$141 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 2, 2014

Hotel San Carlos

3 stars
202 North Central Avenue, Phoenix, AZ 85004
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
108 reviews
Loved this place

Absolutely zero problems. A real gem of a place to sleep. See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 7, 2014
Best deal in Phoenix

The best money for the location you get!! If you need to stay in Downtown Phoenix, look no further.... See full review

  • El Chicano
  • Dec 7, 2013
Hollywood Golden Age celebrity hangout in downtown Phoenix
This landmark Hotel San Carlos opened with great fanfare in 1928, and its doors have been open ever since. Throughout its history, an impressive roster of celebrities -- including Mae West, Marilyn Monroe and Spencer Tracy -- has graced its guest rooms. Today, the Hotel San Carlos is a fixture on the National Register of Historic Places where visitors find elegant details -- copper elevator doors, sparkling chandeliers, dramatic tapestries -- paired with modern touches like a rooftop pool, satellite TV and free high-speed Internet access.
Highlights
  • Within walking distance of the Phoenix Convention Center
  • Rooftop swimming pool and sun deck
  • Signature suites are dedicated to stars like Cary Grant, Marilyn Monroe, Spencer Tracy and Humphrey Bogart
Location
The Hotel San Carlos is located in the heart of downtown Phoenix, steps from attractions including the Orpheum Theatre, the Phoenix Convention Center, Symphony Hall and the Arizona Science Center.
Rooms
Each of the 128 guest rooms at the Hotel San Carlos has been individually decorated, giving guests a unique experience and plenty of reason to return again and again. In some rooms, soaring paneled headboards and floral accents evoke a French country house, while rich, dramatic fabrics in other guest rooms have a stately feel. All feature Serta mattresses, coffee-makers, satellite TV and free high-speed Internet access. 
Features
Soak up some Arizona sun at the Hotel San Carlos rooftop heated pool and sundeck, where ample potted plants give the feel of a desert oasis. 
Dining
For a great meal or relaxing drink, stop by Bistro 202 or the Ghost Lounge and Restaurant, both adjacent to the Hotel San Carlos lobby. Hotel neighbor Seamus McCaffrey's is a popular downtown Irish pub and restaurant featuring a full list of imported beers, Irish whiskey and top-shelf Scotch. 
Transportation
  • I-10 (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Airport shuttle available (fees apply) 
  • Light rail stop at hotel
Attractions
  • Orpheum Theatre (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Phoenix Convention Center (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Symphony Hall (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Comerica Theatre (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • US Airways Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Arizona Science Center (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Chase Field (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
Business
  • 24/7 fax and photocopy services 
  • Meeting and event space available 
  • Complimentary Internet kiosk
  • Free Internet access available hotel-wide

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel San Carlos also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel San Carlos Rooms

Queen - Single
Queen View room offers a view of downtown phoenix, features 1 queen bed, television with cable/satellite television channels. Includes, clock radio, coffee/tea maker, hair dryer, complimentary toiletries, iron/ironing board, blackout drapes/curtains, ceiling fan. Non-smoking only.
Economy - Queen
Standard Queen room is an interior room which features 1 queen bed, a private bath with a shower no bathtub. It also features a television with cable/satellite television channels. Includes, clock radio, coffee/tea maker, hair dryer, complimentary toiletries, iron/ironing board, blackout drapes/curtains, ceiling fan. Non-smoking only.
Double Room
Double Room View room offers a view of downtown phoenix, features 2 double beds, television with cable/satellite television channels. Includes, clock radio, coffee/tea maker, hair dryer, complimentary toiletries, iron/ironing board, blackout drapes/curtains, ceiling fan. non-smoking only.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Orpheum Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Wells Fargo History Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Phoenix Symphony: 0.2 mi
  • St. Mary's Basilica: 0.3 mi
  • Phoenix Civic Plaza Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • US Airways Center: 0.4 mi
  • The Rosson House: 0.5 mi
  • Phoenix Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Chase Field: 0.6 mi
  • Phoenix Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Phoenix Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Arizona Capitol Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Heard Museum: 1.5 mi
  • South Mountain: 4.9 mi
  • Pueblo Grande: 5.2 mi
  • Orpheum Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Wells Fargo History Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Phoenix Symphony: 0.2 mi
  • St. Mary's Basilica: 0.3 mi
  • Phoenix Civic Plaza Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • US Airways Center: 0.4 mi
  • The Rosson House: 0.5 mi
  • Phoenix Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Chase Field: 0.6 mi
  • Phoenix Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Phoenix Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Arizona Capitol Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Heard Museum: 1.5 mi
  • South Mountain: 4.9 mi
  • Pueblo Grande: 5.2 mi
  • Arizona Science Center: 5.6 mi
  • Octane Raceway: 5.7 mi
  • Wrigley Mansion: 5.7 mi
  • Papago Park: 7 mi
  • Phoenix Zoo: 7.1 mi
  • South Mountain Park: 7.2 mi
  • Desert Botanical Garden: 7.3 mi
  • Piestewa Peak: 7.4 mi
  • Camelback Mountain: 7.7 mi
  • Phoenix Mountain Preserve: 7.9 mi
  • America West Arena: 9.2 mi
  • Western Destinations: 11.3 mi
  • Jobing.com Arena: 12.2 mi
  • Musical Instrument Museum: 16 mi
  • University of Phoenix Stadium: 6,995.2 mi

Dining

Bistro 202
Open daily serving made to order breakfast and lunch.
Ghost Lounge & Restaurant
Taking it's name from the "Haunted" past, the Ghost Lounge serves up cocktails & dinner 7 nights a week.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel offers intimate space for up to 50 people for private business meetings, rehearsal dinners, or other private events. Please contact the sales office at 602-253-4121 ext. 156 for details.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (108)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel San Carlos

