$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2014 Check-out: Aug 30, 2014

Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

4 stars
11111 North 7th Street, Phoenix, AZ 85020
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
306 reviews
hate phoenix but this place makes it all go away

GREAT food, especially the breakfast buffet. great view. great room. great staff. get a room away... See full review

  • lzzzz
  • Apr 14, 2014
Great place to stay

Great place to stay. Great location. Great staff. Comfortable room. See full review

  • Cool Carl
  • Jan 10, 2014
Phoenix mountaintop golf resort and water wonderland set in the cliffs

The desert mountaintop is the natural habitat at this memorable getaway. The all-suite resort is just 10 miles outside Phoenix. Golfers come for one of Arizona's finest golf courses and food aficionados for award-winning Different Pointe of View restaurant. Other draws include world-class event facilities and the eight pools and private cabanas at The Falls Water Village.

Highlights
  • Championship Lookout Mountain Golf Club
  • Award-winning Different Pointe of View restaurant
  • The Falls Water Village
Rooms

All 547 two-room suites offer one bedroom and separate living room (single or double occupancy), mini-refrigerator, coffee maker, two televisions, and high-speed Internet (fees apply). Signature Suites have one and a half baths, living room with fireplace, wet bar, dining table for five and lounging area. Ambassador Suites offer spacious, high-end living with one and a half bathrooms, dining area for six and amenities such as a premium liquor bar and stereo system.

Dining

Different Pointe of View offers American cuisine with Mediterranean flair and breathtaking mountaintop views. Breakfast, lunch and dinner at Point in Tyme feature surf and turf. Cascades Cafe offers poolside drinks and dining. La Cantina has casual Mexican-inspired cuisine. The Lobby Bar provides coffee and continental breakfast or afternoon drinks.

Recreation

The Falls Water Village has eight pools, terraced waterfalls, an enclosed waterside, hot plunge spas and luxury cabanas for rent. Lookout Mountain Golf Club is an award-winning 18-hole course and academy in rugged desert mountain terrain. Tocaloma Salon and Spa and Fitness Center offers full services and fitness room featuring Precor equipment, steam room, sauna and juice bar. Kids' Korral has add-on activities for children in spring and summer months.

Transportation
  • Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport
  • Phoenix-Mesa Airport
Attractions
  • Old Town Scottsdale (19 mi/ 30.6 km)
  • Phoenix Zoo (19.8 mi/ 31.9 km)
  • Desert Botanical Garden (20.7 mi/ 33.3 km)
Business
  • 65,000-plus square feet of indoor and outdoor venues for 20 to 1,500
  • Full convention services and business center

 

Policies and fees
The property charges a resort fee of $18 per night plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.5948 -112.0651
Nearby airports
Phoenix Sky Harbor Intl Airport, (PHX), 15.00, MI, N; Scottsdale Airport, (SCF), 12.00, MI, W; Phoenix-Mesa Gateway Airport, (AZA), 45.00, MI, SE;

Nearby points of interest

  • America West Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Western Destinations: 1.3 mi
  • Phoenix Mountain Preserve: 2.5 mi
  • Piestewa Peak: 4.2 mi
  • Wrigley Mansion: 5.4 mi
  • Musical Instrument Museum: 7.1 mi
  • Camelback Mountain: 8 mi
  • Heard Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Phoenix Art Museum: 8.9 mi
  • Phoenix Theatre: 9.7 mi
  • St. Mary's Basilica: 10 mi
  • Phoenix Children's Museum: 10 mi
  • Phoenix Civic Plaza Convention Center: 10 mi
  • The Rosson House: 10 mi
  • Orpheum Theater: 10.1 mi
  • America West Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Western Destinations: 1.3 mi
  • Phoenix Mountain Preserve: 2.5 mi
  • Piestewa Peak: 4.2 mi
  • Wrigley Mansion: 5.4 mi
  • Musical Instrument Museum: 7.1 mi
  • Camelback Mountain: 8 mi
  • Heard Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Phoenix Art Museum: 8.9 mi
  • Phoenix Theatre: 9.7 mi
  • St. Mary's Basilica: 10 mi
  • Phoenix Children's Museum: 10 mi
  • Phoenix Civic Plaza Convention Center: 10 mi
  • The Rosson House: 10 mi
  • Orpheum Theater: 10.1 mi
  • Wells Fargo History Museum: 10.1 mi
  • Phoenix Symphony: 10.1 mi
  • US Airways Center: 10.3 mi
  • Chase Field: 10.3 mi
  • Arizona Capitol Museum: 10.3 mi
  • Pueblo Grande: 11.2 mi
  • Desert Botanical Garden: 11.5 mi
  • Octane Raceway: 11.6 mi
  • Papago Park: 11.7 mi
  • Phoenix Zoo: 11.9 mi
  • Jobing.com Arena: 12.1 mi
  • Arizona Science Center: 13 mi
  • South Mountain: 14.8 mi
  • South Mountain Park: 17.2 mi
  • Phoenix - Mesa: 18.1 mi
  • University of Phoenix Stadium: 6,987.4 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (306)

Ratings and reviews for Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
306 out of 306
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chicago Family2
Chicago, Illinois
Apr 1, 2013

