$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Hotel San Carlos

3 stars
View map of 202 North Central Avenue, Phoenix, AZ 85004

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel San Carlos

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
No witty name traveler
Business
LA
May 24, 2013

Very good for the price

Not fancy like a major chain hotel in the area, but for the money, service, and cleanliness, excellent. Would recommend especially if on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Evy's Mimi
Business
Kenosha WI
Jul 26, 2013

Great historic boutique hotel

The staff were helpful and friendly. I appreciate old buildings, so the age and size did not bother me. The unique history of the building made it all the more interesting. My friend and I had fun anticipating a ghost around every corner. We also enjoyed the rooftop pool as well as the easy access to the light rail. All around a great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The light rail was two blocks away and a great way to get around the valley.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DonC13
Business
Las Vegas NV
Sep 16, 2013

Great Downtown Find

This is a great quaint cool place to stay. The personality of the building and room was classic. I would recommend anyone to stay here on you next trip to Downtown Phoenix.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DonC13
Business
Las Vegas NV
Sep 17, 2013

Neat Place to Stay

The Room very very nice and the Hotel history is very cool and the staff was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Travel Guru
Business
California
Nov 22, 2013

Great staff - above and beyond

A friend and I stayed at the San Carlos last week and enjoyed the retro ambience of the hotel. The hotel still has an elegance from another era that sets it apart from modern chain hotels. The service was fantastic-front desk quick and efficient. The best part was our valet, who shared stories of the San Carlos and answered our questions regarding the haunted history of the hotel. He even took care of our luggage. Great employee, ask for Ben!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Copper Blues and Comedy club close by. Great French/Asian cuisine at the San Carlos.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, Ca.
Nov 15, 2010

Right in the heart of Downtown Phoenix

We were in town to visit our son; we selected this hotel because it was just a short walk to the ASU Downtown Campus. The Light Rail was right near the hotel, very inexpensive and convenient. The hotel is old, but classic. We read other reviews about the noise, but that was not a problem during our Thurs-Sunday stay. There is minimal nightlife around the hotel; the Arizona Center is close by for movies, meals and window shopping; be aware… all the restaurants stop serving food at 10 pm.One minor problem at check-in, the hotel could not find our reservation from [...], thankfully, I brought along the e-mail confirmation. Not sure who was at fault~~~~~the hotel or [...], either way, it took us 30-40 minutes to check in, but it all got straightened out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
18pearsk
Business
WI
Sep 22, 2011

Quick stop in Phoenix

Hotel San Carlos is a great place to stay in Phoenix. The history of the hotel is neat and a person could spend hours roaming the halls looking at the artwork.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lori: pleased patron
Business
Minnesota, USA
Feb 11, 2010

Downtown Hotel History

This hotel is an awesome place to stay; not only is is close to all of downtown festivities no matter what you are there for; business or pleasure. The light rail is 1/2 block away and very inexpensive to ride. Taxi service is expensive. We spent one whole evening in the hotel just reading all the history of the hotel and checking out all the beautiful historical pictures (with explanation captions of event). The hotel staff was wonderful and the queen bed accomadations were a real plus. They were extremely comfortable. I would definately stay @ the San Carlos again and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there was a great Irish Pub directly right next door that served excellent food. Also there was a subway and small deli directly right across the street from San Carlos for those who don't like trying new things and are used to subway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nikster
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Aug 8, 2011

Very Charming

We stayed here because we attended a show at the Comerica theater which is just a few blocks away. The hotel is in a great location near several entertainment venues and hot spots downtown. The hotel was charming. The rooms are very basic, but we appreciated the architecture and history of the building. We had heard that it was "haunted" before our stay, but no paranormal activity to report. Great value for the location and the novelty of being a historical monument of Phoenix.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location. Within walking distance of many attractions/hotspots.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, Co
Oct 8, 2010

Great historic hotel

easy check in, nice historic room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top