$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2014 Check-out: Sep 7, 2014

Hotel San Carlos

3 stars
202 North Central Avenue, Phoenix, AZ 85004
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
108 reviews
Loved this place

Absolutely zero problems. A real gem of a place to sleep. See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 7, 2014
Business Trip in Phoenix

I needed two rooms - one for my girlfriend and me and another for my parents. I was there for an... See full review

  • El Chicano
  • Dec 7, 2013
Hollywood Golden Age celebrity hangout in downtown Phoenix
This landmark Hotel San Carlos opened with great fanfare in 1928, and its doors have been open ever since. Throughout its history, an impressive roster of celebrities -- including Mae West, Marilyn Monroe and Spencer Tracy -- has graced its guest rooms. Today, the Hotel San Carlos is a fixture on the National Register of Historic Places where visitors find elegant details -- copper elevator doors, sparkling chandeliers, dramatic tapestries -- paired with modern touches like a rooftop pool, satellite TV and free high-speed Internet access.
Highlights
  • Within walking distance of the Phoenix Convention Center
  • Rooftop swimming pool and sun deck
  • Signature suites are dedicated to stars like Cary Grant, Marilyn Monroe, Spencer Tracy and Humphrey Bogart
Location
The Hotel San Carlos is located in the heart of downtown Phoenix, steps from attractions including the Orpheum Theatre, the Phoenix Convention Center, Symphony Hall and the Arizona Science Center.
Rooms
Each of the 128 guest rooms at the Hotel San Carlos has been individually decorated, giving guests a unique experience and plenty of reason to return again and again. In some rooms, soaring paneled headboards and floral accents evoke a French country house, while rich, dramatic fabrics in other guest rooms have a stately feel. All feature Serta mattresses, coffee-makers, satellite TV and free high-speed Internet access. 
Features
Soak up some Arizona sun at the Hotel San Carlos rooftop heated pool and sundeck, where ample potted plants give the feel of a desert oasis. 
Dining
For a great meal or relaxing drink, stop by Bistro 202 or the Ghost Lounge and Restaurant, both adjacent to the Hotel San Carlos lobby. Hotel neighbor Seamus McCaffrey's is a popular downtown Irish pub and restaurant featuring a full list of imported beers, Irish whiskey and top-shelf Scotch. 
Transportation
  • I-10 (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Airport shuttle available (fees apply) 
  • Light rail stop at hotel
Attractions
  • Orpheum Theatre (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Phoenix Convention Center (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Symphony Hall (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Comerica Theatre (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • US Airways Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Arizona Science Center (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Chase Field (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
Business
  • 24/7 fax and photocopy services 
  • Meeting and event space available 
  • Complimentary Internet kiosk
  • Free Internet access available hotel-wide

Hotel Map

33.4506 -112.0742
Area served
Phoenix.
Nearby airports
Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport - 4.5 miles.
Area description
The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Phoenix's financial, government, and entertainment district, just steps away from many fabulous local Phoenix Attractions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel San Carlos also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel San Carlos Rooms

Queen - Single
Queen View room offers a view of downtown phoenix, features 1 queen bed, television with cable/satellite television channels. Includes, clock radio, coffee/tea maker, hair dryer, complimentary toiletries, iron/ironing board, blackout drapes/curtains, ceiling fan. Non-smoking only.
Economy - Queen
Standard Queen room is an interior room which features 1 queen bed, a private bath with a shower no bathtub. It also features a television with cable/satellite television channels. Includes, clock radio, coffee/tea maker, hair dryer, complimentary toiletries, iron/ironing board, blackout drapes/curtains, ceiling fan. Non-smoking only.
Double Room
Double Room View room offers a view of downtown phoenix, features 2 double beds, television with cable/satellite television channels. Includes, clock radio, coffee/tea maker, hair dryer, complimentary toiletries, iron/ironing board, blackout drapes/curtains, ceiling fan. non-smoking only.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Orpheum Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Wells Fargo History Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Phoenix Symphony: 0.2 mi
  • St. Mary's Basilica: 0.3 mi
  • Phoenix Civic Plaza Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • US Airways Center: 0.4 mi
  • The Rosson House: 0.5 mi
  • Phoenix Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Chase Field: 0.6 mi
  • Phoenix Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Phoenix Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Arizona Capitol Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Heard Museum: 1.5 mi
  • South Mountain: 4.9 mi
  • Pueblo Grande: 5.2 mi
  • Orpheum Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Wells Fargo History Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Phoenix Symphony: 0.2 mi
  • St. Mary's Basilica: 0.3 mi
  • Phoenix Civic Plaza Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • US Airways Center: 0.4 mi
  • The Rosson House: 0.5 mi
  • Phoenix Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Chase Field: 0.6 mi
  • Phoenix Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Phoenix Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Arizona Capitol Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Heard Museum: 1.5 mi
  • South Mountain: 4.9 mi
  • Pueblo Grande: 5.2 mi
  • Arizona Science Center: 5.6 mi
  • Octane Raceway: 5.7 mi
  • Wrigley Mansion: 5.7 mi
  • Papago Park: 7 mi
  • Phoenix Zoo: 7.1 mi
  • South Mountain Park: 7.2 mi
  • Desert Botanical Garden: 7.3 mi
  • Piestewa Peak: 7.4 mi
  • Camelback Mountain: 7.7 mi
  • Phoenix Mountain Preserve: 7.9 mi
  • America West Arena: 9.2 mi
  • Western Destinations: 11.3 mi
  • Jobing.com Arena: 12.2 mi
  • Phoenix - Mesa: 15.3 mi
  • Musical Instrument Museum: 16 mi
  • University of Phoenix Stadium: 6,995.2 mi

