$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Talking Stick Resort

4 stars
View map of 9800 E Indian Bend Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85256

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
242 reviews
Great staycation!

Been there before and was just as pleased the 2nd time around! See full review

  • Jesslynd L.
  • Aug 26, 2015
Great deal

We stayed during off-peak season and what a bargain! Our suite was enormous with high ceilings and... See full review

  • GentleToast
  • Aug 25, 2015
For those 21 and over, Talking Stick Resort hosts the popular and crowd-pleasing Release Pool Parties at our main pool on Saturdays and Sundays from 11 am to 6 pm from April through September. If you prefer a quieter and family-friendly atmosphere, you can relax and unwind at our West Pool with its serene setting, crystal clear waters and Sonoran Desert views. Cabana Rental: 480-850-4350. Talking Stick Resort offers the luxuries of a resort while providing guests with options for unmatched entertainment. In addition to relaxing in one of the 497 Deluxe Executive Signature Club or Luxury guestrooms guests will enjoy several upscale amenities including a rejuvenating open-air spa eight world-class restaurants 10 entertainment lounges a 240000 square foot casino full-service pool and more than 100 000 square feet of indoor-outdoor function space. The most unique amenity of Talking Stick Resort is the 240 000 square feet of gaming that will offer over 900 slot machines and a VIP lounge. One of the Southwest s largest non-smoking poker rooms and more than 50 table games will include Blackjack 3-Card Poker and Let It Ride. Fast-action Keno will complete the gaming floor all of which will be available to guests 24 hours a day 7 days a week. Featuring eight restaurants Talking Stick Resort introduces Wandering Horse Buffet a multi-stationed international buffet the 24 hour Blue Coyote Cafe the Black Fig Bistro Shadows Cigar and Martini Bar the 19 seat Ocean Trail seafood bar and the Coffee Garden serving Pete s Coffee. The resort s most prized dining experience Orange Sky will be located on the 15th floor a high-end open air restaurant serving steak and seafood. Entertainment venues include 10 lounges, of which includes Talking Stick Resort s 750-seat showroom and 14th floor nightclub Degree 270 for the 30-something crowd. After soaking up the Arizona sun poolside guests can relax in the 13 000 square foot rejuvenation center The Spa at Talking Stick.

The hotel is 100% Smoke Free.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Talking Stick Resort also booked these hotels.

★★★
$37
3.5 / 5 258 reviews
★★★
$82
4.2 / 5 136 reviews
★★★★
$159
4.1 / 5 148 reviews
★★★★
$75
4.1 / 5 169 reviews
★★★★
$78
3.8 / 5 63 reviews
★★★★
$77
4.3 / 5 136 reviews
★★★★
$80
3.9 / 5 61 reviews
★★★
$68
3.9 / 5 86 reviews

Talking Stick Resort Rooms

Deluxe - Room
Deluxe Room offers one king bed or two queen beds. Comprised of distinct comfort and contemporary appointments, Talking Stick's commodious deluxe guestrooms exude the ambiance of the southwest with a modern flare.
Signature - Room
Signature guestrooms offer one king bed or two queen beds. Located primarily on the first and second floors, enjoy the euphoric desert air year round in one of talking sticks signature guestrooms featuring the solace of either a balcony or patio.
Club - Room
Club Room offers one king bed or two queen beds. Enticed by statuesque camelback and desert landscapes, Talking Stick Club guestrooms frame some of the east valleys most spectacular views on the 12th and 13th private floors. Include Breakfast (2) and Drink (4) vouchers.
Executive - King
Executive guestrooms offer one king bed. Strategically positioned on the north and south anchors of Talking Stick, Executive guestrooms have some of the most resplendent balcony views of either camelback or mcdowell mountains.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Whether it's an annual corporate gathering for hundreds or a board meeting for a few, Talking Stick Resort can accommodate your needs with over 100,000 square feet of indoor/outdoor meeting and banquet space equipped with complimentary high-speed internet access, including the 25,000 square foot Salt River Grand Ballroom and over 11,000 square feet of prefunction space. We are able to accommodate groups of 2000 or an intimate dinner for 12, our events staff is ready and able to elevate your event to an unmatched level of hospitality offered at Talking Stick Resort.

