$153 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 16, 2014 Check-out: Nov 17, 2014

Hotel Valley Ho

4 stars
6850 East Main St., Scottsdale, AZ 85251
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
115 reviews
Great Location and Great Hotel

The rooms were very spacious and the ambiance was perfect. The hotel is a great place to stay at... See full review

  • Aspi
  • Jun 8, 2014
WONDERFUL GETAWAY

WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE. EXEMPLARY STAFF, AND LOVELY ROOMS AND PROPERTY AND PERFECT LOCATION IN OLD... See full review

  • musttravel
  • Apr 23, 2014
Mid-century modern getaway in downtown Scottsdale

Hotel Valley Ho is Downtown Scottsdale's mid-century-modern landmark. Originally opened in 1956 and recently restored to its former splendor, this 191-room urban retreat blends mid-century style with modern amenities. Enjoy playful rooms and suites, seasonal American fare at ZuZu, transformational treatments at VH Spa for Vitality + Health, and handcrafted cocktails at OH Pool Bar + Cabanas.

The hotel is centrally located in Downtown Scottsdale, just a short walk from many boutiques, restaurants, nightclubs, and Old Town's renowned art galleries.

Rooms

All rooms at the hotel feature 32-inch or larger flat-screen HD LCD televisions, mini bars, in-room coffee/espresso, down comforters, feather-top beds, wireless Internet, individual climate control, red flower bath amenities, oversized bathtubs and separate showers, and floor-to-ceiling glass opening onto private patios or balconies.

Policies and fees
  • Please note that King Bed room types can accommodate up to one rollaway bed (based on availability) of no additional charge. However, the hotel is unable to accommodate rollaway beds for Double bed room types.

  • The two pool areas are fully reserved for registered guests on Saturdays and holiday weekends. Guests must register to gain pool access. Rooms are limited to a maximum of four guests and rates are based on single/double occupancy. An additional $25 nightly charge applies per person for the 3rd and 4th guests registered to the room.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.4937 -111.9336
Area served
Downtown Scottsdale, AZ
Nearby airports
PHX - Sky Harbor Intl. Airport - 7 miles, 12 minutes
Area description
Hotel Valley Ho is centrally located in Downtown Scottsdale, just a short walk from many boutiques, restaurants, nightclubs, and Old Town's renowned art galleries. Within a mile are the Scottsdale Museum of Contemporary Art, the Waterfront, and Fashion Square Mall. The Desert Botanical Gardens and Phoenix Zoo are four miles away.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Valley Ho also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Valley Ho Rooms

Pool View King
The Pool View King reflects the mid-century modern style of Hotel Valley Ho with playful decor that mixes old and new. Rooms feature a glass wall opening onto a private balcony overlooking one of the resort's two swimming pools. Guest rooms include a flat-screen LCD high-definition TV, wireless Internet access, private bar and mini-refrigerator, morning bar with complimentary coffee and tea, individual climate control, feather-top bed with 300-thread-count linens, full-wall credenza with vanity and pull-out desk, laptop-size safe, terrazzo tile bathroom with translucent walls, oversized bathtub and separate shower, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, and luxurious Red Flower bath amenities.
Studio King
Each Studio Guest Room is larger than a Signature Guest Room, and features a unique and delightful open floor plan, with a king-size bed and the bathtub behind a curtain...so you can watch TV from the comfort of your Philippe Starck-designed tub. Simultaneously soothing and fun. Each room features a glass wall opening onto a private balcony or patio, 32-inch+ flat-screen LCD high-definition TV, wireless Internet access, private bar and mini-refrigerator, morning bar with complimentary coffee and tea, individual climate control, feather-top bed with 300-thread-count linens, full-wall credenza with vanity and pull-out desk, laptop-size safe, terrazzo tile bathroom with translucent walls, oversized bathtub and separate shower, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, and luxurious Red Flower bath amenities. King Bed room types allow for up to one rollaway bed at no additional charge.
Cabana King
Each Cabana Guest Room offers a curtained, double-size "cabana" patio overlooking the pool, so there's plenty of room for relaxing. It also comes with a king-size bed, so feel free to stretch out. Each room features a glass wall opening onto a private balcony or patio, 32-inch+ flat-screen LCD high-definition TV, wireless Internet access, private bar and mini-refrigerator, morning bar with complimentary coffee and tea, individual climate control, feather-top bed with 300-thread-count linens, full-wall credenza with vanity and pull-out desk, laptop-size safe, terrazzo tile bathroom with translucent walls, oversized bathtub and separate shower, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, and luxurious Red Flower bath amenities. King Bed room types allow for up to one rollaway bed at no additional charge.
Signature Room
Each Signature Guest Room reflects the mid-century modern style of Hotel Valley Ho, with playful decor that mixes old and new. Choose between a Signature King Room, with a king-size bed, and a Signature Double Room, with two double beds. Each room features a glass wall opening onto a private balcony or patio, 32-inch+ flat-screen LCD high-definition TV, wireless Internet access, private bar and mini-refrigerator, morning bar with complimentary coffee and tea, individual climate control, feather-top bed with 300-thread-count linens, full-wall credenza with vanity and pull-out desk, laptop-size safe, terrazzo tile bathroom with translucent walls, oversized bathtub and separate shower, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, and luxurious Red Flower bath amenities.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Hotel Valley Ho is a unique location for meetings, conferences, groups, weddings, and private functions. It features classic mid-century modern design, floor-to-ceiling glass, and spaces ideal for everything from an intimate retreat to a new car debut. The hotel offers over 10,000 square feet of flexible indoor meeting space with an abundance of natural lighting, including the Valley Ho Room - where teen idols Robert Wagner and Natalie Wood had their 1957 wedding reception. There's also over 20,000 square feet of beautiful outdoor space, including the lush Palm Court and Sky Line Rooftop, featuring sweeping views of Downtown Scottsdale and Camelback Mountain.

