignment, claiming that no other rooms were available. This property does not live up to the advertisements. It is not a top-tier resort, only a glorified casino. The rooms are nice, but not exceptional. The linen on the bed was worn. There was an HDTV big screen, but the response time for the satellite was so slow that it was unclear whether it was really on (took over five minutes every time to boot up and begin TV or movies). The bathroom door was a sliding door, without any hook or way to keep it closed - and it wasn't balanced to stay closed - so it kept silently sliding back open! My son and I were sharing the room, so both of us were embarassed at times. The telephone system was good, with a personal greeting by name when we got to the room. The restaurant (Blue Coyote) was decent, and the buffet at the Wandering Horse was excellent. Next year we will be staying at a different property for spring training, as this one was not anything we want to repeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The ExecCar service only charged $11 to take us to the ball fields early - and you HAVE to have most of a day to enjoy everything at Salt River Fields.

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
go rockies
Business
colorado springs colorado
Mar 9, 2011

both good and bad

Nice hotel but they lost electricity and had to relocate us to a different hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top