$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 19, 2014

Talking Stick Resort

4 stars
9800 E Indian Bend Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85256
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
198 reviews
Bachelorette weekend

We stayed here for a bachelorette weekend. It was great! The room was very comfortable and clean... See full review

  • Happy Traveler 17
  • Jun 30, 2014
Very Beautiful and Modern

I loved the modern room and the food in the cafe was excellent. Not too mention the slots were very... See full review

  • RRR25
  • Jun 27, 2014
For those 21 and over, Talking Stick Resort hosts the popular and crowd-pleasing Release Pool Parties at our main pool on Saturdays and Sundays from 11 am to 6 pm from April through September. If you prefer a quieter and family-friendly atmosphere, you can relax and unwind at our West Pool with its serene setting, crystal clear waters and Sonoran Desert views. Cabana Rental: 480-850-4350. Talking Stick Resort offers the luxuries of a resort while providing guests with options for unmatched entertainment. In addition to relaxing in one of the 497 Deluxe Executive Signature Club or Luxury guestrooms guests will enjoy several upscale amenities including a rejuvenating open-air spa eight world-class restaurants 10 entertainment lounges a 240000 square foot casino full-service pool and more than 100 000 square feet of indoor-outdoor function space. The most unique amenity of Talking Stick Resort is the 240 000 square feet of gaming that will offer over 900 slot machines and a VIP lounge. One of the Southwest s largest non-smoking poker rooms and more than 50 table games will include Blackjack 3-Card Poker and Let It Ride. Fast-action Keno will complete the gaming floor all of which will be available to guests 24 hours a day 7 days a week. Featuring eight restaurants Talking Stick Resort introduces Wandering Horse Buffet a multi-stationed international buffet the 24 hour Blue Coyote Cafe the Black Fig Bistro Shadows Cigar and Martini Bar the 19 seat Ocean Trail seafood bar and the Coffee Garden serving Pete s Coffee. The resort s most prized dining experience Orange Sky will be located on the 15th floor a high-end open air restaurant serving steak and seafood. Entertainment venues include 10 lounges, of which includes Talking Stick Resort s 750-seat showroom and 14th floor nightclub Degree 270 for the 30-something crowd. After soaking up the Arizona sun poolside guests can relax in the 13 000 square foot rejuvenation center The Spa at Talking Stick.

The hotel is 100% Smoke Free.

Hotel Map

33.5386 -111.8657
Area served
Scottsdale, AZ.
Nearby airports
Phoenix International - PHX.
Area description
Old Town Scottsdale, AZ.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Talking Stick Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Talking Stick Resort Rooms

Deluxe - Room
Deluxe Room offers one king bed or two queen beds. Comprised of distinct comfort and contemporary appointments, Talking Stick's commodious deluxe guestrooms exude the ambiance of the southwest with a modern flare.
Signature - Room
Signature guestrooms offer one king bed or two queen beds. Located primarily on the first and second floors, enjoy the euphoric desert air year round in one of talking sticks signature guestrooms featuring the solace of either a balcony or patio.
Club - Room
Club Room offers one king bed or two queen beds. Enticed by statuesque camelback and desert landscapes, Talking Stick Club guestrooms frame some of the east valleys most spectacular views on the 12th and 13th private floors. Include Breakfast (2) and Drink (4) vouchers.
Executive - King
Executive guestrooms offer one king bed. Strategically positioned on the north and south anchors of Talking Stick, Executive guestrooms have some of the most resplendent balcony views of either camelback or mcdowell mountains.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Whether it's an annual corporate gathering for hundreds or a board meeting for a few, Talking Stick Resort can accommodate your needs with over 100,000 square feet of indoor/outdoor meeting and banquet space equipped with complimentary high-speed internet access, including the 25,000 square foot Salt River Grand Ballroom and over 11,000 square feet of prefunction space. We are able to accommodate groups of 2000 or an intimate dinner for 12, our events staff is ready and able to elevate your event to an unmatched level of hospitality offered at Talking Stick Resort.

