$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 13, 2014 Check-out: Aug 15, 2014

Hotel San Carlos

3 stars
202 North Central Avenue, Phoenix, AZ 85004
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
155 reviews
Business Trip in Phoenix

I needed two rooms - one for my girlfriend and me and another for my parents. I was there for an... See full review

  • El Chicano
  • Dec 7, 2013
Best deal in Phoenix

The best money for the location you get!! If you need to stay in Downtown Phoenix, look no further.... See full review

  • El Chicano
  • Dec 7, 2013
Hollywood Golden Age celebrity hangout in downtown Phoenix
This landmark Hotel San Carlos opened with great fanfare in 1928, and its doors have been open ever since. Throughout its history, an impressive roster of celebrities -- including Mae West, Marilyn Monroe and Spencer Tracy -- has graced its guest rooms. Today, the Hotel San Carlos is a fixture on the National Register of Historic Places where visitors find elegant details -- copper elevator doors, sparkling chandeliers, dramatic tapestries -- paired with modern touches like a rooftop pool, satellite TV and free high-speed Internet access.
Highlights
  • Within walking distance of the Phoenix Convention Center
  • Rooftop swimming pool and sun deck
  • Signature suites are dedicated to stars like Cary Grant, Marilyn Monroe, Spencer Tracy and Humphrey Bogart
Location
The Hotel San Carlos is located in the heart of downtown Phoenix, steps from attractions including the Orpheum Theatre, the Phoenix Convention Center, Symphony Hall and the Arizona Science Center.
Rooms
Each of the 128 guest rooms at the Hotel San Carlos has been individually decorated, giving guests a unique experience and plenty of reason to return again and again. In some rooms, soaring paneled headboards and floral accents evoke a French country house, while rich, dramatic fabrics in other guest rooms have a stately feel. All feature Serta mattresses, coffee-makers, satellite TV and free high-speed Internet access. 
Features
Soak up some Arizona sun at the Hotel San Carlos rooftop heated pool and sundeck, where ample potted plants give the feel of a desert oasis. 
Dining
For a great meal or relaxing drink, stop by Bistro 202 or the Ghost Lounge and Restaurant, both adjacent to the Hotel San Carlos lobby. Hotel neighbor Seamus McCaffrey's is a popular downtown Irish pub and restaurant featuring a full list of imported beers, Irish whiskey and top-shelf Scotch. 
Transportation
  • I-10 (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Airport shuttle available (fees apply) 
  • Light rail stop at hotel
Attractions
  • Orpheum Theatre (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Phoenix Convention Center (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Symphony Hall (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Comerica Theatre (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • US Airways Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Arizona Science Center (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Chase Field (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
Business
  • 24/7 fax and photocopy services 
  • Meeting and event space available 
  • Complimentary Internet kiosk
  • Free Internet access available hotel-wide

Hotel Map

33.4506 -112.0742
Area served
Phoenix.
Nearby airports
Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport - 4.5 miles.
Area description
The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Phoenix's financial, government, and entertainment district, just steps away from many fabulous local Phoenix Attractions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel San Carlos also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel San Carlos Rooms

