$141 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Hotel San Carlos

3 stars
202 North Central Avenue, Phoenix, AZ 85004
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
109 reviews
Loved this place

Absolutely zero problems. A real gem of a place to sleep. See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 7, 2014
Best deal in Phoenix

The best money for the location you get!! If you need to stay in Downtown Phoenix, look no further.... See full review

  • El Chicano
  • Dec 7, 2013
Hollywood Golden Age celebrity hangout in downtown Phoenix
This landmark Hotel San Carlos opened with great fanfare in 1928, and its doors have been open ever since. Throughout its history, an impressive roster of celebrities -- including Mae West, Marilyn Monroe and Spencer Tracy -- has graced its guest rooms. Today, the Hotel San Carlos is a fixture on the National Register of Historic Places where visitors find elegant details -- copper elevator doors, sparkling chandeliers, dramatic tapestries -- paired with modern touches like a rooftop pool, satellite TV and free high-speed Internet access.
Highlights
  • Within walking distance of the Phoenix Convention Center
  • Rooftop swimming pool and sun deck
  • Signature suites are dedicated to stars like Cary Grant, Marilyn Monroe, Spencer Tracy and Humphrey Bogart
Location
The Hotel San Carlos is located in the heart of downtown Phoenix, steps from attractions including the Orpheum Theatre, the Phoenix Convention Center, Symphony Hall and the Arizona Science Center.
Rooms
Each of the 128 guest rooms at the Hotel San Carlos has been individually decorated, giving guests a unique experience and plenty of reason to return again and again. In some rooms, soaring paneled headboards and floral accents evoke a French country house, while rich, dramatic fabrics in other guest rooms have a stately feel. All feature Serta mattresses, coffee-makers, satellite TV and free high-speed Internet access. 
Features
Soak up some Arizona sun at the Hotel San Carlos rooftop heated pool and sundeck, where ample potted plants give the feel of a desert oasis. 
Dining
For a great meal or relaxing drink, stop by Bistro 202 or the Ghost Lounge and Restaurant, both adjacent to the Hotel San Carlos lobby. Hotel neighbor Seamus McCaffrey's is a popular downtown Irish pub and restaurant featuring a full list of imported beers, Irish whiskey and top-shelf Scotch. 
Transportation
  • I-10 (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Airport shuttle available (fees apply) 
  • Light rail stop at hotel
Attractions
  • Orpheum Theatre (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Phoenix Convention Center (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Symphony Hall (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Comerica Theatre (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • US Airways Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Arizona Science Center (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Chase Field (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
Business
  • 24/7 fax and photocopy services 
  • Meeting and event space available 
  • Complimentary Internet kiosk
  • Free Internet access available hotel-wide

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel San Carlos also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel San Carlos Rooms

Queen - Single
Queen View room offers a view of downtown phoenix, features 1 queen bed, television with cable/satellite television channels. Includes, clock radio, coffee/tea maker, hair dryer, complimentary toiletries, iron/ironing board, blackout drapes/curtains, ceiling fan. Non-smoking only.
Economy - Queen
Standard Queen room is an interior room which features 1 queen bed, a private bath with a shower no bathtub. It also features a television with cable/satellite television channels. Includes, clock radio, coffee/tea maker, hair dryer, complimentary toiletries, iron/ironing board, blackout drapes/curtains, ceiling fan. Non-smoking only.
Double Room
Double Room View room offers a view of downtown phoenix, features 2 double beds, television with cable/satellite television channels. Includes, clock radio, coffee/tea maker, hair dryer, complimentary toiletries, iron/ironing board, blackout drapes/curtains, ceiling fan. non-smoking only.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Orpheum Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Wells Fargo History Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Phoenix Symphony: 0.2 mi
  • St. Mary's Basilica: 0.3 mi
  • Phoenix Civic Plaza Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • US Airways Center: 0.4 mi
  • The Rosson House: 0.5 mi
  • Phoenix Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Chase Field: 0.6 mi
  • Phoenix Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Phoenix Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Arizona Capitol Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Heard Museum: 1.5 mi
  • South Mountain: 4.9 mi
  • Pueblo Grande: 5.2 mi
  • Orpheum Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Wells Fargo History Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Phoenix Symphony: 0.2 mi
  • St. Mary's Basilica: 0.3 mi
  • Phoenix Civic Plaza Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • US Airways Center: 0.4 mi
  • The Rosson House: 0.5 mi
  • Phoenix Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Chase Field: 0.6 mi
  • Phoenix Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Phoenix Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Arizona Capitol Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Heard Museum: 1.5 mi
  • South Mountain: 4.9 mi
  • Pueblo Grande: 5.2 mi
  • Arizona Science Center: 5.6 mi
  • Octane Raceway: 5.7 mi
  • Wrigley Mansion: 5.7 mi
  • Papago Park: 7 mi
  • Phoenix Zoo: 7.1 mi
  • South Mountain Park: 7.2 mi
  • Desert Botanical Garden: 7.3 mi
  • Piestewa Peak: 7.4 mi
  • Camelback Mountain: 7.7 mi
  • Phoenix Mountain Preserve: 7.9 mi
  • America West Arena: 9.2 mi
  • Western Destinations: 11.3 mi
  • University of Phoenix Stadium: 12.1 mi
  • Jobing.com Arena: 12.2 mi
  • Musical Instrument Museum: 16 mi