Dining

Ocean Trail - Restaurant
Open 11am-9pm Sunday-Thursday; 11am-11pm Friday & Saturday With its azure lighting and its exclusive 19-seat bar, Ocean Trail is the ultimate in sophisticated dining. Specialties include traditional Creole cuisine, such as steamers, raw oysters, Cajun style boils and spicy gumbo. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Shadows - Lounge
Open 2 pm to 2 am An 'old school' venue with a contemporary southwestern feel, highlighting the classic sounds of Frank Sinatra and Big Band with ambient indoor and patio seating. The Shadows Lounge features a variety of specialty martinis and cocktails along with a selection of fine cigars. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Palo Verde - Lounge
Open 8 am to 2 am Located on the casino level, this lounge offers a striking view of the pool area. Its serene atmosphere and central location make it a great place to relax, enjoy a few cocktails and meet up with friends. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Players Sports Bar
Open 6 am to 2 am Come watch the multitude of games and sports playing on our plasma screens, and play a little Keno or slots as you enjoy your favorite selections of cocktails and ice cold beers. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Degree 270 - Lounge
Open 8 pm to 2 am Thursday - Saturday Located on the 14th floor, this chic lounge offers live entertainment coupled with fantastic views of the Arizona desert and Camelback Mountain.
Coffee Garden
Open 6am to 9pm As you enter the garden level of Talking Stick Resort, your senses will be overwhelmed by the aroma of fresh brewed coffee and just baked pastries. The Coffee Garden features gourmet roasted coffees and hand selected teas by Peet's Coffee & Tea, and also offers specialty espresso drinks, gelato, and decadent desserts. NEW! - Dueling Pianos performing in the Coffee Garden every Friday and Saturday from 8:00 pm - 11:00 pm. Performances are free to guests.
Poker Room Grill
Open 24 hours Seeking to satisfy your appetite while partaking in a lively game of poker? No problem. The Poker Room boasts table-side dining with an assortment of American and Asian dishes. Fill up and go all in! Join us in the Poker Room every Monday for your favorite card game and our $10 Prime Rib dinner special. 5:00pm to 11:00pm, for seated poker players only.
Wandering Horse Buffet - Restaurant
Open 7am-10:30 am & 11am-3pm Mon-Sat; 4:30pm-9pm Sun-Thurs; 4:30pm-10pm Fri & Sat; 9am-3pm Sunday Brunch Enjoy our expansive international buffet offering indoor and outdoor seating featuring Italian, Asian, Mexican, Mediterranean and American cuisines. The Wandering Horse buffet features live cooking stations, a fresh salad bar, a carving station, delectable desserts and a brick oven pizza kitchen. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM Wandering Horse Buffet Pricing: Breakfast - $9.95 Lunch - $13.95 Dinner Sunday thru Thursday - $20.95 Dinner Friday & Saturday $26.95 Sunday Brunch - $27.95
Orange Sky - Restaurant
Open late from 5pm daily. This culinary jewel is located on the 15th floor and boasts panoramic views of the McDowell Mountains. Diners can choose from a wide selection of wines by the glass, or a world class list of regional and reserve wines to complement your fine dining experience.
Blue Coyote Cafe - Restaurant
Open 24 hours An upscale, full-service restaurant offering American and Asian cuisine in a casual dining atmosphere. The diverse menu ranges from classic sandwiches to freshly prepared salads to dinner entrees. The Blue Coyote Cafe at Talking Stick Resort now offers a full sushi menu from 11:00am-10:00pm. Happy Hour Monday through Friday from 4:00pm to 7:00pm. Select sushi rolls half off. Happy Hour: Mon - Fri 4:00PM - 7:00PM

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (198)

Ratings and reviews for Talking Stick Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
198 out of 198
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Gilbert, AZ
Apr 24, 2011

Worst Experience. Do not waste your time

DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME. Talking stick resort is only nice because it is new. The employees could care less about you and your experience. Rooms were nice but not worth ever going back. I made reservations for my party of five and myself at Orange Sky for 8pm. We got there early for drinks and the waitress was rude and after we got our drinks she completely ignored us. They did not seat us until 8:45pm!!! They claimed they were running behind and could not free up tables!! What is the point of making reservations if I have to wait!? When we finally sat we walked by AT LEAST 4 open tables we could have been sat at. The employees weren't interested and clearly DID NOT care about our experience. Drinks took another 15 minutes and we had to ask for bread THREE times!!!! Dinner was not worth the wait!!! I've worked in the restaurant business so I always tip at least 20%.... But I couldn't bring myself to give them ANYMORE of my hard earned money because they just did not care. I gave the manager a piece of my mind on the way out and he was the worst of all. Almost calling me a liar when I explained how long we had to wait to be seated! I can assure you, I will NEVER return and I will NEVER recommend the resort to anyone I come into contact with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Carla from Chandler
Chandler, AZ
Apr 8, 2013

Great hotel if you are just out of College

If you are an adult with a familly looking for a nice evening away without the kids ~ this is NOT the hotel for you. I was turning 44 and thought it would be a great place to spend this day. The only positive thing that came out of it is that we were close to the Scottsdale Quarter and had an amazing dinner there. The staff at Talking Stick weren't professional and not friendly. The entire first floor of our hotel sounded like everyone was on Spring Break. The hotel's pool is very basic. If you are one that enjoys the likes of JW Marriott or Westin Kierland ~ stick with those!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NeverTalkingStickResort
Chicago, IL
Nov 21, 2013

terrible management staff

I was attracted to the comtemporary style of the resort, while arrving there, realized that it is indeed a casino hotel, everything is ok, not that outstanding. The worst is the managers in the hotel, shockingly rude, arrogant and not helpful at all when I was asking for help regarding a broken item of my personal belongings. The resort charged to my credit card for additional $100 just in case I damaged or used anything in the room. However, when my item was broken by the hotel staff, they told me that they would do the investigation but nothing guarantee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RCLP
Illinois
Mar 31, 2014

Awful front desk managers!

