$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

5 stars
5350 East Marriott Drive, 5350 EAST MARRIOTT DR, Phoenix, AZ 85054
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
29 reviews
Awesome Place to Stay

This resort was awesome. The staff was courteous and the hotel was very well maintained. Well done! See full review

  • Desert Traveler IA
  • Jul 14, 2014
Great Staycation

My daughters, now 11 & 13 and I have been going to the JW Marriott Desert Ridge since it opened. We... See full review

  • Dynamic75
  • Jul 7, 2014
Luxury, comfort and recreation in a picturesque location

This stunning AAA four-diamond Hotel provides guests with everything they need to make their stay comfortable and enjoyable. Set in the heart of the Arizona Sonoran Desert, the JW Marriot Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa provides beautiful views and luxury amenities and services, including a steam room, Jacuzzi and golf course. The hotel also features a stunning lobby and exquisite award-winning dining area, where guests enjoy a variety of Italian cuisine and poolside snacks. Grand ballrooms and meeting rooms are also located on-site.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Beautiful location offering stunning views of the city and mountains

  • AAA four-diamond award-winning hotel

  • Spa facilities available on-site

JW Marriot Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Rooms

All rooms within the JW Marriot Desert Ridge Resort & Spa offer unique decor and luxury amenities. The hotel houses 950 guestrooms and suites, all of which are non-smoking and equipped with a private balcony or patio, a mini-bar and luxury bedding. Guests have a choice of luxury suites, presidential suites, hospitality suites and executive suites. Luxury suites include a work desk and pantry. A Jacuzzi tub and dressing area are available for guests opting for a presidential suite. Hospitality suites are ideal for families and business guests, offering connecting rooms and an entertainment area whilst executive suites are ideal for those wishing to enjoy views of the hotel's surroundings from a private balcony. A 24-hour in-room dining service with a breakfast, lunch and dinner menu is available with each guestroom and suite. Guestrooms and suites with facilities for disabled guests are available upon request.

Things To Do:
  • Golf course (located on-site at the JW Marriot Phoenix Ridge Resort & Spa)

  • The Musical Instrument Museum (2.1 mi/3.3 km)

  • The Heard Museum (19.5 mi/30.5 km)

  • Arizona Science Center (20.9 mi/33.6 km)

  • Phoenix Convention Center (20.9 mi/33.6 km)

  • Downtown Phoenix (21 mi/33.7 km)

  • Desert Botanical Garden (23.2 mi/37.3 km)

Policies and fees
  • Please note that the minimum check-in age is 21 years old (unless traveling with another guest that is 21 years or older).
  • JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa is a smoke-free property
  • Valet parking is available for $27.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Game room
Jogging track
Tennis
Water skiing
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
Fire place
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Musical Instrument Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Western Destinations: 7.4 mi
  • Phoenix Mountain Preserve: 9.4 mi
  • America West Arena: 9.5 mi
  • Piestewa Peak: 9.9 mi
  • Wrigley Mansion: 11.6 mi
  • Camelback Mountain: 11.7 mi
  • Desert Botanical Garden: 15.4 mi
  • Heard Museum: 15.8 mi
  • Papago Park: 15.9 mi
  • Phoenix Zoo: 16 mi
  • Phoenix Art Museum: 16.2 mi
  • Pueblo Grande: 16.4 mi
  • Octane Raceway: 16.5 mi
  • Phoenix Children's Museum: 17 mi
  • Musical Instrument Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Western Destinations: 7.4 mi
  • Phoenix Mountain Preserve: 9.4 mi
  • America West Arena: 9.5 mi
  • Piestewa Peak: 9.9 mi
  • Wrigley Mansion: 11.6 mi
  • Camelback Mountain: 11.7 mi
  • Desert Botanical Garden: 15.4 mi
  • Heard Museum: 15.8 mi
  • Papago Park: 15.9 mi
  • Phoenix Zoo: 16 mi
  • Phoenix Art Museum: 16.2 mi
  • Pueblo Grande: 16.4 mi
  • Octane Raceway: 16.5 mi
  • Phoenix Children's Museum: 17 mi
  • The Rosson House: 17.1 mi
  • St. Mary's Basilica: 17.1 mi
  • Phoenix Civic Plaza Convention Center: 17.1 mi
  • Phoenix Theatre: 17.2 mi
  • Phoenix Symphony: 17.3 mi
  • Orpheum Theater: 17.3 mi
  • Wells Fargo History Museum: 17.3 mi
  • Chase Field: 17.4 mi
  • US Airways Center: 17.4 mi
  • Arizona Capitol Museum: 17.9 mi
  • Arizona Science Center: 18.3 mi
  • Jobing.com Arena: 19.9 mi
  • University of Phoenix Stadium: 20.1 mi
  • South Mountain: 21.8 mi
  • South Mountain Park: 24.2 mi

