$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 22, 2014 Check-out: Sep 23, 2014

Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

4 stars
11111 North 7th Street, Phoenix, AZ 85020
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
179 reviews
hate phoenix but this place makes it all go away

GREAT food, especially the breakfast buffet. great view. great room. great staff. get a room away... See full review

  • lzzzz
  • Apr 14, 2014
Great place to stay

Great place to stay. Great location. Great staff. Comfortable room. See full review

  • Cool Carl
  • Jan 10, 2014
Phoenix mountaintop golf resort and water wonderland set in the cliffs

The desert mountaintop is the natural habitat at this memorable getaway. The all-suite resort is just 10 miles outside Phoenix. Golfers come for one of Arizona's finest golf courses and food aficionados for award-winning Different Pointe of View restaurant. Other draws include world-class event facilities and the eight pools and private cabanas at The Falls Water Village.

Highlights
  • Championship Lookout Mountain Golf Club
  • Award-winning Different Pointe of View restaurant
  • The Falls Water Village
Rooms

All 547 two-room suites offer one bedroom and separate living room (single or double occupancy), mini-refrigerator, coffee maker, two televisions, and high-speed Internet (fees apply). Signature Suites have one and a half baths, living room with fireplace, wet bar, dining table for five and lounging area. Ambassador Suites offer spacious, high-end living with one and a half bathrooms, dining area for six and amenities such as a premium liquor bar and stereo system.

Dining

Different Pointe of View offers American cuisine with Mediterranean flair and breathtaking mountaintop views. Breakfast, lunch and dinner at Point in Tyme feature surf and turf. Cascades Cafe offers poolside drinks and dining. La Cantina has casual Mexican-inspired cuisine. The Lobby Bar provides coffee and continental breakfast or afternoon drinks.

Recreation

The Falls Water Village has eight pools, terraced waterfalls, an enclosed waterside, hot plunge spas and luxury cabanas for rent. Lookout Mountain Golf Club is an award-winning 18-hole course and academy in rugged desert mountain terrain. Tocaloma Salon and Spa and Fitness Center offers full services and fitness room featuring Precor equipment, steam room, sauna and juice bar. Kids' Korral has add-on activities for children in spring and summer months.

Transportation
  • Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport
  • Phoenix-Mesa Airport
Attractions
  • Old Town Scottsdale (19 mi/ 30.6 km)
  • Phoenix Zoo (19.8 mi/ 31.9 km)
  • Desert Botanical Garden (20.7 mi/ 33.3 km)
Business
  • 65,000-plus square feet of indoor and outdoor venues for 20 to 1,500
  • Full convention services and business center

 

Policies and fees
The property charges a resort fee of $18 per night plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.5948 -112.0651
Nearby airports
Phoenix Sky Harbor Intl Airport, (PHX), 15.00, MI, N; Scottsdale Airport, (SCF), 12.00, MI, W; Phoenix-Mesa Gateway Airport, (AZA), 45.00, MI, SE;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • America West Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Western Destinations: 1.3 mi
  • Phoenix Mountain Preserve: 2.5 mi
  • Piestewa Peak: 4.2 mi
  • Wrigley Mansion: 5.4 mi
  • Musical Instrument Museum: 7.1 mi
  • Camelback Mountain: 8 mi
  • Heard Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Phoenix Art Museum: 8.9 mi
  • Phoenix Theatre: 9.7 mi
  • St. Mary's Basilica: 10 mi
  • Phoenix Children's Museum: 10 mi
  • Phoenix Civic Plaza Convention Center: 10 mi
  • The Rosson House: 10 mi
  • Orpheum Theater: 10.1 mi
  • America West Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Western Destinations: 1.3 mi
  • Phoenix Mountain Preserve: 2.5 mi
  • Piestewa Peak: 4.2 mi
  • Wrigley Mansion: 5.4 mi
  • Musical Instrument Museum: 7.1 mi
  • Camelback Mountain: 8 mi
  • Heard Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Phoenix Art Museum: 8.9 mi
  • Phoenix Theatre: 9.7 mi
  • St. Mary's Basilica: 10 mi
  • Phoenix Children's Museum: 10 mi
  • Phoenix Civic Plaza Convention Center: 10 mi
  • The Rosson House: 10 mi
  • Orpheum Theater: 10.1 mi
  • Wells Fargo History Museum: 10.1 mi
  • Phoenix Symphony: 10.1 mi
  • US Airways Center: 10.3 mi
  • Chase Field: 10.3 mi
  • Arizona Capitol Museum: 10.3 mi
  • Pueblo Grande: 11.2 mi
  • Desert Botanical Garden: 11.5 mi
  • Octane Raceway: 11.6 mi
  • Papago Park: 11.7 mi
  • Phoenix Zoo: 11.9 mi
  • Jobing.com Arena: 12.1 mi
  • Arizona Science Center: 13 mi
  • South Mountain: 14.8 mi
  • South Mountain Park: 17.2 mi
  • Phoenix - Mesa: 18.1 mi
  • University of Phoenix Stadium: 6,987.4 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (179)

Ratings and reviews for Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
179 out of 179
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Not a snob
Boulder, Colorado
Jan 5, 2010

1960's throw back aka "Dump"

I was looking for a resort as the title implys and what was there was an old, ugly hotel. If I'm going to stay in a slum, I'd rather pay slum prices. The positive is they let me out of my pre-paid reservation, I think - I still need to see if my credit card was reimbursed).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Britmac
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 7, 2014

Not anything special

When we first got our room, we drove to the mountain to discover there was no parking space and it's so narrow to navigate. So we got another room in the main building. Parking was still difficult. The pools were nice, I'll say that. However, it was really crowded. Our room was really warm, and I had to turn the ac down to 65 in order for it to come on, in which then it came on every 5 minutes. I killed 2 bugs in the bathroom before we went to bed. At 1:30am, we woke up to banging on our ceiling. I called the front desk twice, and nothing stopped. It was still going on at 3:30am when we left. This was our first staycation, and we will not be returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Spokane Washington
Jul 4, 2009

I will never stay at this hotel again.

