Scottsdale Plaza Resort

4 stars
7200 N. Scottsdale Rd., Scottsdale, AZ 85253
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
53 reviews
Such a fabulous resort!!

Our room was HUGE, first of all! I could have done cartwheels in that bad boy! The staff was very... See full review

  • KayKay24
  • Sep 2, 2014
Resort style - Classic

This is a beautiful resort with well-kept grounds, beautiful BIG trees, and lots of places to... See full review

  • Karen Splash
  • Aug 12, 2014
Warm and inviting, the Valley of the Sun beckons. Lush palms and golf greens grace the stunning backdrop of red desert rock. Turquoise pools sparkle with flower-adorned courtyards and everywhere the sun rejuvenates. You will be charmed by the tasteful residential feeling of our Mediterranean inspired design and architecture. Inside, an extensive collection of fine art and exquisitely detailed decorations surround each guest with elegance. Choose from 170 patio, bi-level and villa suites or 224 spacious guest rooms. Recent renovations include new carpet in all standard rooms and premium mattresses in all rooms. Additional amenities include fireplaces, private patios and balconies with sweeping views. Enjoy live jazz nightly, or authentic Mexican cuisine, relax in JD's or enjoy refreshments and snacks poolside. Welcome to the Scottsdale Plaza Resort.

Scottsdale Plaza Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
One Bedroom Suite features two queen-size beds, cable television, telephones with voice mail, electronic key locks, hair dryers, a fully-stocked mini-bar, turkish cotton robes and towels, iron and ironing board, coffee maker, in-room safe, in-room movies, full-length mirrored wardrobes, High-speed Internet connection, some suites have sofa bed, fireplace and patio.
Standard Two Double
Standard Two Double features two queen-size beds, 375-495 square feet, granite-like wet bar, counters, ottoman, desk with High-speed Internet access (included in resort fee), 32-inch TV, shower/tub combination, dressing benches, dressing area with twin-sink vanity, bathrobes.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Ramp access to buildings

Hotel Map

33.5413 -111.9281
Area served
Phoenix, Scottsdale, Tempe, Mesa, Gilbert, Glendale, Fountain Hills, Peoria, Chandler, Carefree, Cave Creek, AZ
Nearby airports
Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX) Scottsdale Airpark (SCL)
Area description
The resort is three miles north of Oldtown Scottsdale and Art District, near Camelback Mountain and hiking trails, and adjacent to McCormick-Stillman Railroad Park. Nearby attractions include Scottsdale Stadium (Spring Trianing home of The San Francisco Giants), Scottsdale Fashion Square, The Borgata, Taliesin West, Phoenix Zoo, and Desert Botanical Gardens. 25 minutes to downtown Phoenix, featuring Chase Park (home of the Arizona Diamondbacks), America West Arena (home of the Phoenix Suns), Heard Museum, Dodge Theater, and Arizona Science Center.

Dining

JD's Lounge
Enjoy the atmosphere of an English Sports Pub at JD's Lounge. Listen to some tunes on the jukebox (with photo booth), catch some sports action on eight large TV's and choose from a fine selection of beers on tap all accompanied by the best free popcorn around. Open at 11am to 2am daily.
Remington's Restaurant and Lounge
Amazing cuisine, an intimate and relaxed atmosphere and impeccable service is what awaits you at Remington's Restaurant. Enjoy American and International cuisine prepared by award winning Chef. Select a fine wine from our collection, featuring varieties from throughout the world. Lunch served Monday - Friday, 11am to 2pm. Dinner served nightly, 5 - 10 p.m Jazz in Remington's Lounge, Tuesday - Saturday, starting at 5 p.m. For reservations or information, please all 480-951-5101.
Garden Court
Mornings begin at the Garden Court. Fresh and airy, the Garden Court offers sumptuous breakfast buffets indoors with the soothing sounds of a Mediterranean fountain or on our outdoor patio. Lunch offerings are sure to please any mid-day appetite. Breakfast and lunch daily.
Cafe Cabana
Linger poolside under the warm Arizona sun for delicious refreshments and cool drinks at the Cafe Cabana. Splash away the day in the cool pool waters or soak it all in sitting in Arizona's largest whirlpool spa. Opens at 11 am to sunset, weather permitting, daily.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Scottsdale Plaza Resort has both the space and the technology your group needs to conduct effective business events. More than 30,000 square feet of flexible, functional meeting facilities The area's finest acoustically perfect amphitheater T-1 and High-Speed Internet Access Full, In-House Audio/Visual Capabilities Fourteen meeting rooms, including the lavishly appointed Executive Lodge Boardroom, for groups from 10 to 1,000 people Our in-house audiovisual experts, AV Concepts, are your turnkey multimedia production experts. They know how to turn your best ideas into the most inspiringentertainingand professional show of your career.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (53)

Ratings and reviews for Scottsdale Plaza Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Scottsdale Plaza Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gouged traveler
Houston, TX, USA
Dec 21, 2011

Posted amenities a wash

Tons of additional fees and amenities such as free breakfast n shuttle were not free. Added to our trip cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Scottsdale Plaza Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shawn Dixon
Bowling Green, OH, USA
Nov 29, 2011

Quiet, Relaxing and Friendly stay!

