$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 29, 2015 Check-out: Jul 1, 2015

JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

5 stars
View map of 5350 East Marriott Drive, 5350 EAST MARRIOTT DR, Phoenix, AZ 85054

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 33
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
golferjoe
Business
Oregon
Apr 27, 2014

Pretty great place to stay with a few hiccups.

We enjoyed our stay, the amenities and activities covered by the resort fee are plentiful. Make sure if you want a lounge chair at the pool you get there early, or you might have to stand. The golf course was in great shape and I was quite surprised at the speed which I was able to finish 18 holes. The only complaints I have was one night we called the front desk and asked for two plates be brought to our room. After waiting a half hour or more I called in-room dinning and was told a different department was taking care of my request and was transferred to that department and was told they didn't know about my request. They came up quickly, but with bowls. I was just happy to have them so I didn't say anything. Another night I had requested some silverware. Again we waited about 30 minutes, called, was transferred to a different department. They said someone would be right up with the silverware. After almost additional 30 minutes someone brought the silverware up. We did have an issue with the mini fridge not staying cold. Twice we had to call maintenance; they were very prompt about sending someone up to fix it. The second time seemed to do the trick.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TW Travels
Business
Carmel, Indiana
Apr 24, 2014

Amazing Property!

Tucked away on the far northside of Scottsdale is this oasis known as JW Marriott Desert Ridge. Incredible property just far enough away from the city for a nice escape, comfortable amenities, super staff, great pool area, first class spa and of course golf! This was a quick Spring Break get-away with my 16 yr old daughter and she enjoyed it too! Scored major "dad points" by scheduling her first facial at the spa and treating her to shopping at a nice outdoor mall area just across the road!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Johanna Traveller
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
Apr 8, 2014

Love it!

Very pleased with the overall experience. The pool staff is very attentive. Also, hotel has one of the best spas I've been to- excellent customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
IT2014
Business
Minnesota
Jan 29, 2014

Perfect Winter Getaway

We were looking for a long weekend getaway from the brutal northern winter and we weren't disappointed!! Beautiful resort with great amenities. So many that in four days we didn't have a chance to experience them all. We enjoyed the many dining options including outdoor dining and happy hour with live entertainment. The service was exceptional. We appreciated the fire pits on cool evenings, beautiful landscaping, relaxing spa, the several pools, and the lazy river. All of the staff seemed especially friendly and helpful. And even though several events were going on, it never seemed crowded or noisy. Our room was large, with great beds, marble bathroom with separate tub, and a private balcony. The resort is located close to the Music Museum and an easy to navigate drive to many other attractions. We hope to come back next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to the Music Museum - definitely worth it. And take in a concert if possible. Also check out local art and craft shows in nearby Cave Creek and Carefree. Don't miss the Botanical Gardens.

Review of JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marianne D.
Business
Massachusetts
Jan 17, 2014

OMG

I absolutely love this hotel. I travel 2-4 Times a year and this hotel is one of those trips each year. Beautiful, fun, hospitable, welcoming, friendly, great food and did choices. Just amazing. It's a must for everyone of all ages.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Try it all in the hotel as well as across the way in shopping plaza. Many great restaurant over there and great prices. Everyone in Arizona is friendly.

Review of JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GrantInOC
Business
Orange County
Sep 2, 2013

Great getaway

Property was very clean, staff was friendly and restaurants were delicious. The pool was a lot of fun, the lazy river was lazy and we look forward to going back soon. The Phoenix/Scottsdale area is beautiful. Lots of great golf if you are a golfer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PI Traveler
Business
Fresno, CA
Jun 20, 2013

PI Traveler

Very...Very nice place. Everyone was so nice it almost seemed odd. Not like California. I was there for work but it seemed like a vacation. I even signed up for my next vacation before I left. Everything anyone could want!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DRPDMD
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 11, 2013

Gorgeous Retreat

The resort and its surroundings are amazing. The staff is extraordinarily friendly and accommodating. I was there on a business trip so I didn't get to fully enjoy all its amenities. However, I will certainly be back in the future to take advantage of everything it has to offer. My only criticism would be the spa. I did use it the last day I was there, and I think that it is adequate. However, I would expect to see a more lavish spa at a place like this. Having been at some of the best spas around, this one leaves a lot to be desired. But again, I will definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AFT99
Business
Lexington
Aug 27, 2012

Overpriced, nickel and dime

I was here for a conference, and so had to stay because there is not really anything else close (unless you rent a car). Room was expensive and didn't have a microwave. No free Internet. Pools were nice but felt unclean, salty; like people were using them to rinse off. All restaurants were also overpriced, and it was easier to walk down the street to the shopping mall for decent food. Didn't golf or try the spa. Would not recommend if using this for a conference. Would only stay here if you wanted to pay top dollar for a golf-spa experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Would go down the street to get better food for your money.

Review of JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tdkb
Business
Airizona
Jul 9, 2012

Great hotel

The people were friendly everything was clean and neat and we really enjoyed ourselves I thought the staff did a fantastic job meeting every need that we hadI would say this is probably the finest hotel we ever stay at

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you bring lots of sunscreen if going to the pool.

Back to menu Return to top