$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

Hotel Valley Ho

4 stars
6850 East Main St., Scottsdale, AZ 85251
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
187 reviews
Great Location and Great Hotel

The rooms were very spacious and the ambiance was perfect. The hotel is a great place to stay at... See full review

  • Aspi
  • Jun 8, 2014
WONDERFUL GETAWAY

WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE. EXEMPLARY STAFF, AND LOVELY ROOMS AND PROPERTY AND PERFECT LOCATION IN OLD... See full review

  • musttravel
  • Apr 23, 2014
Hotel Valley Ho is Downtown Scottsdale's mid-century-modern landmark. Originally opened in 1956 and recently restored to its former splendor, this 191-room urban retreat blends mid-century style with modern amenities. Enjoy playful rooms and suites, seasonal American fare at ZuZu, transformational treatments at VH Spa for Vitality + Health, and handcrafted cocktails at OH Pool Bar + Cabanas. All rooms at the hotel feature 32" or larger flat screen HD LCD televisions, mini-bars, in-room coffee/espresso, down comforters, feather-top beds, wireless Internet, individual climate control, red flower bath amenities, oversized bathtubs and separate showers, and floor-to-ceiling glass opening onto private patios or balconies. Hotel Valley Ho is centrally located in Downtown Scottsdale, just a short walk from many boutiques, restaurants, nightclubs, and Old Town's renowned art galleries. Please note that king-bedded rooms can accommodate up to one rollaway bed (based on availability) of no additional charge. However, the hotel is unable to accommodate rollaway beds for double-bedded rooms. Hotel Valley Hos two pool areas are fully reserved for registered hotel guests on Saturdays and Holiday Weekends and you must be a registered guest to gain access. Guest rooms are limited to a maximum of 4 guests and rates are based on single/double occupancy. An additional $25 nightly charge applies per guest for the 3rd and 4th guests that are registered to the room.

Hotel Valley Ho Rooms

Pool View King
The Pool View King reflects the mid-century modern style of Hotel Valley Ho with playful decor that mixes old and new. Rooms feature a glass wall opening onto a private balcony overlooking one of the resort's two swimming pools. Guest rooms include a flat-screen LCD high-definition TV, wireless Internet access, private bar and mini-refrigerator, morning bar with complimentary coffee and tea, individual climate control, feather-top bed with 300-thread-count linens, full-wall credenza with vanity and pull-out desk, laptop-size safe, terrazzo tile bathroom with translucent walls, oversized bathtub and separate shower, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, and luxurious Red Flower bath amenities.
Studio King
Each Studio Guest Room is larger than a Signature Guest Room, and features a unique and delightful open floor plan, with a king-size bed and the bathtub behind a curtain...so you can watch TV from the comfort of your Philippe Starck-designed tub. Simultaneously soothing and fun. Each room features a glass wall opening onto a private balcony or patio, 32-inch+ flat-screen LCD high-definition TV, wireless Internet access, private bar and mini-refrigerator, morning bar with complimentary coffee and tea, individual climate control, feather-top bed with 300-thread-count linens, full-wall credenza with vanity and pull-out desk, laptop-size safe, terrazzo tile bathroom with translucent walls, oversized bathtub and separate shower, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, and luxurious Red Flower bath amenities. King Bed room types allow for up to one rollaway bed at no additional charge.
Cabana King
Each Cabana Guest Room offers a curtained, double-size "cabana" patio overlooking the pool, so there's plenty of room for relaxing. It also comes with a king-size bed, so feel free to stretch out. Each room features a glass wall opening onto a private balcony or patio, 32-inch+ flat-screen LCD high-definition TV, wireless Internet access, private bar and mini-refrigerator, morning bar with complimentary coffee and tea, individual climate control, feather-top bed with 300-thread-count linens, full-wall credenza with vanity and pull-out desk, laptop-size safe, terrazzo tile bathroom with translucent walls, oversized bathtub and separate shower, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, and luxurious Red Flower bath amenities. King Bed room types allow for up to one rollaway bed at no additional charge.
Signature Room
Each Signature Guest Room reflects the mid-century modern style of Hotel Valley Ho, with playful decor that mixes old and new. Choose between a Signature King Room, with a king-size bed, and a Signature Double Room, with two double beds. Each room features a glass wall opening onto a private balcony or patio, 32-inch+ flat-screen LCD high-definition TV, wireless Internet access, private bar and mini-refrigerator, morning bar with complimentary coffee and tea, individual climate control, feather-top bed with 300-thread-count linens, full-wall credenza with vanity and pull-out desk, laptop-size safe, terrazzo tile bathroom with translucent walls, oversized bathtub and separate shower, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, and luxurious Red Flower bath amenities.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Valley Ho also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.4937 -111.9336
Area served
Downtown Scottsdale, AZ
Nearby airports
PHX - Sky Harbor Intl. Airport - 7 miles, 12 minutes
Area description
Hotel Valley Ho is centrally located in Downtown Scottsdale, just a short walk from many boutiques, restaurants, nightclubs, and Old Town's renowned art galleries. Within a mile are the Scottsdale Museum of Contemporary Art, the Waterfront, and Fashion Square Mall. The Desert Botanical Gardens and Phoenix Zoo are four miles away.

