$141 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 27, 2014

Hotel San Carlos

3 stars
202 North Central Avenue, Phoenix, AZ 85004
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
109 reviews
Loved this place

Absolutely zero problems. A real gem of a place to sleep. See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 7, 2014
Best deal in Phoenix

The best money for the location you get!! If you need to stay in Downtown Phoenix, look no further.... See full review

  • El Chicano
  • Dec 7, 2013
Hollywood Golden Age celebrity hangout in downtown Phoenix
This landmark Hotel San Carlos opened with great fanfare in 1928, and its doors have been open ever since. Throughout its history, an impressive roster of celebrities -- including Mae West, Marilyn Monroe and Spencer Tracy -- has graced its guest rooms. Today, the Hotel San Carlos is a fixture on the National Register of Historic Places where visitors find elegant details -- copper elevator doors, sparkling chandeliers, dramatic tapestries -- paired with modern touches like a rooftop pool, satellite TV and free high-speed Internet access.
Highlights
  • Within walking distance of the Phoenix Convention Center
  • Rooftop swimming pool and sun deck
  • Signature suites are dedicated to stars like Cary Grant, Marilyn Monroe, Spencer Tracy and Humphrey Bogart
Location
The Hotel San Carlos is located in the heart of downtown Phoenix, steps from attractions including the Orpheum Theatre, the Phoenix Convention Center, Symphony Hall and the Arizona Science Center.
Rooms
Each of the 128 guest rooms at the Hotel San Carlos has been individually decorated, giving guests a unique experience and plenty of reason to return again and again. In some rooms, soaring paneled headboards and floral accents evoke a French country house, while rich, dramatic fabrics in other guest rooms have a stately feel. All feature Serta mattresses, coffee-makers, satellite TV and free high-speed Internet access. 
Features
Soak up some Arizona sun at the Hotel San Carlos rooftop heated pool and sundeck, where ample potted plants give the feel of a desert oasis. 
Dining
For a great meal or relaxing drink, stop by Bistro 202 or the Ghost Lounge and Restaurant, both adjacent to the Hotel San Carlos lobby. Hotel neighbor Seamus McCaffrey's is a popular downtown Irish pub and restaurant featuring a full list of imported beers, Irish whiskey and top-shelf Scotch. 
Transportation
  • I-10 (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Airport shuttle available (fees apply) 
  • Light rail stop at hotel
Attractions
  • Orpheum Theatre (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Phoenix Convention Center (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Symphony Hall (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Comerica Theatre (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • US Airways Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Arizona Science Center (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Chase Field (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
Business
  • 24/7 fax and photocopy services 
  • Meeting and event space available 
  • Complimentary Internet kiosk
  • Free Internet access available hotel-wide

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel San Carlos also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel San Carlos Rooms

Queen - Single
Queen View room offers a view of downtown phoenix, features 1 queen bed, television with cable/satellite television channels. Includes, clock radio, coffee/tea maker, hair dryer, complimentary toiletries, iron/ironing board, blackout drapes/curtains, ceiling fan. Non-smoking only.
Economy - Queen
Standard Queen room is an interior room which features 1 queen bed, a private bath with a shower no bathtub. It also features a television with cable/satellite television channels. Includes, clock radio, coffee/tea maker, hair dryer, complimentary toiletries, iron/ironing board, blackout drapes/curtains, ceiling fan. Non-smoking only.
Double Room
Double Room View room offers a view of downtown phoenix, features 2 double beds, television with cable/satellite television channels. Includes, clock radio, coffee/tea maker, hair dryer, complimentary toiletries, iron/ironing board, blackout drapes/curtains, ceiling fan. non-smoking only.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Orpheum Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Wells Fargo History Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Phoenix Symphony: 0.2 mi
  • St. Mary's Basilica: 0.3 mi
  • Phoenix Civic Plaza Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • US Airways Center: 0.4 mi
  • The Rosson House: 0.5 mi
  • Phoenix Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Chase Field: 0.6 mi
  • Phoenix Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Phoenix Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Arizona Capitol Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Heard Museum: 1.5 mi
  • South Mountain: 4.9 mi
  • Pueblo Grande: 5.2 mi
  • Orpheum Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Wells Fargo History Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Phoenix Symphony: 0.2 mi
  • St. Mary's Basilica: 0.3 mi
  • Phoenix Civic Plaza Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • US Airways Center: 0.4 mi
  • The Rosson House: 0.5 mi
  • Phoenix Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Chase Field: 0.6 mi
  • Phoenix Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Phoenix Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Arizona Capitol Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Heard Museum: 1.5 mi
  • South Mountain: 4.9 mi
  • Pueblo Grande: 5.2 mi
  • Arizona Science Center: 5.6 mi
  • Octane Raceway: 5.7 mi
  • Wrigley Mansion: 5.7 mi
  • Papago Park: 7 mi
  • Phoenix Zoo: 7.1 mi
  • South Mountain Park: 7.2 mi
  • Desert Botanical Garden: 7.3 mi
  • Piestewa Peak: 7.4 mi
  • Camelback Mountain: 7.7 mi
  • Phoenix Mountain Preserve: 7.9 mi
  • America West Arena: 9.2 mi
  • Western Destinations: 11.3 mi
  • University of Phoenix Stadium: 12.1 mi
  • Jobing.com Arena: 12.2 mi
  • Musical Instrument Museum: 16 mi

