$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2015 Check-out: Sep 27, 2015

Hotel San Carlos

3 stars
View map of 202 North Central Avenue, Phoenix, AZ 85004

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel San Carlos

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
118 out of 118
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
conferencetravelers
Business
Irvine, CA
Apr 7, 2014

convention visit, necessities were met but nothing fancy

I just stayed at the San Carlos Hotel and I had a plesant stay. The hotel is in the middle of downtown Phoenix, which is incredibly convenient to travel to bars, restaurants, and the convention center by foot. It is a historic site which has been refurbished, so if that is your cup of tea, you will be thrilled with the stay. The bed was stiff and noisy, and there was nonexistent temperature control with the AC blasting the entire time (old school radiators were in the room but did not seem to work too well after fiddling with the controls). The staff is very friendly and helpful. Also note, parking is Valet ONLY, so be prepared for an extra $20 per night for your car (plus tip when the valet brings it to you). It is unlimited in/out privileges, but if you get into Phoenix after 5PM on friday not, street parking at any meter is free until 8AM Monday. Overall the stay was nice. Hope this review helps someone when booking a hotel in DT Phoenix.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of choices within walking distance.

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
H and H Tech
Business
North Texas
Apr 4, 2014

Interesting Hotel

Pros - Great downtown location. Very friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable and quiet. Supposedly Haunted. Cons - Keep in mind this is an 86 year old hotel. While well maintained, it is definitely a "period piece" hotel. The rooms are small (maybe "cozy"), but enough space for a desk and chair. The bathroom was TINY, I mean you could turn on the sink and shower wile sitting on the throne tiny. Internet was sketchy at best. Supposedly Haunted. Overall - This is NOT a Hyatt/Hilton/Regency. This is an old historic downtown hotel. While I think staying an extended time might turn the charming into annoying, the 1 or 2 night trip its perfect. Not having reliable internet is a deal breaker for the typical business traveler. The friendly, helpful staff and the great location make up for a lot. Would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Day trip to downtown from the airport?- Skip the rental car ( a nightmare at PHX) take the train to the corner of 1st and Monroe and you are in the heart of downtown!

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed Lori
Couples
Phoenix, Az
Mar 30, 2014

The worst hotel stay I've had

This hotel was easily the worst hotel stay I have ever had. The walls are thin and we were constantly woken up until the middle of the night with voices. I liked the old feel but the room was a shoebox and the shower was so small you could not even move. I would never stay here again and suggest you don't try it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gift Whisperer
Couples
Fremont, California
Mar 16, 2014

Great for a night in the city

My experience was great! The staff are friendly and courteous. The rooms are clean and you just can't beat the city view and historical value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Redwingsfan
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Mar 13, 2014

Business mixed with pleasure

We stayed for a conference but had a few days to play also. this hotel is very quaint the age of it added a lot to the experience, it was clean, the pool area was awesome. the desk staff was so so however the valet guys were excellent! The only issues we had were the size of the room, it (standard) was a bit small for two people to stay in for a whole week and the noise...every conversation and other more intimate noises coming from the hallways and rooms next door were as if they were in the room with you. I'd stay here again if on a pleasure only trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

the Irish bar next door is excellent!!!! so was Maryvale Park, Go Brewers!!!

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
meaha
Business
twin falls idaho
Mar 13, 2014

business/fun getaway

It was a very interesting stay. I loved to learn the history Of the hotel. The staff was awesome but the walls are paper thin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Else2983
Couples
Flint, MI
Mar 13, 2014

Great historic hotel!

Great value, yummy restaurant just off the lobby, great downtown location, close to the light rail. The Hotel San Carlos is a wonderful fun hotel if you like historic hotels and a good story(supposedly haunted). We had a great time and all the employees were so helpful and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dine at The Hyatt Hotel's Compass Restaurant(rotating restaurant!) on the top floor. Great food, drinks, and a friendly waitstaff.

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spicy Biscuit
Business
Olympia, WA
Mar 8, 2014

San Carlos

Interesting place. The older fixturing was like staying at my Grandma's house. Kind of scary at first, but turned out to be very clean and functional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Nice Irish pub and Vietmanese restuarant right in the same building.

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Boston Markie
Couples
Chandler AZ
Dec 9, 2013

Anniversary

Rooms very small but nice, no view, bathroom VERY small, noisy, walls like paper, no security to keep guests quiet at 3:00 AM, called front desk no answer finally checked out at 3:30AM took 40 minutes to find a valet to retrieve my car to go home and sleep. This hotel is in a great location, old but nice, decent price. I am assuming it was the group in house that was noisy, but hotel staff needs to keep it under control. It was worse than my college dorm. It would have helped if the man at the desk at 3:30 apologized or offered to move us but, he just acted like we made things up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Irish Pub and Vietnameese restaurant in the hotel were nice and fun

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
El Chicano
Couples
Centreville, VA
Dec 7, 2013

Best deal in Phoenix

The best money for the location you get!! If you need to stay in Downtown Phoenix, look no further. The staff are great and you will get better than first class treatment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top