$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Talking Stick Resort

4 stars
View map of 9800 E Indian Bend Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85256

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
242 reviews
Great staycation!

Been there before and was just as pleased the 2nd time around! See full review

  • Jesslynd L.
  • Aug 26, 2015
Great deal

We stayed during off-peak season and what a bargain! Our suite was enormous with high ceilings and... See full review

  • GentleToast
  • Aug 25, 2015
For those 21 and over, Talking Stick Resort hosts the popular and crowd-pleasing Release Pool Parties at our main pool on Saturdays and Sundays from 11 am to 6 pm from April through September. If you prefer a quieter and family-friendly atmosphere, you can relax and unwind at our West Pool with its serene setting, crystal clear waters and Sonoran Desert views. Cabana Rental: 480-850-4350. Talking Stick Resort offers the luxuries of a resort while providing guests with options for unmatched entertainment. In addition to relaxing in one of the 497 Deluxe Executive Signature Club or Luxury guestrooms guests will enjoy several upscale amenities including a rejuvenating open-air spa eight world-class restaurants 10 entertainment lounges a 240000 square foot casino full-service pool and more than 100 000 square feet of indoor-outdoor function space. The most unique amenity of Talking Stick Resort is the 240 000 square feet of gaming that will offer over 900 slot machines and a VIP lounge. One of the Southwest s largest non-smoking poker rooms and more than 50 table games will include Blackjack 3-Card Poker and Let It Ride. Fast-action Keno will complete the gaming floor all of which will be available to guests 24 hours a day 7 days a week. Featuring eight restaurants Talking Stick Resort introduces Wandering Horse Buffet a multi-stationed international buffet the 24 hour Blue Coyote Cafe the Black Fig Bistro Shadows Cigar and Martini Bar the 19 seat Ocean Trail seafood bar and the Coffee Garden serving Pete s Coffee. The resort s most prized dining experience Orange Sky will be located on the 15th floor a high-end open air restaurant serving steak and seafood. Entertainment venues include 10 lounges, of which includes Talking Stick Resort s 750-seat showroom and 14th floor nightclub Degree 270 for the 30-something crowd. After soaking up the Arizona sun poolside guests can relax in the 13 000 square foot rejuvenation center The Spa at Talking Stick.

The hotel is 100% Smoke Free.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Talking Stick Resort also booked these hotels.

★★★
$37
3.5 / 5 258 reviews
★★★
$82
4.2 / 5 136 reviews
★★★★
$159
4.1 / 5 148 reviews
★★★★
$75
4.1 / 5 169 reviews
★★★★
$78
3.8 / 5 63 reviews
★★★★
$77
4.3 / 5 136 reviews
★★★★
$80
3.9 / 5 61 reviews
★★★
$68
3.9 / 5 86 reviews

Talking Stick Resort Rooms

Deluxe - Room
Deluxe Room offers one king bed or two queen beds. Comprised of distinct comfort and contemporary appointments, Talking Stick's commodious deluxe guestrooms exude the ambiance of the southwest with a modern flare.
Signature - Room
Signature guestrooms offer one king bed or two queen beds. Located primarily on the first and second floors, enjoy the euphoric desert air year round in one of talking sticks signature guestrooms featuring the solace of either a balcony or patio.
Club - Room
Club Room offers one king bed or two queen beds. Enticed by statuesque camelback and desert landscapes, Talking Stick Club guestrooms frame some of the east valleys most spectacular views on the 12th and 13th private floors. Include Breakfast (2) and Drink (4) vouchers.
Executive - King
Executive guestrooms offer one king bed. Strategically positioned on the north and south anchors of Talking Stick, Executive guestrooms have some of the most resplendent balcony views of either camelback or mcdowell mountains.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

