$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 8, 2015 Check-out: Mar 10, 2015

Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

4 stars
View map of 11111 North 7th Street, Phoenix, AZ 85020

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
184 reviews
Bring Your walking shoes

Great Hotel/Resort, excellent pool locations throughout facility, included main one with bar. Had... See full review

  • juan s.
  • Jan 26, 2015
Terrfic Change of Pace

The hotel is as beautiful as the pictures in advertisements and online! Comfortable, spacious,... See full review

  • Carmela M.
  • Jan 6, 2015
Phoenix mountaintop golf resort and water wonderland set in the cliffs

The desert mountaintop is the natural habitat at this memorable getaway. The all-suite resort is just 10 miles outside Phoenix. Golfers come for one of Arizona's finest golf courses and food aficionados for award-winning Different Pointe of View restaurant. Other draws include world-class event facilities and the eight pools and private cabanas at The Falls Water Village.

Highlights
  • Championship Lookout Mountain Golf Club
  • Award-winning Different Pointe of View restaurant
  • The Falls Water Village
Rooms

All 547 two-room suites offer one bedroom and separate living room (single or double occupancy), mini-refrigerator, coffee maker, two televisions, and high-speed Internet (fees apply). Signature Suites have one and a half baths, living room with fireplace, wet bar, dining table for five and lounging area. Ambassador Suites offer spacious, high-end living with one and a half bathrooms, dining area for six and amenities such as a premium liquor bar and stereo system.

Dining

Different Pointe of View offers American cuisine with Mediterranean flair and breathtaking mountaintop views. Breakfast, lunch and dinner at Point in Tyme feature surf and turf. Cascades Cafe offers poolside drinks and dining. La Cantina has casual Mexican-inspired cuisine. The Lobby Bar provides coffee and continental breakfast or afternoon drinks.

Recreation

The Falls Water Village has eight pools, terraced waterfalls, an enclosed waterside, hot plunge spas and luxury cabanas for rent. Lookout Mountain Golf Club is an award-winning 18-hole course and academy in rugged desert mountain terrain. Tocaloma Salon and Spa and Fitness Center offers full services and fitness room featuring Precor equipment, steam room, sauna and juice bar. Kids' Korral has add-on activities for children in spring and summer months.

Transportation
  • Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport
  • Phoenix-Mesa Airport
Attractions
  • Old Town Scottsdale (19 mi/ 30.6 km)
  • Phoenix Zoo (19.8 mi/ 31.9 km)
  • Desert Botanical Garden (20.7 mi/ 33.3 km)
Business
  • 65,000-plus square feet of indoor and outdoor venues for 20 to 1,500
  • Full convention services and business center

 

Policies and fees
The property charges a resort fee of $24 USD per night plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • America West Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Western Destinations: 1.3 mi
  • Phoenix Mountain Preserve: 2.5 mi
  • Piestewa Peak: 4.2 mi
  • Wrigley Mansion: 5.4 mi
  • Musical Instrument Museum: 7.1 mi
  • Camelback Mountain: 8 mi
  • Heard Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Phoenix Art Museum: 8.9 mi
  • Phoenix Theatre: 9.7 mi
  • St. Mary's Basilica: 10 mi
  • Phoenix Children's Museum: 10 mi
  • Phoenix Civic Plaza Convention Center: 10 mi
  • The Rosson House: 10 mi
  • Orpheum Theater: 10.1 mi
  • America West Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Western Destinations: 1.3 mi
  • Phoenix Mountain Preserve: 2.5 mi
  • Piestewa Peak: 4.2 mi
  • Wrigley Mansion: 5.4 mi
  • Musical Instrument Museum: 7.1 mi
  • Camelback Mountain: 8 mi
  • Heard Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Phoenix Art Museum: 8.9 mi
  • Phoenix Theatre: 9.7 mi
  • St. Mary's Basilica: 10 mi
  • Phoenix Children's Museum: 10 mi
  • Phoenix Civic Plaza Convention Center: 10 mi
  • The Rosson House: 10 mi
  • Orpheum Theater: 10.1 mi
  • Wells Fargo History Museum: 10.1 mi
  • Phoenix Symphony: 10.1 mi
  • US Airways Center: 10.3 mi
  • Chase Field: 10.3 mi
  • Arizona Capitol Museum: 10.3 mi
  • Pueblo Grande: 11.2 mi
  • Desert Botanical Garden: 11.5 mi
  • Octane Raceway: 11.6 mi
  • Papago Park: 11.7 mi
  • Phoenix Zoo: 11.9 mi
  • Jobing.com Arena: 12.1 mi
  • University of Phoenix Stadium: 12.3 mi
  • Arizona Science Center: 13 mi
  • South Mountain: 14.8 mi
  • South Mountain Park: 17.2 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (184)

