$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2014 Check-out: Sep 7, 2014

Hotel San Carlos

3 stars
202 North Central Avenue, Phoenix, AZ 85004
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
108 reviews
Loved this place

Absolutely zero problems. A real gem of a place to sleep. See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 7, 2014
Business Trip in Phoenix

I needed two rooms - one for my girlfriend and me and another for my parents. I was there for an... See full review

  • El Chicano
  • Dec 7, 2013
Hollywood Golden Age celebrity hangout in downtown Phoenix
This landmark Hotel San Carlos opened with great fanfare in 1928, and its doors have been open ever since. Throughout its history, an impressive roster of celebrities -- including Mae West, Marilyn Monroe and Spencer Tracy -- has graced its guest rooms. Today, the Hotel San Carlos is a fixture on the National Register of Historic Places where visitors find elegant details -- copper elevator doors, sparkling chandeliers, dramatic tapestries -- paired with modern touches like a rooftop pool, satellite TV and free high-speed Internet access.
Highlights
  • Within walking distance of the Phoenix Convention Center
  • Rooftop swimming pool and sun deck
  • Signature suites are dedicated to stars like Cary Grant, Marilyn Monroe, Spencer Tracy and Humphrey Bogart
Location
The Hotel San Carlos is located in the heart of downtown Phoenix, steps from attractions including the Orpheum Theatre, the Phoenix Convention Center, Symphony Hall and the Arizona Science Center.
Rooms
Each of the 128 guest rooms at the Hotel San Carlos has been individually decorated, giving guests a unique experience and plenty of reason to return again and again. In some rooms, soaring paneled headboards and floral accents evoke a French country house, while rich, dramatic fabrics in other guest rooms have a stately feel. All feature Serta mattresses, coffee-makers, satellite TV and free high-speed Internet access. 
Features
Soak up some Arizona sun at the Hotel San Carlos rooftop heated pool and sundeck, where ample potted plants give the feel of a desert oasis. 
Dining
For a great meal or relaxing drink, stop by Bistro 202 or the Ghost Lounge and Restaurant, both adjacent to the Hotel San Carlos lobby. Hotel neighbor Seamus McCaffrey's is a popular downtown Irish pub and restaurant featuring a full list of imported beers, Irish whiskey and top-shelf Scotch. 
Transportation
  • I-10 (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Airport shuttle available (fees apply) 
  • Light rail stop at hotel
Attractions
  • Orpheum Theatre (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Phoenix Convention Center (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Symphony Hall (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Comerica Theatre (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • US Airways Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Arizona Science Center (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Chase Field (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
Business
  • 24/7 fax and photocopy services 
  • Meeting and event space available 
  • Complimentary Internet kiosk
  • Free Internet access available hotel-wide

Hotel Map

33.4506 -112.0742
Area served
Phoenix.
Nearby airports
Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport - 4.5 miles.
Area description
The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Phoenix's financial, government, and entertainment district, just steps away from many fabulous local Phoenix Attractions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel San Carlos also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel San Carlos Rooms

Queen - Single
Queen View room offers a view of downtown phoenix, features 1 queen bed, television with cable/satellite television channels. Includes, clock radio, coffee/tea maker, hair dryer, complimentary toiletries, iron/ironing board, blackout drapes/curtains, ceiling fan. Non-smoking only.
Economy - Queen
Standard Queen room is an interior room which features 1 queen bed, a private bath with a shower no bathtub. It also features a television with cable/satellite television channels. Includes, clock radio, coffee/tea maker, hair dryer, complimentary toiletries, iron/ironing board, blackout drapes/curtains, ceiling fan. Non-smoking only.
Double Room
Double Room View room offers a view of downtown phoenix, features 2 double beds, television with cable/satellite television channels. Includes, clock radio, coffee/tea maker, hair dryer, complimentary toiletries, iron/ironing board, blackout drapes/curtains, ceiling fan. non-smoking only.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Orpheum Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Wells Fargo History Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Phoenix Symphony: 0.2 mi
  • St. Mary's Basilica: 0.3 mi
  • Phoenix Civic Plaza Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • US Airways Center: 0.4 mi
  • The Rosson House: 0.5 mi
  • Phoenix Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Chase Field: 0.6 mi
  • Phoenix Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Phoenix Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Arizona Capitol Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Heard Museum: 1.5 mi
  • South Mountain: 4.9 mi
  • Pueblo Grande: 5.2 mi
  • Orpheum Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Wells Fargo History Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Phoenix Symphony: 0.2 mi
  • St. Mary's Basilica: 0.3 mi
  • Phoenix Civic Plaza Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • US Airways Center: 0.4 mi
  • The Rosson House: 0.5 mi
  • Phoenix Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Chase Field: 0.6 mi
  • Phoenix Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Phoenix Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Arizona Capitol Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Heard Museum: 1.5 mi
  • South Mountain: 4.9 mi
  • Pueblo Grande: 5.2 mi
  • Arizona Science Center: 5.6 mi
  • Octane Raceway: 5.7 mi
  • Wrigley Mansion: 5.7 mi
  • Papago Park: 7 mi
  • Phoenix Zoo: 7.1 mi
  • South Mountain Park: 7.2 mi
  • Desert Botanical Garden: 7.3 mi
  • Piestewa Peak: 7.4 mi
  • Camelback Mountain: 7.7 mi
  • Phoenix Mountain Preserve: 7.9 mi
  • America West Arena: 9.2 mi
  • Western Destinations: 11.3 mi
  • Jobing.com Arena: 12.2 mi
  • Phoenix - Mesa: 15.3 mi
  • Musical Instrument Museum: 16 mi
  • University of Phoenix Stadium: 6,995.2 mi

