$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2015 Check-out: Aug 1, 2015

Hotel San Carlos

3 stars
View map of 202 North Central Avenue, Phoenix, AZ 85004

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel San Carlos

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
118 out of 118
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jseward66
Business
Ogden, UT, USA
Oct 31, 2011

Depends what you are looking for

I was in town on a business trip and chose this hotel over others in the area based only on price so I expecting nothing. What I found was a very nice, clean, old, quirky, quaint hotel with a lot of history and charm and on top of that, I couldn't have had a better location. Yes the shower was an adventure, but once figured out was no big deal. The diner on the first floor had great food. The exercise room was opened the first of Oct 2011, small but good enough. The pool is on the 2rd floor roof, outside and the night I went was about 2 degrees. If you are looking for lush comfort and pampering, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a good deal on a room you don't spend a lot of time in anyway and you don't mind a few quirks, put this one on the top of your list.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are flying in, don't waste money on a shuttle or taxi, there is a shuttle bus that goes to the light rail and and for a $1.25 it takes you a block from the hotel.

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris5864
Business
Saint Paul, MN
Nov 14, 2011

Classic Hotel Marred by Poor Wi-Fi

This hotel is a classic with lots of history. Unfortunately, Wi-Fi in my otherwise excellent room was almost nonexistent. Location in Phoenix is great, right along the rail line. Small, old TV also, no HD. But very interesting character and history.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just south of the hotel is the Downtown Diner - incredible chicken noodle soup.

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ballwin Bob
Business
Ballwin, Mo.
Nov 14, 2011

Very central for business and pleasure

The rooms are small and very basic. No heating or ac controls that I could find but it has everything you need at a fair price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The hotel bar as well as the ajacent Irish Pub were very convenient amenities. I would also check out the under utilized pool deck.

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CcCA
Business
Monterey CA
Dec 22, 2011

good location and good history

The internet connetion was good but the shower water did go from hot to cold and back to hot agaion. Good swimming pool and patio.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Arizona center

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jakfish
Business
Wisconsin
Jan 18, 2012

Downtown Phoenix

Super location downtown Phoenix - walking distance to Chase Field and the convention center. The staff was super friendly helpful in explaining local transportation and events happening downtown. Overall a very good experience - the rooms are small because of the age of the property - but we were there to see Phoenix not the inside of a hotel room - Can't beat the value for the location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tom's Tavern for breakfast - Eggs and Briskett totally awesome

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Napa Traveler
Business
Napa, CA, USA
Jun 26, 2012

Classic property - great location

The San Carlos is a beautiful older hotel which has been nicely restored. Its location in downtown Phoenix was very convenient to the Convention Center, just 4 blocks away. We had a simple queen bed room with shower only. It was small but comfortable, clean and simple. The onsite restaurant is currently closed, but there are several good places to eat nearby. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Steve's Greenhouse Grill - 139 E. Adams St - looks like a sports bar, but is really quite nice and mellow, with a great menu and affordable prices for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Corner Bakery - in the Arizona Center at 3rd St and Van Buren - excellent food and prices for breakfast and lunch. Sam's Cafe - also in Arizona Center - tasty and creative southwest grill flavors.

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spring Training 303
Business
Denver, CO
Sep 23, 2012

Great time

Historic hotel with lots of celebrity lineage. Rooms were nothing fancy, but the hotel was in a great location for walking around downtown and seeing all of the points on my itinerary. Only downside was no parking included but paid extra for hotel valet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ELWei
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Oct 30, 2012

Great staff

Wonderful staff. We arrived at 7:30 am to drop off our luggage prior to my meeting. The receptionist said they had a room ready if we wanted to check in early. So great to be able to unpack and refresh prior to leaving for my meeting across the street. This is just one small example of how the staff went out of their way to make our stay an enjoyable one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ABR27
Business
San Mateo, California
Feb 19, 2013

Good Value and Location, Friendly Staff, Quirky

Hotel San Carlos is one of those quirky old hotels that can be a good value in a good location if you don't mind smaller, older, but clean rooms. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. If I were going back to this area I would probably stay in Scottsdale because it's a bit livelier, but if I needed to be in downtown Phoenix, I'd come back to Hotel San Carlos.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
allee2295
Business
Chino Valley, AZ
Mar 9, 2013

Downtown Phoenix

I like to stay in interesting places and this was one! While they don't have dedicated self-parking, there is valet parking and lots of city parking nearby. My room was small, but very nice. The hotel is near the convention center, which was important to me. The pool deck was lovely to sit and read in the early evening. The only downside was that my room was next to the elevators which were noisy. I would definately stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top