Queen - Single
Queen View room offers a view of downtown phoenix, features 1 queen bed, television with cable/satellite television channels. Includes, clock radio, coffee/tea maker, hair dryer, complimentary toiletries, iron/ironing board, blackout drapes/curtains, ceiling fan. Non-smoking only.
Economy - Queen
Standard Queen room is an interior room which features 1 queen bed, a private bath with a shower no bathtub. It also features a television with cable/satellite television channels. Includes, clock radio, coffee/tea maker, hair dryer, complimentary toiletries, iron/ironing board, blackout drapes/curtains, ceiling fan. Non-smoking only.
Double Room
Double Room View room offers a view of downtown phoenix, features 2 double beds, television with cable/satellite television channels. Includes, clock radio, coffee/tea maker, hair dryer, complimentary toiletries, iron/ironing board, blackout drapes/curtains, ceiling fan. non-smoking only.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Orpheum Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Wells Fargo History Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Phoenix Symphony: 0.2 mi
  • St. Mary's Basilica: 0.3 mi
  • Phoenix Civic Plaza Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • US Airways Center: 0.4 mi
  • The Rosson House: 0.5 mi
  • Phoenix Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Chase Field: 0.6 mi
  • Phoenix Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Phoenix Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Arizona Capitol Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Heard Museum: 1.5 mi
  • South Mountain: 4.9 mi
  • Pueblo Grande: 5.2 mi
  • Orpheum Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Wells Fargo History Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Phoenix Symphony: 0.2 mi
  • St. Mary's Basilica: 0.3 mi
  • Phoenix Civic Plaza Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • US Airways Center: 0.4 mi
  • The Rosson House: 0.5 mi
  • Phoenix Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Chase Field: 0.6 mi
  • Phoenix Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Phoenix Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Arizona Capitol Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Heard Museum: 1.5 mi
  • South Mountain: 4.9 mi
  • Pueblo Grande: 5.2 mi
  • Arizona Science Center: 5.6 mi
  • Octane Raceway: 5.7 mi
  • Wrigley Mansion: 5.7 mi
  • Papago Park: 7 mi
  • Phoenix Zoo: 7.1 mi
  • South Mountain Park: 7.2 mi
  • Desert Botanical Garden: 7.3 mi
  • Piestewa Peak: 7.4 mi
  • Camelback Mountain: 7.7 mi
  • Phoenix Mountain Preserve: 7.9 mi
  • America West Arena: 9.2 mi
  • Western Destinations: 11.3 mi
  • Jobing.com Arena: 12.2 mi
  • Phoenix - Mesa: 15.3 mi
  • Musical Instrument Museum: 16 mi
  • University of Phoenix Stadium: 6,995.2 mi

Dining

Bistro 202
Open daily serving made to order breakfast and lunch.
Ghost Lounge & Restaurant
Taking it's name from the "Haunted" past, the Ghost Lounge serves up cocktails & dinner 7 nights a week.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel offers intimate space for up to 50 people for private business meetings, rehearsal dinners, or other private events. Please contact the sales office at 602-253-4121 ext. 156 for details.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (155)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel San Carlos

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
155 out of 155
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr MVD
Business
Mobile
Nov 11, 2011

Excellent Downtown value

very nice historic hotel with comfort and great rate neat historical decor and art work throughout great time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Science museum

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coach Jones
Business
Washington, DC
May 5, 2013

Good location, Good deal

It's not luxurious, but the San Carlos' room was clean, the bed was comfortable and it was conveniently located to all the things I needed/wanted to do and the staff was friendly and helpful. I wished for a better map of the area, but that's a problem in nearly all hotel in-room guides, and a broader cable channel selection. That said, the WiFi was complimentary and fast and there was a lot of historic charm to the hotel. I'd stay again and would recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a good map of the city, especially downtown Phoenix,and learn about the light rail system. It will make it easier to get around easily and comfortably.

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Convention Traveler 5000
Business
Bowler, Wisconsin
Mar 29, 2013

Awesome for conventions

Rooms were a bit small (Not Microtel small, but smaller than average) but VERY clean with newer comfortable beds and a very friendly staff. A historical hotel with Marilyn Monroe and Spencer Tracy's usual suites marked. Lots of original components to keep it interesting, but newer added to ensure modern comfort. This hotel was close to the convention center and even with a bad back, I can walk 2 short blocks! Parking is awful and expensive, but I would never have even rented a car had I known how close it was!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't need a car for convention center, shopping or entertainment! It's all there!

