$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Talking Stick Resort

4 stars
View map of 9800 E Indian Bend Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85256

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Talking Stick Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
237 out of 237
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Too Smoky
Business
Denver, CO
Apr 7, 2012

Booking Dificulty

I booked a room with two beds and was given a room with one. When I tried to ameliorate the situation the desk clerk lied to me and told me there were no other rooms available. I was very disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PK the Pip
Business
New Jersey
Jun 10, 2012

Need Some Improvement

We arrived early and were given a Signature Room with a view of the parking lot. We said we would rather wait for a better room and they said they would call us as soon as they had it ready. They never called and we finally got a room at 3:30. We were never offered to use the pool or suggest a restaurant or any facility while we waited. Very poor first impression. Some of the staff members were very nice but some were awful. The pool was open 24 hours yet there were no towels before 10:00 a.m. The grounds have no flowers or charm like the other hotels we have stayed in Scottsdale. A lot of concrete with views of the parking lot. Breakfast buffet was great but when you ate outside you again had that view of the parking lot, They could have done something to make it less visible. The concierges were very helpful. Valet service was good. Rooms were very clean and comfortable with nice amenities. Walking thru the casinos with the smoke was AWFUL. We would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Zinger3260
Business
Las Vegas
Nov 23, 2012

Enjoy Smoking

The Talking Stick is a big, beautiful Hotel/ Casino located on an Indian Reservation in Scottsdale AZ But virtually everything in the hotel is centered around the casino -- which is FULL OF CIGARETTE SMOKE. The smoke is everywhere... lobby, buffet line, storees, etc, I am from Las Vegas and am very familiar with casinos. The smoke smell was so bad, I checked out early from my 2-day stay after only one night. Be prepared.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Irishwife
Business
Utah
Feb 10, 2013

50th Anniversity bucket list visit to Phoenix

We were given a room with a balcony, which was an extra cost of $20.00 per night. The balcony overlooked the golf cart parking lot and golf course maintenance garage. The room was lovely and clean, but it did not have a comfortable chair, only an office chair at a long desk at the other window which was a "corner view" of the pool. We asked for a different room with a balcony with a view...they put us at garden level and the fan system ran 24/7 to bring the air/heat downward. I could not sleep. It NEVER shut off. When I asked to see the mgr. she told me her parents stayed in the first room we were given...and she would have to downgrade us...to give us a pool view, OR we could pay an additional $25.00 per night (a reduced rate, according to her) for the same corner room, but on the seventh floor which would bypass the golf equipment parking lot (because you were higher) and have a nice view of the golf course and trees. We did not want to pay an additional $25.00 so we returned to the original room. We had foam pillows and when I mentioned that, she told me I should have known to request them before hand. I told her that Hilton has two foam and two feather, she told me that was not true...as she had worked for Hilton. I told her I had just come from the Hilton next door and they did INDEED have two of each She again told me I was wrong. When I asked about a comfortable chair...she offered to bring a chair from the conference room...like a plastic chair...I declined However; I fell at the pool...there was a small step and I was heading to the trash barrel with an empty water bottle and fell hands first onto the cement. The hotel security came to my aid and summoned the hotel EMT...He was thorough and kind. The pool is absolutely beautiful and after some x-rays and cuts and bruises cleaned out...and a brace for a sprained wrist....we settled in to enjoy as best we could.... The conceirge found us several places to visit and was pleasant and helpful, as were all of the staff. The hotel itself was half-empty and the investment in making our stay enjoyable was simply a room with a balcony with a view...That was NOT given to us. We did receive our request for an extra luggage rack, and feather pillows. No comfy chair provided. Was it worth the time, money and requirement to go through the casino every time we went in and out of our room...NO...next time we'll stay at a Hilton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Musical Instrument Museum, worth every minute in it. Also the Frank Lloyd Wright center. Students will show you the living quarters they designed. Beleive it or not, The Cactus Botanical Garens are fascinating.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Disapointed Pete
Business
Hamilton
Jun 14, 2013

Go Elsewhere

When I checked in at 5pm, I was told there was no room available even though I paid for a room months ago. I was put on a waiting list and finally had a room by 7pm. The ice machine on my floor didn't work. The restaurants and food were good and reasonably priced. The rooms were nice but hadn't been vacuumed or dusted from the day I checked in. Far too much noise from drunks all night long. On weekends, there were pool parties. You could only bring an unopened bottle of water into the pool even though you were a guest and paid to use it reguardless. The walk from the West Parking lot to the elevators was far too long. You have to go through the casino to get to your room. Your card didn't open the door on the pool level to get back in. Also had to swipe the card up to 5 times to get into your room. P3 button missing on elevator to West Parking. Changed my reservation for an upcoming trip from this hotel to somewhere else. Had enough of this place. It should be taken off of the hotel list. Far too much hassle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food is good and priced reasonably.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JPJP4040
Business
Portland, OR
Mar 10, 2014

Very difficult to work with...

I booked 4 rooms for 2 nights... Also had 16 girls at the spa, booked a private space at the club & 22 people at the casino 2 separate nights. For all of the money spent, they were the least organized & most difficult hotel I have ever worked with. Every single thing was a different person, almost always unavailable... I stopped by & called twice just to get us on the same floor, then when people checked in it was another hassle. The club director rarely calls back within a day & is never available to meet with you. The spa is nice & the manager there is lovely and worked with us to get so many people in at once... Sadly however, as a hotel, highly difficult & inefficient. No option for dealing with just one person & if you book thru An internet travel site, expect to be treated as if you stole the room from them. Eventually after at least 5 different conversations arrangements were adjusted... Just frustrating to spend soooo much money there & have it be such a hassle. The actual hotel rooms are very nice & clean. The drinks are $$, and even if you're gambling, you must buy your beverages... Valet guys are great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Couple Spring Trip
Business
Wisconsin
Apr 5, 2014

Couple spring trip

Did not like the long walk through parking lot. Also, every time we left the hotel we had to walk through the smoke filled casino's -- there was no other way out. We had our room made up and they did not wash the sheets. We enjoy dining in downtown Scottsdale so the location was not ideal for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Can't Breath
Business
IL
Apr 24, 2012

Wonder

All in all it is a beautiful resort. I would recommend this resort to people but warn them about all the cigarette smoke. The food is very good in the restaurants and reasonable. Pool attendants are nice but do not visit the west pool. You need to call. The food is a little bit more expensive. If there are any functions going on in the hotel you need to check ahead of time. The concierge does not have tickets put aside for there own patrons. The rooms are beautiful. The do have a frig but no microwave, Which would have been nice to have to warm up left overs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Very reasonable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kyln
Business
Michigan
May 16, 2012

Designed for Men

In general the hotel was OK but there were some drawbacks. Entering or leaving the hotel required walking though the casino. Not a great idea and lots of smoke. The room was not cleaned until later in the day sometimes due to check outs being cleaned first but more staff, based on projected checkouts, would have been a solution As with many resort hotels the bathroom and lighting are designed for a med to tall man and are not suited for makeup, etc. Including one magnifying mirror (without the option to switch to regular view) is not enough. The pool is nice and not usually very crowded. The buffet is nice but very crowded sometimes and not something I would wait in line for

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sassy Chick
Business
Denver, Colorado
Dec 2, 2012

Great getaway!

This was a great getaway! Peaceful, restful and friendly staff! The real downfall was that the casino was extremely smoky and stuffy. Maybe the ventilation system could be improved. The spa was beautiful but the pedicure services were just mediocre. Also, normally when I go to a spa, I like providing my own gratuity. Not one that is standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Ole Town Scottsdale and Fashion Square Mall!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top