Dining

OH Pool Bar + Cabanas
Find out why the OH Pool was voted one of the "World's Coolest Pools" by Travel + Leisure. Relax in a retro chaise lounge, cool off in a private cabana, and dine in the shade. Enjoy handcrafted cocktails and light fare like sandwiches, salads, and paninis. Live music is offered on the weekends in summer.
ZuZu
There's nothing like simple food made well. Enjoy seasonal American food with fresh, local ingredients. The kitchen is presided over by Executive Chef Charles Wiley, who was named one of "America's Ten Best New Chefs" by Food & Wine Magazine. The restaurant features booth and table seating, and a beautiful courtyard patio.
ZuZu Lounge
Enjoy handcrafted cocktails and wholesome food in the ZuZu Lounge, which features floor-to-ceiling glass that opens onto the lushly landscaped patio.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Hotel Valley Ho is a unique location for meetings, conferences, groups, weddings, and private functions. It features classic mid-century modern design, floor-to-ceiling glass, and spaces ideal for everything from an intimate retreat to a new car debut. The hotel offers over 10,000 square feet of flexible indoor meeting space with an abundance of natural lighting, including the Valley Ho Room - where teen idols Robert Wagner and Natalie Wood had their 1957 wedding reception. There's also over 20,000 square feet of beautiful outdoor space, including the lush Palm Court and Sky Line Rooftop, featuring sweeping views of Downtown Scottsdale and Camelback Mountain.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (187)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Valley Ho

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
187 out of 187
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Valley Ho

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tempe, AZ
Oct 18, 2009

Excellent local getaway for couples

My wife and I were in need of a quick getaway sans kids. The Valley Ho was perfect for us to have a night on the town and still be close to home. Trader Vics was great dining and our room was decorated in a perfect mid-century modern style. Very hip and affordable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Trader Vics - great drinks and food!

Review of Hotel Valley Ho

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Aug 6, 2009

Nice Stay As Always

Always love staying here. Everyone is super nice. Did have a little issue with the A/C as it was noisy with a loud rattle. Called down to front desk to report and they said engineering would come look at it but due to it being summer, the A/C probably was just working hard. I returned and it still was rattling but oh well. Otherwise, a great place. Excellent fitness center and room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Valley Ho

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TBullard
San Francisco
Aug 26, 2013

