$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2014 Check-out: Aug 29, 2014

Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

4 stars
11111 North 7th Street, Phoenix, AZ 85020
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
182 reviews
hate phoenix but this place makes it all go away

GREAT food, especially the breakfast buffet. great view. great room. great staff. get a room away... See full review

  • lzzzz
  • Apr 14, 2014
Great place to stay

Great place to stay. Great location. Great staff. Comfortable room. See full review

  • Cool Carl
  • Jan 10, 2014
Phoenix mountaintop golf resort and water wonderland set in the cliffs

The desert mountaintop is the natural habitat at this memorable getaway. The all-suite resort is just 10 miles outside Phoenix. Golfers come for one of Arizona's finest golf courses and food aficionados for award-winning Different Pointe of View restaurant. Other draws include world-class event facilities and the eight pools and private cabanas at The Falls Water Village.

Highlights
  • Championship Lookout Mountain Golf Club
  • Award-winning Different Pointe of View restaurant
  • The Falls Water Village
Rooms

All 547 two-room suites offer one bedroom and separate living room (single or double occupancy), mini-refrigerator, coffee maker, two televisions, and high-speed Internet (fees apply). Signature Suites have one and a half baths, living room with fireplace, wet bar, dining table for five and lounging area. Ambassador Suites offer spacious, high-end living with one and a half bathrooms, dining area for six and amenities such as a premium liquor bar and stereo system.

Dining

Different Pointe of View offers American cuisine with Mediterranean flair and breathtaking mountaintop views. Breakfast, lunch and dinner at Point in Tyme feature surf and turf. Cascades Cafe offers poolside drinks and dining. La Cantina has casual Mexican-inspired cuisine. The Lobby Bar provides coffee and continental breakfast or afternoon drinks.

Recreation

The Falls Water Village has eight pools, terraced waterfalls, an enclosed waterside, hot plunge spas and luxury cabanas for rent. Lookout Mountain Golf Club is an award-winning 18-hole course and academy in rugged desert mountain terrain. Tocaloma Salon and Spa and Fitness Center offers full services and fitness room featuring Precor equipment, steam room, sauna and juice bar. Kids' Korral has add-on activities for children in spring and summer months.

Transportation
  • Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport
  • Phoenix-Mesa Airport
Attractions
  • Old Town Scottsdale (19 mi/ 30.6 km)
  • Phoenix Zoo (19.8 mi/ 31.9 km)
  • Desert Botanical Garden (20.7 mi/ 33.3 km)
Business
  • 65,000-plus square feet of indoor and outdoor venues for 20 to 1,500
  • Full convention services and business center

 

Policies and fees
The property charges a resort fee of $18 per night plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.5948 -112.0651
Nearby airports
Phoenix Sky Harbor Intl Airport, (PHX), 15.00, MI, N; Scottsdale Airport, (SCF), 12.00, MI, W; Phoenix-Mesa Gateway Airport, (AZA), 45.00, MI, SE;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • America West Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Western Destinations: 1.3 mi
  • Phoenix Mountain Preserve: 2.5 mi
  • Piestewa Peak: 4.2 mi
  • Wrigley Mansion: 5.4 mi
  • Musical Instrument Museum: 7.1 mi
  • Camelback Mountain: 8 mi
  • Heard Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Phoenix Art Museum: 8.9 mi
  • Phoenix Theatre: 9.7 mi
  • St. Mary's Basilica: 10 mi
  • Phoenix Children's Museum: 10 mi
  • Phoenix Civic Plaza Convention Center: 10 mi
  • The Rosson House: 10 mi
  • Orpheum Theater: 10.1 mi
  • America West Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Western Destinations: 1.3 mi
  • Phoenix Mountain Preserve: 2.5 mi
  • Piestewa Peak: 4.2 mi
  • Wrigley Mansion: 5.4 mi
  • Musical Instrument Museum: 7.1 mi
  • Camelback Mountain: 8 mi
  • Heard Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Phoenix Art Museum: 8.9 mi
  • Phoenix Theatre: 9.7 mi
  • St. Mary's Basilica: 10 mi
  • Phoenix Children's Museum: 10 mi
  • Phoenix Civic Plaza Convention Center: 10 mi
  • The Rosson House: 10 mi
  • Orpheum Theater: 10.1 mi
  • Wells Fargo History Museum: 10.1 mi
  • Phoenix Symphony: 10.1 mi
  • US Airways Center: 10.3 mi
  • Chase Field: 10.3 mi
  • Arizona Capitol Museum: 10.3 mi
  • Pueblo Grande: 11.2 mi
  • Desert Botanical Garden: 11.5 mi
  • Octane Raceway: 11.6 mi
  • Papago Park: 11.7 mi
  • Phoenix Zoo: 11.9 mi
  • Jobing.com Arena: 12.1 mi
  • Arizona Science Center: 13 mi
  • South Mountain: 14.8 mi
  • South Mountain Park: 17.2 mi
  • Phoenix - Mesa: 18.1 mi
  • University of Phoenix Stadium: 6,987.4 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (182)

