$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Talking Stick Resort

4 stars
9800 E Indian Bend Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85256
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
215 reviews
visit with Family & Freinds

The stay was enjoyable. We loved the Orange Sky Restaurant atop the hotel. The golf course was... See full review

  • sbart123
  • Dec 23, 2014
Vegas feel

It's was a great time room was awesome with wonderful views, and the whole atmosphere was great!... See full review

  • Jeepjeep
  • Dec 7, 2014
For those 21 and over, Talking Stick Resort hosts the popular and crowd-pleasing Release Pool Parties at our main pool on Saturdays and Sundays from 11 am to 6 pm from April through September. If you prefer a quieter and family-friendly atmosphere, you can relax and unwind at our West Pool with its serene setting, crystal clear waters and Sonoran Desert views. Cabana Rental: 480-850-4350. Talking Stick Resort offers the luxuries of a resort while providing guests with options for unmatched entertainment. In addition to relaxing in one of the 497 Deluxe Executive Signature Club or Luxury guestrooms guests will enjoy several upscale amenities including a rejuvenating open-air spa eight world-class restaurants 10 entertainment lounges a 240000 square foot casino full-service pool and more than 100 000 square feet of indoor-outdoor function space. The most unique amenity of Talking Stick Resort is the 240 000 square feet of gaming that will offer over 900 slot machines and a VIP lounge. One of the Southwest s largest non-smoking poker rooms and more than 50 table games will include Blackjack 3-Card Poker and Let It Ride. Fast-action Keno will complete the gaming floor all of which will be available to guests 24 hours a day 7 days a week. Featuring eight restaurants Talking Stick Resort introduces Wandering Horse Buffet a multi-stationed international buffet the 24 hour Blue Coyote Cafe the Black Fig Bistro Shadows Cigar and Martini Bar the 19 seat Ocean Trail seafood bar and the Coffee Garden serving Pete s Coffee. The resort s most prized dining experience Orange Sky will be located on the 15th floor a high-end open air restaurant serving steak and seafood. Entertainment venues include 10 lounges, of which includes Talking Stick Resort s 750-seat showroom and 14th floor nightclub Degree 270 for the 30-something crowd. After soaking up the Arizona sun poolside guests can relax in the 13 000 square foot rejuvenation center The Spa at Talking Stick.

The hotel is 100% Smoke Free.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Talking Stick Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Talking Stick Resort Rooms

Deluxe - Room
Deluxe Room offers one king bed or two queen beds. Comprised of distinct comfort and contemporary appointments, Talking Stick's commodious deluxe guestrooms exude the ambiance of the southwest with a modern flare.
Signature - Room
Signature guestrooms offer one king bed or two queen beds. Located primarily on the first and second floors, enjoy the euphoric desert air year round in one of talking sticks signature guestrooms featuring the solace of either a balcony or patio.
Club - Room
Club Room offers one king bed or two queen beds. Enticed by statuesque camelback and desert landscapes, Talking Stick Club guestrooms frame some of the east valleys most spectacular views on the 12th and 13th private floors. Include Breakfast (2) and Drink (4) vouchers.
Executive - King
Executive guestrooms offer one king bed. Strategically positioned on the north and south anchors of Talking Stick, Executive guestrooms have some of the most resplendent balcony views of either camelback or mcdowell mountains.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Whether it's an annual corporate gathering for hundreds or a board meeting for a few, Talking Stick Resort can accommodate your needs with over 100,000 square feet of indoor/outdoor meeting and banquet space equipped with complimentary high-speed internet access, including the 25,000 square foot Salt River Grand Ballroom and over 11,000 square feet of prefunction space. We are able to accommodate groups of 2000 or an intimate dinner for 12, our events staff is ready and able to elevate your event to an unmatched level of hospitality offered at Talking Stick Resort.

