$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 4, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

Scottsdale Plaza Resort

4 stars
7200 N. Scottsdale Rd., Scottsdale, AZ 85253
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
53 reviews
Such a fabulous resort!!

Our room was HUGE, first of all! I could have done cartwheels in that bad boy! The staff was very... See full review

  • KayKay24
  • Sep 2, 2014
Resort style - Classic

This is a beautiful resort with well-kept grounds, beautiful BIG trees, and lots of places to... See full review

  • Karen Splash
  • Aug 12, 2014
Warm and inviting, the Valley of the Sun beckons. Lush palms and golf greens grace the stunning backdrop of red desert rock. Turquoise pools sparkle with flower-adorned courtyards and everywhere the sun rejuvenates. You will be charmed by the tasteful residential feeling of our Mediterranean inspired design and architecture. Inside, an extensive collection of fine art and exquisitely detailed decorations surround each guest with elegance. Choose from 170 patio, bi-level and villa suites or 224 spacious guest rooms. Recent renovations include new carpet in all standard rooms and premium mattresses in all rooms. Additional amenities include fireplaces, private patios and balconies with sweeping views. Enjoy live jazz nightly, or authentic Mexican cuisine, relax in JD's or enjoy refreshments and snacks poolside. Welcome to the Scottsdale Plaza Resort.

Hotel Map

33.5413 -111.9281
Area served
Phoenix, Scottsdale, Tempe, Mesa, Gilbert, Glendale, Fountain Hills, Peoria, Chandler, Carefree, Cave Creek, AZ
Nearby airports
Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX) Scottsdale Airpark (SCL)
Area description
The resort is three miles north of Oldtown Scottsdale and Art District, near Camelback Mountain and hiking trails, and adjacent to McCormick-Stillman Railroad Park. Nearby attractions include Scottsdale Stadium (Spring Trianing home of The San Francisco Giants), Scottsdale Fashion Square, The Borgata, Taliesin West, Phoenix Zoo, and Desert Botanical Gardens. 25 minutes to downtown Phoenix, featuring Chase Park (home of the Arizona Diamondbacks), America West Arena (home of the Phoenix Suns), Heard Museum, Dodge Theater, and Arizona Science Center.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Scottsdale Plaza Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Scottsdale Plaza Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
One Bedroom Suite features two queen-size beds, cable television, telephones with voice mail, electronic key locks, hair dryers, a fully-stocked mini-bar, turkish cotton robes and towels, iron and ironing board, coffee maker, in-room safe, in-room movies, full-length mirrored wardrobes, High-speed Internet connection, some suites have sofa bed, fireplace and patio.
Standard Two Double
Standard Two Double features two queen-size beds, 375-495 square feet, granite-like wet bar, counters, ottoman, desk with High-speed Internet access (included in resort fee), 32-inch TV, shower/tub combination, dressing benches, dressing area with twin-sink vanity, bathrobes.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Ramp access to buildings

Dining

JD's Lounge
Enjoy the atmosphere of an English Sports Pub at JD's Lounge. Listen to some tunes on the jukebox (with photo booth), catch some sports action on eight large TV's and choose from a fine selection of beers on tap all accompanied by the best free popcorn around. Open at 11am to 2am daily.
Remington's Restaurant and Lounge
Amazing cuisine, an intimate and relaxed atmosphere and impeccable service is what awaits you at Remington's Restaurant. Enjoy American and International cuisine prepared by award winning Chef. Select a fine wine from our collection, featuring varieties from throughout the world. Lunch served Monday - Friday, 11am to 2pm. Dinner served nightly, 5 - 10 p.m Jazz in Remington's Lounge, Tuesday - Saturday, starting at 5 p.m. For reservations or information, please all 480-951-5101.
Garden Court
Mornings begin at the Garden Court. Fresh and airy, the Garden Court offers sumptuous breakfast buffets indoors with the soothing sounds of a Mediterranean fountain or on our outdoor patio. Lunch offerings are sure to please any mid-day appetite. Breakfast and lunch daily.
Cafe Cabana
Linger poolside under the warm Arizona sun for delicious refreshments and cool drinks at the Cafe Cabana. Splash away the day in the cool pool waters or soak it all in sitting in Arizona's largest whirlpool spa. Opens at 11 am to sunset, weather permitting, daily.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Scottsdale Plaza Resort has both the space and the technology your group needs to conduct effective business events. More than 30,000 square feet of flexible, functional meeting facilities The area's finest acoustically perfect amphitheater T-1 and High-Speed Internet Access Full, In-House Audio/Visual Capabilities Fourteen meeting rooms, including the lavishly appointed Executive Lodge Boardroom, for groups from 10 to 1,000 people Our in-house audiovisual experts, AV Concepts, are your turnkey multimedia production experts. They know how to turn your best ideas into the most inspiringentertainingand professional show of your career.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (53)

Ratings and reviews for Scottsdale Plaza Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Scottsdale Plaza Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mikeinbigbear
Big Bear, Fawnskin, CA 92333, USA
Aug 30, 2011

