$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2015 Check-out: Aug 5, 2015

Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

3 stars
View map of 11111 North 7th Street, Phoenix, AZ 85020

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
170 reviews
Bring Your walking shoes

Great Hotel/Resort, excellent pool locations throughout facility, included main one with bar. Had... See full review

  • juan s.
  • Jan 26, 2015
Terrfic Change of Pace

The hotel is as beautiful as the pictures in advertisements and online! Comfortable, spacious,... See full review

  • Carmela M.
  • Jan 6, 2015

The desert mountaintop is the natural habitat at this memorable getaway. The all-suite resort is just 10 miles outside Phoenix. Golfers come for one of Arizona's finest golf courses and food aficionados for award-winning Different Pointe of View restaurant. Other draws include world-class event facilities and the eight pools and private cabanas at The Falls Water Village.

Dining

Different Pointe of View offers American cuisine with Mediterranean flair and breathtaking mountaintop views. Breakfast, lunch and dinner at Point in Tyme feature surf and turf. Cascades Cafe offers poolside drinks and dining. La Cantina has casual Mexican-inspired cuisine. The Lobby Bar provides coffee and continental breakfast or afternoon drinks.

Rooms

All 547 two-room suites offer one bedroom and separate living room (single or double occupancy), coffee maker, two televisions, and high-speed Internet (fees apply). Signature Suites have one and a half baths, living room with fireplace, wet bar, dining table for five and lounging area. Ambassador Suites offer spacious, high-end living with one and a half bathrooms, dining area for six and amenities such as a premium liquor bar and stereo system.

Highlights
  • Championship Lookout Mountain Golf Club
  • Award-winning Different Pointe of View restaurant
  • The Falls Water Village
Nearby attractions
  • Old Town Scottsdale (19 mi/ 30.6 km)
  • Phoenix Zoo (19.8 mi/ 31.9 km)
  • Desert Botanical Garden (20.7 mi/ 33.3 km)
Business
  • 65,000-plus square feet of indoor and outdoor venues for 20 to 1,500
  • Full convention services and business center

 

Transportation
  • Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport
  • Phoenix-Mesa Airport
Recreation

The Falls Water Village has eight pools, terraced waterfalls, an enclosed waterside, hot plunge spas and luxury cabanas for rent. Lookout Mountain Golf Club is an award-winning 18-hole course and academy in rugged desert mountain terrain. Tocaloma Salon and Spa and Fitness Center offers full services and fitness room featuring Precor equipment, steam room, sauna and juice bar. Kids' Korral has add-on activities for children in spring and summer months.

Policies

The property charges a resort fee of $24 USD per night plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • America West Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Western Destinations: 1.3 mi
  • Phoenix Mountain Preserve: 2.5 mi
  • Piestewa Peak: 4.2 mi
  • Wrigley Mansion: 5.4 mi
  • Musical Instrument Museum: 7.1 mi
  • Camelback Mountain: 8 mi
  • Heard Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Phoenix Art Museum: 8.9 mi
  • Phoenix Theatre: 9.7 mi
  • St. Mary's Basilica: 10 mi
  • Phoenix Children's Museum: 10 mi
  • Phoenix Civic Plaza Convention Center: 10 mi
  • The Rosson House: 10 mi
  • Orpheum Theater: 10.1 mi
  • America West Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Western Destinations: 1.3 mi
  • Phoenix Mountain Preserve: 2.5 mi
  • Piestewa Peak: 4.2 mi
  • Wrigley Mansion: 5.4 mi
  • Musical Instrument Museum: 7.1 mi
  • Camelback Mountain: 8 mi
  • Heard Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Phoenix Art Museum: 8.9 mi
  • Phoenix Theatre: 9.7 mi
  • St. Mary's Basilica: 10 mi
  • Phoenix Children's Museum: 10 mi
  • Phoenix Civic Plaza Convention Center: 10 mi
  • The Rosson House: 10 mi
  • Orpheum Theater: 10.1 mi
  • Wells Fargo History Museum: 10.1 mi
  • Phoenix Symphony: 10.1 mi
  • US Airways Center: 10.3 mi
  • Chase Field: 10.3 mi
  • Arizona Capitol Museum: 10.3 mi
  • Pueblo Grande: 11.2 mi
  • Desert Botanical Garden: 11.5 mi
  • Octane Raceway: 11.6 mi
  • Papago Park: 11.7 mi
  • Phoenix Zoo: 11.9 mi
  • Jobing.com Arena: 12.1 mi
  • University of Phoenix Stadium: 12.3 mi
  • Arizona Science Center: 13 mi
  • South Mountain: 14.8 mi
  • South Mountain Park: 17.2 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
170 out of 170
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PhxMatt
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jun 18, 2013