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
108 out of 108
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Megagauss
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Conference Stay

I booked the San Carlos becuase it was close to the conference I was attending for about half the price of the conference hotel. I enjoyed the history of the San Carlos. It was very close and convenient to everything I needed in the downtown area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BobIvey633
Business
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London, UK
Sep 22, 2014

San Carlos - nice place

Nice, quirky hotel in a central location with a good bar next door. Perhaps only downside is no breakfast as even a continental offering would make the place even better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Good Irish-themed bar right next door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Redwingsfan
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Mar 13, 2014

Business mixed with pleasure

We stayed for a conference but had a few days to play also. this hotel is very quaint the age of it added a lot to the experience, it was clean, the pool area was awesome. the desk staff was so so however the valet guys were excellent! The only issues we had were the size of the room, it (standard) was a bit small for two people to stay in for a whole week and the noise...every conversation and other more intimate noises coming from the hallways and rooms next door were as if they were in the room with you. I'd stay here again if on a pleasure only trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

the Irish bar next door is excellent!!!! so was Maryvale Park, Go Brewers!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
meaha
Business
twin falls idaho
Mar 13, 2014

business/fun getaway

It was a very interesting stay. I loved to learn the history Of the hotel. The staff was awesome but the walls are paper thin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
H and H Tech
Business
North Texas
Apr 4, 2014

Interesting Hotel

Pros - Great downtown location. Very friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable and quiet. Supposedly Haunted. Cons - Keep in mind this is an 86 year old hotel. While well maintained, it is definitely a "period piece" hotel. The rooms are small (maybe "cozy"), but enough space for a desk and chair. The bathroom was TINY, I mean you could turn on the sink and shower wile sitting on the throne tiny. Internet was sketchy at best. Supposedly Haunted. Overall - This is NOT a Hyatt/Hilton/Regency. This is an old historic downtown hotel. While I think staying an extended time might turn the charming into annoying, the 1 or 2 night trip its perfect. Not having reliable internet is a deal breaker for the typical business traveler. The friendly, helpful staff and the great location make up for a lot. Would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Day trip to downtown from the airport?- Skip the rental car ( a nightmare at PHX) take the train to the corner of 1st and Monroe and you are in the heart of downtown!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
conferencetravelers
Business
Irvine, CA
Apr 7, 2014

convention visit, necessities were met but nothing fancy

I just stayed at the San Carlos Hotel and I had a plesant stay. The hotel is in the middle of downtown Phoenix, which is incredibly convenient to travel to bars, restaurants, and the convention center by foot. It is a historic site which has been refurbished, so if that is your cup of tea, you will be thrilled with the stay. The bed was stiff and noisy, and there was nonexistent temperature control with the AC blasting the entire time (old school radiators were in the room but did not seem to work too well after fiddling with the controls). The staff is very friendly and helpful. Also note, parking is Valet ONLY, so be prepared for an extra $20 per night for your car (plus tip when the valet brings it to you). It is unlimited in/out privileges, but if you get into Phoenix after 5PM on friday not, street parking at any meter is free until 8AM Monday. Overall the stay was nice. Hope this review helps someone when booking a hotel in DT Phoenix.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of choices within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hotel reviewer
Business
Baltimore, MD
Aug 11, 2010

historic hotel review

The hotel was really nice and charming overall. The room was a bit tiny, but livable for a few nights. The shower is small, but good enough for one medium sized person. I am a tall female (5'10") and the shower head was just a tiny bit too short, but not that bad. The water pressure in the shower would change and get hot during a toilet flush anywhere in the building, but was not too bad - unless there are a lot of people using the toilet at the same time. The walls are kind of thin and you can hear just about anything. I could her the neighbor talking on her cell phone and we could hear each others bed squeak. I guess this hotel is really best on a slow night when not too many people are staying in it - so it worked out well for me. It is also close to the convention center, which was convenient for my stay. I would recommend it during a not too busy time. Bring ear plugs if you are a sensitive sleeper and keep the water cooler so u don't get burned! Still charming and I liked the historic aspect of the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Oswaldo
Business
Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico
Sep 23, 2011

Very well placed to attend events in Convention Center

The room are OK and clean. The acoustic isolation of walls and doors is quite poor, you can hear talks in hall and contiguous rooms. Breakfast is served in a small area and there are few people working at the kitchen so you have to wait for your food more that normally expeted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Parental Units
Business
Lake Havasu City, AZ, USA
Sep 28, 2011

Good location for proximity to Chase Field.

Our stay at the hotel ended up being OK and we liked the close proximity to the AZ Diamondback's Chase Field. However, when we were en route to the hotel (we live 3.5 hours away), we called to see if we could check in early in order to be on time for the baseball game we were attending and we were told that they had no record of our reservation. They said they checked by name and reservation number and pretty much told us we would have to deal with it on our own and there was nothing they could do. My cheaptickets reservation copy had no phone number to call and being in the car, we had no computer access. It took me getting irate to have the hotel try to check with cheaptickets and by the time we arrived, they had it worked out. I was left wondering who had dropped the ball...cheaptickets or Hotel San Carlos? Pretty stressful when you wonder if you are going to have a place to stay after what was going to be a long day in Phoenix and the room had already been charged to our credit card.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AZ Ron
Business
Kingman, AZ, USA
Feb 11, 2012

Historic Hotel

Only there 1 night. Close to everything. Good location to go to a basketball or baseball game.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top