$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2014 Check-out: Jul 20, 2014

Talking Stick Resort

4 stars
9800 E Indian Bend Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85256
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
194 reviews
Bachelorette weekend

We stayed here for a bachelorette weekend. It was great! The room was very comfortable and clean... See full review

  • Happy Traveler 17
  • Jun 30, 2014
Very Beautiful and Modern

I loved the modern room and the food in the cafe was excellent. Not too mention the slots were very... See full review

  • RRR25
  • Jun 27, 2014
For those 21 and over, Talking Stick Resort hosts the popular and crowd-pleasing Release Pool Parties at our main pool on Saturdays and Sundays from 11 am to 6 pm from April through September. If you prefer a quieter and family-friendly atmosphere, you can relax and unwind at our West Pool with its serene setting, crystal clear waters and Sonoran Desert views. Cabana Rental: 480-850-4350. Talking Stick Resort offers the luxuries of a resort while providing guests with options for unmatched entertainment. In addition to relaxing in one of the 497 Deluxe Executive Signature Club or Luxury guestrooms guests will enjoy several upscale amenities including a rejuvenating open-air spa eight world-class restaurants 10 entertainment lounges a 240000 square foot casino full-service pool and more than 100 000 square feet of indoor-outdoor function space. The most unique amenity of Talking Stick Resort is the 240 000 square feet of gaming that will offer over 900 slot machines and a VIP lounge. One of the Southwest s largest non-smoking poker rooms and more than 50 table games will include Blackjack 3-Card Poker and Let It Ride. Fast-action Keno will complete the gaming floor all of which will be available to guests 24 hours a day 7 days a week. Featuring eight restaurants Talking Stick Resort introduces Wandering Horse Buffet a multi-stationed international buffet the 24 hour Blue Coyote Cafe the Black Fig Bistro Shadows Cigar and Martini Bar the 19 seat Ocean Trail seafood bar and the Coffee Garden serving Pete s Coffee. The resort s most prized dining experience Orange Sky will be located on the 15th floor a high-end open air restaurant serving steak and seafood. Entertainment venues include 10 lounges, of which includes Talking Stick Resort s 750-seat showroom and 14th floor nightclub Degree 270 for the 30-something crowd. After soaking up the Arizona sun poolside guests can relax in the 13 000 square foot rejuvenation center The Spa at Talking Stick.

The hotel is 100% Smoke Free.

Talking Stick Resort Rooms

Deluxe - Room
Deluxe Room offers one king bed or two queen beds. Comprised of distinct comfort and contemporary appointments, Talking Stick's commodious deluxe guestrooms exude the ambiance of the southwest with a modern flare.
Signature - Room
Signature guestrooms offer one king bed or two queen beds. Located primarily on the first and second floors, enjoy the euphoric desert air year round in one of talking sticks signature guestrooms featuring the solace of either a balcony or patio.
Club - Room
Club Room offers one king bed or two queen beds. Enticed by statuesque camelback and desert landscapes, Talking Stick Club guestrooms frame some of the east valleys most spectacular views on the 12th and 13th private floors. Include Breakfast (2) and Drink (4) vouchers.
Executive - King
Executive guestrooms offer one king bed. Strategically positioned on the north and south anchors of Talking Stick, Executive guestrooms have some of the most resplendent balcony views of either camelback or mcdowell mountains.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Talking Stick Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.5386 -111.8657
Area served
Scottsdale, AZ.
Nearby airports
Phoenix International - PHX.
Area description
Old Town Scottsdale, AZ.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Whether it's an annual corporate gathering for hundreds or a board meeting for a few, Talking Stick Resort can accommodate your needs with over 100,000 square feet of indoor/outdoor meeting and banquet space equipped with complimentary high-speed internet access, including the 25,000 square foot Salt River Grand Ballroom and over 11,000 square feet of prefunction space. We are able to accommodate groups of 2000 or an intimate dinner for 12, our events staff is ready and able to elevate your event to an unmatched level of hospitality offered at Talking Stick Resort.

