$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2014 Check-out: Jul 22, 2014

Hyatt Regency Phoenix

4 stars
122 North 2nd St, PHOENIX, AZ 85004
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
113 reviews
Great stay in down

The location is perfect, parking is expensive 28 for valet and I don't know where I would have been... See full review

  • Danamo
  • Jul 2, 2014
Phoenix Vacation

The hotel was very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I had a great stay. My only... See full review

  • Swture
  • May 31, 2014
Business and pleasure mingle in an urban-chic environment
Though it's geared toward the savvy business traveler and is just across the street from the Phoenix Convention Center, tourists find it hard to resist downtown's stylish Hyatt Regency Phoenix. Cosmopolitan interior decor invigorates the senses with a modern dash of Southwest flavor that permeates a memorable brown, orange and aqua scheme. Renovated guest rooms soothe with earth tones and subtle patterns. Hyatt Regency Phoenix meets varied travel needs with four restaurants, a pool, a 24-hour business center and abundant meeting space.
Highlights
  • Complimentary 24-hour StayFit fitness center
  • Four dining options, one a sky-high revolving restaurant with panoramic views of the state capitol
  • Outdoor multiple-entry pool and Jacuzzi with expansive sundeck
  • In the heart of downtown, across from the Phoenix Convention Center
Location
Situated in downtown Phoenix on Copper Square. Walk to Chase Field, US Airways Center and theatrical and entertainment venues. Surrounded by office buildings, banking centers, medical and research facilities and government offices, Hyatt Regency Phoenix sits three miles from Sky Harbor International Airport.
Rooms
The 693 sophisticated urban accommodations at Hyatt Regency Phoenix welcome guests with signature Hyatt Grand Beds, Portico bath products and mountain or downtown views. Go high-tech with wireless Internet access (fees apply), two dual-line phones, an iHome alarm-clock radio, video checkout, video account review, and video messages on the 37-inch flat-screen television with cable movie channels and in-room pay movies. Smoking and hypo-allergenic rooms are available.
Features
Four restaurants, a gift shop, a salon, a currency exchange service and an ATM in the lobby top the list of Hyatt Regency Phoenix's smart conveniences. Guests can choose between a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center and Hyatt's YogaAway service, an 11-minute guided yoga video pre-programmed on each guest room television. Valet and self-parking available (fees apply).
Dining
Start the day at the on-site Einstein Brothers Cafe or the casual Terrace Cafe. Two restaurants offer additional choices: classic American favorites at Networks Bar and Grill. Make a reservation at Compass Arizona Grill, a view-laden revolving restaurant featuring a seasonal menu with fresh regional influences and an eyebrow-raising wine list.
Transportation
  • Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Scottsdale Municipal Airport (20 mi/32.2 km)
Attractions
  • Arizona State University Downtown Phoenix campus (across the street)
  • U.S. Airways Center (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Arizona Center shops (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Arizona Science Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Chase Field (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Phoenix Art Museum (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Phoenix Zoo (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Desert Botanical Garden (8.7 mi/14 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 48,000 square feet of event space
  • Across the street from the Phoenix Convention Center
  • Secretarial support service (fees apply)
  • Car rental desk
  • Currency exchange services

Hyatt Regency Phoenix Rooms

Business Plan
Elegant Southwest decor w/magnificent views, luxurious Hyatt Grand Bed, two 2-line phones, iron & board, vanity mirrors, coffee maker w/ coffe/tea, cable TV with On Demand movies, music, games, TV series. Includes: - One shirt or blouse pressed per room p
Standard
Elegant Southwest decor w/magnificent views, luxurious Grand Beds, two 2-line phones, iron & board, vanity mirror, coffee maker with coffee/tea, cable TV w/ On Demand movies, music, games, TV series, and wireless internet available.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Play ground
Racquetball courts
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Video checkout
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Cellular telephone rental
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hyatt Regency Phoenix also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.4498 -112.0719
Nearby airports
Phoenix Sky Harbor Intl Airport, (PHX), 4.00, MI, NW; Scottsdale Airport, (SCF), 20.00, MI, NE; Phoenix-Deer Valley Municipal Airport, (DVT), 20.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Phoenix Symphony: 0.1 mi
  • St. Mary's Basilica: 0.1 mi
  • Phoenix Civic Plaza Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Wells Fargo History Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Orpheum Theater: 0.2 mi
  • US Airways Center: 0.3 mi
  • The Rosson House: 0.4 mi
  • Phoenix Children's Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Chase Field: 0.4 mi
  • Phoenix Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Phoenix Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Arizona Capitol Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Heard Museum: 1.6 mi
  • South Mountain: 4.8 mi
  • Pueblo Grande: 5 mi
  • Phoenix Symphony: 0.1 mi
  • St. Mary's Basilica: 0.1 mi
  • Phoenix Civic Plaza Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Wells Fargo History Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Orpheum Theater: 0.2 mi
  • US Airways Center: 0.3 mi
  • The Rosson House: 0.4 mi
  • Phoenix Children's Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Chase Field: 0.4 mi
  • Phoenix Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Phoenix Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Arizona Capitol Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Heard Museum: 1.6 mi
  • South Mountain: 4.8 mi
  • Pueblo Grande: 5 mi
  • Arizona Science Center: 5.4 mi
  • Octane Raceway: 5.5 mi
  • Wrigley Mansion: 5.7 mi
  • Papago Park: 6.8 mi
  • Phoenix Zoo: 7 mi
  • South Mountain Park: 7.1 mi
  • Desert Botanical Garden: 7.2 mi
  • Piestewa Peak: 7.4 mi
  • Camelback Mountain: 7.6 mi
  • Phoenix Mountain Preserve: 8 mi
  • America West Arena: 9.3 mi
  • Western Destinations: 11.3 mi
  • Jobing.com Arena: 12.3 mi
  • Phoenix - Mesa: 15.2 mi
  • Musical Instrument Museum: 16 mi
  • University of Phoenix Stadium: 6,995.3 mi

