$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Talking Stick Resort

4 stars
9800 E Indian Bend Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85256
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
215 reviews
visit with Family & Freinds

The stay was enjoyable. We loved the Orange Sky Restaurant atop the hotel. The golf course was... See full review

  • sbart123
  • Dec 23, 2014
Vegas feel

It's was a great time room was awesome with wonderful views, and the whole atmosphere was great!... See full review

  • Jeepjeep
  • Dec 7, 2014
For those 21 and over, Talking Stick Resort hosts the popular and crowd-pleasing Release Pool Parties at our main pool on Saturdays and Sundays from 11 am to 6 pm from April through September. If you prefer a quieter and family-friendly atmosphere, you can relax and unwind at our West Pool with its serene setting, crystal clear waters and Sonoran Desert views. Cabana Rental: 480-850-4350. Talking Stick Resort offers the luxuries of a resort while providing guests with options for unmatched entertainment. In addition to relaxing in one of the 497 Deluxe Executive Signature Club or Luxury guestrooms guests will enjoy several upscale amenities including a rejuvenating open-air spa eight world-class restaurants 10 entertainment lounges a 240000 square foot casino full-service pool and more than 100 000 square feet of indoor-outdoor function space. The most unique amenity of Talking Stick Resort is the 240 000 square feet of gaming that will offer over 900 slot machines and a VIP lounge. One of the Southwest s largest non-smoking poker rooms and more than 50 table games will include Blackjack 3-Card Poker and Let It Ride. Fast-action Keno will complete the gaming floor all of which will be available to guests 24 hours a day 7 days a week. Featuring eight restaurants Talking Stick Resort introduces Wandering Horse Buffet a multi-stationed international buffet the 24 hour Blue Coyote Cafe the Black Fig Bistro Shadows Cigar and Martini Bar the 19 seat Ocean Trail seafood bar and the Coffee Garden serving Pete s Coffee. The resort s most prized dining experience Orange Sky will be located on the 15th floor a high-end open air restaurant serving steak and seafood. Entertainment venues include 10 lounges, of which includes Talking Stick Resort s 750-seat showroom and 14th floor nightclub Degree 270 for the 30-something crowd. After soaking up the Arizona sun poolside guests can relax in the 13 000 square foot rejuvenation center The Spa at Talking Stick.

The hotel is 100% Smoke Free.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Talking Stick Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Talking Stick Resort Rooms

Deluxe - Room
Deluxe Room offers one king bed or two queen beds. Comprised of distinct comfort and contemporary appointments, Talking Stick's commodious deluxe guestrooms exude the ambiance of the southwest with a modern flare.
Signature - Room
Signature guestrooms offer one king bed or two queen beds. Located primarily on the first and second floors, enjoy the euphoric desert air year round in one of talking sticks signature guestrooms featuring the solace of either a balcony or patio.
Club - Room
Club Room offers one king bed or two queen beds. Enticed by statuesque camelback and desert landscapes, Talking Stick Club guestrooms frame some of the east valleys most spectacular views on the 12th and 13th private floors. Include Breakfast (2) and Drink (4) vouchers.
Executive - King
Executive guestrooms offer one king bed. Strategically positioned on the north and south anchors of Talking Stick, Executive guestrooms have some of the most resplendent balcony views of either camelback or mcdowell mountains.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Wandering Horse Buffet - Restaurant
Open 7am-10:30 am & 11am-3pm Mon-Sat; 4:30pm-9pm Sun-Thurs; 4:30pm-10pm Fri & Sat; 9am-3pm Sunday Brunch Enjoy our expansive international buffet offering indoor and outdoor seating featuring Italian, Asian, Mexican, Mediterranean and American cuisines. The Wandering Horse buffet features live cooking stations, a fresh salad bar, a carving station, delectable desserts and a brick oven pizza kitchen. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM Wandering Horse Buffet Pricing: Breakfast - $9.95 Lunch - $13.95 Dinner Sunday thru Thursday - $20.95 Dinner Friday & Saturday $26.95 Sunday Brunch - $27.95
Orange Sky - Restaurant
Open late from 5pm daily. This culinary jewel is located on the 15th floor and boasts panoramic views of the McDowell Mountains. Diners can choose from a wide selection of wines by the glass, or a world class list of regional and reserve wines to complement your fine dining experience.
Blue Coyote Cafe - Restaurant
Open 24 hours An upscale, full-service restaurant offering American and Asian cuisine in a casual dining atmosphere. The diverse menu ranges from classic sandwiches to freshly prepared salads to dinner entrees. The Blue Coyote Cafe at Talking Stick Resort now offers a full sushi menu from 11:00am-10:00pm. Happy Hour Monday through Friday from 4:00pm to 7:00pm. Select sushi rolls half off. Happy Hour: Mon - Fri 4:00PM - 7:00PM
Black Fig Bistro - Restaurant
Open 24 hours An express service upscale bistro for guests on the go serving homemade soups, fresh salads, specialty pizzas, and handcrafted sandwiches.
Ocean Trail - Restaurant
Open 11am-9pm Sunday-Thursday; 11am-11pm Friday & Saturday With its azure lighting and its exclusive 19-seat bar, Ocean Trail is the ultimate in sophisticated dining. Specialties include traditional Creole cuisine, such as steamers, raw oysters, Cajun style boils and spicy gumbo. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Shadows - Lounge
Open 2 pm to 2 am An 'old school' venue with a contemporary southwestern feel, highlighting the classic sounds of Frank Sinatra and Big Band with ambient indoor and patio seating. The Shadows Lounge features a variety of specialty martinis and cocktails along with a selection of fine cigars. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Palo Verde - Lounge
Open 8 am to 2 am Located on the casino level, this lounge offers a striking view of the pool area. Its serene atmosphere and central location make it a great place to relax, enjoy a few cocktails and meet up with friends. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Players Sports Bar
Open 6 am to 2 am Come watch the multitude of games and sports playing on our plasma screens, and play a little Keno or slots as you enjoy your favorite selections of cocktails and ice cold beers. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Degree 270 - Lounge
Open 8 pm to 2 am Thursday - Saturday Located on the 14th floor, this chic lounge offers live entertainment coupled with fantastic views of the Arizona desert and Camelback Mountain.
Coffee Garden
Open 6am to 9pm As you enter the garden level of Talking Stick Resort, your senses will be overwhelmed by the aroma of fresh brewed coffee and just baked pastries. The Coffee Garden features gourmet roasted coffees and hand selected teas by Peet's Coffee & Tea, and also offers specialty espresso drinks, gelato, and decadent desserts. NEW! - Dueling Pianos performing in the Coffee Garden every Friday and Saturday from 8:00 pm - 11:00 pm. Performances are free to guests.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Whether it's an annual corporate gathering for hundreds or a board meeting for a few, Talking Stick Resort can accommodate your needs with over 100,000 square feet of indoor/outdoor meeting and banquet space equipped with complimentary high-speed internet access, including the 25,000 square foot Salt River Grand Ballroom and over 11,000 square feet of prefunction space. We are able to accommodate groups of 2000 or an intimate dinner for 12, our events staff is ready and able to elevate your event to an unmatched level of hospitality offered at Talking Stick Resort.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (215)

