$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 1, 2015 Check-out: Apr 2, 2015

Talking Stick Resort

4 stars
View map of 9800 E Indian Bend Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85256

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
229 reviews
Awesome Birthday Gift for my Sister

My mom, sister and I received an upgraded room with a balcony and it was so appreciated. The pool... See full review

  • Ruta N.
  • Feb 28, 2015
Wildly entertaining

Loved being able to go to he casino first thing in the morning. Views from room were lovely See full review

  • Christina W.
  • Jan 24, 2015
For those 21 and over, Talking Stick Resort hosts the popular and crowd-pleasing Release Pool Parties at our main pool on Saturdays and Sundays from 11 am to 6 pm from April through September. If you prefer a quieter and family-friendly atmosphere, you can relax and unwind at our West Pool with its serene setting, crystal clear waters and Sonoran Desert views. Cabana Rental: 480-850-4350. Talking Stick Resort offers the luxuries of a resort while providing guests with options for unmatched entertainment. In addition to relaxing in one of the 497 Deluxe Executive Signature Club or Luxury guestrooms guests will enjoy several upscale amenities including a rejuvenating open-air spa eight world-class restaurants 10 entertainment lounges a 240000 square foot casino full-service pool and more than 100 000 square feet of indoor-outdoor function space. The most unique amenity of Talking Stick Resort is the 240 000 square feet of gaming that will offer over 900 slot machines and a VIP lounge. One of the Southwest s largest non-smoking poker rooms and more than 50 table games will include Blackjack 3-Card Poker and Let It Ride. Fast-action Keno will complete the gaming floor all of which will be available to guests 24 hours a day 7 days a week. Featuring eight restaurants Talking Stick Resort introduces Wandering Horse Buffet a multi-stationed international buffet the 24 hour Blue Coyote Cafe the Black Fig Bistro Shadows Cigar and Martini Bar the 19 seat Ocean Trail seafood bar and the Coffee Garden serving Pete s Coffee. The resort s most prized dining experience Orange Sky will be located on the 15th floor a high-end open air restaurant serving steak and seafood. Entertainment venues include 10 lounges, of which includes Talking Stick Resort s 750-seat showroom and 14th floor nightclub Degree 270 for the 30-something crowd. After soaking up the Arizona sun poolside guests can relax in the 13 000 square foot rejuvenation center The Spa at Talking Stick.

The hotel is 100% Smoke Free.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Talking Stick Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Talking Stick Resort Rooms