Dining

Bistro 202
Open daily serving made to order breakfast and lunch.
Ghost Lounge & Restaurant
Taking it's name from the "Haunted" past, the Ghost Lounge serves up cocktails & dinner 7 nights a week.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel offers intimate space for up to 50 people for private business meetings, rehearsal dinners, or other private events. Please contact the sales office at 602-253-4121 ext. 156 for details.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (108)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel San Carlos

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
108 out of 108
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed Lori
Phoenix, Az
Mar 30, 2014

The worst hotel stay I've had

This hotel was easily the worst hotel stay I have ever had. The walls are thin and we were constantly woken up until the middle of the night with voices. I liked the old feel but the room was a shoebox and the shower was so small you could not even move. I would never stay here again and suggest you don't try it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CocaKatrina
Business
Huntsville, Alabama
Nov 15, 2012

Find somewhere else

The only good thing about this hotel is the location. The room had a strong smell of urine and carpet was filthy. I slept on top of the sheet with my clothes on, covered with a throw I brought on trip because the sheets looked dirty and dingy. The bathroom is full of history alright. The water pressure was low and the temperature kept changing from hot and cold in the shower. Unless you are on a budget, I absolutely would not recommend the hotel. Very disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
honest occupant
Phoenix, AZ
Jan 20, 2013

DO NOT STAY HERE

This was the worst hotel experience I've ever had! The rooms are tiny and gross and definitely not worth the price! The worst part about this place is the loud music coming from the club on the main level. We were on the 3rd floor and couldn't sleep until they were done after 2:30am because it was so loud in our room! DO NOT STAY HERE! This place is horrible!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Boston Markie
Chandler AZ
Dec 9, 2013

Anniversary

Rooms very small but nice, no view, bathroom VERY small, noisy, walls like paper, no security to keep guests quiet at 3:00 AM, called front desk no answer finally checked out at 3:30AM took 40 minutes to find a valet to retrieve my car to go home and sleep. This hotel is in a great location, old but nice, decent price. I am assuming it was the group in house that was noisy, but hotel staff needs to keep it under control. It was worse than my college dorm. It would have helped if the man at the desk at 3:30 apologized or offered to move us but, he just acted like we made things up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Irish Pub and Vietnameese restaurant in the hotel were nice and fun

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
MS
Jan 15, 2011

Hotel San Carlos...look elsewhere

is hotel is nothing like presented online. Postage stamp rooms, linens felt like they were from the 80's, the window curtains don't cover the windows, the bathrooms are no larger than a small closet with what appeared to be 1940's plumbing that would not shut off. We wound up eating the non-refundable rate and getting a room at a Mariott property down the street. I do not recommend at all...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tucson
Aug 7, 2008

Poor Experience

It was at first a funky hotel. I understood they were doing some construction. However, I did not think it was going to go through the night. It was very noisy!! They broke a pipe and we had no water. I called the front desk and the young man was very rude. Under the circumstances that is not the attutude I expected. In today's economic state personal service is everything. Obviously this was not the case. Needless to say I will not be going back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Theaters, dining, baseball game, museums.

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Oct 3, 2011

Great, but needs rehab.

The experience was fine. However, the aesthetics are horrible. A hotel promotes itself as charming and historic when it does not want to spend money on new carpeting and paint. Also, it has the most pathetic business center I have ever seen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed and Duped
Business
St. Paul, MN
Jun 4, 2011

Yuck

My business partner and I planned on staying at the San Carlos for four nights while we were in Phoenix. The accomodations we saw posted on the internet made the place look very attractive. After checking in, my partner walked into her room and, after about a minute, walked out to inform me that she could not stay at this hotel. I checked the room and felt the same. Room was cramped...bathroom even more so. Walls and paneling were anything but attractive...nothing like we so on-line. We left and checked into another place. I have called five times to get a refund and the business manager is never available. We were told at check-in that the ghosts that haunt the hotel only appear on the second and seventh floors. Good luck!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TB1234
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 24, 2014

Just ok hotel

I would rather stay at the Hyatt, Westin, or Sheraton, next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kathryn K.
Sedona, AZ, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Old and loud

Location was good and if you like the charm of old places then it would be good, but not if you want any sort of modern conviences. Very old and small room, the bathroom was a closet and the buffet at the restuarant downstairs was unedible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Five Guys burger and fries was awesome!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search