$153 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 23, 2015 Check-out: Jun 26, 2015

Hotel San Carlos

3 stars
View map of 202 North Central Avenue, Phoenix, AZ 85004

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel San Carlos

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CcCA
Business
Monterey CA
Dec 22, 2011

good location and good history

The internet connetion was good but the shower water did go from hot to cold and back to hot agaion. Good swimming pool and patio.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Arizona center

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris5864
Business
Saint Paul, MN
Nov 14, 2011

Classic Hotel Marred by Poor Wi-Fi

This hotel is a classic with lots of history. Unfortunately, Wi-Fi in my otherwise excellent room was almost nonexistent. Location in Phoenix is great, right along the rail line. Small, old TV also, no HD. But very interesting character and history.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just south of the hotel is the Downtown Diner - incredible chicken noodle soup.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ballwin Bob
Business
Ballwin, Mo.
Nov 14, 2011

Very central for business and pleasure

The rooms are small and very basic. No heating or ac controls that I could find but it has everything you need at a fair price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The hotel bar as well as the ajacent Irish Pub were very convenient amenities. I would also check out the under utilized pool deck.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr MVD
Business
Mobile
Nov 11, 2011

Excellent Downtown value

very nice historic hotel with comfort and great rate neat historical decor and art work throughout great time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Science museum

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jseward66
Business
Ogden, UT, USA
Oct 31, 2011

Depends what you are looking for

I was in town on a business trip and chose this hotel over others in the area based only on price so I expecting nothing. What I found was a very nice, clean, old, quirky, quaint hotel with a lot of history and charm and on top of that, I couldn't have had a better location. Yes the shower was an adventure, but once figured out was no big deal. The diner on the first floor had great food. The exercise room was opened the first of Oct 2011, small but good enough. The pool is on the 2rd floor roof, outside and the night I went was about 2 degrees. If you are looking for lush comfort and pampering, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a good deal on a room you don't spend a lot of time in anyway and you don't mind a few quirks, put this one on the top of your list.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are flying in, don't waste money on a shuttle or taxi, there is a shuttle bus that goes to the light rail and and for a $1.25 it takes you a block from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rachp
Business
Baton Rouge, LA, USA
Oct 18, 2011

Great hotel

Affordable and so cute, especially if you're into the vintage feel. The only thing the website doesn't mention is that the place is haunted, I wouldn't have chose a haunted place to stay alone if i'd known. That being said, the hotel bar is great too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pereirra
Business
Brookings, SD, USA
Oct 17, 2011

Decent, actually pretty darn decent

A cozy hotel. Small rooms, narrow hallways. But ya know, it has personality. Very professional staff. This hotel does show its age. In the shower, the water goes from hot to cold to hot. Get the picture? But the beds are top of the line, the room is clean, the little historical fru frus that dot the floors are interesting. You'll like this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The water dispenser by the ice machine on the 3rd floor is the place to get your water. It tastes much better than the tap water in the room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kesha
Business
Laurel, MD
Oct 10, 2011

Just My Style

I loved the look of the hotel. The room was so comfortable. I would surely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GuyFromYUma
Business
Yuma, AZ, USA
Oct 7, 2011

Great Location but Terrible Service

When we checked in the front desk the lady was rude and unhelpful. We asked her where we could park and she stated anywhere we liked. I asked her how much was the parking around the area and she stated she didn't know and did not offer valet.Then we got to the room and the room was Tiny. Another thing that was annoying was we could hear our neighbors through the ac vents and when someone was in the hall we could hear everything they were saying. The only reason we would stay there again is the location it was right down the street from the Comerica Theatre. We also loved the Bar next the hotel called Seamus Something; It was a cool irish pub. Oh and if you want to eat at the Cafe at the hotel it was called 202 Bistro the service was lousy and the food was overpriced. I recommend do not waste your time and money just go to subway across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a Parking Garage behind the hotel that was only twelve dollars a day compared to the Valet that cost 20 bucks, not including tips

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
R AND C
Business
CASA GRANDE,AZ
Oct 4, 2011

Overnight Trip

This hotel was alot of fun to stay at! YES,ITS OLD,but that was makes it so special and neat.Its beautiful inside.The walls are thin,so request upper levels.Dissapointed that we didnt see or hear any ghosts.Theatre very close.Alot of action and fun at the hotel.,probley due to the bar.It was perfect for a overnight stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top