Dining

Wandering Horse Buffet - Restaurant
Open 7am-10:30 am & 11am-3pm Mon-Sat; 4:30pm-9pm Sun-Thurs; 4:30pm-10pm Fri & Sat; 9am-3pm Sunday Brunch Enjoy our expansive international buffet offering indoor and outdoor seating featuring Italian, Asian, Mexican, Mediterranean and American cuisines. The Wandering Horse buffet features live cooking stations, a fresh salad bar, a carving station, delectable desserts and a brick oven pizza kitchen. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM Wandering Horse Buffet Pricing: Breakfast - $9.95 Lunch - $13.95 Dinner Sunday thru Thursday - $20.95 Dinner Friday & Saturday $26.95 Sunday Brunch - $27.95
Orange Sky - Restaurant
Open late from 5pm daily. This culinary jewel is located on the 15th floor and boasts panoramic views of the McDowell Mountains. Diners can choose from a wide selection of wines by the glass, or a world class list of regional and reserve wines to complement your fine dining experience.
Blue Coyote Cafe - Restaurant
Open 24 hours An upscale, full-service restaurant offering American and Asian cuisine in a casual dining atmosphere. The diverse menu ranges from classic sandwiches to freshly prepared salads to dinner entrees. The Blue Coyote Cafe at Talking Stick Resort now offers a full sushi menu from 11:00am-10:00pm. Happy Hour Monday through Friday from 4:00pm to 7:00pm. Select sushi rolls half off. Happy Hour: Mon - Fri 4:00PM - 7:00PM
Black Fig Bistro - Restaurant
Open 24 hours An express service upscale bistro for guests on the go serving homemade soups, fresh salads, specialty pizzas, and handcrafted sandwiches.
Ocean Trail - Restaurant
Open 11am-9pm Sunday-Thursday; 11am-11pm Friday & Saturday With its azure lighting and its exclusive 19-seat bar, Ocean Trail is the ultimate in sophisticated dining. Specialties include traditional Creole cuisine, such as steamers, raw oysters, Cajun style boils and spicy gumbo. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Shadows - Lounge
Open 2 pm to 2 am An 'old school' venue with a contemporary southwestern feel, highlighting the classic sounds of Frank Sinatra and Big Band with ambient indoor and patio seating. The Shadows Lounge features a variety of specialty martinis and cocktails along with a selection of fine cigars. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Palo Verde - Lounge
Open 8 am to 2 am Located on the casino level, this lounge offers a striking view of the pool area. Its serene atmosphere and central location make it a great place to relax, enjoy a few cocktails and meet up with friends. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Players Sports Bar
Open 6 am to 2 am Come watch the multitude of games and sports playing on our plasma screens, and play a little Keno or slots as you enjoy your favorite selections of cocktails and ice cold beers. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Degree 270 - Lounge
Open 8 pm to 2 am Thursday - Saturday Located on the 14th floor, this chic lounge offers live entertainment coupled with fantastic views of the Arizona desert and Camelback Mountain.
Coffee Garden
Open 6am to 9pm As you enter the garden level of Talking Stick Resort, your senses will be overwhelmed by the aroma of fresh brewed coffee and just baked pastries. The Coffee Garden features gourmet roasted coffees and hand selected teas by Peet's Coffee & Tea, and also offers specialty espresso drinks, gelato, and decadent desserts. NEW! - Dueling Pianos performing in the Coffee Garden every Friday and Saturday from 8:00 pm - 11:00 pm. Performances are free to guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Talking Stick Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
242 out of 242
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Czech Duo
Friends
New Prague, MN
Jan 14, 2014

