Hotel San Carlos

3 stars
202 North Central Avenue, Phoenix, AZ 85004
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
108 reviews
Loved this place

Absolutely zero problems. A real gem of a place to sleep. See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 7, 2014
Best deal in Phoenix

The best money for the location you get!! If you need to stay in Downtown Phoenix, look no further.... See full review

  • El Chicano
  • Dec 7, 2013
Hollywood Golden Age celebrity hangout in downtown Phoenix
This landmark Hotel San Carlos opened with great fanfare in 1928, and its doors have been open ever since. Throughout its history, an impressive roster of celebrities -- including Mae West, Marilyn Monroe and Spencer Tracy -- has graced its guest rooms. Today, the Hotel San Carlos is a fixture on the National Register of Historic Places where visitors find elegant details -- copper elevator doors, sparkling chandeliers, dramatic tapestries -- paired with modern touches like a rooftop pool, satellite TV and free high-speed Internet access.
Highlights
  • Within walking distance of the Phoenix Convention Center
  • Rooftop swimming pool and sun deck
  • Signature suites are dedicated to stars like Cary Grant, Marilyn Monroe, Spencer Tracy and Humphrey Bogart
Location
The Hotel San Carlos is located in the heart of downtown Phoenix, steps from attractions including the Orpheum Theatre, the Phoenix Convention Center, Symphony Hall and the Arizona Science Center.
Rooms
Each of the 128 guest rooms at the Hotel San Carlos has been individually decorated, giving guests a unique experience and plenty of reason to return again and again. In some rooms, soaring paneled headboards and floral accents evoke a French country house, while rich, dramatic fabrics in other guest rooms have a stately feel. All feature Serta mattresses, coffee-makers, satellite TV and free high-speed Internet access. 
Features
Soak up some Arizona sun at the Hotel San Carlos rooftop heated pool and sundeck, where ample potted plants give the feel of a desert oasis. 
Dining
For a great meal or relaxing drink, stop by Bistro 202 or the Ghost Lounge and Restaurant, both adjacent to the Hotel San Carlos lobby. Hotel neighbor Seamus McCaffrey's is a popular downtown Irish pub and restaurant featuring a full list of imported beers, Irish whiskey and top-shelf Scotch. 
Transportation
  • I-10 (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Airport shuttle available (fees apply) 
  • Light rail stop at hotel
Attractions
  • Orpheum Theatre (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Phoenix Convention Center (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Symphony Hall (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Comerica Theatre (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • US Airways Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Arizona Science Center (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Chase Field (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
Business
  • 24/7 fax and photocopy services 
  • Meeting and event space available 
  • Complimentary Internet kiosk
  • Free Internet access available hotel-wide

Hotel San Carlos Rooms

Queen - Single
Queen View room offers a view of downtown phoenix, features 1 queen bed, television with cable/satellite television channels. Includes, clock radio, coffee/tea maker, hair dryer, complimentary toiletries, iron/ironing board, blackout drapes/curtains, ceiling fan. Non-smoking only.
Economy - Queen
Standard Queen room is an interior room which features 1 queen bed, a private bath with a shower no bathtub. It also features a television with cable/satellite television channels. Includes, clock radio, coffee/tea maker, hair dryer, complimentary toiletries, iron/ironing board, blackout drapes/curtains, ceiling fan. Non-smoking only.
Double Room
Double Room View room offers a view of downtown phoenix, features 2 double beds, television with cable/satellite television channels. Includes, clock radio, coffee/tea maker, hair dryer, complimentary toiletries, iron/ironing board, blackout drapes/curtains, ceiling fan. non-smoking only.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Map

33.4506 -112.0742
Area served
Phoenix.
Nearby airports
Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport - 4.5 miles.
Area description
The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Phoenix's financial, government, and entertainment district, just steps away from many fabulous local Phoenix Attractions.

Nearby points of interest

  • Orpheum Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Wells Fargo History Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Phoenix Symphony: 0.2 mi
  • St. Mary's Basilica: 0.3 mi
  • Phoenix Civic Plaza Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • US Airways Center: 0.4 mi
  • The Rosson House: 0.5 mi
  • Phoenix Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Chase Field: 0.6 mi
  • Phoenix Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Phoenix Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Arizona Capitol Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Heard Museum: 1.5 mi
  • South Mountain: 4.9 mi
  • Pueblo Grande: 5.2 mi
  • Orpheum Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Wells Fargo History Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Phoenix Symphony: 0.2 mi
  • St. Mary's Basilica: 0.3 mi
  • Phoenix Civic Plaza Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • US Airways Center: 0.4 mi
  • The Rosson House: 0.5 mi
  • Phoenix Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Chase Field: 0.6 mi
  • Phoenix Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Phoenix Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Arizona Capitol Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Heard Museum: 1.5 mi
  • South Mountain: 4.9 mi
  • Pueblo Grande: 5.2 mi
  • Arizona Science Center: 5.6 mi
  • Octane Raceway: 5.7 mi
  • Wrigley Mansion: 5.7 mi
  • Papago Park: 7 mi
  • Phoenix Zoo: 7.1 mi
  • South Mountain Park: 7.2 mi
  • Desert Botanical Garden: 7.3 mi
  • Piestewa Peak: 7.4 mi
  • Camelback Mountain: 7.7 mi
  • Phoenix Mountain Preserve: 7.9 mi
  • America West Arena: 9.2 mi
  • Western Destinations: 11.3 mi
  • Jobing.com Arena: 12.2 mi
  • Musical Instrument Museum: 16 mi
  • University of Phoenix Stadium: 6,995.2 mi