Ratings and reviews for Talking Stick Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
215 out of 215
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JPJP4040
Business
Portland, OR
Mar 10, 2014

Very difficult to work with...

I booked 4 rooms for 2 nights... Also had 16 girls at the spa, booked a private space at the club & 22 people at the casino 2 separate nights. For all of the money spent, they were the least organized & most difficult hotel I have ever worked with. Every single thing was a different person, almost always unavailable... I stopped by & called twice just to get us on the same floor, then when people checked in it was another hassle. The club director rarely calls back within a day & is never available to meet with you. The spa is nice & the manager there is lovely and worked with us to get so many people in at once... Sadly however, as a hotel, highly difficult & inefficient. No option for dealing with just one person & if you book thru An internet travel site, expect to be treated as if you stole the room from them. Eventually after at least 5 different conversations arrangements were adjusted... Just frustrating to spend soooo much money there & have it be such a hassle. The actual hotel rooms are very nice & clean. The drinks are $$, and even if you're gambling, you must buy your beverages... Valet guys are great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Golfape
Business
West Des Moines, IA
Mar 5, 2014

Fun couples getaway

Room was spotless and had fantastic views. Every staff encounter throughout our whole trip was excellent. Friendly, helpful, energetic. Self parking was convenient and plentiful even on a busy weekend. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Plenty of dining just a short drive away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mid Winter Break
Business
Seattle, WA
Feb 22, 2014

Week trip with kids

The hotel is located adjacent to the Casino. The location is a bit out of central scottsdale, but manageable with a car. The room amenities are outstanding. The buffet was also a good value. The only drawbacks were the fact that you had to go through the casino to get to the hotel room. Not ideal with young kids, as there was a lot of cigarette smoke. The housekeeping was also a bit inconsistent. Overall, though, this is a good choice when staying in the Phoenix area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The buffet is a good value especially for breakfast and lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kristel the busy Realtor
Business
Denver, CO
Feb 20, 2014

Tranquility

Very quiet room with peaceful ambiance. Comfortable bedding and a tasteful color scheme. The room lighting was too dim for my taste and the lack of power near the night stand did not work well for my needs. An average stay with no real flaws other than a late room cleaning which was disruptive to my schedule. I would consider returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rickardo6253
Business
Bremerton, Wa
Feb 17, 2014