Dining

Stonegrill
Stonegrill features great food, in an upbeat urban atmosphere with simple, well executed American and regional Southwestern fare. Reservations Recommended.
twenty6
twenty6 lounge features the signature JW Marriott wine program and charcuterie. Its bar highlights hand crafted cocktails and local beers while offering fresh, small plates, perfectly presented.
Revive Spa Bistro
Featuring an out-of-this world menu, eating healthy never seemed so indulgent. Located in our Revive Spa and open to all guests, enjoy our chef's fresh, organic creations in serene indoor or outdoor settings.
Just a Splash Bar & Grill
A casual menu of salads, sandwiches, burgers and delicious appetizers highlight our poolside eatery. A full bar stands ready to mix up a soothing Kokopelli's Cabana Colada. Kids young and old will love the fresh fruit smoothies.
Meritage Steakhouse at Wildfire Golf Club
Enjoy aged steaks, seafood and poultry at this restaurant located at our Wildfire Golf Club. With stunning views, outdoor fire pits, a superb wine list and excellent service, Meritage is ideal for lunch and dinner. Reservations Recommended.
Roy's Pacific Rim
Roy is famed Hawaiian restaurateur Roy Yamaguchi, and his exciting menu features Hawaiian fusion cuisine with Asian influences and fresh local ingredients. The outside patio is a Phoenix hotspot for Happy Hour.
Starbucks®
Start your day with your favorite specialty coffees and fresh-baked pastries from Starbucks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (29)

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 29
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jun 21, 2009

Confusion

The hotel never received my Orbitz confirmation so they had no idea we were coming. It took forever to check in and we almost didnt get a room. Once we did get a room I remembered the movie ticket promotion and we went back to the desk later to receive my movie tickets. they again didnt have any idea what I was talking about and I had to return to the desk the next day again and speak with a manager to finally get my promotional movie tickets. As a result of this confusion I was charged twice for this trip and it will take more of my time to try and get this corrected. Orbitz charged me and now the Hotel charged me as well! [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AFT99
Business
Lexington
Aug 27, 2012

Overpriced, nickel and dime

I was here for a conference, and so had to stay because there is not really anything else close (unless you rent a car). Room was expensive and didn't have a microwave. No free Internet. Pools were nice but felt unclean, salty; like people were using them to rinse off. All restaurants were also overpriced, and it was easier to walk down the street to the shopping mall for decent food. Didn't golf or try the spa. Would not recommend if using this for a conference. Would only stay here if you wanted to pay top dollar for a golf-spa experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Would go down the street to get better food for your money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HollyT
Business
Reno, NV
Jul 16, 2011

Nice resort, but pricey

Lovely resort- clean, modern, and comfy. Only wish that for the price paid, the service were more comparable to the Four Seasons or the Ritz Carlton. I found the Daily $25 resort fees (plus tax) ridiculous. Wouldn't be so painful if it included valet, as the parking lot is far from the rooms. the outdoor patio is beautiful and inviting, the grassy lawn a hit for the kiddos to run around in at night, and Roy's restaurant delicious. The lazy river is a tad small, but very welcoming on a hot summer AZ day and is a hit with children, especially w the water slide.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jim fussy traveler
Business
Palm Desert, CA
Mar 8, 2011

Over priced!