Rest and Relaxation with a view

From the moment we pulled up to the valet parking we were greeted with smiles and asked what they could do for us or get for us. The hotel desk check in was very smooth and we were accommodated with our request for a room with a view. The room was very well appointed and clean. Maid service in the hallways greeted us with smiles and told us to let them know if there was anything we needed. The view from our 12th floor room was of the mountains and golf course. It was a beautiful sunrise view every morning where we sat and enjoyed our Keurig coffee choices. (there was also Keurig tea and condiments) I LOVED the glassed in shower with a huge ceiling shower head. I did not use the separate deep tub. The counter area was lighted and large. The room also provided a robe, slippers and extra towels, blankets and pillow. I was pleased to see the room safe as well. The counter in the room had a nice business phone and was personalized for your stay. I was greeted by name when calling the front desk. At the Blue Coyote restaurant we were greeted by host/hostess promptly. Our wait staff were extremely happy and genuinely sincere in their conversation. We did share meals and our portions were brought to us on separate plates. The food was presented well and very delicious. We felt the prices, portions and taste were every bit what you would expect from a 4-star location. Our only disappointment was with the casino. It was very, very, smokey and since it is small, there was no non-smoking gaming area. It made enjoying the bar areas uncomfortable and playing any casino games short lived. I am not a golfer, but there were many guests who were enjoying a very scenic golf course. That being said, we would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Boyce Thompson Arboretum State Park. It is over 300 acres of park. From Phoenix take Highway 60 east toward Superior until you reach milepost #223. Drive takes about an hour. It is an outdoor walking loop. Take some water for your hike and bring a picnic lunch to relax and enjoy in the picnic area after your hike. There will be many birds and even butterflies to enjoy.

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
meekosugar
Couples
Fremont, NE
Jan 20, 2014

Great resort!

We had a wonderful room, great friendly staff throughout the facility! We will definiately stay again on our next trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pauly Shore Curtis Mathes
Couples
Mason City, Iowa
Feb 4, 2014

Scottsdale Visit

Hotel had about anything you needed. Entertainment, golf, casino, cigar bar, barber, and most importantly... a shuttle that took you almost anywhere AND picked you up. Our rental car sat in valet for our duration there. Knowledgeable staff helped decide on restaurants and local entertainment. The club level rooms were great! Cant wait to return next year when the pool area is completed (adding to existing) and the three story golf range is complete (not your typical driving range)!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Tortilla Factory and their great food and margaritas. When you are done you can walk the arts district!

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rickardo6253
Friends
Bremerton, Wa
Feb 17, 2014

We literally were looking at the Day's Inn

We were shopping late for a Feb. vacation. I checked my favorite travel site that begins with "O" and packaged car, accommodations and flight, then entered the Talking Stick as a preferred location. I was shocked at the reasonable package price. The pool area and the buffet breakfast made the Stick a destination unto itself, rather than just a place to stay. The room was spacious, modern, and clean, and the staff was graciously professional. Cocktail service at the pool was a bonus. There were a couple of dealers in the casino that were less than professional, but, otherwise, the casino experience was positive as well. We are already planning on going back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Take advantage of the exceptional pool area. It was shocking how many people did not.

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
travel1040
Family
il
Mar 26, 2014

great stay

everything was great from check in to restaurants to casino. I recommend this hotel/casino to all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tim628
Single
Indiana
Mar 27, 2014

Great room and great staff

I can't wait to go back. Great pool and friendly staff. The buffet was outstanding and affordable. Free shuttle service around Scottsdale. Highly recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Iggyfish
Family
Broomfield, CO
Mar 28, 2014

Perfect Escape for the Cold

Beautiful rooms with the best showers ever. The grounds were immaculately kept. The swimming pool was wonderful as was the staff. A perfect location for baseball fans traveling for Spring Training and now an annual holiday for this fan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

Coyote Cafe: great breakfast and wonderful staff.

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Loving Arizona 14
Friends
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 30, 2014

Great weekend getaway

Beautiful hotel. Amazing pool. Food was fantastic! Staff was accommodating

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
thomkoz
Family
Valparaiso, Indiana
Apr 11, 2014

Super Clean,modern new 4 star hotel

This is one of the best places to stay in Scottsdale. The hotel is above all. Clean easy to get to facility located right off the 101 at ( Indian Bend Road). This hotel has it all restaurants, gambling, food, parking, golf and very pleasant staff. The best part is the hotel is completely separate from the casino thus no noise no parading down the room hallways. All the rooms are Smoke FREE. Of course the casino allows smoking but the vent system works very well. Cannot say enough about this facility. One of AZ's best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

West garage is the shortest walk into the facility.

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Detroit Gamer
Couples
Detroit, MI
Apr 11, 2014

Fun in the Sun

Best spa day on the awesome top floor patio. Orange sky restaurant has great sunset views from private booths and great foods. Free shuttle to fashion square mall. Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Orange Sky

Back to menu Return to top