Dining

Bistro 202
Open daily serving made to order breakfast and lunch.
Ghost Lounge & Restaurant
Taking it's name from the "Haunted" past, the Ghost Lounge serves up cocktails & dinner 7 nights a week.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel offers intimate space for up to 50 people for private business meetings, rehearsal dinners, or other private events. Please contact the sales office at 602-253-4121 ext. 156 for details.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (109)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel San Carlos

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 109
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RJaL
Business
Bay Area
Sep 26, 2011

Close to Chase Field

We went to Phoenix for one night just to see a Diamondbacks game at Chase Field. The Hotel San Carlos met our needs. It was conveniently located on the metro line so it was only 15 minutes from the airport via light rail. And was a 5 minute walk to Chase Field. The pool is very nice and a lot of fun. We were upset that we did not see any paranormal activity. Overall this was a good hotel for an 18 hour stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Phoenix is the most boring big city in the world. There is absolutely nothing to do in Phoenix. Besides the Diamondbacks and the Suns there is nothing else in the Vally of the Sun. Everyone in the City told us if you want to party, shop (simple as Walgreens or for clothes), do anything go to Scottsdale or Tempe. My advise if you are going to Phoenix would be to rent a car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wrighwood, California
Apr 11, 2011

Good Location

Traveled to Phoenix to attend two sporting events. The Hotel San Carlos is within walking distance to both Chase Feild and U.S. Airways Arena; however, it is about 10 miles from Jobbing.com Arena in nearby Glendale. The hotel is historic, so expect it to be dated with challenges inherent to its age. It is clean, however, and in a great location within the downtown. The Irish Pub next door is a good place to have a drink, but I do not recommend the food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

All the downtown attractions are within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Evy's Mimi
Business
Kenosha WI
Jul 26, 2013

Great historic boutique hotel

The staff were helpful and friendly. I appreciate old buildings, so the age and size did not bother me. The unique history of the building made it all the more interesting. My friend and I had fun anticipating a ghost around every corner. We also enjoyed the rooftop pool as well as the easy access to the light rail. All around a great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The light rail was two blocks away and a great way to get around the valley.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Travel Guru
Business
California
Nov 22, 2013

Great staff - above and beyond

A friend and I stayed at the San Carlos last week and enjoyed the retro ambience of the hotel. The hotel still has an elegance from another era that sets it apart from modern chain hotels. The service was fantastic-front desk quick and efficient. The best part was our valet, who shared stories of the San Carlos and answered our questions regarding the haunted history of the hotel. He even took care of our luggage. Great employee, ask for Ben!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Copper Blues and Comedy club close by. Great French/Asian cuisine at the San Carlos.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ventura County, Ca.
Jul 4, 2011

Perfect price & location!!

Scheduled a last minute trip to Phoenix. The location for Hotel San Carlos is perfect. Easy access to the trains. The hotel is older (built in the 20's) but in great condition. The staff was very knowledgable of the area, history & the "ghostly stories" of the hotel. I'd definately stay there again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

I needed to get to the US Airways Center. You can walk the 5 short blocks or use the street car. $1.50 each way or $3.00 all day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Laura Lai
Business
San Diego, CA
Jul 27, 2009

Great for my baseball weekend

I was in Phoenix for a couple of Diamondbacks games. The proximity to the park is great. The hotel has a club on the ground floor. Music from that club was loud enough to be heard in my fourth floor room. It was not enough to keep me awake but it was certainly noticeable. It's a bit of a difficult place on weekends. The majority of the surrounding businesses were closed. We had some trouble finding a place to get some breakfast on Saturday morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It is a short walk from Chase Field and US Airways Arena.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tucson
Aug 7, 2008

Poor Experience

It was at first a funky hotel. I understood they were doing some construction. However, I did not think it was going to go through the night. It was very noisy!! They broke a pipe and we had no water. I called the front desk and the young man was very rude. Under the circumstances that is not the attutude I expected. In today's economic state personal service is everything. Obviously this was not the case. Needless to say I will not be going back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Theaters, dining, baseball game, museums.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top