Dining

Bistro 202
Open daily serving made to order breakfast and lunch.
Ghost Lounge & Restaurant
Taking it's name from the "Haunted" past, the Ghost Lounge serves up cocktails & dinner 7 nights a week.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel offers intimate space for up to 50 people for private business meetings, rehearsal dinners, or other private events. Please contact the sales office at 602-253-4121 ext. 156 for details.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (109)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel San Carlos

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
109 out of 109
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Mar 21, 2011

business

very good the hotel is excellent very clean and good staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
R AND C
Business
CASA GRANDE,AZ
Oct 4, 2011

Overnight Trip

This hotel was alot of fun to stay at! YES,ITS OLD,but that was makes it so special and neat.Its beautiful inside.The walls are thin,so request upper levels.Dissapointed that we didnt see or hear any ghosts.Theatre very close.Alot of action and fun at the hotel.,probley due to the bar.It was perfect for a overnight stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rachp
Business
Baton Rouge, LA, USA
Oct 18, 2011

Great hotel

Affordable and so cute, especially if you're into the vintage feel. The only thing the website doesn't mention is that the place is haunted, I wouldn't have chose a haunted place to stay alone if i'd known. That being said, the hotel bar is great too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr MVD
Business
Mobile
Nov 11, 2011

Excellent Downtown value

very nice historic hotel with comfort and great rate neat historical decor and art work throughout great time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Science museum

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
El Chicano
Business
Centreville, VA
Dec 7, 2013

Best deal in Phoenix

The best money for the location you get!! If you need to stay in Downtown Phoenix, look no further. The staff are great and you will get better than first class treatment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
El Chicano
Business
Centreville, VA
Dec 7, 2013

Business Trip in Phoenix

I needed two rooms - one for my girlfriend and me and another for my parents. I was there for an event scheduled to be at major hotel, but they were sold out. An On-line Chat Customer Service Representative helped me find options near the venue and they narrowed it down to something within my price range. It was perfect!! An Oldie but Goodie, you are treated like royalty. They are there to help you! The rooms are small, but quaint and comfortable. It's located close to everything that you need Downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you really want a great Mexican Restaurant near Downtown Phoenix, go to the Comedor Guadalajara! It's been there forever and the locals swear by it! No reservations required!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TanyaG
Business
Lincoln, NE, USA
Sep 23, 2011

Fantasitic place!

I like to travel and this was one of the interesting place in US that I have seen. I was feeling as I was in an art gallery. I bought a book for the history of the hotel and took a lot of picture of the hotel. So many famous people have visited it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 26, 2008

We loved the ambiance in ...

We loved the ambiance in the hotel, it was exciting to stay at a place where Marilyn Monroe stayed and Humphry Bogart stayed. We loved the old hotel feel and felt fortunate to be able to stay there at such a reasonable rate. The room was small but comfortable, pay per view would have been nice. Over all it was a fun room with a nice view and great service! The Irish pub next door was a nice plus in our opinion! Very fun!! We had a great time! I hate fair food and I thought it would we would be able to get something to eat at the hotel, better quality, would be the pre requesit here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

We actually went to the fair and ended up back at the Irish bar next door..I just wish by the time we got there, Food was available.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nanaimo
Sep 16, 2008

great hotel

the hotel was a great time. this a stop over on the way to mexico.it was a nice touch before reaching our holiday spot.all in all this hotel and city need to be discovered by us a little more. gooooood times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 21, 2008

Great business amenities

The hotel staff at the San Carlos Hotel were very friendly and I found the quiantness of the 126 room hotel to be just what I like when I visit a new city. The copper doors of the elevator were stunning and the gold and black wood trim around the entrance was very 50ish. The old carpet in the hallways need to be shampooed or replaced. The rooms were very clean and the bed was firm and comfortable. I loved the location as it was 2 blocks from the Convention Center and close to the Arizona Center where I found fabulous food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sam's Cafe was a short walk from the hotel and the food was spicy Mexican. The prices were reasonable and the staff was quick and efficient.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top