This is a party hotel where local residents come in and crash the place and there is nothing done by the staff. Horrible parking, rooms are old and small. Our bar area had missing cabinet doors and refrigerator. When we called the front desk they brought out a refrigerator that was too large to fit under the bar counter so they set it on phone books on the floor in the living room!! That should give you a hint of what this place is like. It was so bad we left after 4 days of a 7 night trip and went to another hotel. We were refused any refund, but left anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Aug 27, 2007

UNDER CONSTRUCTION

We were placed in a room that was JUST remodeled. It fact, it was on a corner and the 5 units on a right angle were being painted using compression units that were in the courtyard right below us starting at 7:00am in the morning & continuting till 6:00pm. This was TH-FRI-SAT and then the banging of the rolling of large furniture in & out of the elevator which backed to our room & echoed so we couldn't hear our TV. The workers were yelling at each other to be heard over the compressors. And since cell phone reception was extremely hard in the rooms within the courtyards, they were outside talking loudly on the phones. Our first complaint was met with that they were making it nicer for our next visit. On Saturday, they said the only thing they could do was move us. I told them I wanted to remain in the main building. They moved us up the hill to an alley-way on the ground floor with cars & carts constantly driving by and our view from the back balcony was another parking lot. I am sure this was NOT a random occurence, since we received a rubber-stamped note of apology. I feel we were punished by complaining about the inconvience of construction and were put into a whole of a room. We were extremely upset and when we checked out, the woman at the desk said I will make a note of it and then said next. We will NEVER stay there again or will hesitate to even stay at another HILTON.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

NOTHING close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PhxMatt
Phoenix, AZ
Jun 18, 2013

Car Was Spray Painted In Parking Lot - Staff No Help

I am staying at the Tapatio Cliffs Resort right now and my car was spray painted last night. All the windows and profanity on the back. After talking with several people, a manager, security, etc., the only thing I was told (in paraphrase) was 'we can't do anything, but an insurance claim has been made', and that these things happen.. Not anything to compensate, to make me feel secure that this won't happen again, nothing. I am being treated like some idiot who is paying money to be here for several days and that's it. If you want to make sure you are secure and want a staff that works hard to make sure you are satisfied, I suggest not staying here. They are horrible and have done absolutely nothing. This is not the Hilton brand standard and I am appalled as a paying customer I am being treated this way. DO NOT STAY HERE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
huntley il
Jun 14, 2009

"The good, the bad, and the really ugly"

the rooms have a damp smell, internet is 12.95 a day and its hook to phone. if you use work out room you will pay, we did not knows this, we went to look at homes. hills all over proprty. food is price is out rages. staff is all spanish, not for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

hills everywhere, terriable parking, do not go here if you dont want to fall down hills.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Eagle, ID
Apr 2, 2010

Pointe Hilton Food Great, Service Poor

This hotel has all the potential to be a great family resort but falls short on overall service and lack of employees. We spent four days (a family of four) at the hotel during Spring Break 2010. From breakfast, to lunch at the pool, to dinner, to having the room cleaned up at ~5pm...they simply could not handle the number of rooms/people at the resort. Chairs at the pool were snatched up by 9am on good sun days. Lunch at the pool was delivered 2 hrs after ordering. No hotel airport shuttle ($40 each way by cab/car). Tip: ask to be the 'main building' if you don't like walking/shuttling hills.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant at the top of the hill (A Different Point of View) was excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Vancouver, WA
May 20, 2011

definitely NOT for the disabled!!!

This hotel is built on the side of a cliff. Our family was there for a wedding. We were spread out all over the facility (a lot of hill/stair climbing to get together). I was sooooo glad that I did not bring my spouse who uses a manual wheelchair. A couple of the elevators were not working. We took the kids in the main family pool. Wow, was the water cold!!! The water park was a disappointment. Again with the cold water and the prices at the snack bar were outrageous. To get to the lazy river that is offered, you have to take a shuttle to the Squaw Peak resort. Food prices at the on-site restaurant were very overpriced, as well. We travelled north on 7th St to find reasonable dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mill Valley, CA
Sep 6, 2009

Disappointing

This was my second weekend getaway in Phoenix recently. The first trip was at the Arizona Biltmore. I compared the Pointe to the Biltmore, so I was very disappointed with this hotel. A lot of the hotel needs to be refurbished. The elevators in the main lobby didn't work. We had to carry our suitcases down 5 flights of stairs in the heat. The cold and hot water symbols are switched in the shower. Someone used the restroom in one of the big pools. They only closed the pool for about 15 minutes, definitely not enough time to properly clean the pool for this type of "accident". We had the flag up for pool side service for 20 minutes before I just gave up and walked up to the bar to order food and drinks. The internet isn't free. The movies are $15 each. The only nice thing about the room was the comfort of the bed. I paid the same price for my room at the Arizona Biltmore. Don't bother shopping around the Biltmore is hands down more for your money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Aliso Viejo, CA
Apr 10, 2010

the good , the bad and the really ugly

Looking for apartments in phoenix area, far too much walking to get around property, no one told us about shuttle till day 2. I travel often, I would rate this hotel at a 2.0. Hotel was very short staffed. Room service coffee was not hot. Need to invest in newer carafes, the creamer was leaking everywhere.Not a good facility for handicapped.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

point in time, excellent friendly staff, good food at a reasonable price point.I would advise to take the hotel shuttle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search