$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Aug 30, 2014

JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

5 stars
5350 East Marriott Drive, 5350 EAST MARRIOTT DR, Phoenix, AZ 85054
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
28 reviews
Awesome Place to Stay

This resort was awesome. The staff was courteous and the hotel was very well maintained. Well done! See full review

  • Desert Traveler IA
  • Jul 14, 2014
Great Staycation

My daughters, now 11 & 13 and I have been going to the JW Marriott Desert Ridge since it opened. We... See full review

  • Dynamic75
  • Jul 7, 2014
Luxury, comfort and recreation in a picturesque location

This stunning AAA four-diamond Hotel provides guests with everything they need to make their stay comfortable and enjoyable. Set in the heart of the Arizona Sonoran Desert, the JW Marriot Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa provides beautiful views and luxury amenities and services, including a steam room, Jacuzzi and golf course. The hotel also features a stunning lobby and exquisite award-winning dining area, where guests enjoy a variety of Italian cuisine and poolside snacks. Grand ballrooms and meeting rooms are also located on-site.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Beautiful location offering stunning views of the city and mountains

  • AAA four-diamond award-winning hotel

  • Spa facilities available on-site

JW Marriot Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Rooms

All rooms within the JW Marriot Desert Ridge Resort & Spa offer unique decor and luxury amenities. The hotel houses 950 guestrooms and suites, all of which are non-smoking and equipped with a private balcony or patio, a mini-bar and luxury bedding. Guests have a choice of luxury suites, presidential suites, hospitality suites and executive suites. Luxury suites include a work desk and pantry. A Jacuzzi tub and dressing area are available for guests opting for a presidential suite. Hospitality suites are ideal for families and business guests, offering connecting rooms and an entertainment area whilst executive suites are ideal for those wishing to enjoy views of the hotel's surroundings from a private balcony. A 24-hour in-room dining service with a breakfast, lunch and dinner menu is available with each guestroom and suite. Guestrooms and suites with facilities for disabled guests are available upon request.

Things To Do:
  • Golf course (located on-site at the JW Marriot Phoenix Ridge Resort & Spa)

  • The Musical Instrument Museum (2.1 mi/3.3 km)

  • The Heard Museum (19.5 mi/30.5 km)

  • Arizona Science Center (20.9 mi/33.6 km)

  • Phoenix Convention Center (20.9 mi/33.6 km)

  • Downtown Phoenix (21 mi/33.7 km)

  • Desert Botanical Garden (23.2 mi/37.3 km)

Policies and fees
  • Please note that the minimum check-in age is 21 years old (unless traveling with another guest that is 21 years or older).
  • JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa is a smoke-free property
  • Valet parking is available for $27.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.6831 -111.9677
Area served
Scottsdale
Nearby airports
Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport, (PHX), 22.00, MI, NE; Scottsdale Municipal Airport, (SCF), 6.00, MI, NW; Phoenix Deer Valley Airport, (DVT), 7.10, MI, NE; Phoenix-Mesa Gateway Airport, (AZA), 60.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Resort, Location Type: Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Game room
Jogging track
Tennis
Water skiing
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
Fire place
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Musical Instrument Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Western Destinations: 7.4 mi
  • Phoenix Mountain Preserve: 9.4 mi
  • America West Arena: 9.5 mi
  • Piestewa Peak: 9.9 mi
  • Wrigley Mansion: 11.6 mi
  • Camelback Mountain: 11.7 mi
  • Desert Botanical Garden: 15.4 mi
  • Heard Museum: 15.8 mi
  • Papago Park: 15.9 mi
  • Phoenix Zoo: 16 mi
  • Phoenix Art Museum: 16.2 mi
  • Pueblo Grande: 16.4 mi
  • Octane Raceway: 16.5 mi
  • Phoenix Children's Museum: 17 mi
  • Musical Instrument Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Western Destinations: 7.4 mi
  • Phoenix Mountain Preserve: 9.4 mi
  • America West Arena: 9.5 mi
  • Piestewa Peak: 9.9 mi
  • Wrigley Mansion: 11.6 mi
  • Camelback Mountain: 11.7 mi
  • Desert Botanical Garden: 15.4 mi
  • Heard Museum: 15.8 mi
  • Papago Park: 15.9 mi
  • Phoenix Zoo: 16 mi
  • Phoenix Art Museum: 16.2 mi
  • Pueblo Grande: 16.4 mi
  • Octane Raceway: 16.5 mi
  • Phoenix Children's Museum: 17 mi
  • The Rosson House: 17.1 mi
  • St. Mary's Basilica: 17.1 mi
  • Phoenix Civic Plaza Convention Center: 17.1 mi
  • Phoenix Theatre: 17.2 mi
  • Phoenix Symphony: 17.3 mi
  • Orpheum Theater: 17.3 mi
  • Wells Fargo History Museum: 17.3 mi
  • Chase Field: 17.4 mi
  • US Airways Center: 17.4 mi
  • Arizona Capitol Museum: 17.9 mi
  • Arizona Science Center: 18.3 mi
  • Phoenix - Mesa: 18.9 mi
  • Jobing.com Arena: 19.9 mi
  • South Mountain: 21.8 mi
  • South Mountain Park: 24.2 mi
  • University of Phoenix Stadium: 6,985.9 mi