The resort was very nice, however; all fees associated with room rates should be quoted. I was especially disappointed by the $25.00 per night valet fee. For $300.00 per night I expected a larger room. Average accomodations with a superior price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TitoG
Business
San Francisco CA
Nov 6, 2014

Great resort, not great room

Stayed here with wife for baby moon. This is a beautiful hotel with immaculate grounds, pools, facilities. Not sure if it was just our room but the bed was very uncomfortable, too hard, bad enough that we both had terrible sleep for 4 nights. TV was in very bad shape as far as functionality; screen cut out often. Room was near elevator which was extremely loud (#3551). The problems made me feel the stay was not worth the cost. If the room had been better I would give this hotel top marks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Farley Fam Vacay
Business
Phoenix Az
Jun 3, 2012

Wonderful Stay!!!

The pool was great! We have a 5 yr old daughter who loved the water slide. The food was good not great, and the drinks by the pool were 11-15 dollars so wait till happy hour 3-6 pm at blue sage and get them for 5 dollars instead. Loads to choose from as far as food goes. Grand Canyon is 3 hrs and 45 min away

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to happy hour at blue sage for 5 dollar drinks instead of buying them by the pool. You can always take them back to the pool.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sima
Business
Omaha, NE, USA
Apr 27, 2014

Dedicated to your pleasure

This is one of our favorite destinations. The staff at the JW Marriott are among the most attentive and pleasant in the hospitality industry. The hotel provides the perfect blend for both business and personal travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Windy City Gal
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 28, 2014

Great Hotel but not hassle-free

It's beautiful. Great spaces, but a few hassles. There is no hotel shuttle. I was told by an employee at the Desert Ridge that there was a shuttle to other Marriott Hotels in the area. There was not. There are about 4 towers of rooms, none of which are named or identified with signage. Lots of trips up and down to figure these out. I had 2 reservations which were supposed to be combined, until I got checked out after my first of 2 nights. Uh-oh. Then had to re-provide a card for charges on the second night. Also they do not believe in NBCSN, the main place for the Stanley Cup Playoffs. It was available in the bars on the site only, not in the guest rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patilbhau2001
Business
Omaha
Aug 31, 2009

Awesome hotel but terrible food!

Was at the Hotel for 6 days for a conference. Rooms were large, clean and well maintained. Check in was efficient. Small needs were met quickly and efficiently( they had put the wrong cable in the room, only one bathrobe). Pools are awesome. Service staff cannot be faulted. BUT..... the restaurants suck!!! 1. Blue Sage: slow service (waited for 35 mins for entree and never received drinks!) very short menu and dessert was stale. (yes!) 2. Vista Lounge: again very long wait(>30 min) with a dirty table. Short menu( only item which is filling and reasonable is "Mariott Burger" for $14.00 Martinis (ok) for $14.00 and above Sasha-mi was actually stale/old. 3.Splash by the pool: took them >30 min to get our salads. average. and then we found that the very hot/ warm chairs we were sitting on had been sat on by guests with wet bathing suits! (no one warned us, had to go back to change into new pair of pants!)below average service. Drinking water was pulled out from a nearby blue bin (which I, personally, saw being abused by small kid!!!) 3.Steakhouse: wait times of over 40 min at peak hours (went through this twice), food was aevrage, waiter were stressed and frequently beers, sodas and waters were missed. Food was c-. 4.Roys': Food was good but again, took them 25 min for entrees. I might go again in the coming winter, but will NEVER touch one of their restaurants!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
denver, co.
May 10, 2010

Great Hotel!

This is a great hotel and the staff are extremely friendly. The restaurants on site have fantastic food. Sometimes gets a little crowded with kids, but the hotel caters to them. So if you want a vacation without kids i would suggest somewhere else. Two wonderful golf courses. The deal we got was unbeatable , though. Don't do any buffet! Way too pricey!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top