Ratings and reviews for Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 184
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3.3
Value:
3.4

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PhxMatt
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jun 18, 2013

Car Was Spray Painted In Parking Lot - Staff No Help

I am staying at the Tapatio Cliffs Resort right now and my car was spray painted last night. All the windows and profanity on the back. After talking with several people, a manager, security, etc., the only thing I was told (in paraphrase) was 'we can't do anything, but an insurance claim has been made', and that these things happen.. Not anything to compensate, to make me feel secure that this won't happen again, nothing. I am being treated like some idiot who is paying money to be here for several days and that's it. If you want to make sure you are secure and want a staff that works hard to make sure you are satisfied, I suggest not staying here. They are horrible and have done absolutely nothing. This is not the Hilton brand standard and I am appalled as a paying customer I am being treated this way. DO NOT STAY HERE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jan 3, 2011

Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Resort has limited facilities if you do not play golf. Resort charges for internet access in rooms which is no longer appropriate ... most others furnish it free. Concierge staff very helpful but front desk people appear not highly trained or knowledgeable. Facilities/rooms adequate ... Point in Time Restaurant had good service and good food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Plan on renting a car and going out for any entertainment

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Spartan45
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 2, 2011

Comfortable but dated

Room was clean and comfortable but hotel overall is dated and lacks an inviting lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, NC
Dec 20, 2010

Great Place to Stay in Phoenix!

I had to come into town for a funeral and found a package deal [...] and this typically wouldn't be a hotel that I would normally choose just because it seem to be overpriced but the [...] deal was very reasonable and I was shocked at how nice the hotel was! Very convenient location, very courteous staff always saying good morning or hello. Room felt very nice to go back to, I had only wished the rest of my family was with me and we were there for fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr. G.
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 29, 2010

Fabulous Retreat

I scheduled a trip to this hotel as a personal retreat. It had all of the amenities that I was interested in: pool, spa, golf, and fine dining. I had spa treatments, took golf lessons, and enjoyed the main pool area. For a four star property, the customer service and amenities were great. I would definitely come back again. By the way, the Different Point of View restaurant overlooking the cliffs was just magnificent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Miss Texas
Business
Weatherford, Texas
Feb 9, 2010

Tapatio Getaway

Great hotel, no complaints whatsoever!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Feb 7, 2010

Affordable getaway

My overall experience at Tapatio Cliffs was pretty positive. For the price it was a very affordable getaway. The hotel room was very comfortable (great bed) and decent size. There are some nice views the higher you get on the hillside. The golf course at the resort is fantastic. It cost me about $120 on a Sunday to play, but it was worth it. You can get on for < $100 during the week or during twilight hours. Course was challenging yet playable, and was in good shape. Lots of elevation changes which made for some very fun shots and scenic views. Cart is required on the course due to some very long distances from green to tee. I read some complaints about the parking, some of which are valid depending upon where you are staying within the resort. Some spots require you to parallel park in a tight spot if you want to park right in front of your room. But if you are willing to walk a few dozen yards you can find normal parking spots. The resort itself is situated in a part of town where there isn't a ton of restaurants nearby. But if you want a more quiet getaway this is a positive. You can still drive over to Scottsdale in about 25mins which isn't bad. You'll definitely want to rent a car if you stay here so you can get out to some better restaurants- the ones at the hotel aren't great (fairly typical hotel food i suppose). Overall I would definitely recommend this place, especially for a golf getaway or an affordable weekend getaway if you want to get some warm weather!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Not a snob
Business
Boulder, Colorado
Jan 5, 2010

1960's throw back aka "Dump"

I was looking for a resort as the title implys and what was there was an old, ugly hotel. If I'm going to stay in a slum, I'd rather pay slum prices. The positive is they let me out of my pre-paid reservation, I think - I still need to see if my credit card was reimbursed).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 31, 2009

Lovely resort

Went here as a single woman for some rest and relaxation, although I've stayed here with my children once before also. If you don't mind the climb(s), this is the place to go. Beautiful grounds, pools everywhere, nice but small workout facility, and connection right from hotel grounds to miles and miles of hiking trails. Very friendly and accomodating staff--everyone greets you with a "hello" even in passing. Will stay here again when I'm in Phoenix.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

A Pointe in Tyme is a lovely restaurant/bar on the hotel property. Beautiful beams and woodwork. Food is good and staff is very friendly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top