Dining

Compass Arizona Grill
Revolving rooftop restaurant (24th floor) offering a panoramic view of the Valley of the Sun and downtown Phoenix. Featuring International cuisine with Southwestern flair. Reservations recommended. No Jeans allowed. (602)-440-3166.
Networks Bar Grill
Downtown's finest sports bar & grill featuring lunch and dinner with a generous variety of on - tap local, national and international brews, wines and spirits. Daily beverage specials with great American menu highlighting scrumptous burgers, regional sand
Terrace Cafe
The Terrace Cafe is an informal garden cafe in an open-air atrium setting. This cafe offers dining in a Southwest atmosphere.
Einsteins Bros. Bagels
Located on the lobby level with lobby and street access, enjoy a cappuccino and a breakfast bagel, soup, salad, sandwich or satisfying yogurt between meetings, or relax and savor a cup of Einstein's signature brew and a mudslide cookie nightcap.Wi-Fi acce

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (113)

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt Regency Phoenix

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
113 out of 113
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt Regency Phoenix

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
San Diego Rick
San Diego, CA.
Jul 24, 2013

WORST TREATMENT EVER RECIEVED!!!

My wife had made dinner reservations that we had to cancel due to a schedule conflict that had arisen. When she called to stop a room charge from being pushed through the person at the restaurant said to her, "Most people that stay a this hotel do not have to worry about refunds." Unbelievable way to talk down to your guests. That type of judging over the phone has permanently lost our future business. My wife was mortified at this inexcusable behavior. WE WILL NEVER BE BACK!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Hyatt Regency Phoenix

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukie
Dec 7, 2008

well....

the hyatt downtown is strange. It has nice sized rooms that are tasteful if bland. Phoenix is odd in that there is NO downtown scene (very few restraunts upscale bars or shopping.)The Hyatt is right in the middle of the financial district and a block from the Suns stadium and just a few blocks from where the Diamondbacks play but there is NOTHING for anyone to do other than go to a game and go back to your hotel swiftly order room service and sit. I do not suggest the bar downstairs for anything other than the appetizers which were great- do not order anything else. Some of the hotel staff were really great the doormen knew there stuff, maids very polite but there were others that were incredibly unprofessional. In the morning when returning from shopping in scotsdale (a 20 min drive)the valet came rushing out of the hotel yelling at the doorman. There were a couple of odd instances like that with staff. Just an overall sense of unprofessional behavior. The lobby and the rotating restraunt all need to to be updated think 90s southwest furniture and I think rotating restraunt says it all. Also we had a rediculous amount of trouble getting the internet to work. There were some high points- the rooms are big and the bed comfortable and very good room service. I would suggest going for a short walk to Pizza Bianca for dinner but be warned a 3+ hour wait can be a bit, but thankfuly they have a wine bar next door that has a nice selection of NW and northern california wines nice apps as well. The pizza place is fabulous, some of the best pizza I have ever had. You alsoshould walk 5 or 6 blocks or so to Matts Big Breakfast great food and fabulous orange juice. Its really small and Im sure the wait is terrible on the weekend so go durring the week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Regency Phoenix