Dining

Wandering Horse Buffet - Restaurant
Open 7am-10:30 am & 11am-3pm Mon-Sat; 4:30pm-9pm Sun-Thurs; 4:30pm-10pm Fri & Sat; 9am-3pm Sunday Brunch Enjoy our expansive international buffet offering indoor and outdoor seating featuring Italian, Asian, Mexican, Mediterranean and American cuisines. The Wandering Horse buffet features live cooking stations, a fresh salad bar, a carving station, delectable desserts and a brick oven pizza kitchen. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM Wandering Horse Buffet Pricing: Breakfast - $9.95 Lunch - $13.95 Dinner Sunday thru Thursday - $20.95 Dinner Friday & Saturday $26.95 Sunday Brunch - $27.95
Orange Sky - Restaurant
Open late from 5pm daily. This culinary jewel is located on the 15th floor and boasts panoramic views of the McDowell Mountains. Diners can choose from a wide selection of wines by the glass, or a world class list of regional and reserve wines to complement your fine dining experience.
Blue Coyote Cafe - Restaurant
Open 24 hours An upscale, full-service restaurant offering American and Asian cuisine in a casual dining atmosphere. The diverse menu ranges from classic sandwiches to freshly prepared salads to dinner entrees. The Blue Coyote Cafe at Talking Stick Resort now offers a full sushi menu from 11:00am-10:00pm. Happy Hour Monday through Friday from 4:00pm to 7:00pm. Select sushi rolls half off. Happy Hour: Mon - Fri 4:00PM - 7:00PM
Black Fig Bistro - Restaurant
Open 24 hours An express service upscale bistro for guests on the go serving homemade soups, fresh salads, specialty pizzas, and handcrafted sandwiches.
Ocean Trail - Restaurant
Open 11am-9pm Sunday-Thursday; 11am-11pm Friday & Saturday With its azure lighting and its exclusive 19-seat bar, Ocean Trail is the ultimate in sophisticated dining. Specialties include traditional Creole cuisine, such as steamers, raw oysters, Cajun style boils and spicy gumbo. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Shadows - Lounge
Open 2 pm to 2 am An 'old school' venue with a contemporary southwestern feel, highlighting the classic sounds of Frank Sinatra and Big Band with ambient indoor and patio seating. The Shadows Lounge features a variety of specialty martinis and cocktails along with a selection of fine cigars. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Palo Verde - Lounge
Open 8 am to 2 am Located on the casino level, this lounge offers a striking view of the pool area. Its serene atmosphere and central location make it a great place to relax, enjoy a few cocktails and meet up with friends. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Players Sports Bar
Open 6 am to 2 am Come watch the multitude of games and sports playing on our plasma screens, and play a little Keno or slots as you enjoy your favorite selections of cocktails and ice cold beers. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Degree 270 - Lounge
Open 8 pm to 2 am Thursday - Saturday Located on the 14th floor, this chic lounge offers live entertainment coupled with fantastic views of the Arizona desert and Camelback Mountain.
Coffee Garden
Open 6am to 9pm As you enter the garden level of Talking Stick Resort, your senses will be overwhelmed by the aroma of fresh brewed coffee and just baked pastries. The Coffee Garden features gourmet roasted coffees and hand selected teas by Peet's Coffee & Tea, and also offers specialty espresso drinks, gelato, and decadent desserts. NEW! - Dueling Pianos performing in the Coffee Garden every Friday and Saturday from 8:00 pm - 11:00 pm. Performances are free to guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (215)

Ratings and reviews for Talking Stick Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 215
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ConJoan
Business
Seattle, WA
Nov 30, 2014

Great location just off highway 101

This was our 2nd stay. Free parking, very nice pool and good prices in the restaurants. The casino is nice but very crowded. Room had a refrigerator and a Keurig coffee maker. Hotel provides free water. Only complaint is that the room lighting is dark. Hard to pack a suitcase when you can't see well. Very nice bathroom with glass enclosed shower. We will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
oreo cookies
Business
los angeles, CA
Oct 28, 2014

Arizona weekend

Everything was great, enjoyed the hotel however the shuttle guy dropped us off and never came back, don't take the shuttle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seasoned Staycation Local
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Oct 13, 2014

Talking Stick

The hotel room was amazing with such a breathtaking view of the McDowell's from the room. Room service messed up the order and then the delivery person was completely untrained at setting up the table we asked for...not setting the table and opening up food (or even asking what we would like to do)... Service outside forgot to ever bring our order then brought the WRONG order... Love the location and the rooms... would still come back again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Top Golf is in front of the hotel... take a golf cart shuttle over instead of walking or driving!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Guinness0052
Business
Peoria Az
Sep 12, 2014