Deluxe - Room
Deluxe Room offers one king bed or two queen beds. Comprised of distinct comfort and contemporary appointments, Talking Stick's commodious deluxe guestrooms exude the ambiance of the southwest with a modern flare.
Signature - Room
Signature guestrooms offer one king bed or two queen beds. Located primarily on the first and second floors, enjoy the euphoric desert air year round in one of talking sticks signature guestrooms featuring the solace of either a balcony or patio.
Club - Room
Club Room offers one king bed or two queen beds. Enticed by statuesque camelback and desert landscapes, Talking Stick Club guestrooms frame some of the east valleys most spectacular views on the 12th and 13th private floors. Include Breakfast (2) and Drink (4) vouchers.
Executive - King
Executive guestrooms offer one king bed. Strategically positioned on the north and south anchors of Talking Stick, Executive guestrooms have some of the most resplendent balcony views of either camelback or mcdowell mountains.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Wandering Horse Buffet - Restaurant
Open 7am-10:30 am & 11am-3pm Mon-Sat; 4:30pm-9pm Sun-Thurs; 4:30pm-10pm Fri & Sat; 9am-3pm Sunday Brunch Enjoy our expansive international buffet offering indoor and outdoor seating featuring Italian, Asian, Mexican, Mediterranean and American cuisines. The Wandering Horse buffet features live cooking stations, a fresh salad bar, a carving station, delectable desserts and a brick oven pizza kitchen. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM Wandering Horse Buffet Pricing: Breakfast - $9.95 Lunch - $13.95 Dinner Sunday thru Thursday - $20.95 Dinner Friday & Saturday $26.95 Sunday Brunch - $27.95
Orange Sky - Restaurant
Open late from 5pm daily. This culinary jewel is located on the 15th floor and boasts panoramic views of the McDowell Mountains. Diners can choose from a wide selection of wines by the glass, or a world class list of regional and reserve wines to complement your fine dining experience.
Blue Coyote Cafe - Restaurant
Open 24 hours An upscale, full-service restaurant offering American and Asian cuisine in a casual dining atmosphere. The diverse menu ranges from classic sandwiches to freshly prepared salads to dinner entrees. The Blue Coyote Cafe at Talking Stick Resort now offers a full sushi menu from 11:00am-10:00pm. Happy Hour Monday through Friday from 4:00pm to 7:00pm. Select sushi rolls half off. Happy Hour: Mon - Fri 4:00PM - 7:00PM
Black Fig Bistro - Restaurant
Open 24 hours An express service upscale bistro for guests on the go serving homemade soups, fresh salads, specialty pizzas, and handcrafted sandwiches.
Ocean Trail - Restaurant
Open 11am-9pm Sunday-Thursday; 11am-11pm Friday & Saturday With its azure lighting and its exclusive 19-seat bar, Ocean Trail is the ultimate in sophisticated dining. Specialties include traditional Creole cuisine, such as steamers, raw oysters, Cajun style boils and spicy gumbo. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Shadows - Lounge
Open 2 pm to 2 am An 'old school' venue with a contemporary southwestern feel, highlighting the classic sounds of Frank Sinatra and Big Band with ambient indoor and patio seating. The Shadows Lounge features a variety of specialty martinis and cocktails along with a selection of fine cigars. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Palo Verde - Lounge
Open 8 am to 2 am Located on the casino level, this lounge offers a striking view of the pool area. Its serene atmosphere and central location make it a great place to relax, enjoy a few cocktails and meet up with friends. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Players Sports Bar
Open 6 am to 2 am Come watch the multitude of games and sports playing on our plasma screens, and play a little Keno or slots as you enjoy your favorite selections of cocktails and ice cold beers. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Degree 270 - Lounge
Open 8 pm to 2 am Thursday - Saturday Located on the 14th floor, this chic lounge offers live entertainment coupled with fantastic views of the Arizona desert and Camelback Mountain.
Coffee Garden
Open 6am to 9pm As you enter the garden level of Talking Stick Resort, your senses will be overwhelmed by the aroma of fresh brewed coffee and just baked pastries. The Coffee Garden features gourmet roasted coffees and hand selected teas by Peet's Coffee & Tea, and also offers specialty espresso drinks, gelato, and decadent desserts. NEW! - Dueling Pianos performing in the Coffee Garden every Friday and Saturday from 8:00 pm - 11:00 pm. Performances are free to guests.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Whether it's an annual corporate gathering for hundreds or a board meeting for a few, Talking Stick Resort can accommodate your needs with over 100,000 square feet of indoor/outdoor meeting and banquet space equipped with complimentary high-speed internet access, including the 25,000 square foot Salt River Grand Ballroom and over 11,000 square feet of prefunction space. We are able to accommodate groups of 2000 or an intimate dinner for 12, our events staff is ready and able to elevate your event to an unmatched level of hospitality offered at Talking Stick Resort.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (229)

Ratings and reviews for Talking Stick Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
101 out of 229
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christina W.
Business
West Des Moines
Jan 24, 2015

Wildly entertaining

Loved being able to go to he casino first thing in the morning. Views from room were lovely

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
James F.
Business
N/A
Jan 20, 2015