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MB, SC
Jun 10, 2010

Need better organization

Upom arrival, which was an hour before check-in due to flight(2pm), I requested that the three rooms I had reserved be on the same floor. I was told no problem but it would take about 45 minutes, still 15 minutes before check-in, so the group agreed and we took a short walk and returned at 3:15. One room was ready and we were told a couple of minutes for the others. We did not get all three rooms until after 4 pm. I am a believer that all rooms should be ready for occupancy at check-in time; the hotel was full and I only got the third room we decided we needed due to a cancellation a week before arrival. No discount or any other considerations for the inconvience and long wait. The rooms were ordinary, which we expected, and very clean. the beds were very high; I am short and it was a little difficult to get in bed. The "downtown/mountain view" was a view of the convention center across the street. Check out went smoothly and I received the receipts I needed. I was extremely disappointed with the pool. It is a small area and the pool is very small with a maximum depth of 3 feet 9 inches. I am not very good with estimating measurements but I could not have swam across as it was too narrow, guessing maybe 6-7 foot wide and 10-15 feet long. The hot tub was almost as large as the pool! It was very nice and enjoyable. We were able to walk to the hotel where the conference was being held and to the Arizona Center, across from the Sheraton, for some meals and shopping. Forgot the name already but there is a great Mexican restaurant there. Also heard the Greek restaurant is very good. They also beautiful gardens, kind of like a small park to walk through with benches. Some of our group ate at the Hyatt's Einstein Cafe for breakfast and stated it was very good. We took the light rail twice to shopping centers. It was $3.50 round trip and well worth it. Cabs were more expensive but our ride to the airport was $18.00 for three people so not as bad as some reviews I had read on here. Overall it was good trip and I will not take this hotel off the list of places I would stay again, if the opportunity comes up. If we had only reserved one room it would probably have been ready and no problem. The only thing that made this a 2 instead of a 4 was the wait to check-in and size of the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Arizona Center- shopping and dining. Heard the Greek restaurant was great. Ate at 1130 The Restaurant; it was good but the Mexican Restaurant across from the Greek one was excellent. The waitress could not figure out how to separate the bills and so we got a bill for each item ordered- I had drink, entree and dessert so three checks to add together and pay. Never had that happen before but the food was excellent.

Review of Hyatt Regency Phoenix

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
EvanM
Business
Tucson
Oct 26, 2011

Poor value for the price; 2 nights = $100+ for internet & parking

This is a clean and nicely designed hotel. But for what you pay, you get very little value beyond pretty decor. The stingers are internet and parking. INTERNET: You'll pay $12.40 per 24 hours for EACH DEVICE. I logged into the hotel's wi-fi on my laptop and my phone. That meant two internet service charges each night: Almost $50 for a 2-night stay! I think it's ridiculous these days to have to pay for internet at my hotel. Cheap hotels don't charge for it -- why should a premium hotel? And they ding you again if you want to use wireless on your phone? PARKING: You have 3 options. Valet parking at the hotel is $27 a day! Self-park in the garage next-door is $12 per exit. So if you aren't planning to go anywhere once you park, that's what you'll pay. But if you even make one excursion, you're up to $24. Alternately, they'll sell you an unlimited in/out pass for $19 a day, but it has to be for every day of your stay. Park on the street? Not really an option. Phoenix meters charge up to 8PM on weekends, are $1.50 an hour, 2 hours max and only take coins. In the end, I paid more than $100 for parking and internet for a 2-night stay, arriving late Saturday and leaving Monday. Beyond that, the rooms are small, have no mini-fridge or mini-bar, no robes, the beds are OK but nothing special -- basically none of the things you'd expect as "premiums" for a premium hotel. So like I said -- the decor is very pretty. And the room was very clean. And you're in downtown Phoenix. And all added up, doesn't justify what you pay. Come hang out in the lobby, then go stay somewhere else where you get a better value for what you pay. Hyatt, you need to step up your game.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Regency Phoenix

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Frankfurt
Aug 15, 2007

Do not recommend

Overpriced on food. Parking, wireless internet No coffee or bagel for breakfast. Everything cost extra. The Bagelshop closed during business hours. Just an old Hotel making a leaving out of past glory.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Regency Phoenix

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RT52
Business
Fresno Ca.
Sep 14, 2012

not title

I didn't the room that was request or was discribed on my booking. Why? The hotel was not over booked. The Hotel was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Regency Phoenix

