$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 8, 2015 Check-out: Mar 10, 2015

Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

4 stars
View map of 11111 North 7th Street, Phoenix, AZ 85020

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
184 reviews
Bring Your walking shoes

Great Hotel/Resort, excellent pool locations throughout facility, included main one with bar. Had... See full review

  • juan s.
  • Jan 26, 2015
Terrfic Change of Pace

The hotel is as beautiful as the pictures in advertisements and online! Comfortable, spacious,... See full review

  • Carmela M.
  • Jan 6, 2015
Phoenix mountaintop golf resort and water wonderland set in the cliffs

The desert mountaintop is the natural habitat at this memorable getaway. The all-suite resort is just 10 miles outside Phoenix. Golfers come for one of Arizona's finest golf courses and food aficionados for award-winning Different Pointe of View restaurant. Other draws include world-class event facilities and the eight pools and private cabanas at The Falls Water Village.

Highlights
  • Championship Lookout Mountain Golf Club
  • Award-winning Different Pointe of View restaurant
  • The Falls Water Village
Rooms

All 547 two-room suites offer one bedroom and separate living room (single or double occupancy), mini-refrigerator, coffee maker, two televisions, and high-speed Internet (fees apply). Signature Suites have one and a half baths, living room with fireplace, wet bar, dining table for five and lounging area. Ambassador Suites offer spacious, high-end living with one and a half bathrooms, dining area for six and amenities such as a premium liquor bar and stereo system.

Dining

Different Pointe of View offers American cuisine with Mediterranean flair and breathtaking mountaintop views. Breakfast, lunch and dinner at Point in Tyme feature surf and turf. Cascades Cafe offers poolside drinks and dining. La Cantina has casual Mexican-inspired cuisine. The Lobby Bar provides coffee and continental breakfast or afternoon drinks.

Recreation

The Falls Water Village has eight pools, terraced waterfalls, an enclosed waterside, hot plunge spas and luxury cabanas for rent. Lookout Mountain Golf Club is an award-winning 18-hole course and academy in rugged desert mountain terrain. Tocaloma Salon and Spa and Fitness Center offers full services and fitness room featuring Precor equipment, steam room, sauna and juice bar. Kids' Korral has add-on activities for children in spring and summer months.

Transportation
  • Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport
  • Phoenix-Mesa Airport
Attractions
  • Old Town Scottsdale (19 mi/ 30.6 km)
  • Phoenix Zoo (19.8 mi/ 31.9 km)
  • Desert Botanical Garden (20.7 mi/ 33.3 km)
Business
  • 65,000-plus square feet of indoor and outdoor venues for 20 to 1,500
  • Full convention services and business center

 

Policies and fees
The property charges a resort fee of $24 USD per night plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • America West Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Western Destinations: 1.3 mi
  • Phoenix Mountain Preserve: 2.5 mi
  • Piestewa Peak: 4.2 mi
  • Wrigley Mansion: 5.4 mi
  • Musical Instrument Museum: 7.1 mi
  • Camelback Mountain: 8 mi
  • Heard Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Phoenix Art Museum: 8.9 mi
  • Phoenix Theatre: 9.7 mi
  • St. Mary's Basilica: 10 mi
  • Phoenix Children's Museum: 10 mi
  • Phoenix Civic Plaza Convention Center: 10 mi
  • The Rosson House: 10 mi
  • Orpheum Theater: 10.1 mi
  • America West Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Western Destinations: 1.3 mi
  • Phoenix Mountain Preserve: 2.5 mi
  • Piestewa Peak: 4.2 mi
  • Wrigley Mansion: 5.4 mi
  • Musical Instrument Museum: 7.1 mi
  • Camelback Mountain: 8 mi
  • Heard Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Phoenix Art Museum: 8.9 mi
  • Phoenix Theatre: 9.7 mi
  • St. Mary's Basilica: 10 mi
  • Phoenix Children's Museum: 10 mi
  • Phoenix Civic Plaza Convention Center: 10 mi
  • The Rosson House: 10 mi
  • Orpheum Theater: 10.1 mi
  • Wells Fargo History Museum: 10.1 mi
  • Phoenix Symphony: 10.1 mi
  • US Airways Center: 10.3 mi
  • Chase Field: 10.3 mi
  • Arizona Capitol Museum: 10.3 mi
  • Pueblo Grande: 11.2 mi
  • Desert Botanical Garden: 11.5 mi
  • Octane Raceway: 11.6 mi
  • Papago Park: 11.7 mi
  • Phoenix Zoo: 11.9 mi
  • Jobing.com Arena: 12.1 mi
  • University of Phoenix Stadium: 12.3 mi
  • Arizona Science Center: 13 mi
  • South Mountain: 14.8 mi
  • South Mountain Park: 17.2 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (184)