Dining

OH Pool Bar + Cabanas
Find out why the OH Pool was voted one of the "World's Coolest Pools" by Travel + Leisure. Relax in a retro chaise lounge, cool off in a private cabana, and dine in the shade. Enjoy handcrafted cocktails and light fare like sandwiches, salads, and paninis. Live music is offered on the weekends in summer.
ZuZu
There's nothing like simple food made well. Enjoy seasonal American food with fresh, local ingredients. The kitchen is presided over by Executive Chef Charles Wiley, who was named one of "America's Ten Best New Chefs" by Food & Wine Magazine. The restaurant features booth and table seating, and a beautiful courtyard patio.
ZuZu Lounge
Enjoy handcrafted cocktails and wholesome food in the ZuZu Lounge, which features floor-to-ceiling glass that opens onto the lushly landscaped patio.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (115)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Valley Ho

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 115
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Valley Ho

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Porltand Oregon
Jul 21, 2011

Raddisson Hotel

Visit the college my daughter was going to and to check out Hair salons in case I was to move.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Valley Ho

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Restless Traveler
Business
Irvine, Ca
Jun 14, 2010

Don't let the pictures fool you....

Don't let the pictures fool you. My room was painted brick. There was a very good attempt to renovate the room, but it was missing something. The walls are very thin. I could hear my neighbors from all sides(top, left, right, and outside the hall). I could hear street noise clearly from my room and being a business traveler and a light sleeper, it doesn't work for me. I wouldn't mind staying there if I was in town to party. This hotel is geared for the night life people. It's in a prime location with shops and bars within walking distance(but who would want to walk around in 100+ degrees temperature). Overall I give this hotel a 3.5 out of 10.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Valley Ho

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 7, 2007

Good Value for the money

I was very pleased with the Valley Ho - staff was very friendly and it was in a great location. I did have to contact the front desk each day to get my room made up- not sure why they skipped my room each day- I was out of the room bright and early each day, but for some reason it was never made up unless I called down to the front desk- but this would not keep me from staying there again! Would def. recommend to a friend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great hamburgers at the bar!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Valley Ho

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Business Traveler CK
Business
Tampa FL
Mar 16, 2013

Cool Hip Hotel

Very cool hotel with unique surroundings. Good location, close walk to fine art galleries and dining choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Valley Ho

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Melinda D
Business
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Apr 2, 2013

Great location

We enjoyed this place quite a bit; however, we kind of wished we had stayed someplace cheaper, as we were not at the hotel much. Nice, big pool, as well as a trendy bar and outdoor seating area. We found that most things we had planned to do during the trip were within a short distance of Hotel Valley Ho. All staff we came across were VERY friendly. Be warned--the main photos you'll see of this hotel (the large, tall building) may not actually be the building you are staying in. We were send to one of two (I believe only two) other smaller buildings for our room. So you access your room outside (likeyou would a Motel 6). I found this disappointing at first, but after we saw how much we liked our room, it didn't bother us. Plus, there weren't any waiting on elevators and we were right the parking lot. Overall, neat, trendy, modern hotel, and would recommend to friends as our experience was not bad...however, I think you can get better for the money we paid (although, maybe not in Scottsdale). Would like to try a different hotel upon our next visit to the PHX area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

We did not find Bandera to be as great as everyone claims it to be. However, there are LOTS of places to dine within both a short or long walk, or a short drive. Great location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Valley Ho

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Aug 6, 2009

Nice Stay As Always

Always love staying here. Everyone is super nice. Did have a little issue with the A/C as it was noisy with a loud rattle. Called down to front desk to report and they said engineering would come look at it but due to it being summer, the A/C probably was just working hard. I returned and it still was rattling but oh well. Otherwise, a great place. Excellent fitness center and room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Valley Ho

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fishers
Aug 24, 2008

Retro Hotel Experience

The Valley Ho provides a nostalgic experience for those of us who remember that era while enjoying amenities associated with today. The property's unique theme and design are a refreshing change from the standard chains. The free WiFi in each room is a nice touch. The staff is friendly and accommodating. My stay was for business, but it was evident that there was a strong contingent of social guests. I would recommend this property to those who want to experience something out of the ordinary without having to spend a fortune.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Valley Ho

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chandler
Oct 12, 2008

Nice location

The Valley Ho was a great location for old town Scottsdale.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the bar

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Valley Ho

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Prescott, AZ
Aug 1, 2009

Comfort, relaxing, friendly atmosphere

Very helpful staff made the experience enjoyable. The loacation was perfect for our business trip. I would recommend Valley Ho to anyone who needs to stay in Scottsdale, Arizona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Valley Ho

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Jul 16, 2009

LOVE IT!!

if you like cool boutique hotels like the Standard in LA you will probably like this hotel a lot. it is very chill and i've stayed here a number of times and always love it. if you normally stay in more upscale hotels like the mondrian or the 4 seasons, this will probably not be right for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top