We literally were looking at the Day's Inn

We were shopping late for a Feb. vacation. I checked my favorite travel site that begins with "O" and packaged car, accommodations and flight, then entered the Talking Stick as a preferred location. I was shocked at the reasonable package price. The pool area and the buffet breakfast made the Stick a destination unto itself, rather than just a place to stay. The room was spacious, modern, and clean, and the staff was graciously professional. Cocktail service at the pool was a bonus. There were a couple of dealers in the casino that were less than professional, but, otherwise, the casino experience was positive as well. We are already planning on going back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Take advantage of the exceptional pool area. It was shocking how many people did not.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pauly Shore Curtis Mathes
Business
Mason City, Iowa
Feb 4, 2014

Scottsdale Visit

Hotel had about anything you needed. Entertainment, golf, casino, cigar bar, barber, and most importantly... a shuttle that took you almost anywhere AND picked you up. Our rental car sat in valet for our duration there. Knowledgeable staff helped decide on restaurants and local entertainment. The club level rooms were great! Cant wait to return next year when the pool area is completed (adding to existing) and the three story golf range is complete (not your typical driving range)!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Tortilla Factory and their great food and margaritas. When you are done you can walk the arts district!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Glynn
Business
Sumner, WA
Jan 31, 2014

Disappointing

At the hotel check-in, the first person was having problem with their system, so a second person came over to help. Then a third person had us move over to her station and it still took a long time to finally get checked in and on our way to our room. The room was average, with one ply tissues and TB in the bathroom. For an expensive hotel, I would have expected a better quality tissues and TB. The rain shower was terrible. It was like trying to shower with a watering can. It took a long time to get the shampoo and conditioner rinsed out of my hair. The guests next to us came up to their room at midnight, drunk, loud and pounding on the walls. We were told the hotel was full and we could not get moved to another room. Only one of the pools were in serve and it required a walk outside to get to it. The food in the restuarants was terrible. We went to the buffet, got our food and then were told we only had 20 minutes to closing. We had to eat quickly eat and get out. We tried the downstairs restuarant, and the food was bland. The bistro had good food, but still not worth the high price. We did like the coffee shop. The bar sold bottled beer for $5.50 per bottle and $9 for a mixed drink. (Not sure how the next door guests could afford to get drunk every night) The hotel is not located close to anything, so we had to take a bus or taxi to go anywhere. The casino is so tight, that there was barely any sounds coming from the slot machines. Most players looked bored or disgusted. We played some, but was later told the casino would rather pay fines for too low a payout, it was cheaper than giving payouts to players. All in all, we will never stay here again. I think Motel 6 might have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

A new players card will give you $4 towards food or gifts. Otherwise there are no money savers in this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
meekosugar
Business
Fremont, NE
Jan 20, 2014

Great resort!

We had a wonderful room, great friendly staff throughout the facility! We will definiately stay again on our next trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Czech Duo
Business
New Prague, MN
Jan 14, 2014

Rest and Relaxation with a view

From the moment we pulled up to the valet parking we were greeted with smiles and asked what they could do for us or get for us. The hotel desk check in was very smooth and we were accommodated with our request for a room with a view. The room was very well appointed and clean. Maid service in the hallways greeted us with smiles and told us to let them know if there was anything we needed. The view from our 12th floor room was of the mountains and golf course. It was a beautiful sunrise view every morning where we sat and enjoyed our Keurig coffee choices. (there was also Keurig tea and condiments) I LOVED the glassed in shower with a huge ceiling shower head. I did not use the separate deep tub. The counter area was lighted and large. The room also provided a robe, slippers and extra towels, blankets and pillow. I was pleased to see the room safe as well. The counter in the room had a nice business phone and was personalized for your stay. I was greeted by name when calling the front desk. At the Blue Coyote restaurant we were greeted by host/hostess promptly. Our wait staff were extremely happy and genuinely sincere in their conversation. We did share meals and our portions were brought to us on separate plates. The food was presented well and very delicious. We felt the prices, portions and taste were every bit what you would expect from a 4-star location. Our only disappointment was with the casino. It was very, very, smokey and since it is small, there was no non-smoking gaming area. It made enjoying the bar areas uncomfortable and playing any casino games short lived. I am not a golfer, but there were many guests who were enjoying a very scenic golf course. That being said, we would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Boyce Thompson Arboretum State Park. It is over 300 acres of park. From Phoenix take Highway 60 east toward Superior until you reach milepost #223. Drive takes about an hour. It is an outdoor walking loop. Take some water for your hike and bring a picnic lunch to relax and enjoy in the picnic area after your hike. There will be many birds and even butterflies to enjoy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Richard3456789
Business
Minnesota
Jan 13, 2014

Relaxing stay

We really enjoyed the room layout and cleanliness. The staff is extremely helpful and accommodating. The location was perfect and close to area attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure you take advantage of the great breakfast buffet at the Wandering Horse restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top