$97 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Doubletree Paradise Valley Resort Scottsdale

4 stars
View map of 5401 N. Scottsdale Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85250-7090

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Doubletree Paradise Valley Resort Scottsdale

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
175 out of 175
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Doubletree Paradise Valley Resort Scottsdale

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DEST1234
Business
mesa az
Dec 3, 2011

Everything bad, except our bartender whom was working Thanksgiving by herself!!!

1st, decided to change hotels to Doubletree because we had our 3 children with us and they offered a 2 heated pools and a playground area for the younger girls... We paid EXTRA for our room online so that we would have a courtyard view or pool view... Our room was basic! Our courtyard view was a fountain, "under construction...." The heated pool(s) was also "under construction" as well as the playground area that attracted us to this hotel.. Paid extra for a mini bar key, which mini bar door was broken and tied close with a zip tie. Real classy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree Paradise Valley Resort Scottsdale

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mostlyareader
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Nov 20, 2011

Don't bother to bring your cell phone

While the service was excellent, the staff friendly and helpful, and the prices no worse than what one would expect, I have no plans to return to this hotel unless things change substantially. Why? Because it is in a complete cell-phone dead zone. Even standing outside away from the buildings, I barely got a bar and a half. In my room, I couldn't even receive a text. Email? Forget it. Since I was planning on using my smartphone to handle some business via email and/or phone calls, this put a serious crimp in what I could accomplish. For all intents and purposes, I was completely out of touch for three days. Oh, and the in-room breakfast I ordered was so awful I could only eat about four bites. I made them take it off the bill. Many people routinely do things like this, but i generally do not, which indicated just how bad the food was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't blindly rely on GPS directions. Phoenix has great freeways, but also a LOT of traffic. Many city streets (e.g. Scottsdale, Glendale) go straight thru from one section of the city to another, and the traffic lights are well-timed to prevent sitting and waiting for the light to change.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree Paradise Valley Resort Scottsdale

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SouSide
Business
MIdwest
Nov 17, 2011

Room Daily Cleaning

The room was made up each day with the bed made up smartly. Bathroom was refreshed with clean towels and floor and shower wiped down. However, it seems that the staff have NOT been trainded to replaced used water glasses, nor wipe up the water rings left on the glass tops of lamp stands, nor empty and dry a used ice bucket, nor vacuum more than six(6) inches under the edge of the beds. The latter was true as there was a red piece of plastic viewable from the writing desk. It was there for the three(3) days I was there! I think these are small items that need to be included in the training of staff. It appears that it is not at this time..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree Paradise Valley Resort Scottsdale

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs. H.
Business
Asheville, NC
Nov 14, 2011

Doubletree Review

Really nice hotel. Clean, beautiful pool area. Nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I liked their shuttle service so you could go to nearby shops & get a nice dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree Paradise Valley Resort Scottsdale

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nkott
Business
Madison, WI, USA
Nov 2, 2011

Great girlfriends getaway

i was pleasantly surprised by how nice the hotel was. Food was great as were the poolside cocktails!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Try the Borgatta Mall.....small, but cute boutiques.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree Paradise Valley Resort Scottsdale

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minnesota, USA
Nov 2, 2011

DoubleTree

Our 6 day stay was excellent. Staff was very good. The Restraunt was exceptional for a hotel geared toward business meetings and conferences. 15 minute walk to Fashion Square. They need to upgrade their American Flag at front entrance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't miss Don and Charlies on Camel Back Road.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree Paradise Valley Resort Scottsdale

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Quattro626
Business
St Louis, MO, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Business Trip

I got to the hotel a little upset because ORBITZ got my information wrong with my car rental so I had to take a cab from Sky Harbor to the hotel but I digress. When I got to the hotel the receptionist must have seen my frustration because she immediately asked if I was ok and offered me the complimentary cookie before she did anything. It was a nice warm cookie and her concern calmed me down. The room was very comfortable and clean. The view from the balcony towards the center of the pool area was relaxing with the palm trees and various desert fauna. In my opinion though it really would have been cool to have the view looking out towards the mountain. The staff were very friendly and courteous. I will definitely stay there anytime I am in the Scottsdale/Phoenix area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

RA Sushi is a great place for sushi and is located in the historic section of Scottsdale. There are a lot of adobe buildings and specialty shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree Paradise Valley Resort Scottsdale

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HotinPhoenix
Business
Clarkdale, AZ
Aug 28, 2011

Hotter than Hot

Needed a hotel for one night to attend a funeral. Hotel was ok - but I spent the extra $20 to get a room with either a garden or pool view - ended up with a room overlooking a grassy area - not worth the extra money. The room needed some maintenance - the door was hard to get open and the toilet ran all night. Overall, the hotel has a strange layout. The beds were comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree Paradise Valley Resort Scottsdale

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
peachy
Business
Littleton, CO, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Great weekend getaway

Staff was incredible. Very friendly and went the extra mile to make sure my stay was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree Paradise Valley Resort Scottsdale

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Metuchen, NJ
Jun 19, 2011

An Oasis In The Desert!!!

The bed was extremely comfortable, the room was a great size with tons of amenities. THe grounds of the hotel were absolutely gorgeous and the pools were perfect temperature, large and relaxing!!! Also, our low rate included the breakfast buffet the next morning and it was delicious!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The fabulous Old Scottsdale shopping and restaurants were a short drive away...Great location to be in!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top