Dining

Stonegrill
Stonegrill features great food, in an upbeat urban atmosphere with simple, well executed American and regional Southwestern fare.
twenty6
twenty6 lounge features the signature JW Marriott wine program and charcuterie. Its bar highlights hand crafted cocktails and local beers while offering fresh, small plates, perfectly presented.
Tuscany
Our Desert Ridge restaurant, Tuscany, features authentic Northern Italian comfort cuisine, a fantastic list of well-priced wines, tempting desserts, and exceptional service warmly presented in richly contemporary yet casual surroundings.
Revive Spa Bistro
Featuring an out-of-this world menu, eating healthy never seemed so indulgent. Located in our Revive Spa and open to all guests, enjoy our chef's fresh, organic creations in serene indoor or outdoor settings.
Just a Splash Bar & Grill
A casual menu of salads, sandwiches, burgers and delicious appetizers highlight our poolside eatery. A full bar stands ready to mix up a soothing Kokopelli's Cabana Colada. Kids young and old will love the fresh fruit smoothies.
Meritage Steakhouse at Wildfire Golf Club
Enjoy aged steaks, seafood and poultry at this restaurant located at our Wildfire Golf Club. With stunning views, outdoor fire pits, a superb wine list and excellent service, Meritage is ideal for lunch, dinner or just an evening glass of wine.
Roy's Pacific Rim
Roy is famed Hawaiian restaurateur Roy Yamaguchi, and his exciting menu features Hawaiian fusion cuisine with Asian influences and fresh local ingredients. The outside patio is a Phoenix hotspot for Happy Hour.
Starbucks®
Start your day with your favorite specialty coffees and fresh-baked pastries from Starbucks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (28)

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 28
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Farley Fam Vacay
Phoenix Az
Jun 3, 2012

Wonderful Stay!!!

The pool was great! We have a 5 yr old daughter who loved the water slide. The food was good not great, and the drinks by the pool were 11-15 dollars so wait till happy hour 3-6 pm at blue sage and get them for 5 dollars instead. Loads to choose from as far as food goes. Grand Canyon is 3 hrs and 45 min away

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to happy hour at blue sage for 5 dollar drinks instead of buying them by the pool. You can always take them back to the pool.

Review of JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Desert Traveler IA
Des Moines, IA
Jul 14, 2014

Awesome Place to Stay

This resort was awesome. The staff was courteous and the hotel was very well maintained. Well done!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dynamic75
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 7, 2014

Great Staycation

My daughters, now 11 & 13 and I have been going to the JW Marriott Desert Ridge since it opened. We love doing 1 and 2 night staycations there. The staff is wonderful and the pools and grounds are always immaculate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Always look for packages that offer a resort credit, as food can be quite expensive in the hotel.

