$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 15, 2015

Hotel San Carlos

3 stars
View map of 202 North Central Avenue, Phoenix, AZ 85004

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel San Carlos

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CocaKatrina
Business
Huntsville, Alabama
Nov 15, 2012

Find somewhere else

The only good thing about this hotel is the location. The room had a strong smell of urine and carpet was filthy. I slept on top of the sheet with my clothes on, covered with a throw I brought on trip because the sheets looked dirty and dingy. The bathroom is full of history alright. The water pressure was low and the temperature kept changing from hot and cold in the shower. Unless you are on a budget, I absolutely would not recommend the hotel. Very disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
OD Traveler
Business
West Michigan
Oct 31, 2012

Nothing but location

Excellent location near the convention center and public transportation. Older building has some charm. Staff tries but seems under-trained. Walls are paper thin, and venting makes noise problems even worse. You will hear every word of your neighbor's conversation or other activities. I walked into my room and thought the TV was on. It was coming from next door. Even at low volumes it carries through. It's a below average hotel. Book it for the location if you can't afford to upgrade. Anything else nearby would be preferable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ELWei
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Oct 30, 2012

Great staff

Wonderful staff. We arrived at 7:30 am to drop off our luggage prior to my meeting. The receptionist said they had a room ready if we wanted to check in early. So great to be able to unpack and refresh prior to leaving for my meeting across the street. This is just one small example of how the staff went out of their way to make our stay an enjoyable one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spring Training 303
Business
Denver, CO
Sep 23, 2012

Great time

Historic hotel with lots of celebrity lineage. Rooms were nothing fancy, but the hotel was in a great location for walking around downtown and seeing all of the points on my itinerary. Only downside was no parking included but paid extra for hotel valet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Napa Traveler
Business
Napa, CA, USA
Jun 26, 2012

Classic property - great location

The San Carlos is a beautiful older hotel which has been nicely restored. Its location in downtown Phoenix was very convenient to the Convention Center, just 4 blocks away. We had a simple queen bed room with shower only. It was small but comfortable, clean and simple. The onsite restaurant is currently closed, but there are several good places to eat nearby. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Steve's Greenhouse Grill - 139 E. Adams St - looks like a sports bar, but is really quite nice and mellow, with a great menu and affordable prices for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Corner Bakery - in the Arizona Center at 3rd St and Van Buren - excellent food and prices for breakfast and lunch. Sam's Cafe - also in Arizona Center - tasty and creative southwest grill flavors.

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
commtraveler
Business
New York City
Apr 23, 2012

business trip

The location is good and the history behind the hotel is interesting, but the the actual room was pretty ordinary and felt more like a motel rather than a hotel. It's worth to experience if you're into the history behind this place, but if you're looking for comfort and good quality you may want to look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AZ Ron
Business
Kingman, AZ, USA
Feb 11, 2012

Historic Hotel

Only there 1 night. Close to everything. Good location to go to a basketball or baseball game.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jakfish
Business
Wisconsin
Jan 18, 2012

Downtown Phoenix

Super location downtown Phoenix - walking distance to Chase Field and the convention center. The staff was super friendly helpful in explaining local transportation and events happening downtown. Overall a very good experience - the rooms are small because of the age of the property - but we were there to see Phoenix not the inside of a hotel room - Can't beat the value for the location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tom's Tavern for breakfast - Eggs and Briskett totally awesome

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kathryn K.
Business
Sedona, AZ, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Old and loud

Location was good and if you like the charm of old places then it would be good, but not if you want any sort of modern conviences. Very old and small room, the bathroom was a closet and the buffet at the restuarant downstairs was unedible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Five Guys burger and fries was awesome!

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CamandLeila
Business
Detroit, MI, USA
Jan 1, 2012

Issues

Room ten bucks less on Orb the day we arrived. The hotel had no record of our reservation, had to prove it by opening my email for the agent to read. Met some friends at the ghost lounge. An hour and forty five mins to get food. Hotel atmosphere and decor was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

EAT SOMEWHERE ELSE UNLESS YOU HAE 2 HOURS T WASTE FoR MEDIOCRE FOOD.

Back to menu Return to top