Ratings and reviews for Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
182 out of 182
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mountain view, CA
Dec 31, 2010

Good value but still needs some work

The price per night was incredible, and given the size of the property we had expectations of a great stay. Unfortunately, internet access in rooms was down for 2 days and the front desk seemed helpless to know what to do. They kept transferring us to their internet provider, a nightmare in itself. The fitness center needs work. Almost all the TVs on the equipment had little to no sound despite the handy earphones everyone could use free. The audio input was broken. No machines for weights except one leg machine. The "adult" pool is too small for anything other than a quick wade. The Water Falls area, however, is awesome. Unfortunately it's overun by teens and young kids so unless you're there to watch or are 18, forget it. Our room was terrific. A suite with separate living area with TV and desk, in room refrigerator, nice size bedroom with TV, small balcony. Room was dark as it was set against a mountain. Room service was great; people extremely friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Heard Museum is amazing, as is the Phoenix Zoo. Lots of great hiking near Tempe.

Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Clemente, CA
Dec 30, 2010

Hidden costs

I was informed that I booked my reservation from a third party ([...]), therefore, the internet, the balcony, and the premium sheets were not included. This was despite what my reservation stated on the [...]receipt. The place was nice but I was surprised I didn't get those things since I asked for them during my booking. I was disappointed from the start. I would book directly from the hotel next time to guarantee I get what I think I am paying for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, NC
Dec 20, 2010

Great Place to Stay in Phoenix!

I had to come into town for a funeral and found a package deal [...] and this typically wouldn't be a hotel that I would normally choose just because it seem to be overpriced but the [...] deal was very reasonable and I was shocked at how nice the hotel was! Very convenient location, very courteous staff always saying good morning or hello. Room felt very nice to go back to, I had only wished the rest of my family was with me and we were there for fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Red devil ranch
Broomfield, CO
Dec 12, 2010

Clean, comfortable

The room was spacious and the resort has all of the amenities one would want. Multiple pool areas which allows for some privacy, nice workout area and very close hiking. It's a good thing there are plenty of local restraunts close by to chose from as the hotel has several overpriced and poor quality cafe/restraunts on premises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix
Dec 5, 2010

Average stay

Hotel seemed a little dated. Still had a tube TV in the bedroom and the bath was not very updated. Staff was welcoming and courteous. Check in and out was very quick. Room service was good. Suites were nice but I would spring for the Presidential suite next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, Mn
Nov 21, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Quietsetting, two room suite with easy access to Phoenix, airport, Peoria

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Spokaneless
Seattle, Wa
Nov 19, 2010

great resort marginal food

This has been the third time we have stayed at this resort. The rooms are great, very quiet,spacious, with nice views. The downside of the resort is the parking can be difficult close to your room and the dining options were quite limited. The La Cantina was not open on this visit leaving Pointe of Tyme and room service as our only options on the property. The room sevice pizza we ordered one night was terrible! Lacking sauce and using the breakfast sausage which I thought to be a little odd. Lastly I would expect to receive the best possible price to play the golf course as a resort guest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

It's a short drive to Thunderbird road where there are several dining options.

Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Oct 31, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Beautiful location with a secluded setting in the middle of Phoenix. Numerous pools with wonderful views. Artificial waterfalls from the top of the mountain through the pools make for a fantastic pool and hot tub experience. Staff at the pool and pool bar were great. Hotel concierge was super at recommending fun bars and restaurants in town. The view from the hotel restaurant / bar at the top of the pointe is breathtaking at night. Rates are very reasonble for the facilities available. Great atmosphere for a relaxing getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The Pointe of View restaurant/bar is a must see experience at night.

Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom who needed a break
Portland, OR
Oct 21, 2010

Girls getaway

We were looking for a place that we could be happy without leaving the resort and Tapaito Cliffs is the place. With the numerous restaurants and pool cafe, we never had to leave. Unfortunately it was off season (Oct 7-11) and some places were closed and/or closed early, which was disappointing. The spa was another attraction for us and it didn't disappoint. Great over all service, through out the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel provided a free shuttle to their partner Hilton Squaw Peaks, for dining at their restaurants

Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago IL
Oct 17, 2010

Mini getaway!

We were greeted by friendly staff who went out of their way to help us with our requests. The "mountainview" rooms are equipped with a comfy bed and plenty of pillows. They are a good 5-10min uphill walk and not centrally located to the hotel pools and restaurants. It is an older hotel but the location is ideal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to drive to Sedona and the Grand Canyon better stay at midpoint somewhere in Sedona!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search