$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 2, 2015 Check-out: Apr 5, 2015

Hotel San Carlos

3 stars
View map of 202 North Central Avenue, Phoenix, AZ 85004

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel San Carlos

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
117 out of 117
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
No witty name traveler
Business
LA
May 24, 2013

Very good for the price

Not fancy like a major chain hotel in the area, but for the money, service, and cleanliness, excellent. Would recommend especially if on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coach Jones
Business
Washington, DC
May 5, 2013

Good location, Good deal

It's not luxurious, but the San Carlos' room was clean, the bed was comfortable and it was conveniently located to all the things I needed/wanted to do and the staff was friendly and helpful. I wished for a better map of the area, but that's a problem in nearly all hotel in-room guides, and a broader cable channel selection. That said, the WiFi was complimentary and fast and there was a lot of historic charm to the hotel. I'd stay again and would recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a good map of the city, especially downtown Phoenix,and learn about the light rail system. It will make it easier to get around easily and comfortably.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Convention Traveler 5000
Business
Bowler, Wisconsin
Mar 29, 2013

Awesome for conventions

Rooms were a bit small (Not Microtel small, but smaller than average) but VERY clean with newer comfortable beds and a very friendly staff. A historical hotel with Marilyn Monroe and Spencer Tracy's usual suites marked. Lots of original components to keep it interesting, but newer added to ensure modern comfort. This hotel was close to the convention center and even with a bad back, I can walk 2 short blocks! Parking is awful and expensive, but I would never have even rented a car had I known how close it was!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't need a car for convention center, shopping or entertainment! It's all there!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Moushen
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Mar 18, 2013

Great location

If you are going to Phoenix for a conference at the Phoenix conference center and don't want to spend an arm and a leg for hotel, this is a good hotel. It is an older hotel and not fancy but it is clean. The room I had was quite small but I was not there to stay in the room. There is no room service but there are a few quick eats in the area. The conference center is 3 blocks away! The hotel has central air and the room was a little chilly and you could not regulate it very well from the room. The bed was on the firm side but it was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Conference Center

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tee Bird
Business
Santa Fe, NM
Mar 17, 2013

Great location in downtown Phoenix - historic site

This is an historic hotel, so there are some unusual features in the room - an old radiator, a step-up bathroom, and a left-over old chilled water faucet. I did not mind these - it lent to the charm. Lots of old artifacts and photos showcase the history of the building and of phoenix. The location was fabulous - close to the rocking Cityscape scene and museums, but relatively quiet too. There's an exercise room which is pretty good, and a rooftop pool which could benefit from a few updated chaise lounges (the furniture was mostly upright chairs). There's a nice restaurant in the building, but far superior eateries are close too. We went to Phoenix for the Eric Clapton kickoff concert for his tour and were really surprised how hip and upscale the downtown area has become. FUN!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

District American Eatery and Wine Bar, located in the Sheraton. Great food, good wine selection, stays open late.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WBCBaseballFan
Business
USA
Mar 11, 2013

You get what you pay for ...

There's no doubt the price and location of the hotel are great. Plus, the hotel's history is cool. But this is a good example of "you get what you pay for". The walls are VERY thin (you can hear normal-level conversations in adjacent rooms#, the shower plumbing is old #water temperature fluctuates drastically), and my mattress was awful. Plus, the front-desk staff when I checked in was rude. Thankfully when I checked out, the front desk agent was very helpful in getting me a taxi. If I had to do it all over again, I would pay more for a newer hotel and friendlier staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
allee2295
Business
Chino Valley, AZ
Mar 9, 2013

Downtown Phoenix

I like to stay in interesting places and this was one! While they don't have dedicated self-parking, there is valet parking and lots of city parking nearby. My room was small, but very nice. The hotel is near the convention center, which was important to me. The pool deck was lovely to sit and read in the early evening. The only downside was that my room was next to the elevators which were noisy. I would definately stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
aidonsmom
Business
tucson
Feb 20, 2013

overpriced parking

They charged 20.00$ daily to park your car. It was not advertised that way. There is no other option presented to you when you arrive. The travel website said 12.00 for parking daily and the hotel staff were pretty rude about it. it bascially cost me another 80.00 for me to stay at the cheapest hotel near the conference center. Ice machine on only one floor and not mine.. it is a very old hotel.. and thought it would save money to stay there.. within walking distance of the conference.. will likely pay more next time and not stay there for 20.00 per night (that is if you use your vehicle or NOT) .. I had to walk to CVS to get a new toothbrush as the hotel said - "they were out" it was after 8 pm

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to shopping and CVS for snacks and affordable items you forgot to pack.. hotel staff really not to interested in assisting you with much

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ABR27
Business
San Mateo, California
Feb 19, 2013

Good Value and Location, Friendly Staff, Quirky

Hotel San Carlos is one of those quirky old hotels that can be a good value in a good location if you don't mind smaller, older, but clean rooms. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. If I were going back to this area I would probably stay in Scottsdale because it's a bit livelier, but if I needed to be in downtown Phoenix, I'd come back to Hotel San Carlos.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
honest occupant
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jan 20, 2013

DO NOT STAY HERE

This was the worst hotel experience I've ever had! The rooms are tiny and gross and definitely not worth the price! The worst part about this place is the loud music coming from the club on the main level. We were on the 3rd floor and couldn't sleep until they were done after 2:30am because it was so loud in our room! DO NOT STAY HERE! This place is horrible!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top