Dining

Ocean Trail - Restaurant
Open 11am-9pm Sunday-Thursday; 11am-11pm Friday & Saturday With its azure lighting and its exclusive 19-seat bar, Ocean Trail is the ultimate in sophisticated dining. Specialties include traditional Creole cuisine, such as steamers, raw oysters, Cajun style boils and spicy gumbo. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Shadows - Lounge
Open 2 pm to 2 am An 'old school' venue with a contemporary southwestern feel, highlighting the classic sounds of Frank Sinatra and Big Band with ambient indoor and patio seating. The Shadows Lounge features a variety of specialty martinis and cocktails along with a selection of fine cigars. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Palo Verde - Lounge
Open 8 am to 2 am Located on the casino level, this lounge offers a striking view of the pool area. Its serene atmosphere and central location make it a great place to relax, enjoy a few cocktails and meet up with friends. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Players Sports Bar
Open 6 am to 2 am Come watch the multitude of games and sports playing on our plasma screens, and play a little Keno or slots as you enjoy your favorite selections of cocktails and ice cold beers. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Degree 270 - Lounge
Open 8 pm to 2 am Thursday - Saturday Located on the 14th floor, this chic lounge offers live entertainment coupled with fantastic views of the Arizona desert and Camelback Mountain.
Coffee Garden
Open 6am to 9pm As you enter the garden level of Talking Stick Resort, your senses will be overwhelmed by the aroma of fresh brewed coffee and just baked pastries. The Coffee Garden features gourmet roasted coffees and hand selected teas by Peet's Coffee & Tea, and also offers specialty espresso drinks, gelato, and decadent desserts. NEW! - Dueling Pianos performing in the Coffee Garden every Friday and Saturday from 8:00 pm - 11:00 pm. Performances are free to guests.
Poker Room Grill
Open 24 hours Seeking to satisfy your appetite while partaking in a lively game of poker? No problem. The Poker Room boasts table-side dining with an assortment of American and Asian dishes. Fill up and go all in! Join us in the Poker Room every Monday for your favorite card game and our $10 Prime Rib dinner special. 5:00pm to 11:00pm, for seated poker players only.
Wandering Horse Buffet - Restaurant
Open 7am-10:30 am & 11am-3pm Mon-Sat; 4:30pm-9pm Sun-Thurs; 4:30pm-10pm Fri & Sat; 9am-3pm Sunday Brunch Enjoy our expansive international buffet offering indoor and outdoor seating featuring Italian, Asian, Mexican, Mediterranean and American cuisines. The Wandering Horse buffet features live cooking stations, a fresh salad bar, a carving station, delectable desserts and a brick oven pizza kitchen. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM Wandering Horse Buffet Pricing: Breakfast - $9.95 Lunch - $13.95 Dinner Sunday thru Thursday - $20.95 Dinner Friday & Saturday $26.95 Sunday Brunch - $27.95
Orange Sky - Restaurant
Open late from 5pm daily. This culinary jewel is located on the 15th floor and boasts panoramic views of the McDowell Mountains. Diners can choose from a wide selection of wines by the glass, or a world class list of regional and reserve wines to complement your fine dining experience.
Blue Coyote Cafe - Restaurant
Open 24 hours An upscale, full-service restaurant offering American and Asian cuisine in a casual dining atmosphere. The diverse menu ranges from classic sandwiches to freshly prepared salads to dinner entrees. The Blue Coyote Cafe at Talking Stick Resort now offers a full sushi menu from 11:00am-10:00pm. Happy Hour Monday through Friday from 4:00pm to 7:00pm. Select sushi rolls half off. Happy Hour: Mon - Fri 4:00PM - 7:00PM

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (194)

Ratings and reviews for Talking Stick Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 194
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nina R.
Stamford,CT
Jun 29, 2014

Great for Casino fun!

A great hotel for Casino nights! Very clean and well maintained. Large spacious rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Whatever you do visit Sedona its worth the short drive!

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RRR25
Bellflower, CA
Jun 27, 2014

Very Beautiful and Modern

I loved the modern room and the food in the cafe was excellent. Not too mention the slots were very generous. We had a great time and will definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Birthday golf
North Carolina
Jun 23, 2014

Outstanding!