Worst stay ever

The staff was rude Even with a do not disturbe sign they would knock i was getting out of the shower and the maid walked in stared at me naked even whith the sign that stated do not disturbe

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Scottsdale Plaza Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Apr 15, 2007

ripoff

I paid over $200 per night to sleep in the room. Upon arrival I needed clothing pressed for the wedding the next day. A tux shirt and dress. The bill came to $49 for press only. There were some lotions and creams on the vanity all with prices attached. The bathroom was old and not clean. The vanity area had lights around the mirrors that were so hot it melted the makeup off your face. I asked the concierge for directions to the reception we were attending and she acted like we were bothering her. Reluctantly she obliged. After checking out they e-mailed me a bill. I had given them my credit card for incidental, of which should have been only the pressing charge. I was surprised to find charges of an additional $15.per day plus tax.When I asked what this was for, I was told it was for use of the pool, excercise room, newspaper delivered to the room as well as use of the room safe (that was broken) I was not informed at check in that there would be an additional charge. I have protested to the hotel and asked for an adjustment. They have not responded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

golf courses are all in the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Scottsdale Plaza Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KP Traveler
Dallas, TX, USA
Oct 31, 2011

Visiting the family!

We were visiting family in the PHX area and decided to stay here. It was our first time at Scottsdale Plaza Resort and this will probably be our last. It was a beautiful property but we had a few challenges during our stay. * The walls in the room seem to be very thin and we could hear everything from the outside activity to our neighbor's room. * Our particular room still had the old fashion air conditioning vent attached to the window so it made it difficult to regulate the room temperature. * We had to pay an additional "resort fee" each day that was not very clear when we booked this package. We believe if we are staying at what claims to be a 4-Star Resort then there should not be this additional "resort fee" charge. We were told this "resort fee" was for parking, access to the gym and pool. Again, this additional "resort fee" for those amenities is ridiculous. * We had to pay an additional cost for WiFi internet which we believe if we are staying at what claims to be a 4-Star Resort then this should all be included and free of charge. * We tried their breakfast buffet Friday morning in the Garden Court and the service was horrible. We had to keep getting up to ask for our coffee and even for our refills. Although, the coffee was amazing once we were served. * Their gym is a little cramped and would recommend expanding it to allow more room to work out with the weights when facing the mirror. It made it difficult to share the small space with the other visitors working out. * One of the mornings, we had one of the staff members knock on our door to get a count of any mini-bar activity from our room. They arrived rather early in the morning and you would think they could check this particular activity more towards the afternoon. The only thing we really enjoyed consistently during our stay was the jacuzzi in the pool area, located in the back of the property. We hope this information is helpful. Thanks for your time and consideration.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Scottsdale Plaza Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kiltinshire
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Apr 5, 2012

A few problems; not impressed

My first night there, the sink stopper would not open. I went to the front desk and reported the problem and the attendant said she would notifiy maintenance. No one showed up, so I ended up brushing my teeth and spitting in the toilet that night and the following morning. I had to call the front desk again, and finally maintenance showed up and fixed the problem the next day. Room was clean, but the window couldn't be darkened at night (sheers only; draperies would not close). Their shampoo and conditioner were the worst-smelling products I've ever used. Staff was courteous and the place well kept. I expected a better experience for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Scottsdale Plaza Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ramona, CA
Jul 29, 2008

disallusioned

The Scottsdale Plaza Hotel looks good on the internet, but not in person. I was expecting way more especially for the money. It is an older hotel and was probably good back in the day, but not now.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Cute train themed park across the street for kids of all ages would enjoy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Scottsdale Plaza Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gouged traveler
Houston, TX, USA
Dec 21, 2011

Posted amenities a wash

Tons of additional fees and amenities such as free breakfast n shuttle were not free. Added to our trip cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Scottsdale Plaza Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
abee
Detroit, MI, USA
Dec 24, 2011

bathroom was not really clean

bathrooms needs to be more cleaned, bedrooms are good and the location of the tv in the bedrooms is wrong

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Scottsdale Plaza Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SES62
Business
Danville,Pa
Apr 12, 2013

Scottsdale Plaza Business trip

Overall I was pleased with the stay. The resort grounds were kept up nicely and I was pleasantly surprised they had made the beds the first three nights ,which was a nice touch. The fourth day when I returned for the evening, the beds were not made. No big deal, a little disappointing "BEWARE" What really caught my attention was the ADDITIONAL resort fees they charge at the end of the stay. Very surprised but definitely not pleasantly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

McCormick Ranch Golf course right across the road. Two very nice courses and Cordial staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Scottsdale Plaza Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bucks County, PA
Oct 11, 2010

Not a four star resort

Bathtub drain very slow, no refrig in room, costly add on services (internet connection $1 per minute in Business Center) that are free in most hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Scottsdale Plaza Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
zucky
Tucson, AZ, USA
Jan 30, 2012

one night stay

We were at a party and looking for a place to stay before driving home to Tucson. We stayed here because it was near the party. However, we checked in late and were charged a "resort fee" of which we were not aware. I think you should put that in the price or notify us of the fee. We did not use any of the "resort" facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top