Ratings and reviews for Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
184 out of 184
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Spartan45
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 2, 2011

Comfortable but dated

Room was clean and comfortable but hotel overall is dated and lacks an inviting lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maine
Jan 1, 2011

Great spot for relaxation, outdoor fun

My husband and I enjoyed the Tapatio Cliffs for our 7-night honeymoon stay. The warm sun and total relaxation both in and near the pools and hot tubs was a real treat. The choice between the several heated pools provided variety and allowed us to "escape" to a quieter place if the Falls Water Village was bustling with families. The nice workout center was very nice. We utilized this space each day. Perhaps the nicest part of the resort for us, was the proximity to unlimited hiking trails and adventure of hiking in the North Mountain Preserve. My husband and I are active outdoor enthusiasts. The views from the top of the butte was amazing! We also enjoyed the proximity to the Phoenix area attractions including Scottsdale, downtown attractions and the breathtaking Superstition mountains.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hiking trails are a great adventure in the Arizona sun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hannah's grandma
Business
Nebraska
Dec 31, 2010

Perfect location for us

We chose this hotel because of location near our daughter's home. Staff were very helpful and gracious, accommodations were very nice. The bed was not the best for sleeping, I was stiff every morning when I got up. Pools and grounds very well taken care of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The water park was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mountain view, CA
Dec 31, 2010

Good value but still needs some work

The price per night was incredible, and given the size of the property we had expectations of a great stay. Unfortunately, internet access in rooms was down for 2 days and the front desk seemed helpless to know what to do. They kept transferring us to their internet provider, a nightmare in itself. The fitness center needs work. Almost all the TVs on the equipment had little to no sound despite the handy earphones everyone could use free. The audio input was broken. No machines for weights except one leg machine. The "adult" pool is too small for anything other than a quick wade. The Water Falls area, however, is awesome. Unfortunately it's overun by teens and young kids so unless you're there to watch or are 18, forget it. Our room was terrific. A suite with separate living area with TV and desk, in room refrigerator, nice size bedroom with TV, small balcony. Room was dark as it was set against a mountain. Room service was great; people extremely friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Heard Museum is amazing, as is the Phoenix Zoo. Lots of great hiking near Tempe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Clemente, CA
Dec 30, 2010

Hidden costs

I was informed that I booked my reservation from a third party ([...]), therefore, the internet, the balcony, and the premium sheets were not included. This was despite what my reservation stated on the [...]receipt. The place was nice but I was surprised I didn't get those things since I asked for them during my booking. I was disappointed from the start. I would book directly from the hotel next time to guarantee I get what I think I am paying for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, NC
Dec 20, 2010

Great Place to Stay in Phoenix!

I had to come into town for a funeral and found a package deal [...] and this typically wouldn't be a hotel that I would normally choose just because it seem to be overpriced but the [...] deal was very reasonable and I was shocked at how nice the hotel was! Very convenient location, very courteous staff always saying good morning or hello. Room felt very nice to go back to, I had only wished the rest of my family was with me and we were there for fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Red devil ranch
Business
Broomfield, CO
Dec 12, 2010

Clean, comfortable

The room was spacious and the resort has all of the amenities one would want. Multiple pool areas which allows for some privacy, nice workout area and very close hiking. It's a good thing there are plenty of local restraunts close by to chose from as the hotel has several overpriced and poor quality cafe/restraunts on premises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix
Dec 5, 2010

Average stay

Hotel seemed a little dated. Still had a tube TV in the bedroom and the bath was not very updated. Staff was welcoming and courteous. Check in and out was very quick. Room service was good. Suites were nice but I would spring for the Presidential suite next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, Mn
Nov 21, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Quietsetting, two room suite with easy access to Phoenix, airport, Peoria

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Spokaneless
Business
Seattle, Wa
Nov 19, 2010

great resort marginal food

This has been the third time we have stayed at this resort. The rooms are great, very quiet,spacious, with nice views. The downside of the resort is the parking can be difficult close to your room and the dining options were quite limited. The La Cantina was not open on this visit leaving Pointe of Tyme and room service as our only options on the property. The room sevice pizza we ordered one night was terrible! Lacking sauce and using the breakfast sausage which I thought to be a little odd. Lastly I would expect to receive the best possible price to play the golf course as a resort guest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

It's a short drive to Thunderbird road where there are several dining options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top