Review of JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Work01
Business
IL
May 23, 2014

Conference

Was very good and great service. Very clean rooms and very decent in hotel dining. The golf course is beautiful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

great italian food

Review of JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Windy City Gal
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 28, 2014

Great Hotel but not hassle-free

It's beautiful. Great spaces, but a few hassles. There is no hotel shuttle. I was told by an employee at the Desert Ridge that there was a shuttle to other Marriott Hotels in the area. There was not. There are about 4 towers of rooms, none of which are named or identified with signage. Lots of trips up and down to figure these out. I had 2 reservations which were supposed to be combined, until I got checked out after my first of 2 nights. Uh-oh. Then had to re-provide a card for charges on the second night. Also they do not believe in NBCSN, the main place for the Stanley Cup Playoffs. It was available in the bars on the site only, not in the guest rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sima
Omaha, NE, USA
Apr 27, 2014

Dedicated to your pleasure

This is one of our favorite destinations. The staff at the JW Marriott are among the most attentive and pleasant in the hospitality industry. The hotel provides the perfect blend for both business and personal travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
golferjoe
Oregon
Apr 27, 2014

Pretty great place to stay with a few hiccups.

We enjoyed our stay, the amenities and activities covered by the resort fee are plentiful. Make sure if you want a lounge chair at the pool you get there early, or you might have to stand. The golf course was in great shape and I was quite surprised at the speed which I was able to finish 18 holes. The only complaints I have was one night we called the front desk and asked for two plates be brought to our room. After waiting a half hour or more I called in-room dinning and was told a different department was taking care of my request and was transferred to that department and was told they didn't know about my request. They came up quickly, but with bowls. I was just happy to have them so I didn't say anything. Another night I had requested some silverware. Again we waited about 30 minutes, called, was transferred to a different department. They said someone would be right up with the silverware. After almost additional 30 minutes someone brought the silverware up. We did have an issue with the mini fridge not staying cold. Twice we had to call maintenance; they were very prompt about sending someone up to fix it. The second time seemed to do the trick.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TW Travels
Carmel, Indiana
Apr 24, 2014

Amazing Property!

Tucked away on the far northside of Scottsdale is this oasis known as JW Marriott Desert Ridge. Incredible property just far enough away from the city for a nice escape, comfortable amenities, super staff, great pool area, first class spa and of course golf! This was a quick Spring Break get-away with my 16 yr old daughter and she enjoyed it too! Scored major "dad points" by scheduling her first facial at the spa and treating her to shopping at a nice outdoor mall area just across the road!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Johanna Traveller
Salt Lake City, Utah
Apr 8, 2014

Love it!

Very pleased with the overall experience. The pool staff is very attentive. Also, hotel has one of the best spas I've been to- excellent customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
IT2014
Minnesota
Jan 29, 2014

Perfect Winter Getaway

We were looking for a long weekend getaway from the brutal northern winter and we weren't disappointed!! Beautiful resort with great amenities. So many that in four days we didn't have a chance to experience them all. We enjoyed the many dining options including outdoor dining and happy hour with live entertainment. The service was exceptional. We appreciated the fire pits on cool evenings, beautiful landscaping, relaxing spa, the several pools, and the lazy river. All of the staff seemed especially friendly and helpful. And even though several events were going on, it never seemed crowded or noisy. Our room was large, with great beds, marble bathroom with separate tub, and a private balcony. The resort is located close to the Music Museum and an easy to navigate drive to many other attractions. We hope to come back next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to the Music Museum - definitely worth it. And take in a concert if possible. Also check out local art and craft shows in nearby Cave Creek and Carefree. Don't miss the Botanical Gardens.

Review of JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marianne D.
Massachusetts
Jan 17, 2014

OMG

I absolutely love this hotel. I travel 2-4 Times a year and this hotel is one of those trips each year. Beautiful, fun, hospitable, welcoming, friendly, great food and did choices. Just amazing. It's a must for everyone of all ages.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Try it all in the hotel as well as across the way in shopping plaza. Many great restaurant over there and great prices. Everyone in Arizona is friendly.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search