Family Getaway

Our family had a wonderful time at this hotel. It was can and we loved the pools!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JRP Chgo
Chicago, IL
Mar 29, 2013

Great family-friendly resort

Stayed here with my wife on Spring Break for 4 nights. Views were spectacular and there are lots of kid-friendly attractions including a mini-waterpark within the hotel grounds, together with 5 other swimming pool areas. Staff was friendly and the restaurant at the top of the mountain (Different Pointe of View) was spectacular on all counts - food, service and view! Would highly recommend to anyone, especially families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Two ways to enjoy the view at the top of the mountain without buying the dinner at the fancy restaurant: 1) a short drive or a strenuous walk to the parking lot alongside the restaurant provides the same view 2) have a drink at the lounge in the same building but below the restaurant to enjoy the same view (especially at sunset) for a lot less money

Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John F H
Columbia, MD
Mar 20, 2013

Spring golf trip with friends

We've stayed here before. The Hotel was nice, as expected. Both the main pools and the smaller area pools are very nice. Staff were friendly. The restaurants were good. Sunsets at the Different Pointe Of View restaurant should not be missed. The Lookout Mountain Golf Course is fun & scenic (but not long). We noticed a few bugs in our room near the refrigerator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss watching a sunset from A Different Pointe Of View

Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jmarshalll
San Diego, CA
Mar 11, 2013

Lovely Property.

Great property buit a little out of the way. If you are going for a resort experieince it is terrific. If you have business in town or are attending Spring Training, it is a little off the track. Good time though, Nice rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Scrambles - just down 7th Street - for a fabulous breakfast!

Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kidskimom
Spokane, WA
Jan 16, 2013

Stay at the Pointe!

Excellent! Warm and welcoming staff, great food and plenty of things to entertain!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Scottsdale Fashion Mall was amazing!

Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alouer
Houston
Jan 13, 2013

My kids love it

I have taken my kids here several times. The hiking trails are great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sxb1
Minnesota
Apr 4, 2012

Fun for family. Good exercise.

Gorgeous layout. Kids loved the various pools. You get your share of exercise walking up the hill back to your room on the mountain side. We did not have a great view, but then we didn't pay a lot either. Good food at Pointe in Thyme restaurant. Good coffee at the Starbucks in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Walking the maintained trails in the desert was fantastic. Not a wilderness, but beautiful. Start the trail right at the resort, and walk as far as you want (up to 10 miles). Take water with you!

Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maria P
Madison, WI
Mar 16, 2012

Beautiful scenery, relaxing environment

I enjoyed my stay at the Tipatio Resort - the scenery is beautiful and hiking and running trails run adjacent to the resort so it is easy to access the trails for a morning or evening hike or jog. The fitness center is a nice touch and although it was usually quite busy (hard to find an open machine) and costs extra (a couple bucks per day), I did utilize the facility. There are several pools to choose from besides the main, large "water park" area, so it was never hard to find a chair in the sun. The parking lot can be a pain, very hilly and jam packed with cars, but after a day or so you just get used to it. Also, free Wi-Fi in the rooms would have been nice, but when I needed I took a quick walk to the lobby. The rooms were always cleaned in a timely manner, but housekeeping staff are apparently not trained in a consistent manner. Some days our towels were replenished and some days they were not. Although there was a sign saying we could reuse our towels if we hung them up, sometimes we received fresh towels anyway. Also, the coffee and coffee maker in the room had much to be desired. For a room full of coffee drinkers, this was an annoyance. We made do however. Overall, great stay, and a few minor improvements would change my 4 star rating to a 5 star rating! I will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cindy and friend
Bozeman, MT
Feb 28, 2012

best friends weekend

We loved our stay. Each pool was lovely, the water was warm, everything in the resort was clean and well taken care of. The staff were very nice and helpful. The landscaping was gorgeous. Our room was very clean and updated. The resort felt like an old mediterranean town with narrow curving streets, colorful buildings, spanish tiled roofs, beautiful flowers and cactus. We loved that there was an adults only pool, and that there was music only at the big family pool area. The rest of the pools were quiet and peaceful. The only thing we weren't impressed with was the food at the restaurant at the pool at the Falls, it was very average. Also the food at the Pointe in Thyme was average. Another food problem was that the mexican restaurant at the resort was closed the entire time we were there for a "private function", although we never saw anyone in it. My friend is a vegetarian and was looking forward to that option. The vegetarian food served to her at the Pointe in Thyme was very bland, as well as the vegetarian food at A Different Pointe of View. A Different Pointe of View had an incredible view, gorgeous bar and amazing patio area overlooking the entire city. What a treat it was to have dinner at such an amazing location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try El Conquistador just down the road on 7th street. Great food and a great owner!

Review of Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Risk man
Lancaster, Pa
Feb 21, 2012

Very nice property

Pools were outstanding - - and it wasn't even a warm week - - but warmer than home ! Got shorted on towels one day - other days were fully replaced. Suprised the internet wasn't free. We bought it for one day and it was painfully slow for the 1/2 of the time we had it - and wasn't available the other 1/2 of the time we purchased. Front desk is supposedly reimbursing us for the cost. Lighting on the outside walkways around our room was horrible - seemed unsafe for my wife walking back to the room by herself one evening. Overall though a very positive experience - nice facility - staff very helpful - very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top