$83 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 25, 2014

Hotel Valley Ho

4 stars
6850 East Main St., Scottsdale, AZ 85251
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
115 reviews
Great Location and Great Hotel

The rooms were very spacious and the ambiance was perfect. The hotel is a great place to stay at... See full review

  • Aspi
  • Jun 8, 2014
WONDERFUL GETAWAY

WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE. EXEMPLARY STAFF, AND LOVELY ROOMS AND PROPERTY AND PERFECT LOCATION IN OLD... See full review

  • musttravel
  • Apr 23, 2014
Mid-century modern getaway in downtown Scottsdale

Hotel Valley Ho is Downtown Scottsdale's mid-century-modern landmark. Originally opened in 1956 and recently restored to its former splendor, this 191-room urban retreat blends mid-century style with modern amenities. Enjoy playful rooms and suites, seasonal American fare at ZuZu, transformational treatments at VH Spa for Vitality + Health, and handcrafted cocktails at OH Pool Bar + Cabanas.

The hotel is centrally located in Downtown Scottsdale, just a short walk from many boutiques, restaurants, nightclubs, and Old Town's renowned art galleries.

Rooms

All rooms at the hotel feature 32-inch or larger flat-screen HD LCD televisions, mini bars, in-room coffee/espresso, down comforters, feather-top beds, wireless Internet, individual climate control, red flower bath amenities, oversized bathtubs and separate showers, and floor-to-ceiling glass opening onto private patios or balconies.

Policies and fees
  • Please note that King Bed room types can accommodate up to one rollaway bed (based on availability) of no additional charge. However, the hotel is unable to accommodate rollaway beds for Double bed room types.

  • The two pool areas are fully reserved for registered guests on Saturdays and holiday weekends. Guests must register to gain pool access. Rooms are limited to a maximum of four guests and rates are based on single/double occupancy. An additional $25 nightly charge applies per person for the 3rd and 4th guests registered to the room.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.4937 -111.9336
Area served
Downtown Scottsdale, AZ
Nearby airports
PHX - Sky Harbor Intl. Airport - 7 miles, 12 minutes
Area description
Hotel Valley Ho is centrally located in Downtown Scottsdale, just a short walk from many boutiques, restaurants, nightclubs, and Old Town's renowned art galleries. Within a mile are the Scottsdale Museum of Contemporary Art, the Waterfront, and Fashion Square Mall. The Desert Botanical Gardens and Phoenix Zoo are four miles away.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Valley Ho also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Valley Ho Rooms

Pool View King
The Pool View King reflects the mid-century modern style of Hotel Valley Ho with playful decor that mixes old and new. Rooms feature a glass wall opening onto a private balcony overlooking one of the resort's two swimming pools. Guest rooms include a flat-screen LCD high-definition TV, wireless Internet access, private bar and mini-refrigerator, morning bar with complimentary coffee and tea, individual climate control, feather-top bed with 300-thread-count linens, full-wall credenza with vanity and pull-out desk, laptop-size safe, terrazzo tile bathroom with translucent walls, oversized bathtub and separate shower, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, and luxurious Red Flower bath amenities.
Studio King
Each Studio Guest Room is larger than a Signature Guest Room, and features a unique and delightful open floor plan, with a king-size bed and the bathtub behind a curtain...so you can watch TV from the comfort of your Philippe Starck-designed tub. Simultaneously soothing and fun. Each room features a glass wall opening onto a private balcony or patio, 32-inch+ flat-screen LCD high-definition TV, wireless Internet access, private bar and mini-refrigerator, morning bar with complimentary coffee and tea, individual climate control, feather-top bed with 300-thread-count linens, full-wall credenza with vanity and pull-out desk, laptop-size safe, terrazzo tile bathroom with translucent walls, oversized bathtub and separate shower, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, and luxurious Red Flower bath amenities. King Bed room types allow for up to one rollaway bed at no additional charge.
Cabana King
Each Cabana Guest Room offers a curtained, double-size "cabana" patio overlooking the pool, so there's plenty of room for relaxing. It also comes with a king-size bed, so feel free to stretch out. Each room features a glass wall opening onto a private balcony or patio, 32-inch+ flat-screen LCD high-definition TV, wireless Internet access, private bar and mini-refrigerator, morning bar with complimentary coffee and tea, individual climate control, feather-top bed with 300-thread-count linens, full-wall credenza with vanity and pull-out desk, laptop-size safe, terrazzo tile bathroom with translucent walls, oversized bathtub and separate shower, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, and luxurious Red Flower bath amenities. King Bed room types allow for up to one rollaway bed at no additional charge.
Signature Room
Each Signature Guest Room reflects the mid-century modern style of Hotel Valley Ho, with playful decor that mixes old and new. Choose between a Signature King Room, with a king-size bed, and a Signature Double Room, with two double beds. Each room features a glass wall opening onto a private balcony or patio, 32-inch+ flat-screen LCD high-definition TV, wireless Internet access, private bar and mini-refrigerator, morning bar with complimentary coffee and tea, individual climate control, feather-top bed with 300-thread-count linens, full-wall credenza with vanity and pull-out desk, laptop-size safe, terrazzo tile bathroom with translucent walls, oversized bathtub and separate shower, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, and luxurious Red Flower bath amenities.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