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MB, SC
Jun 10, 2010

Need better organization

Upom arrival, which was an hour before check-in due to flight(2pm), I requested that the three rooms I had reserved be on the same floor. I was told no problem but it would take about 45 minutes, still 15 minutes before check-in, so the group agreed and we took a short walk and returned at 3:15. One room was ready and we were told a couple of minutes for the others. We did not get all three rooms until after 4 pm. I am a believer that all rooms should be ready for occupancy at check-in time; the hotel was full and I only got the third room we decided we needed due to a cancellation a week before arrival. No discount or any other considerations for the inconvience and long wait. The rooms were ordinary, which we expected, and very clean. the beds were very high; I am short and it was a little difficult to get in bed. The "downtown/mountain view" was a view of the convention center across the street. Check out went smoothly and I received the receipts I needed. I was extremely disappointed with the pool. It is a small area and the pool is very small with a maximum depth of 3 feet 9 inches. I am not very good with estimating measurements but I could not have swam across as it was too narrow, guessing maybe 6-7 foot wide and 10-15 feet long. The hot tub was almost as large as the pool! It was very nice and enjoyable. We were able to walk to the hotel where the conference was being held and to the Arizona Center, across from the Sheraton, for some meals and shopping. Forgot the name already but there is a great Mexican restaurant there. Also heard the Greek restaurant is very good. They also beautiful gardens, kind of like a small park to walk through with benches. Some of our group ate at the Hyatt's Einstein Cafe for breakfast and stated it was very good. We took the light rail twice to shopping centers. It was $3.50 round trip and well worth it. Cabs were more expensive but our ride to the airport was $18.00 for three people so not as bad as some reviews I had read on here. Overall it was good trip and I will not take this hotel off the list of places I would stay again, if the opportunity comes up. If we had only reserved one room it would probably have been ready and no problem. The only thing that made this a 2 instead of a 4 was the wait to check-in and size of the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Arizona Center- shopping and dining. Heard the Greek restaurant was great. Ate at 1130 The Restaurant; it was good but the Mexican Restaurant across from the Greek one was excellent. The waitress could not figure out how to separate the bills and so we got a bill for each item ordered- I had drink, entree and dessert so three checks to add together and pay. Never had that happen before but the food was excellent.

Review of Hyatt Regency Phoenix

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Arizona
Apr 28, 2009

NOT A 5 STAR HOTEL BY FAR

We chose the Hyatt to celebrate our anniversary. Upon arrival to our room, we were placed in a handicap accessible room. We did not request this accommodation nor do we need it. Not very ROMANTIC either. Our view was a block wall. No sunlight access. The parking was very poor. All parking meters filled as well as parking garages near the hotel. The management did not provide a solution as a matter of fact he wanted to charge us for parking. The pool was littered with dirty towels. When I requested clean pool towels, it took room service an hour to deliver them. Not condusive for a romantic setting, outrageous parking fee's. Appears as though the hotel staff needs additional training. A moderately priced hotel would have been better. NOT WORTH THE MONEY!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Hyatt Regency Phoenix

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Arizona
Apr 28, 2009

NOT A 5 STAR HOTEL BY FAR

We chose the Hyatt to celebrate our anniversary. Upon arrival to our room, we were placed in a handicap accessible room. We did not request this accommodation nor do we need it. Not very ROMANTIC either. Our view was a block wall. No sunlight access. The parking was very poor. All parking meters filled as well as parking garages near the hotel. The management did not provide a solution as a matter of fact he wanted to charge us for parking. The pool was littered with dirty towels. When I requested clean pool towels, it took room service an hour to deliver them. Not condusive for a romantic setting, outrageous parking fee's. Appears as though the hotel staff needs additional training. A moderately priced hotel would have been better. NOT WORTH THE MONEY!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Hyatt Regency Phoenix

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukie
Dec 7, 2008

well....

the hyatt downtown is strange. It has nice sized rooms that are tasteful if bland. Phoenix is odd in that there is NO downtown scene (very few restraunts upscale bars or shopping.)The Hyatt is right in the middle of the financial district and a block from the Suns stadium and just a few blocks from where the Diamondbacks play but there is NOTHING for anyone to do other than go to a game and go back to your hotel swiftly order room service and sit. I do not suggest the bar downstairs for anything other than the appetizers which were great- do not order anything else. Some of the hotel staff were really great the doormen knew there stuff, maids very polite but there were others that were incredibly unprofessional. In the morning when returning from shopping in scotsdale (a 20 min drive)the valet came rushing out of the hotel yelling at the doorman. There were a couple of odd instances like that with staff. Just an overall sense of unprofessional behavior. The lobby and the rotating restraunt all need to to be updated think 90s southwest furniture and I think rotating restraunt says it all. Also we had a rediculous amount of trouble getting the internet to work. There were some high points- the rooms are big and the bed comfortable and very good room service. I would suggest going for a short walk to Pizza Bianca for dinner but be warned a 3+ hour wait can be a bit, but thankfuly they have a wine bar next door that has a nice selection of NW and northern california wines nice apps as well. The pizza place is fabulous, some of the best pizza I have ever had. You alsoshould walk 5 or 6 blocks or so to Matts Big Breakfast great food and fabulous orange juice. Its really small and Im sure the wait is terrible on the weekend so go durring the week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top