Nice Expericence

In town for Hockey Tournament, found this hotel online. Very Nice rooms, Nice and quiet. Didn't Gamble much. Very Happy I found it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Amy.937
Business
N/A
Jan 15, 2015

nice variety but hard to sleep

The hotel itself was fun, but room was not good to sleep in at all. I stayed here with my husband as a staycation to get a little break and hopefully catch up on some sleep since we have two small kids. We tried to have dinner at orange sky which is the fine dining but didn't make a reservation so we couldn't. The restaurant looked really nice and I've heard great things. We ended up walking downstairs to blue coyote which was still good. Husband got sushi and I got steak. Both were pretty good. There were lots of choices of things to do. We gambled a little, sat at patio bar and listen to live music, went to cigar lounge and watched more live music, then got tickets to the concert that was there. It was nice to have everything in one place. Then we went to the room to get some sleep, which didn't happen. First of all, they don't have curtains so the room doesn't get pitch black. They have wooden shutters that definitely let light in. Second of all, our room was on the west side of the hotel where there are tons of led lights along the buidling so we saw colorful lights peeping in our room all night. Then there was a whistle/squeal that kept happening in the air return ALL night long whenever the air kicked on. Everytime it happened I jumped and caught me off guard. Lastly, there was a random leaking sound happening on the bathroom at random times in the night. It literally sounded like someone was turning on the shower but when you walked in there nothing was happening. It was so odd. As far as cleanliness, room was pretty clean but there were opened toiletries in the bathroom from previous guest that weren't replaced with new ones. When I checked out I told the girl about the noisey, bright room and her response was, "I'm sorry, you're bill will be ...." she didn't seem too concerned. My husband and I went home and rotated taking naps to recover from our not so restful staycation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations for orange sky ahead of time if you want to eat there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave
Business
nashua
Jan 8, 2015

Nice location, very good hotel

Good casino/hotel setup... close enough to Scottsdale area, convenient access to 101 loop. Very popular/busy on the weekends - bars, restaurants, casino, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lish
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

talking stick scottsdale

The check in time is pretty late so that was inconvenient. The front desk said we would more than likely get our room early...we got our room at 3:55:( the room however was very nice and clean.the reaturants in the casino were all pretty good.I really liked the resturant on the lower level, we ate there twice and both times the service was excellent.very friendly staff for all resturants.the casino was really smoky but that is to be expected. Outdoor patios were amazing and heated for nightime! The pool was relaxing and water was heated.overall a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Camel back hiking trails are not too far away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Loren R.
Business
N/A
Dec 30, 2014

great place to stay.

We had a great time. The golf course is awesome. Had a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ConJoan
Business
Seattle, WA
Nov 30, 2014

Great location just off highway 101

This was our 2nd stay. Free parking, very nice pool and good prices in the restaurants. The casino is nice but very crowded. Room had a refrigerator and a Keurig coffee maker. Hotel provides free water. Only complaint is that the room lighting is dark. Hard to pack a suitcase when you can't see well. Very nice bathroom with glass enclosed shower. We will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
oreo cookies
Business
los angeles, CA
Oct 28, 2014

Arizona weekend

Everything was great, enjoyed the hotel however the shuttle guy dropped us off and never came back, don't take the shuttle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seasoned Staycation Local
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Oct 13, 2014

Talking Stick

The hotel room was amazing with such a breathtaking view of the McDowell's from the room. Room service messed up the order and then the delivery person was completely untrained at setting up the table we asked for...not setting the table and opening up food (or even asking what we would like to do)... Service outside forgot to ever bring our order then brought the WRONG order... Love the location and the rooms... would still come back again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Top Golf is in front of the hotel... take a golf cart shuttle over instead of walking or driving!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Guinness0052
Business
Peoria Az
Sep 12, 2014

A Staycation at The Stick

Our third one this summer at Talking Stick. AMAZING!. room is great. Pool Party is so relaxing. Will stay have not done the Buffet...but maybe next time. Bring your own cigars to the Outdoor Cigar Bar in the rain!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat breakfast at the little Café Bistro (I think that's the name). Its down right near the KENO room. $5 for a huge plate of egg muffin and potatoes. DEAL!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top