First time at this facility and the review started on the airplane as we taxied to the gate; the guy sitting next me said "it's one of the finest facilities in the valley." Well he was spot on with his comments, everything we tried was excellent, casino, concerts and golf course. We would recommend and will return to this facility, one should try it as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Good line up of entertainment, Greg Allman was fantastic in the small showroom and Dennis Miller filled up the Grand ballroom

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
thomkoz
Valparaiso, Indiana
Apr 11, 2014

Super Clean,modern new 4 star hotel

This is one of the best places to stay in Scottsdale. The hotel is above all. Clean easy to get to facility located right off the 101 at ( Indian Bend Road). This hotel has it all restaurants, gambling, food, parking, golf and very pleasant staff. The best part is the hotel is completely separate from the casino thus no noise no parading down the room hallways. All the rooms are Smoke FREE. Of course the casino allows smoking but the vent system works very well. Cannot say enough about this facility. One of AZ's best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

West garage is the shortest walk into the facility.

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ed family guy
Portland, OR
Apr 9, 2014

Great location, helpful staff, nicely done

We stayed for a family vacation to visit friends and escape the rain/cold in the Pacific NW in February. Room was very comfortable, had large bathroom, and free Internet access was important to us. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We were on the 8th floor and did not have any problems with noise, even over the weekend. It is a hassle to have to walk through the casino, mostly for the smell of cigarette smoke. However, as others mentioned in reviews, if you have a car in the garage you can easily walk out from the base of the elevators at the end of the hotel wing - which also has easy access to the pool area - all doors work with your room card to get back in. We feel we could have seen more of the hotel, and 70-ish parents enjoyed hanging out in the casino while we went out to local activities. Only issue was construction noise going on adjacent to pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Experience the natural desert before it is all gone!

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Golfmom8
Los Osos, California
Apr 9, 2014

MIddle of the night evacuation

I like this hotel once I navigate thru the smoky disgusting casino.. I hate that part, its gross. However the rooms and amenities are very nice. This stay however we were forced into a middle of the night emergency evacuation which totally sucked. Especially since it was a false alarm. I felt the hotel should have done something to compensate the guests who were inconvenienced without having to call and ask. I got my 2 breakfast's comped.. Big whoopee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RCLP
Illinois
Mar 31, 2014

Awful front desk managers!

1). The management hired at the front desk should not be employed. I feel sorry for the staff under them. Very rude people. Their rudeness started our vacation on a sour note. Since it was Spring Training, we couldn't find another hotel. We were promised a Roll away. We confirmed with them the day before and was told no problem. B.H., the Asst. Mgr. looked us straight in the eye and told us too bad they don't have any and have the kid sleep on the floor. She told us she would try to get us one for the next night but wouldn't put it in writing. She could care less! And, there was another lady having the same problem. I can't tell you how rude B.H. was. I left a message with the manager who never called back. Thank God for Mike in the casino. WITHIN MINUTES WE HAD A COT IN OUR ROOM! Now, let me ask you....what is up with that? Mike can get us one but B.H. can't? Obviously, she was NOT going to give us a cot. Because of this experience we will never stay there again nor will I gamble there. Many other places to stay! Learned a valuable lesson. 2). Our room was never vacuumed during our stay. Just tidied up a bit and that was it. Dust everywhere. Thank God my kid with allergies was not there. Even a little piece of brown candy that someone must have dropped from their mouth was near the bed for days! 3) extremely smokey. Not good for the lungs. MY MONEY WILL GO TO SOMEWHERE ELSE IN SCOTTSDALE THAT APPRECIATES THEIR PATRONS AND WANT THEM TO HAVE A GREAT VACATION. BUT...THANK YOU Michael for helping us when no other person would!!! You were the best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don and Charlie's is very good.

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PaultheTravelGuy
Arvada CO
Mar 30, 2014

Talking Stick - Good Getaway for Spring Break

This is our second stay at Talking Stick Resort. All went quite well again. The rooms are nice (particularly the bathrooms). The pool is great, and they are building yet another pool. The staff is OK (sometimes a bit uninterested). We enjoyed the Breakfast Buffet one day - huge number of breakfast options. Overall, it was another nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Museum of Musical Instruments was one of the highlights of our stay. Incredibly impressive museum!

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Iggyfish
Broomfield, CO
Mar 28, 2014

Perfect Escape for the Cold

Beautiful rooms with the best showers ever. The grounds were immaculately kept. The swimming pool was wonderful as was the staff. A perfect location for baseball fans traveling for Spring Training and now an annual holiday for this fan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Coyote Cafe: great breakfast and wonderful staff.

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
travel1040
il
Mar 26, 2014

great stay

everything was great from check in to restaurants to casino. I recommend this hotel/casino to all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top