1). The management hired at the front desk should not be employed. I feel sorry for the staff under them. Very rude people. Their rudeness started our vacation on a sour note. Since it was Spring Training, we couldn't find another hotel. We were promised a Roll away. We confirmed with them the day before and was told no problem. B.H., the Asst. Mgr. looked us straight in the eye and told us too bad they don't have any and have the kid sleep on the floor. She told us she would try to get us one for the next night but wouldn't put it in writing. She could care less! And, there was another lady having the same problem. I can't tell you how rude B.H. was. I left a message with the manager who never called back. Thank God for Mike in the casino. WITHIN MINUTES WE HAD A COT IN OUR ROOM! Now, let me ask you....what is up with that? Mike can get us one but B.H. can't? Obviously, she was NOT going to give us a cot. Because of this experience we will never stay there again nor will I gamble there. Many other places to stay! Learned a valuable lesson. 2). Our room was never vacuumed during our stay. Just tidied up a bit and that was it. Dust everywhere. Thank God my kid with allergies was not there. Even a little piece of brown candy that someone must have dropped from their mouth was near the bed for days! 3) extremely smokey. Not good for the lungs. MY MONEY WILL GO TO SOMEWHERE ELSE IN SCOTTSDALE THAT APPRECIATES THEIR PATRONS AND WANT THEM TO HAVE A GREAT VACATION. BUT...THANK YOU Michael for helping us when no other person would!!! You were the best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don and Charlie's is very good.

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ESSM
ESSM
Apr 11, 2013

MOLESTED AT TALKING STICK -- NO ACTION TAKEN BY MANAGEMENT

My wife & I are frequent visitors to Talking Stick since it is only 2 miles from our home and has enough diverse restaurants and amenities to have an entertaining evening. Most of the staff is very nice and we have become friends with many of them. The problem is with management, namely the CEO of Casino Arizona / Talking Stick, Dennis Leong and the Talking Stick Manager, Clay Brownlee. Dennis Leong will NEVER return calls or emails under any circumstances, and always delegates to Clay Brownlee, who does not have the experience or authority to do anything. Here is the latest example is when my wife and I went to Blue Coyote Restaurant on 3/29/13. The Bartender, "Rob" who we have spoken to on occasion, walked around the bar and grabbed my wife's hips and slid his hands around her waist and groped her. We had just paid our tab and were leaving with friends; we were all shocked at Rob's behavior and left immediately to avoid escalation of the situation. I had asked for the manager before we left the facility and had to leave a message instead since they were "unavailable". For the next 5 days I attempted to reach Dennis Leong, to no avail. Finally, after sending a threatening email, Mr. Leong had Clay Brownlee call me back. He stated he would look into this and get back to me. I had heard literally nothing and had to follow up repeatedly until I finally got a reply on 4/10/13. Obviously there was no urgency in a male employee groping a long term casino customer and basically Mr. Brownlee stated he "viewed the incident on their cameras and couldn't see what Rob actually did.", which is a lie. Don;t go here if you want to be disappointed. They have great employees who really care, but if there is ever an issue, the management will do nothing for you. We are seriously considering filing criminal charges at this point. Had Mr. Leong had dealt with this matter with a sense of urgency and care, we may have felt differently; however, they have been so brazen in their avoidance of this very serious situation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Zinger3260
Las Vegas
Nov 24, 2012

Enjoy Smoking

A large attractive building whose ameneties and services surround a slot machine casino -- which is completely filled with cigarette smoke. I moved out after one day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Gilbert, AZ
Apr 24, 2011

Worst Experience. Do not waste your time

DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME. Talking stick resort is only nice because it is new. The employees could care less about you and your experience. Rooms were nice but not worth ever going back. I made reservations for my party of five and myself at Orange Sky for 8pm. We got there early for drinks and the waitress was rude and after we got our drinks she completely ignored us. They did not seat us until 8:45pm!!! They claimed they were running behind and could not free up tables!! What is the point of making reservations if I have to wait!? When we finally sat we walked by AT LEAST 4 open tables we could have been sat at. The employees weren't interested and clearly DID NOT care about our experience. Drinks took another 15 minutes and we had to ask for bread THREE times!!!! Dinner was not worth the wait!!! I've worked in the restaurant business so I always tip at least 20%.... But I couldn't bring myself to give them ANYMORE of my hard earned money because they just did not care. I gave the manager a piece of my mind on the way out and he was the worst of all. Almost calling me a liar when I explained how long we had to wait to be seated! I can assure you, I will NEVER return and I will NEVER recommend the resort to anyone I come into contact with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Irishwife
Utah
Feb 10, 2013