Wandering Horse Buffet - Restaurant
Open 7am-10:30 am & 11am-3pm Mon-Sat; 4:30pm-9pm Sun-Thurs; 4:30pm-10pm Fri & Sat; 9am-3pm Sunday Brunch Enjoy our expansive international buffet offering indoor and outdoor seating featuring Italian, Asian, Mexican, Mediterranean and American cuisines. The Wandering Horse buffet features live cooking stations, a fresh salad bar, a carving station, delectable desserts and a brick oven pizza kitchen. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM Wandering Horse Buffet Pricing: Breakfast - $9.95 Lunch - $13.95 Dinner Sunday thru Thursday - $20.95 Dinner Friday & Saturday $26.95 Sunday Brunch - $27.95
Orange Sky - Restaurant
Open late from 5pm daily. This culinary jewel is located on the 15th floor and boasts panoramic views of the McDowell Mountains. Diners can choose from a wide selection of wines by the glass, or a world class list of regional and reserve wines to complement your fine dining experience.
Blue Coyote Cafe - Restaurant
Open 24 hours An upscale, full-service restaurant offering American and Asian cuisine in a casual dining atmosphere. The diverse menu ranges from classic sandwiches to freshly prepared salads to dinner entrees. The Blue Coyote Cafe at Talking Stick Resort now offers a full sushi menu from 11:00am-10:00pm. Happy Hour Monday through Friday from 4:00pm to 7:00pm. Select sushi rolls half off. Happy Hour: Mon - Fri 4:00PM - 7:00PM
Black Fig Bistro - Restaurant
Open 24 hours An express service upscale bistro for guests on the go serving homemade soups, fresh salads, specialty pizzas, and handcrafted sandwiches.
Ocean Trail - Restaurant
Open 11am-9pm Sunday-Thursday; 11am-11pm Friday & Saturday With its azure lighting and its exclusive 19-seat bar, Ocean Trail is the ultimate in sophisticated dining. Specialties include traditional Creole cuisine, such as steamers, raw oysters, Cajun style boils and spicy gumbo. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Shadows - Lounge
Open 2 pm to 2 am An 'old school' venue with a contemporary southwestern feel, highlighting the classic sounds of Frank Sinatra and Big Band with ambient indoor and patio seating. The Shadows Lounge features a variety of specialty martinis and cocktails along with a selection of fine cigars. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Palo Verde - Lounge
Open 8 am to 2 am Located on the casino level, this lounge offers a striking view of the pool area. Its serene atmosphere and central location make it a great place to relax, enjoy a few cocktails and meet up with friends. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Players Sports Bar
Open 6 am to 2 am Come watch the multitude of games and sports playing on our plasma screens, and play a little Keno or slots as you enjoy your favorite selections of cocktails and ice cold beers. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Degree 270 - Lounge
Open 8 pm to 2 am Thursday - Saturday Located on the 14th floor, this chic lounge offers live entertainment coupled with fantastic views of the Arizona desert and Camelback Mountain.
Coffee Garden
Open 6am to 9pm As you enter the garden level of Talking Stick Resort, your senses will be overwhelmed by the aroma of fresh brewed coffee and just baked pastries. The Coffee Garden features gourmet roasted coffees and hand selected teas by Peet's Coffee & Tea, and also offers specialty espresso drinks, gelato, and decadent desserts. NEW! - Dueling Pianos performing in the Coffee Garden every Friday and Saturday from 8:00 pm - 11:00 pm. Performances are free to guests.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Whether it's an annual corporate gathering for hundreds or a board meeting for a few, Talking Stick Resort can accommodate your needs with over 100,000 square feet of indoor/outdoor meeting and banquet space equipped with complimentary high-speed internet access, including the 25,000 square foot Salt River Grand Ballroom and over 11,000 square feet of prefunction space. We are able to accommodate groups of 2000 or an intimate dinner for 12, our events staff is ready and able to elevate your event to an unmatched level of hospitality offered at Talking Stick Resort.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Talking Stick Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
242 out of 242
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kbwehrle
Friends
Charleston WV
Oct 22, 2012

Wonderful Trip

Great Stay, great amenitites.. will definitely return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lou c.
Family
N/A
Aug 31, 2015

Wedding Dinner

My Daughter had her wedding dinner there in December 2014. we had a small room for about 25 people that opened to the main outdoor area with tables & pool area. Dinner was simple but good and the staff was very attentive and friendly. we spent the night in a comfortable modern room. after the dinner, we went to the casino area where some gambled & some listened to a band. the next morning we all met for a nice breakfast. all told a very enjoyable experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jesslynd L.
Couples
N/A
Aug 26, 2015

Great staycation!

Been there before and was just as pleased the 2nd time around!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GentleToast
Couples
Alexandria
Aug 25, 2015

Great deal

We stayed during off-peak season and what a bargain! Our suite was enormous with high ceilings and a waterfall shower. The location is great, just a quick jump onto the highway to visit Phoenix. Also there are grocery stores and restaurants nearby if you don't want to eat at the casino buffet which is top notch. Don't forget to check out the bar/lounge at the top of the casino. Gives an amazing view of Phoenix!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GavsMama
Friends
Maricopa
Aug 17, 2015

Great hotel

The hotel is very clean and the rooms are nice. The hotel itself is super fun, you don't even have to leave! Release pool party was awesome, the casino was fun and orange sky is amazing! Definitely recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
joan w.
Couples
east lansing
Jul 9, 2015

Great holiday stay.

Experience was as anticipated. Received room upgrade for the 2 day stay...a nice surprise. Enjoyed the Sunday brunch. ..good value for items available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frankie
Couples
N/A
Jul 5, 2015

Fun time away from home!

Hotel was great! Clean and comfortable very nice inside. Room service was very good overall fun experience from room to bar and casino

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joy R.
Couples
highlands ranch
Jun 7, 2015

loved it

loved everything about this hotel Amazing staff great workout room neuritis rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lance w.
Couples
hamilton
Jun 2, 2015

Great Trip

Great place to stay..only bummer was the upgraded room on the Club floor didn't bring any added value. The room was exactly the same as our friends who stayed on lower level..but we got the free lounge service. Honestly it was ok, we just expected more...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tina K.
Couples
N/A
May 27, 2015

Awesome Trip

Our room was amazing and had so many great amenities! I will definitely go back but stay longer next time! So many great bands were there singing inside the casino along with D.J.'s. The staff was great as well!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Marie D.
Couples
Phoenix
May 26, 2015

2 night Suite stay- no maid service!

I booked this suite for 2 nights for my wedding. The first problem I had with my stay was minor. The 1 bay suite smelled of cigarette smoke because it was on the casion level floor. I stayed in the room with my mother and maid of honor the first night. We had 8 other girls show up to the room the next morning to get ready, so the room was quite messy after we headed off to the wedding. When I returned to the suite with my new husband later that evening, the room was still COMPLETLY TRASHED :( no maid service had come to make the beds, change towels, or even clean up the room in any way. We spendt over $300 in room service for breakfast for me and my birdesmaids that morning and I had asked for many of the items (water, coffee, danishes) that were not eaten to be left for my husband and I the next morning, however the room service staff came and took out ALL the food and coffee and wanted to charge me again to bring it back. In sum, the room was never cleaned and the room service food I requested to be left, was all taken away and they wanted to charge me to bring it back. It was a terrible experience and I will never return. As a travel agent for a large travel subsidary in Scottsdale, I will also no longer be booking my clients there either. I requested to speak to a manager upon check out and the staff told me there was nothing they were willing to do but would contact the head of the room service and maid departments to call me within the week. I never heard from them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top