$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 5, 2015

Hotel San Carlos

3 stars
View map of 202 North Central Avenue, Phoenix, AZ 85004

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel San Carlos

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
118 out of 118
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Downtown Visitor
Business
Kingman AZ
Jun 14, 2010

Hotel San Carlos

Hotel is full of history. I would stay there again. Only issues were the shower was very small with no place to put shampoo etc. and the water in the shower when turned all the way to hot was just barely hot enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very few places for supper nearby. Plan to drive.

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mother of ASU freshman
Business
Memphis, TN, USA
Aug 19, 2011

Charming, with history, want to know more...

I was disappointed to have not seen or heard any ghosts. Will stay again and hope to meet up with one next time. The staffer at front desk said they are renovating, should be done by September, so rooms will be even nicer next stay. Had no hot water the first morning as no one told me how to work the faucet. Once I fiddled around, I figured it out, (when turned to the OPPOSITE from the H, the water got hot! Bed was very comfortable. Hall was very quiet. Breakfast was delicious!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location to visit the downtown ASU campus. There are many nice restaurants close by. The Arrogant Butcher was great!

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Walt & Non
Business
Southfield Mi
Aug 22, 2009

Beautiful Old San Carlos

The History of the San Carlos is very interesting. Loved all the Old things still in the hotel. The rooms are a little Small but its is old . Loved the walk of Fame on the side walk and the Star's names on the Suites. We really enjoyed our stay the staff were Great, The front desk gals Supper nice. Will go there again. Haunted ? did hear voices in the Bathroom but no Ghost. The Goodens

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Silver Spoon is a great place for Breakfast and Lunch. Josh was Cool. The Irish Pub next door to the Hotel is Faboulas! Great food and cold beer.

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winterhaven, CA
Mar 28, 2011

Lady Ga Ga concert

The hotel was very nice. The beds were very very comfortable! The only real complaint was the water temperature changing while you showered, they did have a notice in the shower. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Nov 11, 2010

The Best Description is Funky

A thoroughly enjoyable small hotel. When you walk into the lobby you feel transported back to 1929. Rooms are certainly smaller than a Hilton or Hyatt's but they are not miniscule. There is a writing desk, a small corner table and chair and a very comfortable bed. I got a great night's sleep. It is right down town, within easy walking distance to the convention center, the baseball park and the basketball arena and a shopping center. There are several good restaurants around it, including a good Irish pub. The front desk was very helpful, especially since I made the reservation through [...] and [...] screwed up and did not forward the reservation to the hotel. [...], on the front desk, spent a lot of time getting hold of [...] to rectify the situation.For a downtown hotel, the price was more than reasonable. I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adill
Business
OC, Cali
Sep 18, 2011

Would return

Nice old hotel right in downtown. Very cool and Pleasant in the room with nice a/c. Ceiling fan also. They were able to check us in about 3 hrs early no charge but it might have just been feasible at that time. Bathroom was laughably NARROW but functioned fine. Good experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Main Ingredient on north 7th (?) ave. Good sandwiches. Also, Matt's Big Breakfast nearby is not to be missed

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Megagauss
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Conference Stay

I booked the San Carlos becuase it was close to the conference I was attending for about half the price of the conference hotel. I enjoyed the history of the San Carlos. It was very close and convenient to everything I needed in the downtown area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BobIvey633
Business
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London, UK
Sep 22, 2014

San Carlos - nice place

Nice, quirky hotel in a central location with a good bar next door. Perhaps only downside is no breakfast as even a continental offering would make the place even better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Good Irish-themed bar right next door.

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jennifer H.
Business
Blacksburg
Jan 12, 2015

Conference Alternative

The hotel was clean, close to the convention center, and charming. The staff were generally helpful and their amenities were okay: free wi-fi, small gym, business center with free printing. They don't offer a breakfast, which is disappointing, and no shuttle service to the airport. However, the light rail system to the airport is on the corner and costs $2.50. Overall, would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matthew M.
Business
N/A
Mar 17, 2015

Downtown Fun

The hotel is beautiful. A lot of interesting historical information and designs. Great location for downtown entertainment. A little pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top