Car Was Spray Painted In Parking Lot - Staff No Help

I am staying at the Tapatio Cliffs Resort right now and my car was spray painted last night. All the windows and profanity on the back. After talking with several people, a manager, security, etc., the only thing I was told (in paraphrase) was 'we can't do anything, but an insurance claim has been made', and that these things happen.. Not anything to compensate, to make me feel secure that this won't happen again, nothing. I am being treated like some idiot who is paying money to be here for several days and that's it. If you want to make sure you are secure and want a staff that works hard to make sure you are satisfied, I suggest not staying here. They are horrible and have done absolutely nothing. This is not the Hilton brand standard and I am appalled as a paying customer I am being treated this way. DO NOT STAY HERE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
huntley il
Jun 14, 2009

"The good, the bad, and the really ugly"

the rooms have a damp smell, internet is 12.95 a day and its hook to phone. if you use work out room you will pay, we did not knows this, we went to look at homes. hills all over proprty. food is price is out rages. staff is all spanish, not for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

hills everywhere, terriable parking, do not go here if you dont want to fall down hills.

Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Eagle, ID
Apr 2, 2010

Pointe Hilton Food Great, Service Poor

This hotel has all the potential to be a great family resort but falls short on overall service and lack of employees. We spent four days (a family of four) at the hotel during Spring Break 2010. From breakfast, to lunch at the pool, to dinner, to having the room cleaned up at ~5pm...they simply could not handle the number of rooms/people at the resort. Chairs at the pool were snatched up by 9am on good sun days. Lunch at the pool was delivered 2 hrs after ordering. No hotel airport shuttle ($40 each way by cab/car). Tip: ask to be the 'main building' if you don't like walking/shuttling hills.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant at the top of the hill (A Different Point of View) was excellent.

Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Not a snob
Business
Boulder, Colorado
Jan 5, 2010

1960's throw back aka "Dump"

I was looking for a resort as the title implys and what was there was an old, ugly hotel. If I'm going to stay in a slum, I'd rather pay slum prices. The positive is they let me out of my pre-paid reservation, I think - I still need to see if my credit card was reimbursed).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Spokane Washington
Jul 4, 2009

I will never stay at this hotel again.

This is a party hotel where local residents come in and crash the place and there is nothing done by the staff. Horrible parking, rooms are old and small. Our bar area had missing cabinet doors and refrigerator. When we called the front desk they brought out a refrigerator that was too large to fit under the bar counter so they set it on phone books on the floor in the living room!! That should give you a hint of what this place is like. It was so bad we left after 4 days of a 7 night trip and went to another hotel. We were refused any refund, but left anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Britmac
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 7, 2014

Not anything special

When we first got our room, we drove to the mountain to discover there was no parking space and it's so narrow to navigate. So we got another room in the main building. Parking was still difficult. The pools were nice, I'll say that. However, it was really crowded. Our room was really warm, and I had to turn the ac down to 65 in order for it to come on, in which then it came on every 5 minutes. I killed 2 bugs in the bathroom before we went to bed. At 1:30am, we woke up to banging on our ceiling. I called the front desk twice, and nothing stopped. It was still going on at 3:30am when we left. This was our first staycation, and we will not be returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cmay80
Business
Phoenix AZ
Jan 3, 2014

Disappointed

Well there were crumbs and a cockroach in our bed in the first room, which is unacceptable! The staff was nice enough to get us a new room but the 2nd room did not have a working heater. They ended up waiving the resort fee and gave us a free meal, but they should have done more considering the situation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
1redsfan
Business
Ohio
Mar 8, 2014

Poor view

The view from our suite was of the dirty laundry bins and the parking lot. The king size bed sloped towards the center so much that it was difficult to stay in one place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, WA
May 20, 2011

definitely NOT for the disabled!!!

This hotel is built on the side of a cliff. Our family was there for a wedding. We were spread out all over the facility (a lot of hill/stair climbing to get together). I was sooooo glad that I did not bring my spouse who uses a manual wheelchair. A couple of the elevators were not working. We took the kids in the main family pool. Wow, was the water cold!!! The water park was a disappointment. Again with the cold water and the prices at the snack bar were outrageous. To get to the lazy river that is offered, you have to take a shuttle to the Squaw Peak resort. Food prices at the on-site restaurant were very overpriced, as well. We travelled north on 7th St to find reasonable dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ocational Traveler
Business
Seattle, WA
Feb 23, 2010

Not the best place to stay

I would not recommend this resort to a friend. We had a king size suite in one of the clift side buildings. The room was OK. Except the carpet was very dirty and needed a good steam cleaning. This provided a minor funky smell to the room. The king suites in the cliff side buildings are on the second floor. Each building's multiple heat pumps are mounted on the roof above these rooms. The heat pumps in our first room were very noisy and kept me up all night. At our request, the hotel moved us to another building. The beds were very comfortable and they used high quality sheets/bedding. The pool facilities were fair. We did not go to the main family pool area with water falls and slides. The work out center was also fair. The employees at the main lobby were friendly and helpful. The concierge's desk provided very good written directions to common places of interest in Phoenix

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top