A Staycation at The Stick

Our third one this summer at Talking Stick. AMAZING!. room is great. Pool Party is so relaxing. Will stay have not done the Buffet...but maybe next time. Bring your own cigars to the Outdoor Cigar Bar in the rain!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat breakfast at the little Café Bistro (I think that's the name). Its down right near the KENO room. $5 for a huge plate of egg muffin and potatoes. DEAL!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Weekend Getaway Lady
Business
Marina Del Rey, CA
Aug 27, 2014

Great spot for couples

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed this hotel. We got here on a Sunday and checked out the pool party. Great atmosphere, DJ, and drinks. The hotel room was very spacious and clean. I would recommend staying here. Location is ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy gambler87
Business
phoenix, az
Aug 27, 2014

happy

The pools were great, but service was crazy expensive there! Room was so beautiful and everyone was super helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Play the most dick machine!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OneLuckyMomma
Business
Beaumont, CA
Aug 8, 2014

Will stay again....

My husband stayed at this location for a getaway from the kids moment and fell in love. We upgraded to a "Club King" which was awesome! With the Club King room you get to stay on a higher level and you get basically Breakfast and Dinner items.... We got to pick off the actual room service menu since we were the only ones on the entire floor for the first day and night. After that you get little appetizers or "poopoos" that you get in the exclusive room. Service was amazing. We also walked in to a box filled with chocolate covered pretzels and toffee peanuts complimentary. DELICIOUS! The only NEGATIVE were two things. One was when we first walk in and sat on the bed, it STANK LIKE STRING BODY ODOR all over the bed! Called the front and they quickly handled it. The room felt extremely clean.... even clean enough to walk barefoot. The SECOND was the fact that the lounges that we were SO LOOKING FORWARD TO were under renovation. So we had nothing to really do. Since we don't gamble or smoke. I really wished they would have informed us ahead of time so we could have rescheduled our trip. Other than that it was all amazing. The staff was all super friendly. About those comments about the smoke in the casino... ITS A CASINO... It SMELL BETTER THAN THE HIGH END CASINOS IN VEGAS. THE ONLY place that really stink was in the area of the Cigar Lounge. Other than that, it was no bad at all. Then drinks were relish. Chocolate martinis came out amazing and STRING! We also ate at the Orange Sky restaurant. MAKE RSVPS for a PRIVATE BOOTH with a view.... AMAZING! AMAZING AMAZING VIEWS and FOOD!! Can NOT wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Orange Sky private booth with the PERFECT VIEW OF A SUNSET ON THE MOUNTAINS! Curtains go up on their own at exactly sundown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LisaTag
Business
North Ridgeville, OH
Aug 8, 2014

Great and relaxing trip

Check in was a little slow. The woman at the front desk said our reservation still needed to be faxed by the booking site? Room was as descibed on the website. The floor we stayed on was really quiet. We enjoyed the complimentary Keurig coffee/tea and bottled water in the room. Some employees at the front desk could not answers some basic questions about the pool. They just said "I don't know, I've never been to the pool." It's hard to get used having to walk through a smoky casino to get to the hotel since we come from a state where casinos are non-smoking. Overall, the hotel is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Black Fig Bistro has large portions at a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jessie 27
Business
Chandler, AZ
Jul 28, 2014

Adult Staycation

If you're an adult looking for a good time, come here. Their pool parties on the weekends include a DJ and specialty cocktails. There's a night club on the top floor, 2 very delicious restaurants, Orange Sky and Ocean Trail, and of course gambling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Ocean Trail, amazing seafood.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alexanderaun
Business
Tucson, AZ
Jul 28, 2014

Talking Stick Resort Weekend geatway

I felt like in Vegas. The room was described accurately. We wanted a balcony with certain perks and all was delivered. now when it comes to the restaurants, waiting times are an issue, 45+ minutes, but worth it. You do get a sense of security, all hotel users are asked to show there cards prior to entry. Overall, we got a great experience with excellent views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If your planning in dinning at the Wondering Horse restaurant, (highly recommended for the price), Send a kid or someone in advance to wait in line and text you when close to seating. Between the casino and hotel clientele, Busy is the word, and they do not take reservations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top