Myself and my kids enjoyed our stay at Scottsdale Plaza Resort. Our room was very nice, and the view was nice to have. I only have one complaint and that is the cost for internet. I feel that what you pay for the room, you should not have to pay to have the internet service, I was surprised at that. All the hotels I have stayed at, I never had to pay for internet service and I have stayed at other resorts. Even tho I liked this resort, I can't say I may come stay again on my next visit back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Scottsdale Plaza Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KP Traveler
Dallas, TX, USA
Oct 31, 2011

Visiting the family!

We were visiting family in the PHX area and decided to stay here. It was our first time at Scottsdale Plaza Resort and this will probably be our last. It was a beautiful property but we had a few challenges during our stay. * The walls in the room seem to be very thin and we could hear everything from the outside activity to our neighbor's room. * Our particular room still had the old fashion air conditioning vent attached to the window so it made it difficult to regulate the room temperature. * We had to pay an additional "resort fee" each day that was not very clear when we booked this package. We believe if we are staying at what claims to be a 4-Star Resort then there should not be this additional "resort fee" charge. We were told this "resort fee" was for parking, access to the gym and pool. Again, this additional "resort fee" for those amenities is ridiculous. * We had to pay an additional cost for WiFi internet which we believe if we are staying at what claims to be a 4-Star Resort then this should all be included and free of charge. * We tried their breakfast buffet Friday morning in the Garden Court and the service was horrible. We had to keep getting up to ask for our coffee and even for our refills. Although, the coffee was amazing once we were served. * Their gym is a little cramped and would recommend expanding it to allow more room to work out with the weights when facing the mirror. It made it difficult to share the small space with the other visitors working out. * One of the mornings, we had one of the staff members knock on our door to get a count of any mini-bar activity from our room. They arrived rather early in the morning and you would think they could check this particular activity more towards the afternoon. The only thing we really enjoyed consistently during our stay was the jacuzzi in the pool area, located in the back of the property. We hope this information is helpful. Thanks for your time and consideration.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Scottsdale Plaza Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Meee
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Sep 19, 2011

Nice Place, Go To Starbucks for free Wireless b/c it isn't free here!

No free Wifi? Really?? No ice machines on the 2nd levels. Conference rooms - many chairs placed in front of table legs - not too comfy. Rooms are adequate. Clean and tidy but nothing special. Personnel were VERY courteous and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

BLOOMS - Fabulous Dinner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Scottsdale Plaza Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mikeinbigbear
Big Bear, Fawnskin, CA 92333, USA
Aug 30, 2011

Worst stay ever

The staff was rude Even with a do not disturbe sign they would knock i was getting out of the shower and the maid walked in stared at me naked even whith the sign that stated do not disturbe

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Scottsdale Plaza Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rev. Deb
Business
Scottsdale, AZ, USA
Aug 15, 2011

Great Place in the desert!

Hotel staff made this an enjoyable place with helpful tips and added comfort. This is a very beautiful place>

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Scottsdale Plaza Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Grate grandpa
indiana
Aug 5, 2011

hotel stay

It was all right

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Scottsdale Plaza Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
az
Aug 2, 2011

unbeatable price.. outstanding service

I was in town for a funeral...inspite of all my grief and sorrow the location and the tranquil beauty offered me some sort of solice..They should however offer some rooms with refrigerators and micros

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Scottsdale Plaza Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vegas Rita
Connecticut
Jul 11, 2011

Not worth the deal!

Iam sure that this resort has more to offer during the peak season, so I gave it three stars but it felt like two. That being said, if they are going to offer a lower rate, they should also advertise that the amenities are not offered as well. On my arrival the front entrannce was closed due to paving. ( hot, sticky and smelly tar were a real challenge the whole trip) I went around to the back entrance which had no signs or clearly marked path to the lobby as a detour during the paving. I became trapped in a back lot where a security gaurd sent me back to the front. I went back to the front and found a side entrance, and no parking was available due to staff. I eventually made a parking space in a red zone. I checked in- with no mention of the resort fee I would get charged at the end of my stay as I had prepaid on [...]. I was then given a room three buildings away and was the only oocupant of the building while I was there. I only met two other guests while I was staying there who were spread out in other buildings. It was not safe coming in at night as a single female with an outside room and being alone in the building. They should stick people closer together, even if it means upgrading the room. I felt I was given the "[...]room" as they mentionsed my payment method in a degrading manner. Next day I went to the fitness room.. 108 degrees outside no air conditioning on even though it advertises a 24 hour gym. I found the switches, turned on the lights and air. It did not cool off until I finished my workout. So much for this amenity. When I left the gym, the pavers had tarred the road in front, and I could not get directly back to my room. I had to hop a fence walk outside the resort and then climb back in and walk a good 10 extra minutes back to my room. I then went to the pool.. no services here either.. No one to get you a drink, refurnish towels etc. Rooms are dark and dated, but clean. Finally at check out I was told I owed 40 dollars in resort fees. I said you have got to be kidding, and did not pay them. I have stayed in many resorts off season including the JW Marriot and the services were still on and I was not in constant tar fumes. It was really ridiculous; they should close for repairs or offer a better discount as I really felt ripped off. I would not have been so disappointed if the price was more discounted or the amenities in order. I am not picky, just not a push over and expect something for my money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Starbucks, Jamba Juice across the street, Plenty of food within 5 miles.. anything you could want.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Scottsdale Plaza Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Maricopa, az
May 10, 2011

Relaxing and comfortable

My boyfriend and I went to the resort for a "staycation." This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and it was nice and relaxing. The resort has a classic feel and ambience to it. Slightly on the older side but the pool was nice and cool and the area is the right location to party in old town. I would recommend the resort to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top