Nicely Put Together

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. I booked on a friends recommendation. She is a phoenix native and listed this hotel as a possibility. When I booked the airfare, Hotel Valley Ho was listed as a participating hotel for the flight/hotel combo and had good reviews. The hotel is decorated in a 60's super swanky deco. Very well done without being over the top. The room was well do also. I am in the construction business and almost always find some kind of major flaw in most hotel rooms I stay at. This one only had two, the showerhead leaked and the door to the water closet did not close complete. Everything else was well constructed. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Valley Ho

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Still Honeymooners...
Chandler, AZ
Aug 16, 2009

Nice Hotel...a bit of a party atmosphere

My wife and I stayed at the Valley Ho to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The room was very clean, the bed was very comfortable and the decor was nice. We arrived on a Saturday evening around 4:30 and left our car with valet parking. We waited approx 5-7 minutes in line to check in. There was a very large group of people at the pool area and music being played very loudly; it seemed like a party going on. We had reservations for dinner at Trader Vics at 6PM and our dinner was excellent! Our stay was nice, but the other guests that we encountered during our stay seemed to be more into the drinking and partying and our neighbors who arrived back in their room around 2:30 AM were very loud. I am not sure I would reccomend this hotel for families or someone who just wanted a quiet relaxing stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Trader Vic had excellent food and wonderful service.

Review of Hotel Valley Ho

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pocono Mountains, PA
Aug 21, 2009

Great place to stay in Scottsdale

The hotel is beautiful, obviously just renovated. Beware of hidden and not so hidden costs though. For a cup of coffee in the morning at the cafe Zuzu, be prepared to shell out $3.50. Also, we were not aware that there is "mandatory" valet parking for $12.00 plus tax and of course tip per night. Valet staff and all hotel staff were pleasant and helpful. The hotel is central to Old Town Scottsdale and the Arts district. Many good restaurants can be found a few blocks away on Scottsdale road.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Valley Ho

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
sacramento, ca
Jul 1, 2009

great location

great location, fun place to stay if you're young and looking for a good scene. Good service and great location close to everything. The only negative I can say is the air conditioner did not keep the room cool. Considering it was 110 outside, this was a pretty big disappointment. A service guy came and checked it and told us it was working fine. When we asked why it was still 80 in the room, he said it was because it was hot outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Valley Ho

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
The beautiful state of...
Aug 18, 2010

Everything you could need!

The pool and bar is a must see! Especially if this is a couples getaway. Its a large property so you may be walking a good ways to get to your room but its worth it. The decor is amazing, and the sights are beautiful!! Great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

They are gonna charge you in the room for every bottle of water, coke, candy bar etc for way more. (a bottle of water is 4.00)- but theres a convenience store thats not even a block away where you can get all of those for cheap! :)

Review of Hotel Valley Ho

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marketing Research Traveler
Business
Rochester, NY
Aug 26, 2010

Hotel Valley Ho in August

This was a very young crowd (20's) and although it was stylish and centrally located to great shopping restaurants etc, it could be a little too much for business travelers. I would have a much better time if I were 15 years younger and on vacation. ;-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The Mission restaurant was fabulous!

Review of Hotel Valley Ho

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GoJaysGo
Toronto, Canada
May 26, 2010

Like being on Mad-Men

Coolest hotel room I have ever been in. Great atmosphere for younger people especially singles and young couples. Not a place for families or the elderly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

great nite scene in downtown scottsdale

Review of Hotel Valley Ho

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GrandDad
Surprise, AZ
Aug 9, 2009

Overall a Great Stay

Really nice hotel. As "Over 60" Adults, we did not fully appreciate the (every) saturday Pool Party with DJ and blaring music, HOWEVER, if we were part of the Spring Break set, it probably would have been a blast !!! I was expecting to see MTV cameras there :-) The party was open to all folks in the area (for a fee - hotel guests free) and was over by 6pm, so that the pool was quiet and for guest use only by evening. The hotel remodel was great, with hip, stylish decor along with a retro feel, and it's right in the heart of Old Scottsdale, amidst the fabulous restaurants. art galleries, and clubs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top