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Moushen
Salt Lake City, UT
Mar 18, 2013

Great location

If you are going to Phoenix for a conference at the Phoenix conference center and don't want to spend an arm and a leg for hotel, this is a good hotel. It is an older hotel and not fancy but it is clean. The room I had was quite small but I was not there to stay in the room. There is no room service but there are a few quick eats in the area. The conference center is 3 blocks away! The hotel has central air and the room was a little chilly and you could not regulate it very well from the room. The bed was on the firm side but it was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Conference Center

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tee Bird
Santa Fe, NM
Mar 17, 2013

Great location in downtown Phoenix - historic site

This is an historic hotel, so there are some unusual features in the room - an old radiator, a step-up bathroom, and a left-over old chilled water faucet. I did not mind these - it lent to the charm. Lots of old artifacts and photos showcase the history of the building and of phoenix. The location was fabulous - close to the rocking Cityscape scene and museums, but relatively quiet too. There's an exercise room which is pretty good, and a rooftop pool which could benefit from a few updated chaise lounges (the furniture was mostly upright chairs). There's a nice restaurant in the building, but far superior eateries are close too. We went to Phoenix for the Eric Clapton kickoff concert for his tour and were really surprised how hip and upscale the downtown area has become. FUN!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

District American Eatery and Wine Bar, located in the Sheraton. Great food, good wine selection, stays open late.

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WBCBaseballFan
USA
Mar 11, 2013

You get what you pay for ...

There's no doubt the price and location of the hotel are great. Plus, the hotel's history is cool. But this is a good example of "you get what you pay for". The walls are VERY thin (you can hear normal-level conversations in adjacent rooms#, the shower plumbing is old #water temperature fluctuates drastically), and my mattress was awful. Plus, the front-desk staff when I checked in was rude. Thankfully when I checked out, the front desk agent was very helpful in getting me a taxi. If I had to do it all over again, I would pay more for a newer hotel and friendlier staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
allee2295
Business
Chino Valley, AZ
Mar 9, 2013

Downtown Phoenix

I like to stay in interesting places and this was one! While they don't have dedicated self-parking, there is valet parking and lots of city parking nearby. My room was small, but very nice. The hotel is near the convention center, which was important to me. The pool deck was lovely to sit and read in the early evening. The only downside was that my room was next to the elevators which were noisy. I would definately stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
aidonsmom
Business
tucson
Feb 20, 2013

overpriced parking

They charged 20.00$ daily to park your car. It was not advertised that way. There is no other option presented to you when you arrive. The travel website said 12.00 for parking daily and the hotel staff were pretty rude about it. it bascially cost me another 80.00 for me to stay at the cheapest hotel near the conference center. Ice machine on only one floor and not mine.. it is a very old hotel.. and thought it would save money to stay there.. within walking distance of the conference.. will likely pay more next time and not stay there for 20.00 per night (that is if you use your vehicle or NOT) .. I had to walk to CVS to get a new toothbrush as the hotel said - "they were out" it was after 8 pm

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to shopping and CVS for snacks and affordable items you forgot to pack.. hotel staff really not to interested in assisting you with much

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ABR27
San Mateo, California
Feb 19, 2013

Good Value and Location, Friendly Staff, Quirky

Hotel San Carlos is one of those quirky old hotels that can be a good value in a good location if you don't mind smaller, older, but clean rooms. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. If I were going back to this area I would probably stay in Scottsdale because it's a bit livelier, but if I needed to be in downtown Phoenix, I'd come back to Hotel San Carlos.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
honest occupant
Phoenix, AZ
Jan 20, 2013

DO NOT STAY HERE

This was the worst hotel experience I've ever had! The rooms are tiny and gross and definitely not worth the price! The worst part about this place is the loud music coming from the club on the main level. We were on the 3rd floor and couldn't sleep until they were done after 2:30am because it was so loud in our room! DO NOT STAY HERE! This place is horrible!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
navyrn
Business
Byron, IL
Jan 14, 2013

Good Location

Hotel was located close to the convention center. European styling was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top