Dining

Bistro 202
Open daily serving made to order breakfast and lunch.
Ghost Lounge & Restaurant
Taking it's name from the "Haunted" past, the Ghost Lounge serves up cocktails & dinner 7 nights a week.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel offers intimate space for up to 50 people for private business meetings, rehearsal dinners, or other private events. Please contact the sales office at 602-253-4121 ext. 156 for details.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (108)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel San Carlos

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 108
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TJ Nani
Phoenix AZ
Nov 11, 2013

Just OK

Have been here many times over the last ten years and the location is the only thing that makes it OK. I only go here for the grandkids who love the ghost aspect of this historical hotel. Don't go here for a good night's sleep as you can hear the guy in the next room throw up and every step of anyone walking in the hall and the doors slamming in the middle of the night. The pool was supposed to be heated. Maybe it wasn't cold but it wasn't warm either. Rooms were clean. Carpet is filthy. Our feet got black walking from the room to the pool. Front desk girl was inept and defensive. Messed up one of the room reservations- tried giving us one bed rather than two and kept telling me that was what the reservation said- until she double checked, finally, and realized she was wrong. This is the last time I will go back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Three blocks south on Central Ave is City Scape. The Breakfast Club has a great bfast for a great price.

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CamandLeila
Detroit, MI, USA
Jan 1, 2012

Issues

Room ten bucks less on Orb the day we arrived. The hotel had no record of our reservation, had to prove it by opening my email for the agent to read. Met some friends at the ghost lounge. An hour and forty five mins to get food. Hotel atmosphere and decor was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

EAT SOMEWHERE ELSE UNLESS YOU HAE 2 HOURS T WASTE FoR MEDIOCRE FOOD.

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
18pearsk
WI
Sep 22, 2011

Quick stop in Phoenix

Hotel San Carlos is a great place to stay in Phoenix. The history of the hotel is neat and a person could spend hours roaming the halls looking at the artwork.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Winterhaven, CA
Mar 28, 2011

Lady Ga Ga concert

The hotel was very nice. The beds were very very comfortable! The only real complaint was the water temperature changing while you showered, they did have a notice in the shower. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
ft. defiance, az
Mar 20, 2011

Quaint

location was great, right in the middle of the city. It was a nice place but room was real small, barely fit two queen beds. Nice view but was dominated by much bigger buildings. Had some problems because the walls were paper thin, you can hear people on either side of you. If you'd like a step back into history this is the place to be. Valet parking only, parking was 20 dollars per day. Luckily we were there on the weekend and it was free on this day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to watch the SUNS play, not far from the baseball park and local museums...great location and lots to do...

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, Ca.
Nov 15, 2010

Right in the heart of Downtown Phoenix

We were in town to visit our son; we selected this hotel because it was just a short walk to the ASU Downtown Campus. The Light Rail was right near the hotel, very inexpensive and convenient. The hotel is old, but classic. We read other reviews about the noise, but that was not a problem during our Thurs-Sunday stay. There is minimal nightlife around the hotel; the Arizona Center is close by for movies, meals and window shopping; be aware… all the restaurants stop serving food at 10 pm.One minor problem at check-in, the hotel could not find our reservation from [...], thankfully, I brought along the e-mail confirmation. Not sure who was at fault~~~~~the hotel or [...], either way, it took us 30-40 minutes to check in, but it all got straightened out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas
Jul 26, 2010

Short stay

Good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BBallLover
Baton Rouge, LA
Jun 25, 2010

Not That Bad If You Can Get Checked In

Hotel rooms are small, not much room to move around in, but the beds were comfortable and they provided LOTS of pillows (big plus!!). If you are staying here be sure to call the hotel to confirm your reservation. I had an [...] confirmation number, but no confirmation number from the hotel. I didn't realize this until I got to the hotel and had to spend almost 45 minutes in the lobby trying to check in. The front desk clerk said that there was no record of the reservation and then told me to call [...] Also it was about 106 when I was visiting. We decided to take a dip in the pool around four in the afternoon. In the afternoon the pool is completely shaded and the temperature seemed to be about 60 degrees. Very cold!!! Be wary if you plan to swim. I imagine it would not be so cold when the sun was shining directly on it. The hotel is one block away from the light rail station. It was under five dollars for a day pass and we took the train right to the stadium. Very good location for those wanting to get to a baseball game. Ended up walking back because of the crowds, took about fifteen minutes, pretty good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nanaimo
Sep 16, 2008

great hotel

the hotel was a great time. this a stop over on the way to mexico.it was a nice touch before reaching our holiday spot.all in all this hotel and city need to be discovered by us a little more. gooooood times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search