Dining

Bistro 202
Open daily serving made to order breakfast and lunch.
Ghost Lounge & Restaurant
Taking it's name from the "Haunted" past, the Ghost Lounge serves up cocktails & dinner 7 nights a week.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel offers intimate space for up to 50 people for private business meetings, rehearsal dinners, or other private events. Please contact the sales office at 602-253-4121 ext. 156 for details.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (108)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel San Carlos

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
108 out of 108
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GuyFromYUma
Business
Yuma, AZ, USA
Oct 7, 2011

Great Location but Terrible Service

When we checked in the front desk the lady was rude and unhelpful. We asked her where we could park and she stated anywhere we liked. I asked her how much was the parking around the area and she stated she didn't know and did not offer valet.Then we got to the room and the room was Tiny. Another thing that was annoying was we could hear our neighbors through the ac vents and when someone was in the hall we could hear everything they were saying. The only reason we would stay there again is the location it was right down the street from the Comerica Theatre. We also loved the Bar next the hotel called Seamus Something; It was a cool irish pub. Oh and if you want to eat at the Cafe at the hotel it was called 202 Bistro the service was lousy and the food was overpriced. I recommend do not waste your time and money just go to subway across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a Parking Garage behind the hotel that was only twelve dollars a day compared to the Valet that cost 20 bucks, not including tips

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
R AND C
Business
CASA GRANDE,AZ
Oct 4, 2011

Overnight Trip

This hotel was alot of fun to stay at! YES,ITS OLD,but that was makes it so special and neat.Its beautiful inside.The walls are thin,so request upper levels.Dissapointed that we didnt see or hear any ghosts.Theatre very close.Alot of action and fun at the hotel.,probley due to the bar.It was perfect for a overnight stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Oct 3, 2011

Great, but needs rehab.

The experience was fine. However, the aesthetics are horrible. A hotel promotes itself as charming and historic when it does not want to spend money on new carpeting and paint. Also, it has the most pathetic business center I have ever seen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris in Pittsburgh
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Sep 30, 2011

Historic Hotel San Carlos

Very quaint historic hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff, great location. If you are looking for fancy with a lot of amenities, might not be for you but it was very clean and had an old world charm. The hotel was built in 1928 and many people like Cary Grant, Marilynn Monroe, Gary Cooper etc stayed there. Also the price was amazing. I'll stay there agin next time I am in Phoenix.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant in the Sheraton about 1 block away has a really good ny strip steak. Well worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Parental Units
Business
Lake Havasu City, AZ, USA
Sep 28, 2011

Good location for proximity to Chase Field.

Our stay at the hotel ended up being OK and we liked the close proximity to the AZ Diamondback's Chase Field. However, when we were en route to the hotel (we live 3.5 hours away), we called to see if we could check in early in order to be on time for the baseball game we were attending and we were told that they had no record of our reservation. They said they checked by name and reservation number and pretty much told us we would have to deal with it on our own and there was nothing they could do. My cheaptickets reservation copy had no phone number to call and being in the car, we had no computer access. It took me getting irate to have the hotel try to check with cheaptickets and by the time we arrived, they had it worked out. I was left wondering who had dropped the ball...cheaptickets or Hotel San Carlos? Pretty stressful when you wonder if you are going to have a place to stay after what was going to be a long day in Phoenix and the room had already been charged to our credit card.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zizus
Business
Ankara Province/Ankara, Turkey
Sep 26, 2011

San Carlos Hotel Review

The Hotel is in Downtown and have historical appearence near the others like Hyatt and Shereton. And being one of the guest of San Carlos is exactly more fabuluos than being one of the thousands of other hotel guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RJaL
Business
Bay Area
Sep 26, 2011

Close to Chase Field

We went to Phoenix for one night just to see a Diamondbacks game at Chase Field. The Hotel San Carlos met our needs. It was conveniently located on the metro line so it was only 15 minutes from the airport via light rail. And was a 5 minute walk to Chase Field. The pool is very nice and a lot of fun. We were upset that we did not see any paranormal activity. Overall this was a good hotel for an 18 hour stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Phoenix is the most boring big city in the world. There is absolutely nothing to do in Phoenix. Besides the Diamondbacks and the Suns there is nothing else in the Vally of the Sun. Everyone in the City told us if you want to party, shop (simple as Walgreens or for clothes), do anything go to Scottsdale or Tempe. My advise if you are going to Phoenix would be to rent a car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Megagauss
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Conference Stay

I booked the San Carlos becuase it was close to the conference I was attending for about half the price of the conference hotel. I enjoyed the history of the San Carlos. It was very close and convenient to everything I needed in the downtown area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Oswaldo
Business
Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico
Sep 23, 2011

Very well placed to attend events in Convention Center

The room are OK and clean. The acoustic isolation of walls and doors is quite poor, you can hear talks in hall and contiguous rooms. Breakfast is served in a small area and there are few people working at the kitchen so you have to wait for your food more that normally expeted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TanyaG
Business
Lincoln, NE, USA
Sep 23, 2011

Fantasitic place!

I like to travel and this was one of the interesting place in US that I have seen. I was feeling as I was in an art gallery. I bought a book for the history of the hotel and took a lot of picture of the hotel. So many famous people have visited it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top