OH Pool Bar + Cabanas
Find out why the OH Pool was voted one of the "World's Coolest Pools" by Travel + Leisure. Relax in a retro chaise lounge, cool off in a private cabana, and dine in the shade. Enjoy handcrafted cocktails and light fare like sandwiches, salads, and paninis. Live music is offered on the weekends in summer.
ZuZu
There's nothing like simple food made well. Enjoy seasonal American food with fresh, local ingredients. The kitchen is presided over by Executive Chef Charles Wiley, who was named one of "America's Ten Best New Chefs" by Food & Wine Magazine. The restaurant features booth and table seating, and a beautiful courtyard patio.
ZuZu Lounge
Enjoy handcrafted cocktails and wholesome food in the ZuZu Lounge, which features floor-to-ceiling glass that opens onto the lushly landscaped patio.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Hotel Valley Ho is a unique location for meetings, conferences, groups, weddings, and private functions. It features classic mid-century modern design, floor-to-ceiling glass, and spaces ideal for everything from an intimate retreat to a new car debut. The hotel offers over 10,000 square feet of flexible indoor meeting space with an abundance of natural lighting, including the Valley Ho Room - where teen idols Robert Wagner and Natalie Wood had their 1957 wedding reception. There's also over 20,000 square feet of beautiful outdoor space, including the lush Palm Court and Sky Line Rooftop, featuring sweeping views of Downtown Scottsdale and Camelback Mountain.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (115)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Valley Ho

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
115 out of 115
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Valley Ho

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Leelika
Business
Tucson, AZ
Aug 9, 2009

Really FAB!

The hotel staff were most friendly from the time that we drove up. You are then transported back to the 1950s. The hotel renovation is breathtaking as are the rooms. And, to complete the 50s atmosphere--aside from the ZuZu Cafe, there is a Trader Vic's on the hotel site. The room has a martini shaker and martini glasses instead of the old standbys. I could go on but you've got to see it to believe it! Great job!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Trader Vic's for dinner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Valley Ho

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GrandDad
Business
Surprise, AZ
Aug 9, 2009

Overall a Great Stay

Really nice hotel. As "Over 60" Adults, we did not fully appreciate the (every) saturday Pool Party with DJ and blaring music, HOWEVER, if we were part of the Spring Break set, it probably would have been a blast !!! I was expecting to see MTV cameras there :-) The party was open to all folks in the area (for a fee - hotel guests free) and was over by 6pm, so that the pool was quiet and for guest use only by evening. The hotel remodel was great, with hip, stylish decor along with a retro feel, and it's right in the heart of Old Scottsdale, amidst the fabulous restaurants. art galleries, and clubs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Valley Ho

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Aug 6, 2009

Nice Stay As Always

Always love staying here. Everyone is super nice. Did have a little issue with the A/C as it was noisy with a loud rattle. Called down to front desk to report and they said engineering would come look at it but due to it being summer, the A/C probably was just working hard. I returned and it still was rattling but oh well. Otherwise, a great place. Excellent fitness center and room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Valley Ho

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cindy Restaurant Property Owner
Business
Scottsdale, Arizona
Aug 3, 2009

Very Hip, Retro Hotel Downtown!

I have been to this hotel before and love the large renovated rooms, particularly the Cabana rooms adjacent to the pool area. Cafe Zuzu located across from the Main Pool offers great food and service. Location is fantastic to Old Town Scottsdale and a multitude of restaurants and nightspots. My only regret is they weren't very accommodating on our room extension request. I would book this property again however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a multitude of dining, nightlife and recreational activities within a short walking distance, however, the month of July seems to be the 'slowest' month for all businesses due to HEAT so they close early. You need to get there earlier than 8-9pm. Otherwise, had a great time!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Valley Ho

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Prescott, AZ
Aug 1, 2009

Comfort, relaxing, friendly atmosphere

Very helpful staff made the experience enjoyable. The loacation was perfect for our business trip. I would recommend Valley Ho to anyone who needs to stay in Scottsdale, Arizona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Valley Ho

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
very pleased staycationer
Business
Surprise,Az
Jul 18, 2009

unbeatable !

From the time I got out of the car, until the time I got back in the car to leave, my experience with the Vally Ho Hotel was EXCELLENT! The staff was unbeatable! The rooms were amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Trader Vics!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Valley Ho

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Jul 16, 2009

LOVE IT!!

if you like cool boutique hotels like the Standard in LA you will probably like this hotel a lot. it is very chill and i've stayed here a number of times and always love it. if you normally stay in more upscale hotels like the mondrian or the 4 seasons, this will probably not be right for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Valley Ho

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Des Moines, IA
Jul 16, 2009

Very cool hotel

I really enjoyed staying here. I was new to the area and felt comfortable being by myself. The pool was fantastic but very busy Saturdays. Poolside service was exceptional. The room was clean and very comfortable. I ate at Cafe ZuZu for breakfast and lunch. Great meals but expensive, good service and friendly wait staff. The concierge helped me find my way to a couple restaurants in the area both were fabulous recommendations. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Valley Ho

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Likessomethingdifferent
Business
Out West
Jul 6, 2009

Funky and young

The hotel is refab'd and nice funky. If you are staying for a weekend, the pool gets crowded/really crowded on Saturday. The location is great and you can walk to downtown Scottsdale.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stetson Street and lot's of great night places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Valley Ho

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sacramento, ca
Jul 1, 2009

great location

great location, fun place to stay if you're young and looking for a good scene. Good service and great location close to everything. The only negative I can say is the air conditioner did not keep the room cool. Considering it was 110 outside, this was a pretty big disappointment. A service guy came and checked it and told us it was working fine. When we asked why it was still 80 in the room, he said it was because it was hot outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top