$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2015 Check-out: Aug 1, 2015

Hotel San Carlos

3 stars
View map of 202 North Central Avenue, Phoenix, AZ 85004

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel San Carlos

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
118 out of 118
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Moushen
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Mar 18, 2013

Great location

If you are going to Phoenix for a conference at the Phoenix conference center and don't want to spend an arm and a leg for hotel, this is a good hotel. It is an older hotel and not fancy but it is clean. The room I had was quite small but I was not there to stay in the room. There is no room service but there are a few quick eats in the area. The conference center is 3 blocks away! The hotel has central air and the room was a little chilly and you could not regulate it very well from the room. The bed was on the firm side but it was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Conference Center

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WBCBaseballFan
Business
USA
Mar 11, 2013

You get what you pay for ...

There's no doubt the price and location of the hotel are great. Plus, the hotel's history is cool. But this is a good example of "you get what you pay for". The walls are VERY thin (you can hear normal-level conversations in adjacent rooms#, the shower plumbing is old #water temperature fluctuates drastically), and my mattress was awful. Plus, the front-desk staff when I checked in was rude. Thankfully when I checked out, the front desk agent was very helpful in getting me a taxi. If I had to do it all over again, I would pay more for a newer hotel and friendlier staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
allee2295
Business
Chino Valley, AZ
Mar 9, 2013

Downtown Phoenix

I like to stay in interesting places and this was one! While they don't have dedicated self-parking, there is valet parking and lots of city parking nearby. My room was small, but very nice. The hotel is near the convention center, which was important to me. The pool deck was lovely to sit and read in the early evening. The only downside was that my room was next to the elevators which were noisy. I would definately stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
aidonsmom
Business
tucson
Feb 20, 2013

overpriced parking

They charged 20.00$ daily to park your car. It was not advertised that way. There is no other option presented to you when you arrive. The travel website said 12.00 for parking daily and the hotel staff were pretty rude about it. it bascially cost me another 80.00 for me to stay at the cheapest hotel near the conference center. Ice machine on only one floor and not mine.. it is a very old hotel.. and thought it would save money to stay there.. within walking distance of the conference.. will likely pay more next time and not stay there for 20.00 per night (that is if you use your vehicle or NOT) .. I had to walk to CVS to get a new toothbrush as the hotel said - "they were out" it was after 8 pm

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to shopping and CVS for snacks and affordable items you forgot to pack.. hotel staff really not to interested in assisting you with much

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ABR27
Business
San Mateo, California
Feb 19, 2013

Good Value and Location, Friendly Staff, Quirky

Hotel San Carlos is one of those quirky old hotels that can be a good value in a good location if you don't mind smaller, older, but clean rooms. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. If I were going back to this area I would probably stay in Scottsdale because it's a bit livelier, but if I needed to be in downtown Phoenix, I'd come back to Hotel San Carlos.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
honest occupant
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jan 20, 2013

DO NOT STAY HERE

This was the worst hotel experience I've ever had! The rooms are tiny and gross and definitely not worth the price! The worst part about this place is the loud music coming from the club on the main level. We were on the 3rd floor and couldn't sleep until they were done after 2:30am because it was so loud in our room! DO NOT STAY HERE! This place is horrible!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
navyrn
Business
Byron, IL
Jan 14, 2013

Good Location

Hotel was located close to the convention center. European styling was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CocaKatrina
Business
Huntsville, Alabama
Nov 15, 2012

Find somewhere else

The only good thing about this hotel is the location. The room had a strong smell of urine and carpet was filthy. I slept on top of the sheet with my clothes on, covered with a throw I brought on trip because the sheets looked dirty and dingy. The bathroom is full of history alright. The water pressure was low and the temperature kept changing from hot and cold in the shower. Unless you are on a budget, I absolutely would not recommend the hotel. Very disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
OD Traveler
Business
West Michigan
Oct 31, 2012

Nothing but location

Excellent location near the convention center and public transportation. Older building has some charm. Staff tries but seems under-trained. Walls are paper thin, and venting makes noise problems even worse. You will hear every word of your neighbor's conversation or other activities. I walked into my room and thought the TV was on. It was coming from next door. Even at low volumes it carries through. It's a below average hotel. Book it for the location if you can't afford to upgrade. Anything else nearby would be preferable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ELWei
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Oct 30, 2012

Great staff

Wonderful staff. We arrived at 7:30 am to drop off our luggage prior to my meeting. The receptionist said they had a room ready if we wanted to check in early. So great to be able to unpack and refresh prior to leaving for my meeting across the street. This is just one small example of how the staff went out of their way to make our stay an enjoyable one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top