50th Anniversity bucket list visit to Phoenix

We were given a room with a balcony, which was an extra cost of $20.00 per night. The balcony overlooked the golf cart parking lot and golf course maintenance garage. The room was lovely and clean, but it did not have a comfortable chair, only an office chair at a long desk at the other window which was a "corner view" of the pool. We asked for a different room with a balcony with a view...they put us at garden level and the fan system ran 24/7 to bring the air/heat downward. I could not sleep. It NEVER shut off. When I asked to see the mgr. she told me her parents stayed in the first room we were given...and she would have to downgrade us...to give us a pool view, OR we could pay an additional $25.00 per night (a reduced rate, according to her) for the same corner room, but on the seventh floor which would bypass the golf equipment parking lot (because you were higher) and have a nice view of the golf course and trees. We did not want to pay an additional $25.00 so we returned to the original room. We had foam pillows and when I mentioned that, she told me I should have known to request them before hand. I told her that Hilton has two foam and two feather, she told me that was not true...as she had worked for Hilton. I told her I had just come from the Hilton next door and they did INDEED have two of each She again told me I was wrong. When I asked about a comfortable chair...she offered to bring a chair from the conference room...like a plastic chair...I declined However; I fell at the pool...there was a small step and I was heading to the trash barrel with an empty water bottle and fell hands first onto the cement. The hotel security came to my aid and summoned the hotel EMT...He was thorough and kind. The pool is absolutely beautiful and after some x-rays and cuts and bruises cleaned out...and a brace for a sprained wrist....we settled in to enjoy as best we could.... The conceirge found us several places to visit and was pleasant and helpful, as were all of the staff. The hotel itself was half-empty and the investment in making our stay enjoyable was simply a room with a balcony with a view...That was NOT given to us. We did receive our request for an extra luggage rack, and feather pillows. No comfy chair provided. Was it worth the time, money and requirement to go through the casino every time we went in and out of our room...NO...next time we'll stay at a Hilton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Musical Instrument Museum, worth every minute in it. Also the Frank Lloyd Wright center. Students will show you the living quarters they designed. Beleive it or not, The Cactus Botanical Garens are fascinating.

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Glynn
Sumner, WA
Jan 31, 2014

Disappointing

At the hotel check-in, the first person was having problem with their system, so a second person came over to help. Then a third person had us move over to her station and it still took a long time to finally get checked in and on our way to our room. The room was average, with one ply tissues and TB in the bathroom. For an expensive hotel, I would have expected a better quality tissues and TB. The rain shower was terrible. It was like trying to shower with a watering can. It took a long time to get the shampoo and conditioner rinsed out of my hair. The guests next to us came up to their room at midnight, drunk, loud and pounding on the walls. We were told the hotel was full and we could not get moved to another room. Only one of the pools were in serve and it required a walk outside to get to it. The food in the restuarants was terrible. We went to the buffet, got our food and then were told we only had 20 minutes to closing. We had to eat quickly eat and get out. We tried the downstairs restuarant, and the food was bland. The bistro had good food, but still not worth the high price. We did like the coffee shop. The bar sold bottled beer for $5.50 per bottle and $9 for a mixed drink. (Not sure how the next door guests could afford to get drunk every night) The hotel is not located close to anything, so we had to take a bus or taxi to go anywhere. The casino is so tight, that there was barely any sounds coming from the slot machines. Most players looked bored or disgusted. We played some, but was later told the casino would rather pay fines for too low a payout, it was cheaper than giving payouts to players. All in all, we will never stay here again. I think Motel 6 might have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

A new players card will give you $4 towards food or gifts. Otherwise there are no money savers in this hotel.

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PK the Pip
New Jersey
Jun 10, 2012

Need Some Improvement

We arrived early and were given a Signature Room with a view of the parking lot. We said we would rather wait for a better room and they said they would call us as soon as they had it ready. They never called and we finally got a room at 3:30. We were never offered to use the pool or suggest a restaurant or any facility while we waited. Very poor first impression. Some of the staff members were very nice but some were awful. The pool was open 24 hours yet there were no towels before 10:00 a.m. The grounds have no flowers or charm like the other hotels we have stayed in Scottsdale. A lot of concrete with views of the parking lot. Breakfast buffet was great but when you ate outside you again had that view of the parking lot, They could have done something to make it less visible. The concierges were very helpful. Valet service was good. Rooms were very clean and comfortable with nice amenities. Walking thru the casinos with the smoke was AWFUL. We would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top